Ovens and Murray

What happened to your top 10 players after each round 'here it is'? not all of us get to read the paper each week so we dont know who's playing well so far this season. It would be appreciated if you could tell us? :)

HITMAN AKA Big Ron M

Umpire Fedderson - 3 games this year 3 reports, this should be telling the Umpires Board he is a control freak. Worstumpire in the business.

Bring back Dudenas - the best in the business

What happened to your top 10 players after each round 'here it is'? not all of us get to read the paper each week so we dont know who's playing well so far this season. It would be appreciated if you could tell us? :)

Actually forgot all about it.
Haven't had too much time on my hands - as some people would call it.

Albury V Rovers clash at Albury last weekend - game started off with a brilliant fast goal for goal first quarter - Rovers looked like they had all the answers with a 7 goal quarter but only led by a goal,usual suspects had rovers up Andrew Hill,Tucci,Cristoforo and Ross Hill ,but thats all they really have - once they tired - they were gone,Albury's run and ability to hit targets as they game wore on was a factor - scores were level at 1/2 time ,so the 50 point margin was a shock compared to the great 1st half played by both teams,Rovers seem to be able to match it for parts of games but they dont look like beating anyone with the little impact from the other players,apart from the above mentioned,the forward line weighs heavy on Cristoforo who kicked another 5.
Bush and Fowler worked very well together and i think Fowler kicked 7 or 8.

Matty Fowler is doing pretty well isn't he... just keeps going every year!! Tends to bob up for his 50 or so goals a year, fair effort with the Knee injuries he has had over the years! Good on him too cos looking over the albury team he looks like the only player still kicking from the premiership years(at Albury that is).

Big statement coming here:" i reckon he will end up being albury's record game holder" by the time he retires! Maybe the only ever Albury Tiger to Play 300 Games.

If Fowler ended up with his 7 or 8 that is pretty impressive.

For my 2 bobs worth, I thought in the game against Rovers on the weekend that Albury was delivering the ball poorly to him.

I'm no footy expert, but for someone with a run of injuries like Fowles, I would question why his team-mates want him to sprint 40-50m to a marking contest.

Why not just kick it long into the goal square where in a one-on-one he would end up 90% of the time with the pill anyway?

Or am i just showing my lack of footy knowledge?

If Fowler ended up with his 7 or 8 that is pretty impressive.

For my 2 bobs worth, I thought in the game against Rovers on the weekend that Albury was delivering the ball poorly to him.

I'm no footy expert, but for someone with a run of injuries like Fowles, I would question why his team-mates want him to sprint 40-50m to a marking contest.

Why not just kick it long into the goal square where in a one-on-one he would end up 90% of the time with the pill anyway?

Or am i just showing my lack of footy knowledge?

I would have to agree there Ozz but you can't always have the best team in the comp, Albury are good but not sure if there as good as they were when fowler was at his elusive best.

Trav Mcleans, pagey, Stephen Ash, manny Edmunds and maybe Jezza??? putting it down his throat!!

Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!

(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)

METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench

VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)

Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)

Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)

WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)

Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)

Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)

EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)

Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)

Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]

Maybe the clubs would be better off paying umpires (or contributing to the Umpire's League might be a better way of putting it!!) $200-$300 a game instead of some of the footballer mercenaries about the place. If a potential umpire can get a decent whack they might entice a few retired players into the fold??
I don't think there's too much depth there atm.

Crumber I think you are right about the money. I work with one of the local ump's and over a beer i asked the same thing. He said that all the umpires in Vic country went to the VCFL for a pay rise and only managed to get 3%.

He also said that the umps who do the O&M seniors only get paid $135 a game. To me isnt a whole lot considering what they have to do/put up with. If they got the pay up to a better level i'm sure it would entice a lot of ex-players to move into the middle. They might even get some of the footballer mercenaries as you call'em to give something back to the game because they are still picking up their meal ticket each week. I know in my case it would have stopped me from trying to play when i was too old and not being able to walk for 2 days a week.

And you dont have to be blind freddie to see that they are struggling for numbers - have a look at how many clubs now have to supply umpires each week to help out.

If i wasnt so slow and old I would have had a few years left in me as an ump to get up to their average age which me mate said was something like 48.

Has kicked 13 goals in 3 games and, has been in their best in at least 2 of the games. He looked a class act when we played them in round 1.

If i wasnt so slow and old I would have had a few years left in me as an ump to get up to their average age which me mate said was something like 48.

I don't think "old and slow" is any barrier :) Even with 2 of 'em they don't seem to get out of the square too much.

To be fair, the blokes I've seen so far haven't been too bad - if they have done something I've disagreed with at least they've done it to both teams. Consistency makes up for some shortfalls

Beams is a five-star gun.
Has played well against some quality opposition (including five goals against Yarrawonga) and will be interesting to see how he goes against Wang on Anzac Day.

Marcus McMillan against radiers
23 kicks
5 handballs
19 marks
11 goals
6 behinds
not a bad day out.. and 2nd half was in the wet

23 kicks
5 handballs
19 marks
11 goals
6 behinds

How has Darren Elliott been performing for Raiders. Was he on the receiving end of McMillan's day? Waysie must also be going OK having been named in interleague squad. Comments.

23 kicks
5 handballs
19 marks
11 goals
6 behinds
Yes was over there watching all this was done from the goal square, took some great grabs cant remember seeing him drop one. Should have kicked 15-16 passed a lot off that could have gone back and kicked

Today he talks about him being a player they have identified as wanting around the club;when did he identify this -on thursday?If Twitt was doing his job he should have been onto him in November like most O&M clubs do with good young talent from district leagues.I hope aqs it sounds like it is going to that it causes unrest in the club and comes back in his face.Good luck to the kid playing the best footy he can but to join 3 rounds in is going to make it difficult as previuosly stated there have been 50 blokes training since Novenber and he is taking someones spot.Not his fault-the coaches.It also sets a precedent now at the Wodonga Footy Club that may destabilise it to a point.Next year when he is looking for numbers at pre season training he may look to identify a reason why they are not there.Remember this is a 17 yr old kid they are bringing in not a proven established star recruit.:thumbsdown:

STP must be a Wodonga person it is so typical of one . .I believe Jarrod has done the whole club a great service by playing this kid . The kid has no previous affiliation to an O&M club. In playing laracy he has built a relationship with wodonga for Laracy to have an affiliation with if his football leads him to O&M . The kid will be a teriffic player in years to come and Jarrod obviously has a very high opinion of him (lets respect that jarrod is a good judge.)He now has a buy in at Wodonga which should ensure he comes to them when he is ready . Jarrod has bought Wodonga a potentially 10 yr good player for very little other then respecting the kids ability and giving him an opportunity.
As for others missing out ,god where do you start .remember good players pick them selves and face it Wodonga seconds at the moment are full of people who wont make it . where are all your great juniors from the 20000 u 18 flags you've won With Wodongas grip on Junior talent in the area why is it that this doesnt manifest into senior premierships? Why because Wodonga dont maximise the potential of thier u18's as they come through . To often great junior players are left in the thirds or even U17's to long because wodonga want to play some hack that has been around the club to long and will never make it .Or because they want to play top age kids that are no good just because they are top age kids and train or are a son of an old bulldog .These blokes are played before kids with real talent and therefore limit the progress of these talented kids. The club needs to identify the people who arent going to make and be real with them and encourage them to move on . Then Bring up the kids to the seconds and seniors and up from u17's to the thirds. I find the argument that Wodonga gets short of players in the seconds as an absolute joke on behalf of all involved in the football dept. While you are playing your players that will never make the seniors in the seconds you are holding out kids from the great thirds sides you have that should be playing seconds at least eg Lappin,(senoir footballer in tallangatta league should obviously at least play seconds, Vanderslys (former vic player physically suited to at least seconds ) Kurt bradshaw name says it all, etc, etc , then you have kids in u17's who are great players and would walk into any u18 side in the comp unhappy playing juniors and walk out on the club in frustraion, ie Mick naldret ,Jack Gilby,Matt manns etc etc and why because Wodonga are playing never will be's in the seconds . An example of this is a guy who last played football at bullioh seconds upper murray . trained with wodonga this year and given a game He played while ten kids who missed out on thirds were not playing eg Chris Lewis played on ball u16 bushies and not given a run in the thirds while a 22 year old from bullioh seconds gets a run . Now Lewis trained all year???
I mean the club has to get real to go forwards be professional all the old players who want there sons (that arent any good )to hang around need to be real for thier sons, the seconds need to get real with the blokes that wont make it to look below and give the young ones opportunities,the thirds need to get more involved with the u17's. And maybe then you will see some real talent developed in stead of having a shed full of seconds and thirds flag and the odd senior one when money permits you to buy players developed properly at other clubs.If you have ten good kids who cant play in the thirds because you have 10 duds in the seconds then have a look at your club. But then again enjoy your seconds and thirds flags.And please dont give me that diatribe of needing expierience in the seconds i hear all the time as an excuse to hang to your old dicks 1 maybe 2 is all you need.
Back to my original point Jarrod Twitt is the best thing to happen to you blokes ,I assume he is changing the culture by playing kids and probably has to bring in a player because there is nothing in the seconds but mindful that the person must be good for the club untill the club wakes up and rids it self of the old Wodonga mentality.

STP must be a Wodonga person it is so typical of one . .I believe Jarrod has done the whole club a great service by playing this kid . The kid has no previous affiliation to an O&M club. In playing laracy he has built a relationship with wodonga for Laracy to have an affiliation with if his football leads him to O&M . The kid will be a teriffic player in years to come and Jarrod obviously has a very high opinion of him (lets respect that jarrod is a good judge.)He now has a buy in at Wodonga which should ensure he comes to them when he is ready . Jarrod has bought Wodonga a potentially 10 yr good player for very little other then respecting the kids ability and giving him an opportunity.
As for others missing out ,god where do you start .remember good players pick them selves and face it Wodonga seconds at the moment are full of people who wont make it . where are all your great juniors from the 20000 u 18 flags you've won With Wodongas grip on Junior talent in the area why is it that this doesnt manifest into senior premierships? Why because Wodonga dont maximise the potential of thier u18's as they come through . To often great junior players are left in the thirds or even U17's to long because wodonga want to play some hack that has been around the club to long and will never make it .Or because they want to play top age kids that are no good just because they are top age kids and train or are a son of an old bulldog .These blokes are played before kids with real talent and therefore limit the progress of these talented kids. The club needs to identify the people who arent going to make and be real with them and encourage them to move on . Then Bring up the kids to the seconds and seniors and up from u17's to the thirds. I find the argument that Wodonga gets short of players in the seconds as an absolute joke on behalf of all involved in the football dept. While you are playing your players that will never make the seniors in the seconds you are holding out kids from the great thirds sides you have that should be playing seconds at least eg Lappin,(senoir footballer in tallangatta league should obviously at least play seconds, Vanderslys (former vic player physically suited to at least seconds ) Kurt bradshaw name says it all, etc, etc , then you have kids in u17's who are great players and would walk into any u18 side in the comp unhappy playing juniors and walk out on the club in frustraion, ie Mick naldret ,Jack Gilby,Matt manns etc etc and why because Wodonga are playing never will be's in the seconds . An example of this is a guy who last played football at bullioh seconds upper murray . trained with wodonga this year and given a game He played while ten kids who missed out on thirds were not playing eg Chris Lewis played on ball u16 bushies and not given a run in the thirds while a 22 year old from bullioh seconds gets a run . Now Lewis trained all year???
I mean the club has to get real to go forwards be professional all the old players who want there sons (that arent any good )to hang around need to be real for thier sons, the seconds need to get real with the blokes that wont make it to look below and give the young ones opportunities,the thirds need to get more involved with the u17's. And maybe then you will see some real talent developed in stead of having a shed full of seconds and thirds flag and the odd senior one when money permits you to buy players developed properly at other clubs.If you have ten good kids who cant play in the thirds because you have 10 duds in the seconds then have a look at your club. But then again enjoy your seconds and thirds flags.And please dont give me that diatribe of needing expierience in the seconds i hear all the time as an excuse to hang to your old dicks 1 maybe 2 is all you need.
Back to my original point Jarrod Twitt is the best thing to happen to you blokes ,I assume he is changing the culture by playing kids and probably has to bring in a player because there is nothing in the seconds but mindful that the person must be good for the club untill the club wakes up and rids it self of the old Wodonga mentality.

Jeez Sportz Tell us what you really think:p :eek: :)

I heard that David Antonowicz is playing for wodonga, can anyone tell me hows he going, played with him 3 years ago gun player.

I don't think you've put much thought into this sportz :D

STP a Barny guy so his opinion far from unbiased. I think you make some really good points Sportz.

Anyone know anything about a guy named John Brasser... not exactly sure where he played but I am pretty sure it was in O&M?