• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Ovens and King Football League 2006-2010

Any tips for tomorrow fellas? Seniors Bright by 40points
Ressies Whorouly 70 points
Thirds Nth Wang 10 points

No senior trophy for the lions this year. Bright arent scared to win the contested footy.Their midfield very strong. "Granville" has to stand up and do his part if the lions are to be a chance. Hasnt done it in the last couple.

Whorouly reserves team is good enough to beat a few senior sides and should take it out easily.

Thirds Nth Wang have had plent of match practice, having played every game of the finals. Whorouly played in the semi, and having skipped the first week looked very sluggish and were lucky to get over the line.

What are your thoughts?

Top job by whorouly, bagged them all year but they stood up when they had too. Thought Goonan in the ruck and Matheson on ball were their big winners.

Any tips for tomorrow fellas? Seniors Bright by 40points
Ressies Whorouly 70 points
Thirds Nth Wang 10 points

No senior trophy for the lions this year. Bright arent scared to win the contested footy.Their midfield very strong. "Granville" has to stand up and do his part if the lions are to be a chance. Hasnt done it in the last couple.

Whorouly reserves team is good enough to beat a few senior sides and should take it out easily.

Thirds Nth Wang have had plent of match practice, having played every game of the finals. Whorouly played in the semi, and having skipped the first week looked very sluggish and were lucky to get over the line.

What are your thoughts?
Incorrect Trotta.3 Trophys for the Lions they were just too good when it mattered!Glanville was way to good for Nightingale when the pressure was on and Bright thought they had it won before it started(certain bright player rang Whorouly sponsor wanting a 5000 dollar bet early in the week) not something the coach would like i would imagine!Just to top it off Bright did not have the decency to stay out on the ground while the Lions received their medals.Week as piss!!!!!

Totally agree. Bright thought they had it won at half time. Even 3 quarter time. didnt run or work hard enough in the last quarter, baxter couldnt run and was useless on the field. Luke Matheison was the key in the lions getting in front. Kicked a few goals (plus the one that wasnt allowed) to get them back in the game.

Was very ordinary of bright to walk away while the presentation was still going. Shows there true character....

Totally agree. Bright thought they had it won at half time. Even 3 quarter time. didnt run or work hard enough in the last quarter, baxter couldnt run and was useless on the field. Luke Matheison was the key in the lions getting in front. Kicked a few goals (plus the one that wasnt allowed) to get them back in the game.

Was very ordinary of bright to walk away while the presentation was still going. Shows there true character....

Probly why they are the most popular club in the league

i tell you what trotta you seem to like to shoot your mouth off and bag blokes a fair bit but from what all the guys out at the cave say about you there doesnt seem to be to much behind it.on the b and d thread you had a crack at doon about giving up and now your calling bright weak as piss,if you have all the answers like you think you do then why dont you coach blacks???

Nothin to do with me mate but I couldn't see where trotta called anyone as weak as piss. He did however bring into question their character. Totally different. Checked his comments on the B&D site, no mention of Doon giving up,in fact he was praising G'Bat for their last 10 min goal avalanche. As a matter of interest did you play in the losing ressies side on Sun.

I said it was weak that Bright didnt stay on the ground for the presentation!

He would have play loose in the back line.
Ive seen him play a few games HB wont man up and has a lot of goals kicked on him. But because he plays in a side that can cover for him he gets the easy kicks and goes unnoticed how bad he is for the team.
Mind you he does like to shoot his mouth off and take cheap shots after the ball has cleared.

I agree with the disrespect shown by bright after the game!! On the game itself it looked like bright had no bench beyond the end of the 3rd qtr injuries must hav taken their toll and the lions were asble to jump them in the last qtr. I also thought the umpiring was pathetic. Too many free kicks given to the lions either in or around their forward 50 resulting in a goal. One umpire in particular....unsure of name robbed bright all day.

Was Baxter carrying an injury. A couple of times he didn't chase when he needed to.

I reckon it was his left hammy/adductor. in the last quarter he was limping heavily, couldnt do more than a jog and was pushed deep to the goal square. whorouly defenders knew something wasnt right, switched the ball across right in front of his nose and there was nothing he could do about it. eventually he pulled himself off.

Kelly copped a bone crunching bump i think in the second or third quarter, went off for some treatment, he too was probably carrying an injury. maybe someone from Bright could fill us in?

Heard that baxter done a knee or hamstring and was really struggling but couldnt leave the ground due to kelly with concussion/corkie and nightingale (hamstring) along with bright full back missing most the game unsure why though.

What a load of dribble.Not one of the Lions goals in the second half came from free Kick and the umpires had no bearing on the result at all!4 of the 5 goals in the last quarter came from marks the other on the run from 50(chalmers i think).

Just throwin my opinion out there mate! Have spoken to many people who had the same thoughts as me(not from bright either).

I wouldn't say dribble! I watched the game and though they may not have been right in front of goal there were a couple dubious free kicks given to Whorouly that swung the momentum their way, particularly in the 2nd half.

But that isn't what won them the game, as mentioned Bright ran out of fit players and couldn't run the game out as strongly as they started. Whorouly finished better and came out winners on the day - nothing more too it!

Seems you were on the money, Midfielder, Have heard this week that Gilchrist has been appointed Senior coach. Haven't heard about any assistants though.

Have heard the same thing only today,assistants that have been thrown around are Travis Hubble,Richard Bull,Ben Wapling,and remember Gilchrist has spent time at Tungamah so he would be keen to grab some players from there i am sure,was speeking with someone today that has a fair bit of involvement there and he said they are cashed up and will be going very hard on recruitment named about 10 very good players they think they will get as a start with gilchrist as coach

He would have play loose in the back line.
Ive seen him play a few games HB wont man up and has a lot of goals kicked on him. But because he plays in a side that can cover for him he gets the easy kicks and goes unnoticed how bad he is for the team.
Mind you he does like to shoot his mouth off and take cheap shots after the ball has cleared.
well cellar dweller it seems that you have a few opinions of me.here you say that im bad for my team,getting goals kicked on me and not manning up,but on the b and d thread you said in your predictions that im good enough to play in a better league but i dont because i want to be a big fish in a little pond (basically).when you decide to make your mind up post back to me.oh and by the way from what the bats boys have told me gilchrist isnt coaching the blacks,only wat ive been told.

"Brown, Doxey and Nolan not prepared to have a go in a real league"
Where do you get good enough out of not prepared?
As I said you play in the B&D with a good side in Goorambat because its easy to get kicks and look impressive when you dont have to man up in the back line. I said "not prepared" because your lazy and IMO not good enough to play a reasonable standard of football.
Am I wrong?

Maybe the bats boys need to clear the beer goggles up from their premiership win! Gilchrist has been officially appointed coach from all sources and with the club presentation coming up one would guess they will be trotting him out for a formal introduction then.

By the way, Showtime, don't know if anyone here in the O&K really cares if you're good enough to go somewhere other than B&D... You're choice where you play mate, live with it.

Any movements on other coaching appointments - Nth Wang? Milawa? Moyhu?

Have heard the same thing only today,assistants that have been thrown around are Travis Hubble,Richard Bull,Ben Wapling,and remember Gilchrist has spent time at Tungamah so he would be keen to grab some players from there i am sure,was speeking with someone today that has a fair bit of involvement there and he said they are cashed up and will be going very hard on recruitment named about 10 very good players they think they will get as a start with gilchrist as coach

Dunno about that appointment yet dogs. Heard another very high profile application landed over the weekend and all is on hold.