Ovens and King 2015 Season

If the recruitment of people from any sort of distance from your local area is such an issue, why has no one mentioned Bonnie Doon? If they were a real chance at winning it I bet people would be. They have a long history of getting players out of the outer Melbourne leagues and even now from Shepparton way.
If they build a club that makes these guys want to travel there and play footy then good on them.
It is just an obvious risk that they will not be at the club long term.
They are in a similar situation to Bright where they are isolated and asking people to travel serious distances to play each week.
I think the reality is that you have to look at how many leagues and footy clubs there are in the area.
Between the O&M & GV, then O&K, Tallangatta, KDFL, picola, murray, upper murray the list goes on.
That is a lot of footy clubs all looking at the same names of players.

Will the new points system help??

And if people want to focus judging the reason for success at a club, why are we not looking at who is coached better, who has the better management and trainers etc etc?

Surely they are key points? At least some sort of weight must be given to them?

There are problems a plenty . I believe that the landscape of country footy and particularly the ovens and king in 8-15 years will look incredibly different it does now .
Clubs will merge or fold not only due to lack of players but lack of people prepared to put the 20-30 hours a week into running a club that each club needs 3-5 of . League boundaries and clubs participating in that league will change . Points systems and salary caps won't change where country footy is ultimately heading unfortunately there are not enough of us , like everyone on this forum , who care enough . Salary cap and points systems will allow the AFL to believe that they're doing something but it's focusing on equalisation. It doesn't solve the problem the real problem which is participation , and I'm talking participation from presidents , committees , helpers and players .

Usually this time of the year it's who has the least amount of injuries.

From reports Milawa have a few under clouds but could say the same about a few from Bright.

Last time they met Milawa held on and I will tip the same result. Very close one and I think one of the games of the year! Well let's hope so anyway!

Reckon arnthehawks must be getting worried. No big statements about how Milawa will smash Bright this week...

For mine I'm tipping Bright, which shouldn't come as too big a surprise. I think they have a stronger, quicker, fitter line up, and the possibility of the heat taking more of a toll on Milawa's older players is a factor. I still think it will be fairly close, as Milawa's experience and familiarity will help them - they won't panic if Bright gets out to a 5-6 goal lead. The midfield battle should be relatively even, but it looks as if T20 will play, and along with Weimer, Love and McDonagh Bright is going to be hard to stop in attack.

Bright by 18 points.

Seeing as though my beloved Bulls got knocked out of the NFL finals and Sth Morang also, myself and Harro will be up to watch our little mate Loveshack hopefully tear a new one in Milawa`s defence. Nonch surely Bright will use him through the midfield at some stage during the game as he has a big engine and then rest him in the forward 50. Looking from a far it looks like Milawa will be to strong but it was close on paper last time they met so it could be a cracker.

I would be surprised if they run him through the mid, would be awesome to see but shoulder will hassle him! Anyway get around bright, I hope they snag a win. Tom Buckley back in should be a good old show down. Let's the beers and abuse flow!

Nonch surely Bright will use him through the midfield at some stage during the game as he has a big engine and then rest him in the forward 50.

My guess is he will only go into the midfield if they are struggling in there, but as RM said, it would be a big risk. He won't do any good to them if he is on the bench hurt.

Reckon arnthehawks must be getting worried. No big statements about how Milawa will smash Bright this week...

For mine I'm tipping Bright, which shouldn't come as too big a surprise. I think they have a stronger, quicker, fitter line up, and the possibility of the heat taking more of a toll on Milawa's older players is a factor. I still think it will be fairly close, as Milawa's experience and familiarity will help them - they won't panic if Bright gets out to a 5-6 goal lead. The midfield battle should be relatively even, but it looks as if T20 will play, and along with Weimer, Love and McDonagh Bright is going to be hard to stop in attack.

Bright by 18 points.
Another good tip from the nonch yesterday! Milawa the better side all day to be honest

My tips for this weekend

In the 2s will be a close game
Kv by a goal

In the seniors if glenrowan play like they did against milawa in the 1st final I think they should win it by 25 points

There are problems a plenty . I believe that the landscape of country footy and particularly the ovens and king in 8-15 years will look incredibly different it does now .
Clubs will merge or fold not only due to lack of players but lack of people prepared to put the 20-30 hours a week into running a club that each club needs 3-5 of . League boundaries and clubs participating in that league will change . Points systems and salary caps won't change where country footy is ultimately heading unfortunately there are not enough of us , like everyone on this forum , who care enough . Salary cap and points systems will allow the AFL to believe that they're doing something but it's focusing on equalisation. It doesn't solve the problem the real problem which is participation , and I'm talking participation from presidents , committees , helpers and players .

I think you're right, it will look different in the years to come. and maybe mergers and new boundaries etc are a good idea. The problem is we are talking about very proud clubs who want to keep their identity whether they are winning or not. Points system won't achieve much besides confusion next year, maybe when it has some momentum and understanding it will work better...?

If you look at the money that the AFL puts into the leagues and comps in the northern parts of the country its easy to think about how far some more investment in to the southern states could do.
The AFL is doing this to increase the brand into areas that are traditionally rugby states, and they are succeeding with junior footy becoming bigger all the time, including the fact that Auskick is part of the sports program at public schools....they are building stadiums and venues etc for local and regional comps to make it more professional and more attractive.

Meanwhile, junior & senior comps in our own area (the so called grass roots footy areas) continue to rely heavily on being self sufficient, and as you said relying on the blood, sweat and tears of those same 1/2 dozen volunteers that every club has.

Hats off to them!! Now that the another season comes to a close and the preso nights are on, I hope they all get the thanks and recognition they deserve.

Glenrowan cause they've got a bigger salary than hawthorn

Does anyone know what the real amount is?
The rumour is that there are several key players including leadership group that are not paid for their contribution.
Anyone know if that's correct?
If so, it might go a long way to dispelling the rumours of huge dollars being thrown around.
I'm sure there's a bit going in, but is it really excessive compared to others, if you have people not taking anything?

Ovens and King 2015 Season