Food/Supplements Paleo Diet

No grains of any kind. No matter what people tell you about quinou, spelt etc it isn't paleo and isn't beneficial to your body.

Actually there are degrees of paleo. What you're referring to is strict paleo (what i'm doing atm actually) - which is no grains of any kind (incl rice), no alcohol and no dairy. In other words, completely unsustainable, but it's good to do for 30 days to give yourself a clean slate to work with. I think you can eat cleanly and include a bit of raw dairy and some grains (and definitely vodka ;))

If you google paleo recipes for banana bread etc you'll see there are loads of "paleo" sites using alternate grains (other than wheat) to make paleo versions of muffins and breads etc.

Having said that, Sourdough is the antithesis of paleo.

"I would say that about 75 per cent of the contestants from my series in 2008 are back to their starting weight. About 25 per cent had had gastric banding or surgery. I sit in the middle somewhere. I lost 50 kgs, but have put 25 kgs back on since the show and my lifelong battle with weight continues. Anyone can lose weight in a controlled environment; I'd say it's almost impossible not to lose weight on theBiggest Loser.

But the show doesn't address the reasons why people like me are so obsessed and addicted to eating excess amounts of food; it doesn't get to the root of the problem. If any TV producers can work that out let me know, I'd love to go on your show!"

Sort out your insulin and you'll lose weight. Calorie counting and excercise is futile if your hormones are all over the place.

He doesn't look like he's on anything?

Agreed, there's a massive chance that he isn't on the roids. His physique is definitely achievable naturally, especially if your life is dedicated to that field of work. And if he is on the roids, I reckon he's doing pretty shit in terms of muscle size and definition, based on a google image search of the guy anyway.

Definitely on the roids/hgh - compare him to what he looked like in 2010 to now is a huge difference. Clean eating my arse! Same story with Rugby players.

Seriously? To me he doesn't look that cut. I've seen heaps of guys at the gym in better shape than him.

Starting my paleo lifestyle this week. I've been cutting down on the carbs steadily over the last couple of weeks and am ready to go full caveman. Hoping for weight loss and lower blood sugars. If this happens it might be a lifestyle I adopt permanently.

I recommend getting a copy of "it all starts with food" as it will explain the hormonal damage that has been done via carb abuse. As well as help you to understand that it may take a while to get your insulin, lepin, cortisol responses back on track before you see any weight loss.

Seriously? To me he doesn't look that cut. I've seen heaps of guys at the gym in better shape than him.

Thats now, but go back a year or two and he was mega shredded and ultra fit. I also think their are no roids.

commando_sexiest_1988hok-1988hos.jpg

I recommend getting a copy of "it all starts with food" as it will explain the hormonal damage that has been done via carb abuse. As well as help you to understand that it may take a while to get your insulin, lepin, cortisol responses back on track before you see any weight loss.

Do you mean It Starts With Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig?

I emailed a store in town today, (Cut it Out) to enquire about whether they had any veg spiralizers, to which they did. The bonus was that from my email address - they recognised that I was with the Education department and proceeded to knock 15% off the price tag from $50 to $42.50. In hindsight I should've asked if anyone else here wanted one, sorry guys! Today was a good day.

images

No worries, i have an education sector email address myself :)

Me three.
Why aren't beans considered paleo? I love my three bean mix, and it's very good for my blood sugar.

Me three.
Why aren't beans considered paleo? I love my three bean mix, and it's very good for my blood sugar.

It's best to find your own way around paleo.... I reccommend playing around with it for a while by cutting out refined carbs (like wheat and sugar) - then do a gut cleanse (which is basically strict paleo) then one by one reintroduce things like beans back in and see how you go with them. If they aren't causing you an issue and you love them then there isn't a reason to stop eating them.

Food/Supplements Paleo Diet