Roast Pathetic-Game over

It's the managerial approach, that we see from governments of all persuasions. Something that is Undesirable? Why, we can regulate it away. That you might come down on people's freedoms to be a little bit naughty sometimes, or cast the net so wide that normal human behaviour becomes verboten? That is of no consequence, as long as we are saved from the Undesirables.

Perhaps right, but I also think it's more than that.

I think this is about control- who has the right to dictate what occurs in the game.

Fans have always held the belief that at the end of the day they were what matters. Administrators don't believe that. This is about making sure that fans know that the corporatist administration is in control- the game is a gift that they bestow upon us, but they could take it away at any moment if we're not doing the job that they give us.

That’s the problem right there. People don’t want to here that stuff anymore.

Times have changed. Yell, scream and support as loud as you* can but stop the profanity and intimidation of others around you. It’s not needed or wanted as it spoils the game.

* not you
Agree..but we don't think having gestapo at the ground to enforce it is a positive step forward

Oh Cap your booing comments are complete garbage.
If you are claiming the booing is rasicm at hart and nothing about not liking the bloke can you explain why we fall over ourselves applauding and cheering Eddie.

Or are you claiming we now have selective racism. If im racist and boo Goodes because im racist how on earth could i applaud and love Eddie??

Is booing the white anglo saxon also racist or is an act deemed to be racist when Adam Goodes is at the heart of the debate??

Oh Cap your booing comments are complete garbage.
If you are claiming the booing is rasicm at hart and nothing about not liking the bloke can you explain why we fall over ourselves applauding and cheering Eddie.

Or are you claiming we now have selective racism. If im racist and boo Goodes because im racist how on earth could i applaud and love Eddie??

Is booing the white anglo saxon also racist or is an act deemed to be racist when Adam Goodes is at the heart of the debate??

im a booer and whilst i didn't boo Goodes i probably would have joined in had i the chance.

I also don't think everyone who booed him did it out of racism either. But once it was raised as an issue, those of us who didn't boo out of racism enabled a shit load of racists to boo a champion of our game out of existence.

I'm no expert on racism, but I'm pretty sure you can be racist on an individual level.

What is with the AFL pretending they know nothing about this?

Unless we’ve been looking at doctored photos, there are security guards walking around games wearing “behavioural awareness officer” vests.

Never thought I would see that in a democratic country. ****ing security guards, entry-level employees hired by private companies, walking around deciding what acceptable speech is.

**** off. **** right off.

If Gill knows nothing about that, we’re deeper in the shit than we can even imagine. This is ****ing embarrassing for him, and he is creating an unbelievably bad legacy for himself.

What is with the AFL pretending they know nothing about this?

Unless we’ve been looking at doctored photos, there are security guards walking around games wearing “behavioural awareness officer” vests.

Never thought I would see that in a democratic country. ******* security guards, entry-level employees hired by private companies, walking around deciding what acceptable speech is.

**** off. **** right off.

If Gill knows nothing about that, we’re deeper in the **** than we can even imagine. This is ******* embarrassing for him, and he is creating an unbelievably bad legacy for himself.
Just shows you where the money is. We need a palatable TV experience because the attendances dont pay the bills.

I think the safe option is to go corporate where possible. Can sit in your box, eat, drink, behave like a pig and it’s all good.

I heard the head of Marvel Stadium on Macquarie radio today. He states the AFL has categorically NOT given a directive to crack down on anti social behaviour. He said there have been increased numbers of security personnel since the beginning of the season (apparently there were brawls early on). He said they get approx. 8-12 reports of anti social behaviour every match with 2-4 ejections out of 35,000 people. He said security guards give people a warning if they are swearing and if they continue, they get ejected. He said they have put an emphasis in the last couple of weeks of having security guards show their presence in order for people to feel safe. He’s been made aware that some are feeling this is intimidating and that they need to find a balance between people feeling safe and feeling like they can’t barrack. It was a decent conversation and I think we may see it not as pervasive in coming weeks. Here’s hoping!

The hard thing is that in the hectic atmosphere of a large, emotional crowd it is not possible to police antisocial behaviour with surgical precision.

You can't remove only the unruly element, correctly identifying the perpetrators without a few innocents getting caught in the net.

Security have to make snap decisions. They don't have the time to canvas witnesses or study CCTV footage to get a clear picture of what is happening.

Is the current negative (some abuse, poor language, drunkeness, physical stuff) worse than the negative of having passionate, dedicated fans either removed from the game completely or feeling subdued/threatened while they're there?

No one has the right or deserves to be vilified anyone else.

On the street, in your work place or even the sporting ground.

Anyone who does this should be questioning their own judgment, not the judgement of people trying to stamp out such issues.

Sorry, bud, but you're wrong. It's called freedom of speech.

Who decides what is vilification?

Slippery slope to North Korea.

I heard the head of Marvel Stadium on Macquarie radio today. He states the AFL has categorically NOT given a directive to crack down on anti social behaviour. He said there have been increased numbers of security personnel since the beginning of the season (apparently there were brawls early on). He said they get approx. 8-12 reports of anti social behaviour every match with 2-4 ejections out of 35,000 people. He said security guards give people a warning if they are swearing and if they continue, they get ejected. He said they have put an emphasis in the last couple of weeks of having security guards show their presence in order for people to feel safe. He’s been made aware that some are feeling this is intimidating and that they need to find a balance between people feeling safe and feeling like they can’t barrack. It was a decent conversation and I think we may see it not as pervasive in coming weeks. Here’s hoping!
I'll cut them some slack, because they genuinely have had some nasty incidents. Looks like they misjudged the impact of having "Behavioural Awareness Officers" patrolling the aisles instead of just ensuring they have an adequate and quickly responsive security team for when there's an actual incident.

Sorry mate but you’re wrong

Freedom of speech isn’t the highest possible freedom and totally untouchable

Like the old saying goes, freedom of speech doesn’t give you the right to shout “fire!” in a crowded theatre

Freedom of speech doesn’t mean that you can work for a company and tell a customer to “f*** off” without getting in trouble with your boss

Freedom of speech doesn’t mean you can plan to blow up a football stadium with your mates and not expect to get charged with conspiracy to commit an act of terrorism

There’s no such thing as complete freedom of speech and it’s naive to think otherwise

There’s always a balance as to what is the greatest good for society. And acknowledging that doesn’t necessarily mean that we are suddenly North Korea

Who decides what is vilification? We all do, through our elected representatives. The same as we do with everything else where we have to balance competing interests in society

That is the exact opposite of freedom of speech. Anyway, "free speech" is an American thing.

If you say something vilifying, race, gender etc you don't get to decide if is offensive or not, even if it is "Just a joke". However, vilification is usually from a person in power to someone from a marginalised group. It's pretty easy to spot vilification.

Umpires are in power, even if they are a marginalised group at the same time. Green maggot and bald headed flog are name calling at worst, and not vilification. None of that goes to the core being of the person. Personally, I think the best way for umpires not to be abused is to raise the standard. You can't call 50m against the Crows for hitting the ball put after a mark in a 50-50 Call then fail to call it against Richmond when it's blatant.... Or the dubios Jenkins HTB call, but miss the one coming back the other way like 10 minutes later.

The blow torch has been on the umps this season from all quarters. The AFL has backed the wrong horse and the fans hate it. Now the AFL has turned on the fans.

Calling a person of colour an ape is vilification. Calling an ump a flog is rude.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

So you go to the footy to verbally abuse people.

Don't get me wrong, banter (which despite that Collingwood fans claims and most Port fans claims, died at the footy decades ago) is fine usually fun, but really just going to abuse people?
I think you might have got the wrong message there Cap.
I go there to watch a footy game. I go there in anticipation of seeing the best game that I’ve ever seen. I go there because I know I’m probably going to have butterflies in my stomach throughout the game until I know the final result. I go to get excited and carry on a bit, maybe I might shout out something a bit colourful. If I’m on the hill with mates I’m going to carry on a bit more than if I’m in the stands with my parents and kids. But for my kids I think they are fine to see me go off occasionally. A bit of passion is a good thing and I’d much rather self regulate than be told what to do. I think too much of that would kill the golden goose.

Sorry mate but you’re wrong

Freedom of speech isn’t the highest possible freedom and totally untouchable

Like the old saying goes, freedom of speech doesn’t give you the right to shout “fire!” in a crowded theatre

Freedom of speech doesn’t mean that you can work for a company and tell a customer to “f*** off” without getting in trouble with your boss

Freedom of speech doesn’t mean you can plan to blow up a football stadium with your mates and not expect to get charged with conspiracy to commit an act of terrorism

There’s no such thing as complete freedom of speech and it’s naive to think otherwise

There’s always a balance as to what is the greatest good for society. And acknowledging that doesn’t necessarily mean that we are suddenly North Korea

Who decides what is vilification? We all do, through our elected representatives. The same as we do with everything else where we have to balance competing interests in society
We don’t really though. It’s rammed down our throats by a few highly motivated minority campaigners/lobbyists.
Most people don’t really care that much, then all of a sudden. The gestapo are chucking someone out of a footy game for the barbaric crime of calling a bald flog, “a bald flog”.

We don’t really though. It’s rammed down our throats by a few highly motivated minority campaigners/lobbyists.
Most people don’t really care that much, then all of a sudden. The gestapo are chucking someone out of a footy game for the barbaric crime of calling a bald flog, “a bald flog”.

Yeah hardly the gestapo. An over enthusiastic approach to security. Talk to someone who suffered at the hands of the gestapo and see if it’s the same

Roast Pathetic-Game over