Ovens and Murray

Myrtleford are going so bad because after finishing runner up two years in a row all the players decided to go elsewhere. Don't know where all the "talented locals" are now, because they aren't competitive at any level other than under 16s. They can't attract recruits because there is no longer any industry in the town to provide employment. The future is looking pretty bleak for Saints fans, and they will probably have to consider stepping down to the Ovens and King.

Myrtleford are just like any club you ride the highs and the lows. And their season has just got a little bleaker with Ben Beames saying his season is all but over and he thinks he might have to have further surgery on his knee.

It's just over half way through the season and i want you all to have a stab at a few things.... it might help some of you forget about whether B McGrath writes good articles or not.

TOP 5 -
Grand Finalists -
GF Result -
Morris Medal Top 3 -
Coaching Changes for 2009 -

Headline you'd like to see -
Headline you think you will see -

And anything else you want to add

I'll have a go myself.... despite having no idea bout most of them.

TOP 5 - Wang, Lavi, Roos, Yarra, Rovers
Grand Finalists - Wang v's Roos
GF Result - Wang by 22 points
Morris Medal Top 3 - M Pendergast, Carpenter, Doswell
Coaching Changes for 2009 - Albury, Raiders, Myrtleford

Headline you'd like to see - PANTHERS WIN AFTER THE SIREN... AGAIN!
Headline you think you will see - Hoppers & Magpies in Rd15 Bloodbath!

TOP 5 - wang,corowa,lavi,rovers,yarra
Grand Finalists -corowa vs rovers
GF Result - rovers by 25pts
Morris Medal Top 3 - Carpenter,J Allan, Trenfield
Coaching Changes for 2009 - Raiders,Myrt,Albury,Yarra

Headline you'd like to see - "What A Roverlution!!"
Headline you think you will see - "Magpies Fall Short Of GF"

For my part I think Brad McGrath generally writes very good articles, however his attack on J Mac seemed to me to be a little self indulgent and immature. His follow up article on Tuesday did his credibility no favours, however I'm not goin to write the bloke off completely over the whole thing because everyone makes mistakes and people in the media are no different, e.g. Sam Newman.

From what I have gathered John and Brad have buried the hatchet and I'm sure both will have learnt from the experience.

On to this w.e's local derby, you would have to rate Rovers a strong chance to come away with the points after their performance on at the Doggie Den and the pies notable absentee list. Game will be won in the midfield and up forward for the Hawks. My tip is the Rovers by 20.

Key Matchups:

Cosgriff v Gaston/Platfuss

Steer v Cristoforo

A Hill v Smith

J Allan v Trenfield

Bell/Gaston/Platfuss v Kirby/Carmody

the derby promises to be a beauty yet again but the last few times it has failed to deliver... both teams will be without key players maggies obviously hampered more with the tribunal hearings... i think the boys in brown and gold would be pretty disappointed if they lost this one what are your thoughts on that darc? and peanut for that matter no doubt you will pipe up having smelt the word 'maggies' floating around?

i'll just make some adjustments to the match ups

N Hill v Smith

Silver v Cosgriff/Trenfield/Cairns (depending on what form Silvers in)

Cristoforo v Steer

J Allan v Higgs

i think your right the game will be decided based on what the rovers bring to the table this time... if they play as well as they did across the board last week, you might see a similar result to the corowa v maggies game...

for once i think the midfield of rovers is finally up and firing and should account for Smith Lord Higgs etc and if the rovers forwards can get on top early that will go along way to getting the end result... the forward line was powerful last week and was good to see J Silver show glimpses of his dominant best in the one on one contests... i think the rovers backline have been solid all year it has been the other areas of the ground that have let them down in their poor performances but confidence and belief is a big thing in footy...

rovers by 5goals for me

TOP 5 - wang,corowa,lavi,rovers,yarra
Grand Finalists -corowa vs rovers
GF Result - rovers by 25pts
Morris Medal Top 3 - Carpenter,J Allan, Trenfield
Coaching Changes for 2009 - Raiders,Myrt,Albury,Yarra

Headline you'd like to see - "What A Roverlution!!"
Headline you think you will see - "Magpies Fall Short Of GF"

TOP 5 = Wang,Roos,Rovers,Dogs,Yarra
GF = Wang V Yarra
GF Result = Wang 44 points
MORRIS TOP 3 = Shir, Trenfield, Pendergast
Coaching changes for 09 = Albury,Hoppers and Raiders.

Headline you'd like to see - Dogs knockout Yarra from finals contention...again!
Headline you think you will see - Hoppers in crisis meeting!

TOP 5 = Wang,Roos,Rovers,Dogs,Yarra
GF = Wang V Yarra
GF Result = Wang 44 points
MORRIS TOP 3 = Shir, Trenfield, Pendergast
Coaching changes for 09 = Albury,Hoppers and Raiders.

Headline you'd like to see - Dogs knockout Yarra from finals contention...again!
Headline you think you will see - Hoppers in crisis meeting!

Top 5 = wang, lavi, c/r, rovers, yarra
GF = wang v lavi
GF result = wang by about 10 goals
Morris top 3 = j smith, shir, mullins
Coaching changes for 09 = raiders, nth alb, myrtl

Headline you'd like to see - "Nth Albury belted in fiery rematch"
Headline you think you will see - "Wang aiming for three-peat in 2009 : Stars re-sign"

the derby promises to be a beauty yet again but the last few times it has failed to deliver... both teams will be without key players maggies obviously hampered more with the tribunal hearings... i think the boys in brown and gold would be pretty disappointed if they lost this one what are your thoughts on that darc? and peanut for that matter no doubt you will pipe up having smelt the word 'maggies' floating around?

i'll just make some adjustments to the match ups

N Hill v Smith

Silver v Cosgriff/Trenfield/Cairns (depending on what form Silvers in)

Cristoforo v Steer

J Allan v Higgs

i think your right the game will be decided based on what the rovers bring to the table this time... if they play as well as they did across the board last week, you might see a similar result to the corowa v maggies game...

for once i think the midfield of rovers is finally up and firing and should account for Smith Lord Higgs etc and if the rovers forwards can get on top early that will go along way to getting the end result... the forward line was powerful last week and was good to see J Silver show glimpses of his dominant best in the one on one contests... i think the rovers backline have been solid all year it has been the other areas of the ground that have let them down in their poor performances but confidence and belief is a big thing in footy...

rovers by 5goals for me

you're right thinkbig, my ears (amongst other things) have indeed pricked up at the mention of the word maggies!!

i reckon you've summed it up pretty well. good match ups, that's how i'd see them working out if steer plays, otherwise dan steel will probably get silver and cosgriff will go to cristo. steel did a great job on hargreaves last week. do you know if k norman is back for rovers? he would be a massive 'in' as he could really stretch the wang defence in the absence of steer

midfield battle should be more even than the 1st time around with the porter boys and clarke missing. should be a break even or slight advantage to rovers. and rovers defence won't have to contend with hayse or henry who chopped them up 1st time around.

rovers by 8 or 9 goals for mine given the wang absentees

I think the dogs bark is definately more than its bite at the moment, the boys need to take the lesson handed to them from last week and learn how to play as a side not individuals.
Bob Craig to have the reins in 09.

I think the dogs bark is definately more than its bite at the moment, the boys need to take the lesson handed to them from last week and learn how to play as a side not individuals.
Bob Craig to have the reins in 09.

They will learn from that - no doubt. they will bounce back - they always do. Jarrod Twitt is the man for the job! It would be silly to change the senior coach unless the man wanted out himself!

Dogs will play finals in 08!

Hahaha you rovers blokes realy entertain me, we've got half a team and your still going to get smashed, if your relying on gaston and belly to win you the ruck you might as well head down to waldara for a hit of golf because the footy wont be any fun. My tip wang by something handy say 4 or 5, Mullins to get another 30+ touches to realy rub it in

Got to agree with you there thinkbig, if ever the my beloved hawks were going to get some revenge on the pies it would be this week. However I think Mcgyver underestimates the Rovers ruck division and it would be at the pies peril if they did.

Whilst Paul Kirby is the standout ruckman in the league, his faithful sidekick Boofa Carmody is not the player he once was and is better suited to the goalsquare where he is a marking threat in the pocket. The fact that the Hawks have three genuine rucking talls in Bell, Gaston and Platfuss means that they can chop and change regularly, with all 3 able to go forward and have an impact as well. If they can continuously put pressure on Kirby all day and run him around, it will go a long way to seeing a home win.

Also on a footnote, Tyson Hartwig....much underated player. Would be in line for League Dream team selection at CHB come end of the year. Holds his own strength wise against the gorilla forwards and also a superb running rebounder for a bloke his size. Thoughts?

Got to agree with you there thinkbig, if ever the my beloved hawks were going to get some revenge on the pies it would be this week. However I think Mcgyver underestimates the Rovers ruck division and it would be at the pies peril if they did.

Whilst Paul Kirby is the standout ruckman in the league, his faithful sidekick Boofa Carmody is not the player he once was and is better suited to the goalsquare where he is a marking threat in the pocket. The fact that the Hawks have three genuine rucking talls in Bell, Gaston and Platfuss means that they can chop and change regularly, with all 3 able to go forward and have an impact as well. If they can continuously put pressure on Kirby all day and run him around, it will go a long way to seeing a home win.

Also on a footnote, Tyson Hartwig....much underated player. Would be in line for League Dream team selection at CHB come end of the year. Holds his own strength wise against the gorilla forwards and also a superb running rebounder for a bloke his size. Thoughts?

you must not be to smart or watch there games becuase kirby will smash them around the ground and yer boofm will kill use in the sqaure and they also have a man that can switch into the ruck by then name of micheal Hooper and lukey mullins is in great form whos going to stop him mate and cossy and trenny will smash uuse in the backline but as what i said dnt think your to smart

Classic.

Anyways, few big weeks coming up for the Panthers. Have Wodonga this week who had a big win over Lavington last time, and always match up pretty well regardless of ladder position. Then the Panthers have Rovers, Magpies, Corowa and Yarra all in a row. Thoughts on how they'll fare in the next month or so?

Classic.

Anyways, few big weeks coming up for the Panthers. Have Wodonga this week who had a big win over Lavington last time, and always match up pretty well regardless of ladder position. Then the Panthers have Rovers, Magpies, Corowa and Yarra all in a row. Thoughts on how they'll fare in the next month or so?

they'll be lucky to pick up one win out of 5 and have a little slide down the ladder. think then win will be this week although be wary of the dogs on the rebound.

agree with the bboi comment, classic. great english skills innit.

they'll be lucky to pick up one win out of 5 and have a little slide down the ladder. think then win will be this week although be wary of the dogs on the rebound.

agree with the bboi comment, classic. great english skills innit.

I agree the panthers are sh!thouse. They'll probably lose more games than they'll win in the second half of the year.... i reckon the coach is the problem.

it must just be a black and white stripes thing... uuse know uuse will win dont uuse... back to the cheer squad for you bboi i think!

not only is the spelling an issue but you cant read either, i believe the comment about Kirby was 'the standout ruckman in the league' so dont jump to defence so easily... just see if you can keep a lid on things a little bit longer joffa...

hooper will be able to run in the ruck for about 2mins each quarter so that will give big glamour Kirby a huge chop out no doubt... and Luke "i want to look like jesus" mullins is in great form but what do uuse expect, he can walk on water so surely footy cant be that hard...

good luck uuse...
icon10.gif
icon10.gif

Go Hawks

TB

Trenny by name,trans by nature I heard ! Dont end up on the bottom of a pack with him

Hahaha you rovers blokes realy entertain me, we've got half a team and your still going to get smashed, if your relying on gaston and belly to win you the ruck you might as well head down to waldara for a hit of golf because the footy wont be any fun. My tip wang by something handy say 4 or 5, Mullins to get another 30+ touches to realy rub it in

mullins has been sensational. he would be top 3 in the morris medal at this stage of the year. is the jesus look designed to capture the umps attention?

Darc, how can you say the three big fellas can all go forward and have an impact this sunday? Bell and Gaston have barely troubled the scorers all season and last time your boys played the the Magpies, Platfuss kicked one, which was one of his rare touches on the day. I'm tipping Kirby to kick more than the three of them combined.

I agree the panthers are sh!thouse. They'll probably lose more games than they'll win in the second half of the year.... i reckon the coach is the problem.

Head16 its pretty obvious they have got rid of the problem by removing it to a far flung land!!!!!!!!!

I think theBboi might be bluey off chopper!