Ovens and King Football League 2013

According to the border mail today it's going to be a milawa vs Tarra Grand final. Tatong to get the spoon.

You know how many O&K games the Border watch each year?:rolleyes:

Tatong won't take the spoon. And as for who will play in the grand final - there are five clubs in the mix, Tarra and Milawa are certainly two of them.

You know how many O&K games the Border watch each year?:rolleyes:

Tatong won't take the spoon. And as for who will play in the grand final - there are five clubs in the mix, Tarra and Milawa are certainly two of them.

What do you predict nonch??

I might get bagged out but I think Benalla might get the spoon. From what I've been told they have lost a bunch more players in the past fortnight.

Tatong has picked up plenty, G'bat and Swanpool will both be stronger than last year.

At the top I think Tarra will be very hard to beat, and North Wang should be better than last year, so they are my grand finalists.

But I wouldn't be surprised to see any of Milawa, Moyhu and Whorouly in there, depending on who has a good run with injuries.

Greta has a shocking fixture and will drop out of the eight for Bright, and I think Glenrowan will come in for Benalla.

Interested to hear others' thoughts.

And apologies for the stab at the Border - the boys up there do a great job :oops: :thumbsu:

Haha yeah they are guessing like everyone else. It would have to be out of nth wang, tarra, milawa, whourly, and Moyhu.

I will guess a Milawa Nth wang Granny. I can see Milawa being a more improved team this year having a coach the players respect and having a few additions. If a few brothers come back from going walk about, Id say close to mid year Nth wang will be hard to beat.

But I still cant write tarra off they have done well over the off season and moyhu and whourly will still be up there.

on a bit of a different note is the O&K involved in inter league this year and if so who against?

Haha yeah they are guessing like everyone else. It would have to be out of nth wang, tarra, milawa, whourly, and Moyhu.

I will guess a Milawa Nth wang Granny. I can see Milawa being a more improved team this year having a coach the players respect and having a few additions. If a few brothers come back from going walk about, Id say close to mid year Nth wang will be hard to beat.

But I still cant write tarra off they have done well over the off season and moyhu and whourly will still be up there.

on a bit of a different note is the O&K involved in inter league this year and if so who against?
O&K will be 27th v Alberton FL 28th according to the file below
http://www.vcfl.com.au/fileadmin/user_upload/Resources/Rep_Footy/2012_Promotion___Relegation.pdf

Ok Cheers I think they are around the Wonthaggi phillip island area arnt they
yep... Dalyston, Devon Welsh, Fish Creek, Foster, Inverloch-Kongwak, Kilcunda Bass, Korumburra-Bena, Meeniyan Dumbalk, Phillip Island, Stony Creek, Tarwin, Toora, Yarram....13 so nearly the same amount of clubs as this league!

I think Tarra will be the team to beat, what's going on at Benalla? Is there anyone left? Heard the other day that if Gil had known about the mass exodus, he would not have taken the job! And what's the go with rejecting the young 3rds blokes clearances? Hasn't got anything to do with the free gym memberships the coach handed out last year does it? Swanny and Tatong have had a combined total of about 15 guys train, can't see either of them fielding 2s sides, no good merging they still wouldn't field 2 teams

Briscoe mate I'll tackle your questions one at a time to the best of my ability.....Yes there are ppl left at the club, we have a great bunch of kids that want to play snr footy at the club. The reason the snr guys left are many and varied, including relocating interstate or with work, retirement, guys wanting to have a go at a higher level, some went looking for greener pastures and some went back to their original clubs.

The guys tell me that Gil WAS aware of players leaving prior to taking the job and wants to be part of educating these kids ang building a team around them. A few more seconds guys left as well and they've been replaced.

If you know as much about footy as you seem to think then you would know that there is only a couple of reasons why a clearance can be denied and if you're not sure I'm sure you can look it up on the vcfl website If the 3rds coach allows kids to use his gym where he can watch and instruct them to ensure they are doing the right thing, I can't see your issue with that.

Hopefully that satisfies your morbid curiosity and will help you to sleep at night..:thumbsu:

I might get bagged out but I think Benalla might get the spoon. From what I've been told they have lost a bunch more players in the past fortnight.
/quote]

I procrastinated on this for a couple of days Nonch and I'm prepared to wager a packet of Chips and a Can of Pepsi Max with you that we don't get the spoon.....No pressure on your good self though...:rolleyes: :p....

If you lower the stakes a bit I might be tempted to get a piece of the action...:D

I don't know who will get the spoon, but it will be between Benalla, Swanpool, Goorambat and Tatong. Obviously Benalla was a long way ahead of the others last year, but looking at this year's list, I can only see Steve Pickering, Sam McGregor and Cam Bradley as blokes who were first choice seniors then. The only thing I can relate it to is when Myrtleford lost about 30 players after playing in two straight GFs, and proceeded to not win a game for three years. I hope that doesn't happen to Benalla, but it's going to be tough. Hopefully the club can turn it all around. :thumbsu:

What are everyones tip for the weekend

Just looked at Milawa and Moyhus teams, they look very strong particularly Milawa.

Milawa by 90 points
Moyhu by 50
King Valley 50

All the best to the 14 teams this year.
The buzz at Thursday night training before the first round is awesome.
Am honestly not sure how the Blues will go this year, let alone tomorrow but I'm ever the optimist. We've a core group of 23 & 24 year olds who have now played around 80-100 games for the club & it's about time they collectively stood up & took their games to the next level. If they do then regardless of the tough draw we'll be very competitive. Here's hoping we match it with the Hoppers tomorrow night & it's a good game.

The Blues looked very ordinary tonight Bunyip. Moyhu looked very, very good, but the lack of opposition at times in the Hoppers' forward line was really disappointing.

Called into BD on the way to Melb and saw most of the last half....Mil were up by 19 gls at HT. Doon"s intensity was good in the 2nd half but couldn't do a lot with it when they had it....pretty young side but they didn't give in...Good battle on the wing between Luke Sims and Ricky Milligan both played off each other but it was a 50/50 split... B Newton was a big focal point for Mil up forward and Pelly was able run loose as usual...I thought at times Milawa were a bit lazy/sloppy, Stamp got caught a couple of times, no disrespect but they took it a bit easy later instead of finishing off IMO...I reckon Mil will finish top 4 but that's where it will finish...Doon had a couple of guys that went well, No 8 Godsmart ??? worked hard, No 3 and a little bloke wearing a helmet, in the backline worked his ring off...Doon have a bit to look forward to..

How come on sporting pulse all the Murray and Goulburn Valley Scores were up by 11pm but nearly 1am in the morning I can't see any of the the O&K or O&M scores? Is the internet a bit slow up in the North East?

After last nights effort i dont think the draw will matter to much as every game will be tough for the Blues and not much in the twos it will be along season , not to worry looks like the netball will be up there again.

To Clubs that have already played and have the weekend off ......What game are you going to watch this week ...????? Which is the most interesting game .....????
My Tips
Nth Wang by 200 plus ...Nth Wang Good and Swanpool poor numbers
Glenrowan by 60 plus ... Glenrowan ,,,,Who Knows ?!??! Tatong ...Not the worst
Whorouly By 200 plus.... as per North Wang and Swanpool

My 14 at the end of the year....Draw will play a big part as will percentage

Milawa
Tarra
Nth Wang
Bright
Moyhu
Glenrowan
Whorouly
King Valley

Greta
Tatong
Bonnie Doon
Swanpool
Goorambat
Benalla All Blacks

The Blues looked very ordinary tonight Bunyip. Moyhu looked very, very good, but the lack of opposition at times in the Hoppers' forward line was really disappointing.
I couldn't agree more Nonch. Moyhu are a better side but not by that margin. Am still not sure if Moyhu were that good or we were that bad, probably a bit of both. Accept your point about the defence but the mids placed no pressure on their main ball carriers (Craig & McGeehan in particular) & made the job of hitting up the forwards almost seem like a training drill at times. Particularly Peter Sullivan who at 38 is a marvel. Not sure what you made of Nathan Waite's game but if he stays fit & plays that well each week he'll win another Baker Medal comfortably. He looked the fittest bloke out there, I thought he was outstanding.
Maybe it was a reminder to those who've penned the Milawa/Tarra/Nth Wang trio of teams in for success this year that a full strength Moyhu can't be dismissed.

I couldn't agree more Nonch. Moyhu are a better side but not by that margin. Am still not sure if Moyhu were that good or we were that bad, probably a bit of both. Accept your point about the defence but the mids placed no pressure on their main ball carriers (Craig & McGeehan in particular) & made the job of hitting up the forwards almost seem like a training drill at times. Particularly Peter Sullivan who at 38 is a marvel. Not sure what you made of Nathan Waite's game but if he stays fit & plays that well each week he'll win another Baker Medal comfortably. He looked the fittest bloke out there, I thought he was outstanding.
Maybe it was a reminder to those who've penned the Milawa/Tarra/Nth Wang trio of teams in for success this year that a full strength Moyhu can't be dismissed.

Was talking to a Moyhu bloke today who seemed to think your blokes ran out legs very early Bunyip and fri nights game probably made Moyhu look a bit better than what they are but having said that, Moyhu will finish top 4 IMO...He also said the same thing about the mid fielders....

Goorambat the only side with team up ATM, what's going on there?!? Rumour going around is that 2 clubs scheduled to play this weekend, will not be able to field reserves teams...
FWIW
Nth Wang by 200
Glenrowan by 50
Whorouly by 75

Be very hard to split Milawa,Nth Wang,Tarra at the top after that my predictions would be somthing like....
Moyhu
Whorouly
King Vally
Bright
Glenrowan

Greta
Bonnie Doon
Tatong
Benalla
Goorambat
Swanpool