Ovens and Murray - Pre Season 2010

Re: Ovens and Murray Part 3

Was at the Game on Sunday to see a Great Spectical, tough quick game of footy!! Cupido, showed what he is capible of and hoping to see something like that again this weekend! Unfortunatly i was sitting between the coaches boxes and the grandstand near the raiders supporters, which i heard alot of abusive and even racial comments towards murray and cupido :thumbsdown: Very ordinary, im all for supporting your team but maybe that could have gone abit far!! Aydan Brown also set to sign at raiders, another ex North Albury player going there, afterall that Cheque book does talk!
100metre sprint between Matt Nichol & Travis Hodgson... Hoggy would win by 5 metres

I also heard the racial comments which were disgraceful:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
But I can tell you right now that it was not out of the mouth of a Wodonga Raiders member and someone that I personally have only seen at the club twice over the year and they were both in the finals games.:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Cold Showers! Holy Sh!t, who cares!

FOOTY
This weekend - Yarra by plenty.
The following weekend - Albury by plenty!
The only thing I think could change these 2 results would be the weather. If it rains like last weekend or we see windy conditions like the 06 Grand Final.

Next Monday Night - TOP 5
Matt Pendergast, Brandon Ryan, Chris Hyde, Nick Georgiadis, Xavier Leslie.
My Smokey - Charles Gaylard

I actually think Penda will be a better chance than most people would think. He's played his best season of footy that I have seen in all his years as a Panther (take out 08 - cos i didn't see a match). The thing that'll hold him back will be the number of matches the Panthers won. I think he'll poll in more than half of the games, but will probably be getting 2's and 1's. If he can get 4 or so BOG's he'll give it a shake!

FOOTY
The only thing I think could change these 2 results would be the weather. If it rains like last weekend or we see windy conditions like the 06 Grand Final.

I actually think Penda will be a better chance than most people would think. He's played his best season of footy that I have seen in all his years as a Panther (take out 08 - cos i didn't see a match). The thing that'll hold him back will be the number of matches the Panthers won. I think he'll poll in more than half of the games, but will probably be getting 2's and 1's. If he can get 4 or so BOG's he'll give it a shake!

Mark Doolan, Andy Hill, Jamie Allan should go alright

Morris Medal prediction:

1. Andy Hill
2. Jamie Allan
3. Mark Doolan
4. Chris Hyde
5. Matt Pendergast

Smokey - David Clark - probably the best player in the comp, but the roos only winning a couple games will hurt his chances.

The point I was trying to make is that hosting such a prestigeous event should be considered an honour, and every effort should be made to showcase the facilities of your club (as Albury did on Sunday, and Lavington does every year). It may seem trivial to some, but I think it reflects poorly on the club & committee at raiders.

It seems like you think that we dont care about our club and hosting a final which is a rediculous stance if that is what you are trying to say.

The day was horrendous dumping plenty of rainwater on the ground turning it to a mud heap with 3 games of hard tough footy on it.

Im sure the thirds and then seconds went into the showers and just kept them going for an eternity just to get the mud off and warm up !

We are truely sorry for the Albury and Yarrawonga clubs in not being able to shower down but through the weeks leading up did many improvements to the club and also invited all patrons into the warmth of the social club rooms all throughout the day.

Albury did a great job to have their facilities up to scratch on the Sunday but remember that we only have volunteers at our club and not full time staff/goundspeople and council help.

Futhermore Lavington has from round 18 onward without finals on it to get it right and so they bloody should with 4 weeks break where as the Raiders had a week.

The O & M could have played it somewhere else if they wanted to but guess what ? Half the time the other clubs that dont want finals.

So in closing Massive Merv, don't be a Massive TOOL !

It seems like you think that we dont care about our club and hosting a final which is a rediculous stance if that is what you are trying to say.

The day was horrendous dumping plenty of rainwater on the ground turning it to a mud heap with 3 games of hard tough footy on it.

Im sure the thirds and then seconds went into the showers and just kept them going for an eternity just to get the mud off and warm up !

We are truely sorry for the Albury and Yarrawonga clubs in not being able to shower down but through the weeks leading up did many improvements to the club and also invited all patrons into the warmth of the social club rooms all throughout the day.

Albury did a great job to have their facilities up to scratch on the Sunday but remember that we only have volunteers at our club and not full time staff/goundspeople and council help.

Not sure weather you know but the council do look after the ground and it is the raiders who are cutting back on spending money, council still mow and repair the ground, raiders refuse to oversow the ground because of lack of money. If they where seriuos they would hold working bees to at least clean gutters etc:

Although the council does maintain the ground, Raiders are required to pay for this maintenance (as far as I am aware, Raiders and Wodonga are the only clubs required to pay council for the maintenance of their grounds).
I know for a fact that the maintenance costs have more than doubled over the last 4 years.

Raiders did not "refuse" to oversow the ground, a decision was taken, after considerable discussion, that the significant cost of oversowing the ground was not financially prudent at the time.

In regards to the preparation of the surrounds and working bee, it must be remembered that the Raiders were only advised they were hosting late the previous Sunday, so did as much as they could in the limited time, and were then greatly hampered by the weather on the day.

Move on boys - no matter who looks after the ground, who pays the bills, who hosted the match, who showered for too long and what the weather was - it's in the past and there's bugger all we can about it!

On the LPO, the Albury City Council pretty much neglect it throughout the year, apart from mowing it once or twice a week. You're right, it has had plenty of work done on it over the last 3 weeks to try to make it look spiffy for next Sunday and no doubt it will too. But if the ACC want it to be a first class venue like they spruik in the media, they'll need to get their act together over the coming years. The quality of the ground and the grass cover has certainly slipped since they've taken the reins.

Although the council does maintain the ground, Raiders are required to pay for this maintenance (as far as I am aware, Raiders and Wodonga are the only clubs required to pay council for the maintenance of their grounds).
I know for a fact that the maintenance costs have more than doubled over the last 4 years.

Raiders did not "refuse" to oversow the ground, a decision was taken, after considerable discussion, that the significant cost of oversowing the ground was not financially prudent at the time.

In regards to the preparation of the surrounds and working bee, it must be remembered that the Raiders were only advised they were hosting late the previous Sunday, so did as much as they could in the limited time, and were then greatly hampered by the weather on the day.

who cares about that, are we not up to prelim final ?? yarra should win and i think they will win the big one. just a funny feeling. will the yarra ladies be releasing the pigeons on gf day if they make it

, that the significant cost of oversowing the ground was not financially prudent at the time.

It seems Massive Merv has hit a massive nerve. I went to see Kitty Flanagan the other night and she was hilarious....but nowhere near as funny as your "financially prudent" statement. How many "duds" & "b-graders" have you thrown money at over the past 5 years? ....and still it continues.....you're still talking to North Albury past & present players yet still can't beat them in a match that carries any significance. Why not be honest and say that you've wasted all your money on players and there's none left to develop the ground and amenities.....have to go....my massive stomach is aching from laughter....

Was at the Game on Sunday to see a Great Spectical, tough quick game of footy!! Cupido, showed what he is capible of and hoping to see something like that again this weekend! Unfortunatly i was sitting between the coaches boxes and the grandstand near the raiders supporters, which i heard alot of abusive and even racial comments towards murray and cupido :thumbsdown: Very ordinary, im all for supporting your team but maybe that could have gone abit far!! Aydan Brown also set to sign at raiders, another ex North Albury player going there, afterall that Cheque book does talk!
100metre sprint between Matt Nichol & Travis Hodgson... Hoggy would win by 5 metres

Have also heard the Ayden Brown rumour although I was told that Kade would be goin there also.

Originally Posted by wizards
Was at the Game on Sunday to see a Great Spectical, tough quick game of footy!! Cupido, showed what he is capible of and hoping to see something like that again this weekend! Unfortunatly i was sitting between the coaches boxes and the grandstand near the raiders supporters, which i heard alot of abusive and even racial comments towards murray and cupido Very ordinary, im all for supporting your team but maybe that could have gone abit far!! Aydan Brown also set to sign at raiders, another ex North Albury player going there, afterall that Cheque book does talk!

For those who know Aydan you would know it wouldnt be the cheque book getting him there. I think u would find north didnt wanna know about ne problems when he broke his ankle so why would he want to go back to a club that treats a player like crap when there down? That is 1 of a few reasons why he left in the first place. So maybe next time get the facts before u say the cheque book does talk.

FOOTY

If Albury don't have big O'Sullivan on the weekend, the Yarra boys are a real chance. With McKee and Keenan in the ruck they could control the clearances and stoppages. Wouldn't suggest they'll dominate them because Albury's midfielders are an impressive unit. The other danger is that Albury play the big fella and he breaks down early which would throw plans out of whack.

Conditions wise, it looks like it'll be nice sunny arvo in Lavington with a gentle breeze pushing down the ground to the Urana Rd end.

I'm still picking Albury but in a much tighter contest then I thought a week or so ago

If Albury don't have big O'Sullivan on the weekend, the Yarra boys are a real chance. With McKee and Keenan in the ruck they could control the clearances and stoppages.

O'Sullivan was in Melbourne again today to see specialist/doctor or whatever and will have a final fitness test on Saturday.

I really don't see him playing, Spargo doesn't seem like the type who would take such a big risk in a normal game, let alone a grand final.

But you're right, the fact that Yarra have Keenan and McKee may cause the Tigers some serious concerns and could see them take a gamble on Jamarl even if he shouldn't be playing.

The only way I can see Yarrawonga winning is if their big men have a field day.

Grand final is here, 18 rounds and a hand full of finals to get to the game we all knew would happen at the start of the year. Albury have had a very close to ideal preparation, apart from the cloud over O'Sullivan; Yarra had to do it a bit tougher, but with a clean bill of health will fancy themselves.

The game two weeks ago in the wet played more to Albury's onball strength but i expect Sunday to be a different affair on a dry track. Yarra seem to me to be a better balanced side with hieght, strength and pace both down back and up forward. Particularly up forward the big Motor and McKee can cause the Albury defenders some real headaches. So if Yarra can break even in the midfield paying particular attention to the run and carry of D Maher i think they will get over the line

It'll be interesting to see if J Mackie can enhance his reputation as a big game player and go close to repeating last years performance.

Result: Yarra 15points
Did Simpson: The genius that is Craig Ednie

Quality summation velvet.. The pigeons are primed to win tomorrow. They are so much more confident than this time last year and have more faith in their structures, which you could argue let them down last year. There backline is functioning a lot better this year and Matt Woll and Scott Oswald will provide precision rebound and drive off the back flank.

I also think they've got their midfield rotations down pat, with Snout, Stevens, Leslie, Tassel, O'Brien and Barnes all spending more quality time on the pill, which will help negate the influence of Albury's dominant on-ball brigade. A lot will depend on if they can capitalise on their opportunities, particularly early, but they are primed and couldn't be in better shape. Go pigeons!

[
For those who know Aydan you would know it wouldnt be the cheque book getting him there. I think u would find north didnt wanna know about ne problems when he broke his ankle so why would he want to go back to a club that treats a player like crap when there down? That is 1 of a few reasons why he left in the first place. So maybe next time get the facts before u say the cheque book does talk.[/quote]

well i know that he was going to retire at the end of this season cuz he really wasnt interested in footy anymore, supervisors job with the major sponsor and nice pay cheque does talk

Albury 10 point winners today in the GF.

Couple of comments

The crowd was poor considering the weather. I'm no good with estimates but I'd suggest 6000-8000 would be about it. It'll be interesting to see the official figures in tomorrows paper.

Yarra will look back on today's game with lots of disappointment. They were definitely good enough, but they missed too many opportunities in front of goal. Some were from the goal square or very close to it. I don't think they were ever in front, all square at 42 a piece at one point, but they couldn't manage to get ahead.

Micheal Stevens gave one of the best and fairest bumps I've seen for some time. Merkel was the recipient, neither player shirked the contest, but stevens definitely came off the better. Merkel was out cold and taken to hospital later, so hopefully he comes out of it all in decent shape.

Once again, the highlight of the day. The half time match between the O&M jets. If that is ever taken off the agenda, it'll be a sad day for the league.

Finally, the umpiring. The seconds was well umpired, Matt Thomas and Robbie MacKinlay only blew the whistle when needed and did a really good job. The seniors was a complete different story. The game was continually over-umpired and one umpire in particular kept paying free kick after free kick with several resulting in important goals early and late.

I'm not going to say it would've impacted on the result because that's something you can never know. I'm more interested in finding out how they select which umpires get to do the Grand Finals. I doubt there is any player, coach or club input into the selection process and possibly for good reason. But I'd think clubs could probably give some feedback as to who perhaps should or shouldn't take control of the most important match of the season. In my opinion, that one umpire should not have been using a whistle today. Surely some people, whether they are tigers, pigeons or other will agree with me in some way on this. I don't want it to become an umpire bashing forum, but i think some fair criticism of the process or other is a healthy thing.

Albury 10 point winners today in the GF.

Couple of comments

The crowd was poor considering the weather. I'm no good with estimates but I'd suggest 6000-8000 would be about it. It'll be interesting to see the official figures in tomorrows paper.

Yarra will look back on today's game with lots of disappointment. They were definitely good enough, but they missed too many opportunities in front of goal. Some were from the goal square or very close to it. I don't think they were ever in front, all square at 42 a piece at one point, but they couldn't manage to get ahead.

Micheal Stevens gave one of the best and fairest bumps I've seen for some time. Merkel was the recipient, neither player shirked the contest, but stevens definitely came off the better. Merkel was out cold and taken to hospital later, so hopefully he comes out of it all in decent shape.

Once again, the highlight of the day. The half time match between the O&M jets. If that is ever taken off the agenda, it'll be a sad day for the league.

Finally, the umpiring. The seconds was well umpired, Matt Thomas and Robbie MacKinlay only blew the whistle when needed and did a really good job. The seniors was a complete different story. The game was continually over-umpired and one umpire in particular kept paying free kick after free kick with several resulting in important goals early and late.

I'm not going to say it would've impacted on the result because that's something you can never know. I'm more interested in finding out how they select which umpires get to do the Grand Finals. I doubt there is any player, coach or club input into the selection process and possibly for good reason. But I'd think clubs could probably give some feedback as to who perhaps should or shouldn't take control of the most important match of the season. In my opinion, that one umpire should not have been using a whistle today. Surely some people, whether they are tigers, pigeons or other will agree with me in some way on this. I don't want it to become an umpire bashing forum, but i think some fair criticism of the process or other is a healthy thing.

I wonder if that has something to do with the $17 dollar entry fee for adults!! Its getting a bit steep these days, especially if you have a family.
Perhaps moving the game to the Saturday and lowering the price to $14 - $15 would have an impact on crowd numbers