Ovens and Murray

let's solve this debate about the OM and Gv by having the 2 premiers play off a week after there gf"s????

I'm guessing that you would have to issue each player with a brown paper bag coming in through the gate in order to collect the remnents of their mad monday celebrations.

Sounds good in theory, but has much chance of happening as i have of winning a snorting contest with a West Coast Eagle! :D

let's solve this debate about the OM and Gv by having the 2 premiers play off a week after there gf"s????
Excellent and practical idea:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: What would be the chances of that happening Reggie-the stupidest thing i have heard of."Quiet night tonight boys even we have won the GF as we have a big game against the GVs premiers on Saturday-need to prove to Reggie who is the best in the area".Moron.

For the O&M to be considered the best country footy league in Victoria, the first thing that needs to happen is to get some quality umpires officiating in matches. The standards of umpiring in the games that i have seen so far this year have been nothing short of embarrassing, & a disgrace. Is there any chance the umpires can actually keep up with the play, or at least manage to extricate themselves from the centre square? Their understanding of the rules, & how to apply them, is limited at best, non existent at worse. Don't know what can be done to improve them, but perhaps the suggestion to pay more money so that recently retired players umpire has some merit, because currently they are CRAP!!!!!

I agree with Footy Boss in the sense Seymour was a cut above if the grand final was any guide.
Benalla was never seriously in the game.
I watched the grand final and left the game wondering what the outcome of a Yarrawonga-Seymour grand final would be last year.
I would back the Pigeons.

From all reports I would back Yarra as well.

For the O&M to be considered the best country footy league in Victoria, the first thing that needs to happen is to get some quality umpires officiating in matches. The standards of umpiring in the games that i have seen so far this year have been nothing short of embarrassing, & a disgrace. Is there any chance the umpires can actually keep up with the play, or at least manage to extricate themselves from the centre square? Their understanding of the rules, & how to apply them, is limited at best, non existent at worse. Don't know what can be done to improve them, but perhaps the suggestion to pay more money so that recently retired players umpire has some merit, because currently they are CRAP!!!!!

AGREE. but they are 1000 times better than the rubbish that gets served up in the district leagues. Umpiring around Albury Wodonga is in serious, serious trouble and I'm not seeing too many plans being put forth to address the problem.

It is pretty easy to sh!tcan them on a forum, but what useful things can we as a footy community do to help them?

- Give them names of retired players?
- Throw a few more $ to them to get someone willing enough to throw on the orange?
- Cut down abuse on forums and at games?
- Ask them what they need for help?
- Drop one player per senior team (would this mean that KokodaMidget needs to get to Seniors first) and have them go umpire a game to see how EASY it is?

I have a vested interest in them as i said before, i work with one - and he is a genuinely great guy

I havent even seen a scar from his detached 2nd head.

Big favour, could anyone post the 'Borders' scores, goals and best players from the weekend if possible?

It is pretty easy to sh!tcan them on a forum, but what useful things can we as a footy community do to help them?

- Give them names of retired players?
- Throw a few more $ to them to get someone willing enough to throw on the orange?
- Cut down abuse on forums and at games?
- Ask them what they need for help?
- Drop one player per senior team (would this mean that KokodaMidget needs to get to Seniors first) and have them go umpire a game to see how EASY it is?

I have a vested interest in them as i said before, i work with one - and he is a genuinely great guy

I havent even seen a scar from his detached 2nd head.

Mate, first thing that they & their friends need to do is accept some criticism & stop acting like sooky pariahs!!! How can they improve if they are not willing to accept or even listen to criticism. The next thing they need to do is get fit, because they certainly don't look like it at the minute, & the longer the game goes, the more tired they get & the worse their decision making gets.

Im more than happy to offer some thoughts, & the above is relatively constructive. I could be far more damning & abusive if i wanted to, but thats not going to help them improve. I'm sure most umpires are good blokes, on & off the ground, most i can even have a joke with. Never said umpiring was an easy gig, however, its certainly not as hard as some of the current guys are making it look.

Never said umpiring was an easy gig, however, its certainly not as hard as some of the current guys are making it look.

KM - You got me on the accepting criticism... but as for being fit - what are the umpires going to do. Get a cat of 9 tails and whip them if they dont want to turn up to training? Give me break!!!

How many coaches would like all their players to run out 100 minutes of football or be half as fit as the guy who won Nailcan (let alone the umps), but its just not going to happen.

As a footy watcher I would love to see every umpire superfit, but the reality is that I'm happy to see someone who is just getting out of the circle and picking a few frees.

Because it's a much better alternative which is to have no game at all?

Or am i missing your point :confused:

Just wondering how a couple mates are going over in the O & M?... Paul "big red" Kirby and Damien "wee jay" Jones.
Watched Kirbs on Sunday against the Rovers. played well, won the majority of the hitouts, his usual self around the ground, and even when resting at CHF looked as dangerous as anyone, even got pretty angry with a couple opponents which is all good.

quote=THE CEO;7463919]KM - You got me on the accepting criticism... but as for being fit - what are the umpires going to do. Get a cat of 9 tails and whip them if they dont want to turn up to training? Give me break!!!

If there is an issue with training attendance, then find out why. Surely they have a coach who can communicate & ask questions. Maybe vary training a bit, make training enjoyable, so that the majority want to turn up. Thats what happens at footy clubs

How many coaches would like all their players to run out 100 minutes of football or be half as fit as the guy who won Nailcan (let alone the umps), but its just not going to happen

Not just the fitness, its decision making ability, rule application, but most importantly positioning. Reckon they need to understand the flows of games a bit better to get into a better position to make a decision.

[B]As a footy watcher I would love to see every umpire superfit, but the reality is that I'm happy to see [I]someone who is just getting out of the circle and picking a few frees.]

Thats the crux of the issue, they don't, they umpire from too far away, & can't make a proper call.

Because it's a much better alternative which is to have no game at all?

Agree with that, wouldn't want to see the captains don the caps again & make decisions during the game.

Or am i missing your point :confused:[/quote]

I guess my point is im trying to offer some constructive advice/criticism/thoughts on umpiring in general, because i can't see anybody within the O&M, or the umpires board do anything positive about it. Why couldn't there be a forum for all stakeholders to discuss a way forward so the football in the O&M, & the surrounding areas, can be the best it can be.

KM - credit where credit is due : Brilliant reply.

I'm lead to believe that alot of those things are being done this year after the umps got a good committee in Albury, but like all things it does take a little time to come through.

But hopefully the men in orange read the site and take this stuff on board.

Perhaps with your great ideas they should get you in to help. :)

KM - credit where credit is due : Brilliant reply.

I'm lead to believe that alot of those things are being done this year after the umps got a good committee in Albury, but like all things it does take a little time to come through.

But hopefully the men in orange read the site and take this stuff on board.

Perhaps with your great ideas they should get you in to help. :)

Ceo you are quite correct the umpires met with the O&M and club delegates pre-season and I am sure one of the main issues was how to entice more umpires to the league especially past players and I would imagine the topic of umpire payments was on the agenda.

how are you going to go this weekend Raider Boy?
Big chance for the club to chalk up a win.
They pushed Rovers hard in a practice match before the season for memory.
What chances of Kurt Gowers, Darren Elliott, Xavier Mardling and Justin Kahlefeldt being promoted to the seniors.
Also what chance some of these kids like Kosic, Frawley and Morris getting a go.

Question re: Myrtleford

Why did they lose all those players during the off season?

I've read that Hodgson left and so nearly did the rest. Wondering if anyone knows anything further? They must have money.

I travel to Bright a bit and was up there on Anzac day so went and had a look at the game v Wang. The standed was a disgrace, and even though Wang were not that great they still won by 9 goals. After all the player they lost it makes me wonder how good they were or could have been, and still amazed that they couldn't win atleast 1 flag.

Take out Beams, Fitzpatrick, Carey, Macfarlane, Arnold and Eiffler and the rest look like they are making up numbers. A few of those guys playing 1's this year would have struggled to play 2's last year. I hope they manage to recruit some more players because if any of the above go down, it's back to the dark old days of 2004.

I hear Luke Martin will be back, so there's a positive and heard on WIN TV that they are still looking at players.

The Full Forward is almost gone, the knee is in trouble. He was the target they needed and desperately want.

I watch a fair bit of EFL Div 1 (Vermont) and personally thought they could take both sides, as they is a greater gap between the top and mid to bottom players.

Love to hear other views re the O&M and especially Myrt.

If anyone on here Knows anyone at the border Mail , can they tell them to get their act together on their website.

All they seem to put on their sports pages are National stories that we can get from all the major papers and seem to leave the O and M stuff for me to trawl through the internet to just get results.

It would be nice to see some stuff on the lavi boys or young Kyle Arch at Yarra,(just for example) is going or just local stuff rather than the same stuff the herald sun is churning out.which i can read on their site!!!

Seems rather straight forward to me!!

If anyone on here Knows anyone at the border Mail , can they tell them to get their act together on their website.

All they seem to put on their sports pages are National stories that we can get from all the major papers and seem to leave the O and M stuff for me to trawl through the internet to just get results.

It would be nice to see some stuff on the lavi boys or young Kyle Arch at Yarra,(just for example) is going or just local stuff rather than the same stuff the herald sun is churning out.which i can read on their site!!!

Seems rather straight forward to me!!

Agreed:thumbsu:

Ive just got a few questions for you O & M lads. How is the form of the young blokes for wang from assumption, McIntyre, Silver, Webb? Your looking at the best player, captain and vice captain of 2005 premership ACK team, there not to be sneezed at.

One more i was wondering where Bob Craig has gone to this year, and if you blokes think he had an impact last year or if it was the players he had???

All three are playing in a team which hasn't won a game in 2007 and you could say all three aren't setting the world on fire, but at the same time aren't the worst players in the side.
Pressed for order of impact, McIntyre (1), Silver (2), Webb (3).
McIntyre is playing key back and going well enough, Silver, like many of his mates is having trouble finding the big sticks when it matters and Webb is handy at best.
Everyone will say Bob Craig had a great team at his disposal last year, but I ask who pulled it all together? B. Craig leading the charge.
He was instrumental in recruiting ruckman Josh Frawley, led an entourage to Adelaide mid-season to get Marcus McMillan back, etc, etc.
Knowledge of opposition players second to none.
Highly respected from where I sit.
I detect you don't agree.