Perth Stadium (Optus Stadium)

The most likely scenario is the stadium will be ready but not the pedestrian bridge. Expect they will try to go ahead and play at the new stadium anyway without the bridge and there will be chaos and delays getting to the ground.

but it's a bridge to nowhere, unless bus routes change and end behind the WACA

There is supposed to be a bus station at the WACA end of the bridge. On game day free shuttle buses are supposed to run a loop down Wellington and Adelaide/St Georges from the bridge to teh CBD, so that people can use the available parking in East Perth and get dropped off right by the bridge to walk over to the stadium.

That makes sense. The car park behind the beautiful park by the WACA has a mini bus terminal. The same can be done dropping people close to the existing foot bridge under the polly freeway bridge.

That footbridge runs on both sides, so its capacity is large.

That makes sense. The car park behind the beautiful park by the WACA has a mini bus terminal. The same can be done dropping people close to the existing foot bridge under the polly freeway bridge.

That footbridge runs on both sides, so its capacity is large.

They would have to do something like that, yeah. It is the sort of thing that will take a bit of getting used to even if everything was complete and in place. With temporary arrangements in place I expect there will be delays, frustration, complaints and a general negative vibe for people going to the stadium for the first time.

Maybe for a cricket test it will not be quite so hectic and concentrated as it would be for the start of a football game. Perhaps the arrivals will be a bit more spread out, you don't have to be there for the first ball of the day, there are six hours of cricket in a day. The same with people leaving the game spread over about 2 hours after the tea break.

They would have to do something like that, yeah. It is the sort of thing that will take a bit of getting used to even if everything was complete and in place. With temporary arrangements in place I expect there will be delays, frustration, complaints and a general negative vibe for people going to the stadium for the first time.

Maybe for a cricket test it will not be quite so hectic and concentrated as it would be for the start of a football game. Perhaps the arrivals will be a bit more spread out, you don't have to be there for the first ball of the day, there are six hours of cricket in a day. The same with people leaving the game spread over about 2 hours after the tea break.

I've watched perth grow since '93. It's been a wonderful transformation and soon we will be celebrating a new stadium. Anyone whinging has clearly forgot about things like "the roster system".

I really hope people plan for a bit of kaos, come early, drink some champers or beer on the rivers edge with a snack and enjoy being a part of something new.

Any whiners deserve a one way ticket to Adelaide!

18403762_10155284780289486_501727474969566503_o.jpg

Looks like Ed Sheeran will be the opening concert at the Perth Stadium

I've watched perth grow since '93. It's been a wonderful transformation and soon we will be celebrating a new stadium. Anyone whinging has clearly forgot about things like "the roster system".

I really hope people plan for a bit of kaos, come early, drink some champers or beer on the rivers edge with a snack and enjoy being a part of something new.

In fairness my only experience of the new Adelaide Oval on all fronts was great - not a place for whingers looking for a sook. If you haven't taken it in, move Adelaide Oval up your bucket list.

The only issue with that, is it requires going to Adelaide.

My preferred way to see Adelaide Oval, is from about 39,000 on the way to Melbourne. But for those more brave pack heaps of anti-depressants, you'll need it.

anti depressants in an echo in my couple of years there ...

I've watched perth grow since '93.

Grown it has. The main result is increased congestion, then increased roadworks to ease the congestion. Then increased congestion again.
Unfortunately Perth planning centered around selling off land due to the expected continuation of the mining boom
and a lot of boring planning.

Don't have a problem with Adelaide. It has advantages and disadvantages.

Grown it has. The main result is increased congestion, then increased roadworks to ease the congestion. Then increased congestion again.
Unfortunately Perth planning centered around selling off land due to the expected continuation of the mining boom
and a lot of boring planning.

Don't have a problem with Adelaide. It has advantages and disadvantages.

I've travelled out to aubin grove, harris dale etc

the suburbs are better planned and in better state of repair than the western suburbs. I'd trade my street and parks in nedlands for an aubin grove street and parks any day.

I loved living in Adelaide and visit regularly for work. I always enjoy myself.

Why do folks feel compelled to bag cities out?

The state could and should be one of the wealthiest in the country. The place isn't like WA where people celebrate risk, effort and success.

It sadly has a peasant mentality where risk, effort and success are to be avoided.

SA boasts two of some of the world's most expensive construction projects (Myer centre and the hospital). They aren't worth the cost but it highlights the "pigs in the trough" mentality where wealth is something you steal rather than create.

The state could and should be one of the wealthiest in the country. The place isn't like WA where people celebrate risk, effort and success.

It sadly has a peasant mentality where risk, effort and success are to be avoided.

SA boasts two of some of the world's most expensive construction projects (Myer centre and the hospital). They aren't worth the cost but it highlights the "pigs in the trough" mentality where wealth is something you steal rather than create.
YAY WA.

Fab, how do reckon WA would go without the vast natural resources, esp iron ore and now gas and all you really had was the SW farming area and SFA else. I suspect much like SA which has been blessed with a lot of desert, a bit of arable land and some ocean.

And people celebrate success in WA by restricted shopping hours, so if you are a retailer. succeed, but only at certain times and in certain areas. Whereas in NSW, Vic, Tas, ACT and NT its pretty much open whenever you want.

Let's not get carried away. Every place has its good and bad.

Makes people sound like floggo Vics when they do that.

Haven't been to SA for a long time but generally I liked it.

YAY WA.

Fab, how do reckon WA would go without the vast natural resources, esp iron ore and now gas and all you really had was the SW farming area and SFA else. I suspect much like SA which has been blessed with a lot of desert, a bit of arable land and some ocean.

And people celebrate success in WA by restricted shopping hours, so if you are a retailer. succeed, but only at certain times and in certain areas. Whereas in NSW, Vic, Tas, ACT and NT its pretty much open whenever you want.

Let's not get carried away. Every place has its good and bad.

You missed wheat exports Sean - I agree everywhere has its fans & critics. It sure helps to have lived there before you believe your first impression.

Perth Stadium (Optus Stadium)