Perth Stadium (Optus Stadium)

Might be a dumb question but does the recent election change anything with the stadium?
In all seriousness can see a ufc event there in the future. By backing the UFC labour really stole some one nation " dey tuk ur jerrrrrrbs" votes. ( not saying all ufc fans are redneck bogans only a tiny % )

Packer is benefitting from being the only casino/slot machine operator in Perth, and will also benefit from having the stadium at his doorstep, without having to pay a farthing for it.

I don't understand why they should? I wouldn't have expected the businesses around Subiaco to fund the Kitchener Park version of a stadium...

Not quite the same, I would have thought.
Crown has a state sanctioned monopoly. They are also the only business on the Burswood peninsula, until the Stadium is completed.
So the stadium will benefit one company only, unlike the situation in Subiaco.

I'm possibly being unfair on Crown. Do they have lots of small businesses under the roof there, or are they all owned by Crown?

Not quite the same, I would have thought.
Crown has a state sanctioned monopoly. They are also the only business on the Burswood peninsula, until the Stadium is completed.
So the stadium will benefit one company only, unlike the situation in Subiaco.

I'm possibly being unfair on Crown. Do they have lots of small businesses under the roof there, or are they all owned by Crown?
So?

I still don't see the issue. Sure, it'd be nice if small businesses benefited instead, but I don't see that as a justification for Crown to partially fund the stadium.

It's like you want to punish Crown for building in this isolated location 30 years ago and, particularly recently, investing heavily into the complex to make it a massively popular, high end, attractive facility.

I know it's fashionable to bash Crown, but let's be real here, there isn't another complex in our state like it. That extends beyond it's casino monopoly as you highlight, by including the 3 resorts, multitude of restaurants, ballrooms, theatres, views etc.

So?

I still don't see the issue. Sure, it'd be nice if small businesses benefited instead, but I don't see that as a justification for Crown to partially fund the stadium.

It's like you want to punish Crown for building in this isolated location 30 years ago and, particularly recently, investing heavily into the complex to make it a massively popular, high end, attractive facility.

I know it's fashionable to bash Crown, but let's be real here, there isn't another complex in our state like it. That extends beyond it's casino monopoly as you highlight, by including the 3 resorts, multitude of restaurants, ballrooms, theatres, views etc.

Yeh, it is more than just a casino. I take that point and agreed I may have been unfair in my last post.

I originally said I wouldn't be happy if it was called Crown Perth Stadium, because of appearances. Still reckon that it would be a bad look. Maybe if they paid well over the going rate...

Yeh, it is more than just a casino. I take that point and agreed I may have been unfair in my last post.

I originally said I wouldn't be happy if it was called Crown Perth Stadium, because of appearances. Still reckon that it would be a bad look. Maybe if they paid well over the going rate...
I will be massively disappointed if they sell the Stadium and Arena naming rights regardless of to whom. Both are/will be outstanding facilities that are a credit to our state and I think they'd be a massive tourism/image asset (we're no longer stuck in the 80's). It's not worth the money we'd receive. In the context of reducing debt, the manner in which McGowan raised it, it's a drop in the ocean. Particularly if you factor in opportunity lost.

Companies invest in things like that for what they can get out of it. If the state government is serious about selling naming rights, and wants as much as possible, they will be making a bee line for Crown, and pointing out all your negatives, as selling points.

They may pay more than others would, because they stand to gain more than others.

Companies invest in things like that for what they can get out of it. If the state government is serious about selling naming rights, and wants as much as possible, they will be making a bee line for Crown, and pointing out all your negatives, as selling points.

They may pay more than others would, because they stand to gain more than others.
I don't see why it'd be worth their while TBH

The stadium, near their casino and resort complex, bearing their name? With their casino within camera shot of the stadium? Ashes test, at the CROWN stadium, mentions of crown resort by the commentary team, couple of external shots of the CROWN Casino by the river, and the styadium.

I cannot actually think of anybody (bar maybe the city of Perth) getting more value from it than Crown. Most other companies pay off is in intangibles, Crowns would be in Cash.

How do you see it being worth the while of NIB to have naming rights for NIB stadium. Personally, I am not more inclined to buy insurance from them because of it. Crown has actual potential customers who intend to visit Perth, who may discover Crown/Burswood exist purely because of Crown stadium.

So?

Crown didn't build it, Dallas Dempster did the grunt work - the ownership is a story on its own, having a multitude of owners. Kerry Packer was into media in the main, taking control of Burswood in 2004 (Kerry died in 2005). James has repositioned his inheritance.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crown_Perth

Might be a dumb question but does the recent election change anything with the stadium?

As I recall it, McGowan has not made a heap of claims about the Stadium, Barnett was on about 10k seating for GA, however many seats for however many tourists Tourism WA claimed to go to every game - I'd expect more realistic commercial decisions about the seating than the previous Government had locked itself into.
Negotiations can resume between the stadium manager & footy with a clean white board this morning.

Crown didn't build it, Dallas Dempster did the grunt work - the ownership is a story on its own, having a multitude of owners. Kerry Packer was into media in the main, taking control of Burswood in 2004 (Kerry died in 2005). James has repositioned his inheritance.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crown_Perth
I know it's a bit more detailed, but I was trying to separate the complex from the specific ownership. :thumbsu:

I'd expect more realistic commercial decisions about the seating than the previous Government had locked itself

Yes, the new government has an "out" it can simply say it inherited a poor situation, that the horse has bolted. The potential stakeholders should have been addressed in the planning stage just like Crown should have been approached before construction. It's simply poor business.

IMO, if they want to derive some benefit from the naming of the stadium outside of commercial naming then it should be called the "Perth Australian Football Stadium". It might tweek some interest.

17332550_754221434741330_3073963047853752320_n.jpg

Yes, the new government has an "out" it can simply say it inherited a poor situation, that the horse has bolted. The potential stakeholders should have been addressed in the planning stage just like Crown should have been approached before construction. It's simply poor business.

IMO, if they want to derive some benefit from the naming of the stadium outside of commercial naming then it should be called the "Perth Australian Football Stadium". It might tweek some interest.

The only commitment Labor made was selling the name, and none of the decisions on footy have been made ... its the decisions on footy that I was replying to.

How can that work when cricket and the occasional soccer and possibly rugby match will be played at the Stadium also?

Gee, I don't know. Maybe someone should inform the MCG and SCG that AFL is played on their grounds.

Maybe we should call it "Perth AFL and a few other occasional sports Ground."

So I suppose this thing will nowbe demolished and the site will be moved to Kitchener Park?

I heard "in a completely fabricated rumour" that the stadium is going to be demolised and the parts are going to be used to build metronet

Now you're being ridiculous

Yes, there is nothing wrong with calling the new stadium the "Perth Australian Football Stadium".
Australian Football is going to be played there regularly.
Cricket wanted no part in the new stadium and now is only have a limited number of games.
If it wasn't built for Australian Football it would be rectangular in shape.

Perth Stadium (Optus Stadium)