Over 50's Clique - Nostalgia, Memorabilia, Reflection and Opinion for the Mature Lion.

I went to the game. They played very well and remember they lost to their opponents by about 70 points twice during the season.

Looks good for next year
Be great to head to a game next year.

I know. I was at that Semi Final too. The Semi loss in 1981 against Collingwood was the one that really hurt. We put Essendon out in 1979, 1981 and 1986. They bundled us out in 1983, but Collingwood was the real bogey team, beating us in 1979, 1981 and 1984. Just couldn’t take a final off them or Hawthorn.
That loss to Hawthorn in 1983 really hurt.If we had won, we then played North who were gorrrrrrrn, whilst Essendon and Hawthorn would have belted the hell out of each other, the winner turning up in the GF worse for wear.
Instead ,Hawthorn coasted past North then met an exhausted Essendon who they handled pretty easily.
Coulda been us.Sigh.

That loss to Hawthorn in 1983 really hurt.If we had won, we then played North who were gorrrrrrrn, whilst Essendon and Hawthorn would have belted the hell out of each other, the winner turning up in the GF worse for wear.
Instead ,Hawthorn coasted past North then met an exhausted Essendon who they handled pretty easily.
Coulda been us.Sigh.
Yep I was at the Hawthorn final in ‘83. That was the Premiership that got away.

G'day folks :D
Happy birthday sausages.
tumblr_mz3pv40Dxs1rhiapro1_500.gif

Ahaha, no mate but cheers nonetheless :D

I'm plumbing the dizzy post 50 heights of almost being 52 :p

Just dropped in to spread some crazy love and friendship :D

I love footy.
I love sausages.
I love my girl.
I love Lions, every single goddamn one of 'em :D

I love what most people contribute and I love that we are a club that is finally competitive and how many of our crew have stuck by the colours despite the years of pain. Shit means shit to me, y'know? I FEEEEEEL :D If that statement confuses you, say it with a positive tone lol :p

WE
ROCK
:D

Well, sometimes it's just nice to have a yak :)

I enjoy BF, but occasionally the chestpumping footy academia gets over done, y'know?

Especially in off season, as people turn from season end to thoughts of first siren next year....and it seems so ****ing far away and we didn't win every quarter of footy we played all year and didn't win the flag and everything's ****ed but no this is good and he's past it and should be traded and we should get this dude in he'll make us an eleventy goal better team and **** me the coaches, don't get me ****ing started......and all I want to do is say "We did ok, can be better, we all know that, have a ****ing holiday lads, spend some me time, ideally come back in tip top shape for pre-season".

People wonder why footy players are footy players sometimes. That's because, despite everyone's desire for it to be otherwise, how many beers Rayner has in the holidays matters. And that's ok, he knows that, you know that, I know that.

The difference is, WE don't need to talk about it. It's his show, let the bastard run it :)

I'd rather chat about other stuff sometimes, and it's off season :p

Let the boys have some time off, put the cameras away, take a break from Twitter ejaculations and chill the **** out :D

I enjoy BF, but occasionally the chestpumping footy academia gets over done, y'know?

Especially in off season, as people turn from season end to thoughts of first siren next year....and it seems so ******* far away and we didn't win every quarter of footy we played all year and didn't win the flag and everything's ed but no this is good and he's past it and should be traded and we should get this dude in he'll make us an eleventy goal better team and * me the coaches, don't get me ****** started......and all I want to do is say "We did ok, can be better, we all know that, have a ******* holiday lads, spend some me time, ideally come back in tip top shape for pre-season".

People wonder why footy players are footy players sometimes. That's because, despite everyone's desire for it to be otherwise, how many beers Rayner has in the holidays matters. And that's ok, he knows that, you know that, I know that.

The difference is, WE don't need to talk about it. It's his show, let the bastard run it :)

Let the boys have some time off, put the cameras away, take a break from Twitter ejaculations and chill the * out :D
Well said sos, over the off season I will be continuing on as normal with Yoga, walks, trekking, grandkids etc... will still come on big footy but not as much as during the season.

Have a fantastic off season all my fellow over 50s legends.

Especially in off season, as people turn from season end to thoughts of first siren next year....and it seems so ******* far away and we didn't win every quarter of footy we played all year and didn't win the flag and everything's ed but no this is good and he's past it and should be traded and we should get this dude in he'll make us an eleventy goal better team and * me the coaches, don't get me ****** started......and all I want to do is say "We did ok, can be better, we all know that, have a ******* holiday lads, spend some me time, ideally come back in tip top shape for pre-season".

Let the boys have some time off, put the cameras away, take a break from Twitter ejaculations and chill the * out :D

Greetings from Birmingham, UK. Here for my consulting work and having a good time of it! Not looking forward to the flight back on Sunday...

Sounds topping :) Yes, **** the flight ahaha.

I did a mad dash from a shit time in the UK on holiday to Bangkok to change environment recently and it matters not how you slice it - LHR to anywhere past SIN is a pita :D

Is Heathrow still a shitfight to get through? I departed in the days leading up to the worst of it back mid-year, but even then going through security screening etc took over 3 hours.

Sounds topping :) Yes, * the flight ahaha.

I did a mad dash from a s**t time in the UK on holiday to Bangkok to change environment recently and it matters not how you slice it - LHR to anywhere past SIN is a pita :D

Is Heathrow still a shitfight to get through? I departed in the days leading up to the worst of it back mid-year, but even then going through security screening etc took over 3 hours.
Flying out of Birmingham not London thank goodness. Will still be slow.

An excellent idea!

I hope you are now working in air-conditioned surrounds if you weren't before lol.

But in general, **** England. I spent a horrible time there and hope never to return ahaha.

I do think we should sing songs at the footy though, perhaps in the minutes leading to the game.

Classic songs, like "Go **** Yerself", "You Blokes Are Trash" and the ever-loved "Sniff My Socks, Loser" :D

Well, **** me.

Just been visited by my girlfriend's cousin and been advised that tomorrow I have a teaching interview (English) for the local high school.

Some pertinent facts:

I'm 51.
In Thailand.
Don't speak Thai.
Have no formal teaching qualifications, but am reasonably placed to get them promptly.
Have teaching experience only in an aviation cargo environment.
Was on holiday until 30 minutes ago and thus have had beers and cones :p

You bastard dlanod :D I hardly slept last night rofl

I mean, its not unexpected, I was simply of the understanding that said interview and subsequent appointment would be next year, March/April....plenty of time to chill out and drink Singha :p

But.....Thailand. Specifically the north-east, where its an agrarian village existence, far removed from the southern fleshpots and party life.

People are poor, so the schools are poor - they have never had a native English speaker in an English teaching position before - its considered very much a status symbol if a school gets a native speaker. Usually of course, just as in Australia, teachers prefer to be in the cities or other big urban areas, not out the back of Bourke lol.

Plus, I'm coming cheap, because I don't have teaching experience - which isn't an issue for me but makes me yet more attractive ahaha.

Standby for me to take over the school sport program over and start producing footy players :D

How's everyone going? Been a heavy few days. Being the UK at the moment, I have been a bit shielded. MacMum - if you read this, IMO you have been awesome over the years. Don't let some of them get you down.

So, had the interview lol.

By all accounts, I should expect to be offered a teaching contract for 12 months, commencing Oct 25.

Jesus christ :p

Standing in front of a room of Thai students, and although a high school, I have no idea what age ranges we talking about.

Strap in people, this is gonna be huge fun :D

You bastard dlanod :D I hardly slept last night rofl

I mean, its not unexpected, I was simply of the understanding that said interview and subsequent appointment would be next year, March/April....plenty of time to chill out and drink Singha :p

But.....Thailand. Specifically the north-east, where its an agrarian village existence, far removed from the southern fleshpots and party life.

People are poor, so the schools are poor - they have never had a native English speaker in an English teaching position before - its considered very much a status symbol if a school gets a native speaker. Usually of course, just as in Australia, teachers prefer to be in the cities or other big urban areas, not out the back of Bourke lol.

Plus, I'm coming cheap, because I don't have teaching experience - which isn't an issue for me but makes me yet more attractive ahaha.

Standby for me to take over the school sport program over and start producing footy players :D
Sounds an awesome second career. I live in Singapore for 10 years and loved it!

Over 50's Clique - Nostalgia, Memorabilia, Reflection and Opinion for the Mature Lion.