Over 50's Clique - Nostalgia, Memorabilia, Reflection and Opinion for the Mature Lion.

Sounds "fun" hope you can swim.⛈️

Stay safe.:)

No worries MM, nobody in the family is remotely concerned, which is typically Thai :D

So, I'll just chillax about it too ahaha :)

It's just too nice a place to get bothered about many things, I have to say :D

No worries MM, nobody in the family is remotely concerned, which is typically Thai :D

So, I'll just chillax about it too ahaha :)

It's just too nice a place to get bothered about many things, I have to say :D

Just like here. Tie everything down, stock the esky and wait things out!

Be careful about the mosquitos after the rain though. Dengue and malaria are terrible. Luckily I haven't had malaria (as it can be hard to eradicate) but my dengue experience was horrible.

Sausages, water and alcohol don't mix so you will be safe if you drink heaps!

Duly noted :D

Might finish my coffee then ask the missus to go next door and buy me a few pints :D

That might sound chauvinist, but I have learnt to stop doling some things for myself as she INSISTS it is her job to do it - buying beer/bringing beer when empty are 2 of those things lol.

I kid you not, we had an argument about me offering to hold the heavier shopping bags otw home from the market one day - she was visibly distressed at the thought I didn't want her to do things for me. It prompted no less than accusations I wanted to leave/had another interest etc :)

So, I just let her now - it's pointless to try to stop, it's purely cultural and she is at home - it's not really my place to say how she should behave within this environment.

Duly noted :D

Might finish my coffee then ask the missus to go next door and buy me a few pints :D

That might sound chauvinist, but I have learnt to stop doling some things for myself as she INSISTS it is her job to do it - buying beer/bringing beer when empty are 2 of those things lol.

I kid you not, we had an argument about me offering to hold the heavier shopping bags otw home from the market one day - she was visibly distressed at the thought I didn't want her to do things for me. It prompted no less than accusations I wanted to leave/had another interest etc :)

So, I just let her now - it's pointless to try to stop, it's purely cultural and she is at home - it's not really my place to say how she should behave within this environment.
I know what you are saying. I have some Thai friends and I don't invite them around for tea and bother to cook anything as they HAVE to bring enough food that would Jesus and the miracle of the loaves and fishes to shame.

It used to annoy me as I love cooking, the ceremony of the meal, the serving of the meal and the discussion of my dishes but they would be too uncomfortable if they turned up with nothing.

I no longer eat at Thai places in Melbourne though. Their food is SO good.

Yeah, you don't get between a Thai and their food ahaha.

It's very important to them, not just the eating but the social ceremony as well. It's one thing being a farang tourist, but quite another when you are in a family/extended family setting insofar as eating a meal is concerned. Australians generally don't place a great many social observances around meal time, especially in workplaces or shift-work homes. Thais do, and it's something I have had to learn. Not hard, just awareness of cultural differences, hence going with the flow is the way to go :p

I tell ya though folks......my partner's brother came home from his FIFO time working on an oilrig, which I think is situated in the Gulf of Thailand.

He's a champion bloke, younger than my girl, early 30's, 2 awesome kids, a supportive wife.....

.....dude buys a set of rims within the first few days of getting home :D

3BE70C85-28DB-4D07-982E-8733FF918C2A.jpeg
Fitzroy’s last big VFL / AFL win. Roy’s were 122 points up at 3/4 time and won by 104 points easing down. Lynch kicked seven.

Both amazing players.
This was three weeks after Mick similarly ran through Peter Russo at Princes Park to snap a goal. From memory he was carrying a toe injury at the time and was having difficulty changing direction, so he’d just bowl over whomever was in his way.

b6251a6bf1be160b468d6dc722fbda9779f2858b

McGrath, McIvor, Lawrie and Barwick celebrate beating Sydney in the 1986 Semi Final

This is clearly into the Over 50’s Clique 1980’s Playlist.

Put your suggestions in here and I will make a playlist and post link back in the thread.

They are speaking about Princess Park around the aflw gf. I remember standing on the terrace where the Legend's Stand is now. Drinking VB cans washed down with hot jam donuts and pies. Went to uni for 8 years and live in the area so got to many games. How times have changed for me and the venue!
Saw some great games bookended by the Bruns - Matthews game in 1985 and Paul Roos winner against Collingwood in 1992. Most crazy were Carlton vs Essendon games - so much tension in the crowd.

Over 50's Clique - Nostalgia, Memorabilia, Reflection and Opinion for the Mature Lion.