Ovens and King Football League 2006-2010

I don't think you would find anyone against you there BK. I would've thought the Bonnie Doon Bombers would have been a certainty. The colours and the name would fit perfectly.

No problems obviously with the Swans, Magpies and Bats but Goorambat should change their colours to Gelelong. They won't be the Cats, but the Bats.

As for the costs involved with changing logos, apparel etc, I see this as a a great chance to make some extra $'s through shirt/jacket/stubby holder etc sales...Most supporters would want to be involved with a "new" club.

These clubs should see this as a fresh change/challenge and want to change their nicknames/colours. Forget about the BDFL and strive to make a name for themselves in the O&K.

Finally, shame on the O&K for not making Bonnie Doon/Goorambat change their colours/names. They are entering OUR league. The other teams should have a small amount of "pull". But again they've just done something without consulting the existing clubs.
Very well said TGN... :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

What does everyone think of fixture for next season? Greta seem to have worst of it playing 4 of this seasons top 5 twice, followed by whorouly and all blacks with 3 of top 5 twice, whereas milawa only have tarra the 2 times? Reckon we should give sportingbet a call and get the odds on milawa goin back to back??
Be careful Datto, a lot of ppl were saying Tarra would go back to back after the 2008 granny. Don't put your house on it... Good point though.

Was only sarcasim bk, just believe they have an easy run for the year, especially considering the way it has now been formatted, maybe would've thought that the sides that may have been struggling the past few years would've had an easier run to build there way back, but i guess that is just how the cookie crumbles:):thumbsu:

True, it'd be a bloody hard task to create a draw though and you can't please all clubs. It's also tough to predict which sides will do well next year - just because a side finished in the top five this year, it doesn't mean they will be up there again next season. I understand your point though, I reckon Tarra have a reasonably easy draw as well. It would've been good to see both Tarra and Milawa given tough draws since they were the dominant two sides this year, but as you said that's the way the cookie crumbles.

I reckon guys it will be interesting, our draw has us against Tarra, Milawa and G/Rowan twice.I think if you have a tough draw and your in the top 5-6 at the end of the season then you are a genuine contender and could sneak another couple of places in the finals

Agree slim. That could have been a factor in deciding to go to a top 8 - they might've realised that we can't have a balanced draw anymore so a top 8 will give the sides that have been thereabouts all season to prove their worth in the finals.

Do we know how the top 8 will work yet? I'd assume it'd be the same as the AFL...

Agree slim. That could have been a factor in deciding to go to a top 8 - they might've realised that we can't have a balanced draw anymore so a top 8 will give the sides that have been thereabouts all season to prove their worth in the finals.

Do we know how the top 8 will work yet? I'd assume it'd be the same as the AFL...

Try this BK

Sat 21/08/10 Qualifying Finals: 1st v 4th - QF1 2nd v 3rd - QF2
Sun 22/08/10 Elimination Finals: 5th v 8th EF1 6th v 7th - EF2

Week Two:
Sat 28/08/10 Semi Final 1: Loser QF1 v Winner EF1
Sun 29/08/10 Semin Final 2: Loser QF2 v Winner EF2

Week Three:
Sat 4/09/10 Preliminary Final1: Winner QF1 v Winner SF2
Sun 5/09/10 Preliminary Final 2: Winner QF 2 v Winner SF1

Week Four:
Sat 11/09/10 Grand Final: Winner PF1 v Winner PF2

Try this BK

Week Two:

Week Three:

Week Four:
Cheers slim, guess I missed that part of the draw

What does everyone think of fixture for next season? Greta seem to have worst of it playing 4 of this seasons top 5 twice, followed by whorouly and all blacks with 3 of top 5 twice, whereas milawa only have tarra the 2 times? Reckon we should give sportingbet a call and get the odds on milawa goin back to back??

Gee s Dato, Greta were only one point off been top five themselves:D mate if they cant make a final eight well their shite anyway.

Very true virge, greta did very well to get off the bottom to the position they were in, but was just makin the point that they seem to have the hardest of the draw if you look at the way this season panned out!:thumbsu:

Also, i wonder if goorambats senior coach and assistant coach will be known as batman and robin??:D:D

Very true virge, greta did very well to get off the bottom to the position they were in, but was just makin the point that they seem to have the hardest of the draw if you look at the way this season panned out!:thumbsu:

Also, i wonder if goorambats senior coach and assistant coach will be known as batman and robin??:D:D
[/B

Umm, I'll let you ask Greavesy that Datto..:D:D:D

Try this BK

Week Two:

Week Three:

Week Four:

Seems everything has been announced already just wondering if tarra,whourly(not sure on the spelling) and nth wang will get all the finals for next year?

Well I suppose that Benalla would almost be the geographical centre of the league.......But politics outway common sense anyway

I'll put my house on it that Benalla will host a final in 2010. It just seems logical now that five teams come from that area. I'd say Tarra will get at least one as well but hopefully the league decides against Nth Wang.

With 8 games plus the GF to be played I reckon we may get more than 1 depending of course on who is in the 8

Unfortunatley with that slim, the leauge have no idea who will make up the final 8 when they make the desicion on where finals will be played, but benalla should have a fair case to host at least one

Good point nonch, it would make it tough.

Correct about Coburg and Werribee, Coburg changed from the Lions to the Tigers when they became affiliated with Richmond. I thought there was a country league not too far away that had two teams with the same name. Did a quick bit of research but couldn't find anything though.

Kyabram and Echuca are both the bombers in the Goulburn Valley league and Benalla changed from the Demons the Saints when they moved leagues without to many problems.

Slightly diff Melb in that Benalla changed leagues through choice and it was a pre requisite that they change colours and changed nick name to suit those colours. These BDFL clubs have basically been forced to do so.....On the other side of the coin though I believe the VCFL has to subsidise the purchase of new playing strips pretty heavily so it would be an ideal time to make those major changes at very little or no expense.

Most clubs that have started pre season in some form or other seem to have good numbers, how are clubs looking for 3rds. Looks like we'll be good for no.'s how are some of you guys looking ? Tige will you manage to get a side together ?

Word out of the Doon is that the Broady boys are back again and looking forward to playing in the O&K. Cooksey has brought half a dozen Mansfield players with him also, you would expect majority 2's but still GV's 2's is a decent standard. Expecting a competitive Doon in 2010.

Thankfully the ground had the major overhaul as in it's previous state it was horrendous with the huge slope and narrow playing field. Now it is in great condition

Stanhope, Undera and Violet Town are all Lions in the KDFL, but VT are commonly called Towners as Boonie Doon are called Doon.

I can't remember anyone calling Tarra the Bulldogs, or Blacks the panthers.

In mosts cases the lions,bombers,cats etc are only used as club logos.

Stanhope, Undera and Violet Town are all Lions in the KDFL, but VT are commonly called Towners as Boonie Doon are called Doon.

I can't remember anyone calling Tarra the Bulldogs, or Blacks the panthers.

In mosts cases the lions,bombers,cats etc are only used as club logos.
Around the club we often refer to ourselves as the Dogs. Nicknames also feature in newspaper articles and as nonch has pointed out, it would make it difficult when the two Bulldogs face each other as each club will have to be referred to only as their town name. Maybe Tarra should now be known as Blue Dogs, and Bonnie Doon as Red Dogs :rolleyes: