over 7 million australians denied live afl covverage by 2 men

Its the fact that its delayed that I hate, Its happened or happening and your behind by 2hours. I cant live with that even if I dont know the scores, doesnt matter.

how is it possible that 2 men [ ch 7 program managers in sydney and brisbane] have that much power to deny possibly, but probably notlikely over 7 million aussies from watching .......live ....... one of the big afl matchs of the year. a 1130 pm start in both states is ridiculous, it seems that a 20 yr old kidds movie has more appeal. or are they to gutless to take on the nrl and masterchef????????????

I think you mean one man and a sock puppet.

yeh stuck in qld working at the mo & really getting the shits with this friday night & sunday arvo coverage

would take the stroke of a pen by the polly w***ers involved to allow broadcasts on 7 & 10 2nd channels

thank **** for radio eh:thumbsu:

how is it possible that 2 men [ ch 7 program managers in sydney and brisbane] have that much power to deny possibly, but probably notlikely over 7 million aussies from watching .......live ....... one of the big afl matchs of the year. a 1130 pm start in both states is ridiculous, it seems that a 20 yr old kidds movie has more appeal. or are they to gutless to take on the nrl and masterchef????????????

Don't you have one friend with Foxtel? Can't convince any bars/pubs to throw the game on?
If you actually made a little effort, you could watch the game live!
People like me in Perth and Adelaide have a right to complain, but for someone who can easily access the game live, that is a bit of a cop out.

What craps me off the most is that Eastern States can get it live on main event, but in Perth, even when paying for foxtel, you STILL can't get the game live.

Don't you have one friend with Foxtel? Can't convince any bars/pubs to throw the game on?
If you actually made a little effort, you could watch the game live!
People like me in Perth and Adelaide have a right to complain, but for someone who can easily access the game live, that is a bit of a cop out.

Having foxtel makes no difference. There's no coverage in QLD until well after the game is finished

Because they know the 20 yr old kids movie will rate better - much better - than the AFL. It's not called "commercial" television for nothing...

I never cease to be amazed by the number of people from Melbourne who actually think AFL is considered a major sport in Sydney or Brisbane...

well ian rush it just goes to show you how far behind the times you are i happen to live in brisbane, not melbourne, and i can tell you that, the afl is a major sport in this city , not the biggest but definitely a major sport. and one that is growing at a considerable rate. the fact that the next set of television rights could attract a bid of over 1 billion dollars tells me that the afl is already a big sport in all regions,

This problem could easily be solved by putting the A.F.L on 7's digital station 72 in Queensland and N.S.W.live every Friday night.All that is required is for the Federal government to change its anti siphoning list for protected sports,and for 7 to agree to do this.Knowing what 7 is like they probably won't agree to do this,but 9 has already promised to put football live into Queensland and N.S.W on its own digital station Go,if it wins the next broadcast rights to A.F.L football.

This. I note that for the FIFA World Cup the Federal Government has amended the rules to allow SBS to show live matches concurrently - one on SBS1 and one on SBS2. Hopefully with analogue TV being phased out soon will prompt a rethink on the legislation.

I think as digital TV continues to roll out it makes less and less sense to treat digital TV the same as pay TV and subject to the anti-syphoning rules. Digital TV should be considered the same as analogue free-to-air.

I long for the day when I can get live footy on a friday night in Perth. I don't care what channel it is on, it doesn't even need to be HD, as long as it is on.

I think the problem is that of those 7 million australians, only a small percentage could give two hoots about afl. Tell your friends with ratings machines to watch the footy on ten on saturday night and if the ratings go up then seven might show it live.

Do you actually know anyone with a "ratings machine"?

3 live games for us in London!! When I first came here, I had to go to an interet cafe and log in via dial up to get a ereally slow the Age page to load! Now... LIVE! Its awesome. Sometimes I eat meat pies with sauce on the sofa watching it.

The game wont get much bigger up here untill all games are live. People are lazy and if the AFL is on when they actually are awake they will watch it instead of talking to family members or going outside and the game will continue to grow. Otherwise it will stagnate...the AFL can throw as much money as they want into junior development up here but until the populace is exposed to lots of games at decent hours on tv (only the already converted will bother staying up to watch a game now) the game will not grow much more and the money spent on new teams will just be a waste.

You'd think Channel 7 could have went close to having the number one program nationwide last night with the AFL if they had of shown the game live in all markets.

What Australia watched, Friday

Description Total Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Adelaide Perth

1 SEVEN NEWS Seven 1,388,000 396,000 385,000 264,000 158,000 186,000
2 TODAY TONIGHT Seven 1,269,000 331,000 326,000 257,000 173,000 182,000
3 NINE NEWS Nine 1,255,000 345,000 374,000 260,000 138,000 139,000
4 A CURRENT AFFAIR Nine 1,224,000 341,000 410,000 230,000 122,000 121,000
5 MASTERCHEF AUSTRALIA - MASTERCLASS Ten 1,037,000 266,000 327,000 182,000 120,000 142,000
6 TWO AND A HALF MEN -RPT Nine 1,025,000 283,000 332,000 214,000 88,000 109,000
7 SEVEN'S AFL: RND 9: COLLINGWOOD VS GEELONG Seven 1,010,000 9,000 663,000 24,000 165,000 150,000
11 BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS Seven 859,000 351,000 220,000 136,000 151,000
14 THE 7PM PROJECT Ten 725,000 226,000 174,000 164,000 76,000 86,000
15 HOT SEAT Nine 646,000 163,000 192,000 166,000 70,000 55,000
16 DEAL OR NO DEAL Seven 628,000 156,000 210,000 125,000 72,000 66,000
18 NINE'S LIVE FRIDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL Nine 603,000 372,000 Not shown 231,000 Not shown Not shown
26 SUNRISE Seven 415,000 140,000 90,000 103,000 31,000 50,000
32 TODAY Nine 337,000 119,000 97,000 59,000 25,000 37,000
67 DAFFY DUCK'S FANTASTIC ISLAND GO! 148,000 41,000 39,000 37,000 17,000 15,000
210 THE COLBERT REPORT ABC2 32,000 11,000 6,000 3,000 3,000 8,000
226 NINE'S FRIDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL LATE Nine 26,000 Not shown 16,000 Not shown 7,000 3,000

http://blogs.sunherald.com.au/whoweare/

i wouldn't mind if it was on at 8:30 every friday night and not on main event live. lasdt night they had kindy cop on instead of a 1 hour delay of the afl. 7 are going to have the next rightd and probably by themselves. the afl might be thinking they will give across the board full coverage for everyone. but they won't it's an absolute certainty

The Federal Government has already changed the rules for Soccer yet not for Australia's number one football code. :thumbsdown:

While true, I think it needs to be said that the change the Government made was with very very strict restrictions imposed upon SBS.

The anti-siphoning list is an absolute JOKE. And the bigger joke is they are expanding the bastard.

FTA channels get the biggest free ride from the Government, it's an absolute disgrace.

over 7 million australians denied live afl covverage by 2 men