Autopsy Out of our misery

Reckon Bailey Williams is getting dropped, very frosty body language between him and Bevo in the last quarter on the bench

Was noticeable.

I am getting sick of players been played out of position and not taught how to play their position.

Smith’s disposal was a disgrace. Are we absolutely sure it wasn’t McComb in a wig?

Seriously, no point getting the footy if that’s how you’re going to use it.
Has been a major problem. I've got to the point of looking to see which opponent he's targetting with each disposal. He can't be going at more than 20% efficiency. It's so frustrating

Far out you've been spoilt as a Bulldogs supporter if you think this is a "horrible year"

See your point, but twice now we've made a Grand Final (yes, never thought I'd say that) and completely bombed the next year. Apart from the two GF appearances, the other six years have been average to poor.

Jamarra gave one of the best key defenders in the competition a bath. It is a shame he was not accurate in front of goal.

Naughton was shirking contests and hesitating when he shouldn't have. Purely a coaching issue there.

West has been poor for the past month.

I really hope we don't have an exodus.
Our delivery forward last night was diabolical wouldn't have mattered who was there was always going to struggle

Put this down to our much vaunted midfields inability to stay in games for long periods, their inability to swing momentum back in its favour and their diabolical skills by hand and foot today. As well as a general looseness across the ground that often had players guarding grass and not an opponent.

As infuriating as all that is. Its the diabolical way we we set up at stoppages that seems to give free reign to our opponents with an open avenue towards goal. Along with our inability to handle teams intent on pressuring our ball carriers, for me has been the glaring issue with our side all season. Why Beveridge hasn't addressed or found a work around for this just beggars belief.

Its been a constant be it at centre bounce or stoppages around the ground. This leads to some of the easiest inside 50's with forwards leading straight at an unpressured ball carrier that any team will ever see. Contrast this with the shambolic, often wide, over possessed and crab like manner in which our forwards have to work with. Its little wonder that Lobb was on world record pace in the first half. He was getting some of the sweetest delivery that any forward could possibly ask for. Even when forced out towards the boundary. Once again seeing the key defenders got slaughtered by our midfield. The only thing that changed after half time is that Lobbs kicking went a little off and Freo shifted to other forwards leading straight at the ball carrier or standing on their own.

They had plenty of options.

Oh, and the giving up of 5 metres on the mark can get ed. There was an example in the 3rd where Keath was forced to stop reassess and then kick the ball short and wide. Why was this you ask rhetorically? Because Taverner wasn't dumb enough to give him 5 metres of forward momentum. If it aint broke, dont try and reinvent the ****** wheel and turn it into an aeroplane.
Didn't Libba get pinged 50m cos he waited to throw the ball back, then tried to run back 5m but ump had said stand apparently? Shit adaption to a shit rule. Oh and the Dissent payed against Libba. First one for weeks after Hawkins free ride last week. Sam Darcy stiff to give away 50....what else do you want him to do with those legs?

See your point, but twice now we've made a Grand Final (yes, never thought I'd say that) and completely bombed the next year. Apart from the two GF appearances, the other six years have been average to poor.
Depends on what you call average I guess. Until the Syd and Bris games we hadn't been flogged all year, our % was good. It's been a frustrating year - losing to Adel, terrible kicking v Carl we should have won and other games where a bad qtr cost us.

I think there are a lot of sore players, never seen Bont fumble so much.

Growing up in the 80s and 90s I've seen some really bad years and I pity those who had to watch through the 70s. The system is "designed" so you win a flag every 18 years apparently, yeas we need to make improvements but I'd prefer to be making 2 GFs, winning 1, and making finals most years rather than languishing down the bottom

Chris Grant the football director has to go he is very close to Bevo and we need a fresh approach
Is it a deliberate plot that our CEO is never seen or heard either? Gordon and Smorgon were front and centre.

Do we not need someone pushing our barrow anymore now that we've won a flag?

Is it a deliberate plot that our CEO is never seen or heard either? Gordon and Smorgon were front and centre.

Bains gave a wide ranging 20 minute interview on SEN a few weeks ago.

*just saw your correction. Haven’t seen anything from the President.

I'll be honest, I've never seen or heard her interviewed about the club. Not once. Grant I reckon I've heard twice this year. Bains maybe two or three times as well. Anyone would think we're one of the 'big' clubs with money flowing through our doors.

Bevo’s presser. I know he’s not going to go into a heap of detail. But his answer was essentially we didn’t have enough good players on the day. And he seemed perplexed that we keep winning key indicators like inside 50s etc but lose.

Surely he understands you can win as many inside 50s and contested possession that you want, if you don’t apply any pressure on the ball carrier and no accountability for players defensively, it doesn’t matter as the opposition will score heavily from their limited entries
But will we learn from this?

Season felt off from the moment some of the players appeared to spending their offseason celebrating rather than hurting like hell and resolving to go one better. Then the preseason that had key players not even training together until after Xmas. All while we searched late and appointed bargain basement assistants.

View attachment 1468584

How can you honestly say that Macrae had a simpler shot? It would've had to be a quick snap that could have gone anywhere or even been smothered.

There is no question that he should be more selfish and take more shots but that could be said for a lot of our mids. The Bevo model is that there is always a better option, hence the frustration at our over-handballing inside 50. Macrae makes up for it though in other areas...

Most Score Assists By Midfielders In The AFL (Since 2013)
262 - P. Dangerfield (209 games)
261 - S. Pendlebury (205 games)
257 - JACK MACRAE (205 games)
249 - J. Selwood (215 games)
245 - T. Boak (217 games)

Pretty handy list of players there. Now let's take a look at how many times those 5 players have been targeted inside 50 since 2013...

527 - P. Dangerfield
187 - T. Boak
133 - S. Pendlebury
125 - J. Selwood
67 - JACK MACRAE

And what about disposal efficiency inside 50 for those 5 since 2013...

60.6% - JACK MACRAE
58.1% - S. Pendelbury
55.6% - P. Dangerfield
55.1% - T. Boak
54.1% - J. Selwood

Granted he had a poor game last week by his extremely high standards but he was clearly one of our best tonight and don't say he turned it over a lot because just about everyone did at some point.

Macrae is probably the most consistent player we've had this century and to question his leadership quality because he hasn't kicked a ton of goals is just madness.
I questioned his leadership not for not kicking a ton of goals. I questioned it for being timid around goals and not taking responsibility for obvious shots he MUST take.
I also agree with a lot of your post. Particularly consistency aspect. Although I believe he has been well down this year. I W would also suggest disposal efficiency for Macrae is high because he handballs a hell of a lot.
I stand by my post. Midfielder/winger types should be at least in the 10 goal a season range. And that's kind.

What to do about Macrae? That might have been his worst performance in our jumper.

He should be ruled out of Centre Bounce appearances. They were targeting his side at taps knowing any of their players had him for pace and could/would and did streak away from him to deliver unpressured I50. No sweeper...or no-one fast enough to sweep doesn't help.

Our set up at CBs is horrendous given we are very often second in the speed stakes regardless of who is in there. I advocated early in the season for a completely defensive set up in there where the only aim was to force a secondary stoppage and not to compete to win it to cover this achilles heal. Ugly as it may be, you can't bleed if they can't cut you.

Was at the game. Macae looked dejected for most of it. Not sure what is going on there.

Can someone simplify things for and tell me there’s a way that by the end of today we cannot make finals?

If Carlton win today (or any of their last 3) it’s over.

Unless Richmond lose their last 2 which won’t happen (they play Hawks and Bombers)

Thanks mate.we just don’t deserve to be in another situation where people are still doing the maths at round 23 and a big show is being made of it.

Yeah. The only slight reason I hope we stay in the hunt is so the Carlton v Pies round 23 match is a blockbuster rather than a dead rubber

Why no armbands for Herb Henderson? Full Back in the team of the Century, not hard to show some respect. Piss poor day, leadership of this club leaves a lot to be desired, easy to see Freo wanted it more.

Not the first time this has happened. It happened a couple of years ago and the club admitted its mistake and wore armbands the following week. I can't remember who passed. Was it Peter Box?

Anyway, no excuse for it and if the club cbf or dgaf, then it's down to us to force the issue.

Macrae is probably the most consistent player we've had this century and to question his leadership quality because he hasn't kicked a ton of goals is just madness.

Cant blame Macrae for having a stinker, getting heavily tagged out while playing out of position. The rot stops right at Bevo, he’s continually played players out of position, ignoring opposition ball winners, playing plodders, not learning from last year’s GF, bringing in assistants who can’t develop players in specific roles and playing an integral part in the good assistant coaches leaving.

The goals didn’t sort themselves out, neither did the stoppages. I havent been this livid with a Dogs coach for some time now.

Autopsy Out of our misery