Paul Bulluss-any older blokes remember him?

Terry keys was another favourite of mine

Other than a big mark in a night game and playing a part in a win against Carlton you become enamoured pretty easily.

Is my sarcasm detector on the blink mate?

Ring a 'Jim Mowers' and you might get your lawn mowed by one of your favourites.

Good ol' Bully...
bulluss1.jpg

I remember a great story of after a game Bully heading into the showers and forgetting to takes his socks off... couldn't work out why so many players were laughing at him!

Here's some others you may remember:

Craig Biddiscombe (Handy player)
Todd Bremen (Came as part of the Stevan Jackson trade)
Ashley Blurton (Hack from West Coast)
Stewart Edwards (Was meant to be our answer at Full Forward... just couldn't quite get there... then Richo came along... loved a drink did Stewie! haha)
Ty Esler
Tim Fleming
Simon Fletcher
Matt Francis (Sackman!!!)
Brad Gwilliam (Came from West Coast too from memory, cheer squad sponsored him cos no-one else wanted to!)
Stuart Griffiths (Guy was going bald at 21 from memory)
Wayne Hernaman (Another 1st round draft pick wasted!)
Jon Howat
Terry Keays (Loved this guy)
Mark Pitura (HACK!)
Ezra Poyas
Stephen Ryan
Clay Sampson (From the Crows)
Robert Schaefer (Was the only highlight mentioned on the 3AW/Rex Hunt cassette tape of the 1993 highlights... Rex called him "The Pen")
James Thiessen (Used to hang out with this guy... excellent fella... ended up at Adelaide)
Mark Trewella
Andrew Underwood
Stuart Wigney (Not Twigney as mentioned earlier)

Haha, one of my housemates has the 1991? team poster with Honeybun.

I was a teenager in the 90's so i remember all of these names well with the exception of Twigney. No matter how much anyone tries to job my memory i can not for the life of me remember this bloke!

I know we didnt make too much of an impact in the `90's but all these blokes were my hero's growing up.

I was a kid in the 80's but i dont remember too many of the games from that far back. But i do remember meeting Michael Pickering and Trevor Poole (sp?) at a school footy day. And Maurice Rioli is my all time favourite player (as well as Rich of course).
Steve the player you are trying to remember is actually Stuart Wigney.

Simon Dennis anyone? 2 game career.....
Renato Dintinosante??? 2 game career in 1987
Simon Eishold?? 5 game Richmond career
Matthew Francis??? 19 game career
Brad Fox??? 4 game career
Greg Hamilton??? 29 game career....who the???
Darren Keighran??? 2 game career....

The list is endless......full of classic names from the 90's.....

I knew Bulluss from when I was a kid, my family was heavily involved in West Torrens (and then WWT), so spent a lot of time around the guys.

Bull was a great bloke; Jamie Tape was another one - one of the nicest, happiest people you could ever meet :(
Jamie Tape was a real goer on the field.
Tragic.

"Stewart Edwards (Was meant to be our answer at Full Forward... just couldn't quite get there... then Richo came along... loved a drink did Stewie! haha)."

Stewie kicked 6 goals the day Richo went down at SCG v Ducks, we had given him the name "The Dud" before this game. By memory we were behind all game lost Richo early & then wigney broke his ankle. I think 'The Dud' kicked 4 in the last to in us the game. was a great weekend away

Stuart Wigney (Not Twigney as mentioned earlier)[/quote].

Had a great 95 season til his broken Ankle.

love this thread!

i sadly saw the end of michael mitchell in a praccy match one day in my local area! not sure whether it was bayswater or boronia but from memory it was against north melb. someone cleaned him up good and proper and never really recovered.

Freeza! another one cut down in his prime :(

Peter Wilson was one of my favs. was tough and an angry looking man even when he smiled

Allen Mckeller - was going to be a super star but when your coach(Bartlett) was a rover and didnt know what a big man looks like i guess it was always going to be hard to break into a team with the likes of -Flea, Knights, Lambert, Maxfield, Nichols, Free, Pickering and im sure ther are others.

Chrissy Naish was another i really loved!!

Michael Laffy - the "Mole" man himself

love this thread!

i sadly saw the end of michael mitchell in a praccy match one day in my local area! not sure whether it was bayswater or boronia but from memory it was against north melb. someone cleaned him up good and proper and never really recovered.

Freeza! another one cut down in his prime :(

Peter Wilson was one of my favs. was tough and an angry looking man even when he smiled

Allen Mckeller - was going to be a super star but when your coach(Bartlett) was a rover and didnt know what a big man looks like i guess it was always going to be hard to break into a team with the likes of -Flea, Knights, Lambert, Maxfield, Nichols, Free, Pickering and im sure ther are others.

Chrissy Naish was another i really loved!!

Michael Laffy - the "Mole" man himself

Was Bayswater .. I was there.
The player who cleaned him up was none other than Mick martyn - and not highly legal either!!!

How on earth have you you all left Adam Slater out of this illustrious list?:p

Ah....95' we were going somewhere, then everyone left and we had to start again.

How many of you remember the massive game against Nth the night before Anzac day, Tig's had 8 goals on the board in the 1st 15 minutes thanks to Edwards, Richo and Jurica.:D

Still love to pull that tape out occasionally.

Sad that Naish, Tape, Prescott, Bond and co all left.:(

I met Bully one day after a game, through a mate who used to live with Nathan Bower.

Bully impressed me as a genuinely good bloke. He was almost your stereotypical Tiger back then - could play a bit, reasonably hard at it and a little bit loose.

The beers at Punt Road after game tasted great too, so good I can barely remember them.

gee goldy don't get idy started, he was there, not sure I've ever known him to be so ENRAGED at the time

oh jesus ... and i was having such a relaxed eveing

i reckon i have posted about this at least a dozen times over the journey .

Mick Martyn < pond scum

ended MM's career right there and then with a couple of well placed knees to the head ...

... anyway aboutt he topic ... "Bully" bulluss

My favourite story was when Bojangles and i were heading out of the "G" one day and we were angling towards the Royal ... we were walking through the RFC car park , full of lovely nice late model vehicles all pristine and lovely ... when in the distance we saw the biggest shit heap you have ever seen ... bottle green HQ without a panel that was either dented or rusted out ... filth that you could barely see through the windows ....

We were L our A`s O ... i rubbed a bit of the dirt off one of the windows out of morbid curiosity where upon looking in the back seat the was the most weather beaten looking drum kit strewn all over place and then i peered towards the dash ... and on the dash there were a couple of letters that were addressed to none other then ..... P Bulluss .

Good honest footballer who never truelly got the best out of himself ... bit less of the booze and put in a better "environment" and who knows , Rumour has it that Steven Jackson was let go due to his nocturnal habits and influences with young blokes like Bulluss ... but that was just rumour ;)

... anyway aboutt he topic ... "Bully" bulluss

My favourite story was when Bojangles and i were heading out of the "G" one day and we were angling towards the Royal ... we were walking through the RFC car park , full of lovely nice late model vehicles all pristine and lovely ... when in the distance we saw the biggest shit heap you have ever seen ... bottle green HQ without a panel that was either dented or rusted out ... filth that you could barely see through the windows ....

We were L our A`s O ... i rubbed a bit of the dirt off one of the windows out of morbid curiosity where upon looking in the back seat the was the most weather beaten looking drum kit strewn all over place and then i peered towards the dash ... and on the dash there were a couple of letters that were addressed to none other then ..... P Bulluss .

Good honest footballer who never truelly got the best out of himself ... bit less of the booze and put in a better "environment" and who knows , Rumour has it that Steven Jackson was let go due to his nocturnal habits and influences with young blokes like Bulluss ... but that was just rumour ;)

lmao:p..spot on and spot on

If Steven Jackson was still pissed when he fronted up match day.....well that would explain a lot.

You couldn't not like Paul Bulluss 100% every time.

I remember a game where we were short a few big blokes (I think it might have been a Pies game) where we put him a CHF just for the contest. I don't think he took a mark all night, but gee, he worked his a*se off. Anyway, we were just holding on in the last quarter, and Benny Gale had the ball on the HBF. I looked up field and by now, Bulluss could barely run - but he put his head down and ran to the wing just to make a target. That was his job, and he did it.

He also should have won a Fos Williams medal for SA against the Vics - SA got smashed, but Bulluss starred at CHB. But they gave it to Daffy for kicking 5 cheapies from the HFF.

Jamie Tape was a real goer on the field.
Tragic.

Was one of my very favourites for the Eagles when I was a 10-12 year old kid; as I said, I spent a lot of time around the Club and he was always happy to come and have a kick with the other kids around the place, and keep an eye on us.

Just a fantastic person, and it was a tragedy that he passed away so young.

Bully impressed me as a genuinely good bloke. He was almost your stereotypical Tiger back then - could play a bit, reasonably hard at it and a little bit loose.

Exactly how I remember him; we had a few West Torrens functions at our place, and Bully loved to get amongst it.

I think it was him that got knocked out one game, then fronted at the bar for presentations; was halfway through his second beer when he just stopped, look around, and said, "Where the **** am I?!"

Couldn't remember the game, couldn't remember being knocked out - and wondered why he was having a beer in the Rooms when he should've been getting ready for the game.

LMAO...reading a few of the posts here conjures up thoughts of how ****ing bad were we travelling seeing as more often than not, our list was more about a suburban footy club culture, rather than the professional culture of a team in the top comp in the land.
Ontop of the other stories here you can add the one where Benny would drive his station wagon to the games with an outstretched David Honeybun in the back, in order to get him to the game, i think it was because he couldnt bend his back to sit in the seat. ;)

LMAO...reading a few of the posts here conjures up thoughts of how ****ing bad were we travelling seeing as more often than not, our list was more about a suburban footy club culture, rather than the professional culture of a team in the top comp in the land.
Ontop of the other stories here you can add the one where Benny would drive his station wagon to the games with an outstretched David Honeybun in the back, in order to get him to the game, i think it was because he couldnt bend his back to sit in the seat. ;)

yeah i've heard this before too! Flea uses this story in his sportsman night apearances, honeybun had shot hamstrings and in order to get him to away games like geelong they would lay him out in the wagon in order to not have his back tighten up risking back related hamstring strains!

Paul Bulluss-any older blokes remember him?