Perth Stadium (Optus Stadium)

You guess wrong. A realist.

You only have to watch all the footy shows that pointedly ignore the non-Victorian teams and the Commentators who struggle to name non-Victorian players. I think the forget that people outside of Victoria even watch the games or shows. Either that or they just don't care.

So... when you consider that, why should the non-Victorian teams put themselves out to suit Victorians when it doesn't flow the other way?

You should just stick to wafl if you want a wa lovefest

Vic is 10/18 teams, no shit they dominate discussion

Interesting, wonder how the AFL like it given it conflicts with one of their major sponsors
I doubt they really care considering there are now 15,000 more members going to games and memberships have gone up for both the Eagles and Dockers (nice $1000 a year essentially for your average seat). The AFL have so much clout they don't need to do an A-League and stop private clubs negotiating deals with their own sponsors. Unless Telstra want to write up a contract in which they have exclusivity and their sponsorship essentially doubles I doubt it'll be enough to ever stop it.

I don't think it matters anyway though, but as I said before, it made more sense to rename the Arena for a corporation.

I guess back then it would have pissed people off a little but now there's an Arena, stadium, Elizabeth Quay, sunken rail way line it doesn't matter – things are being done.

But it has more point being known as Perth Stadium. Some family in Victoria seeing the lights who don't pay attention may consider a trip to WA, or some Indians watching a T20 the same. No one cares if an arena that hosts a warm-up tennis tournament and music tours that inevitably go to three or four other cities is called 'Perth' – no one is going to look at Pop Star #34 in Perth and be like 'wow, that Perth Arena hey! Have to go there for Pop Star #37...'

All of it still comes down to WA pissing away their once in a generation windfall through mining to... royalteth for regionth. That is why the state is in such a hole and doesn't think twice about keeping it an advertisement for Perth until at least an Indian/Ashes cricket tour or the Chelsea game.

You are under the misconception that Victorian people, AFL, media or commentators would give a shit about WCE or Freo if they played primetime EST rather than primetime WST. Why put yourself out for EST when it doesn't matter to them?
A lot of Victorians were really impressed by Adelaide Oval. My indifference toward that stadium and thoughts on how it's actually ugly as sin and ruined the quaint prettiness of the old one is well documented, but lots of Victorians planned trips. It is easier to go to Adelaide for a weekend when you can realistically just leave after work, still go have dinner out in Adelaide, and come back Sunday night, than it is Perth, but don't underrate it.

Lots of people watch Friday night footy out of habit. I think 10pm is ludicrous and way too late to have any effect, but a 6:10 game broadcasting into Victoria at 8:10 isn't too bad. Plenty of people still sitting around, lots of young punks still getting through a carton on the couch, it's still a decent timeslot.

10/18 is almost half. They probably get 75-80% of discussion. You just have no conception of the ignorance of any non-Vic team. I'm not requesting a "wa lovefest". Just a bit of a balance would be nice and not blatant ignorance. It seems the only thing that gets any coverage is if it is negative. I just think the media/commentators forget it isn't the VFL.

And considering this is a discussion about a Perth stadium, you can't see the problem with telling us we should make it more convenient for another city even when we play at home? And if we don't like the bias (which you are ignorant about) we should turn to the WAFL?!

Having two games vaxk to back doesnt mean you dont lose the kids for games finishing at midnight

The kids will watch whatever the first game on tv is regardless.

Having the later game gives pubs and bars something to show late in to the night.

Right now it’s watch one or the other. No one cares to watch the replay of the other.

The kids will watch whatever the first game on tv is regardless.

Having the later game gives pubs and bars something to show late in to the night.

Right now it’s watch one or the other. No one cares to watch the replay of the other.

Dont disagree the foxtel/c7 overlap can be managed better.

On pubs vs kids, afl will back kids every time. Those horrid preseason jumpers are evidence of that.

Btw this isnt me bashing wa footy or the new stadium (i want the afl c7 and the clubs to promote the local derbies more outside their home state - they have all been lazy on this). The new stadium is a ripper, but midnight est games just aint gunna happen no matter how good the venue or its postcode

Dont disagree the foxtel/c7 overlap can be managed better.

On pubs vs kids, afl will back kids every time. Those horrid preseason jumpers are evidence of that.

Btw this isnt me bashing wa footy or the new stadium (i want the afl c7 and the clubs to promote the local derbies more outside their home state - they have all been lazy on this). The new stadium is a ripper, but midnight est games just aint gunna happen no matter how good the venue or its postcode

I’m not pitting kids against pubs. I’m just saying there should always be a game after the other so it satisfies both.

I for one always liked that our night games start at like 540pm. Game finishes at around 8 which leaves the night still young.

From what I’ve been told by Eagles members, they get offered a seat and can choose to accept or lose their membership. They don’t think they can move until after the 2018 season. The Eagles members I know all seem happy with their allocations. The top prices for Eagles membership are much less than the highest price for Freo memberships - I was offered a seat for $999.

I then had the choice of changing seats, which I did, getting two seats at $230 each, which is cheaper than anything the Eagles can get, and I think it’s cheaper than anything that was available at Subiaco Oval. Pretty happy, to be honest. Waiting for the catch...
Where you are sitting - are you facing into the sun from the West for afternoon/twilight games as that wouldn't be too flash?

You know what that saying is getting at? The sheep or goat or whatever the hell it was, was never allowed the other side of the fence. So it didn't know it was the same. But we have had a taste of the other side of the fence. I know that a night game on Friday or Saturday is better than a Sunday day game. Unlike Melbourne, in WA we actually get sun. Day games with half the crowd looking into it is not so much fun.

A better saying would be Don't piss on my head and tell me its raining.
Personally I wouldn't mind if all of our games were at night, particularly in the early part of the season. It can be so damn uncomfortable and hot for mid-afternoon matches with our climate.

You are under the misconception that Victorian people, AFL, media or commentators would give a shit about WCE or Freo if they played primetime EST rather than primetime WST. Why put yourself out for EST when it doesn't matter to them?
Exactly - just like the GST! Sometimes I do have to ask the question "are we really part of this country?" Sometimes I wonder!!

Same argument that footy media is a Vic lovefest?

I've always believed the media have a Xmas get together & whomever is last man standing/yelling nominates a favourite & when the rest awaken from a slumber that is the only team they remember, its the media favourite going into pre season.

thats not about geography though, thats about interest.

if Richmond is 10th this year, didn't trade in much, most have us holding at around 10-13, and the coach has 2 years on his contract, no shit no ones talking about us

media want stories people will be interested in, and thats whos gunna win, whos gunna get sacked, and whos rooting who. everyone else is boring

C'mon really - if WCE v Freo was 1 v 2, then the Vic media will be assuming the Australian market wants to know about what the Vic market wants. Which wouldn't be the Derby. Well maybe it'd get a 2 minute discussion at the end of the program after 58 mins of Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon, etc. I know it is easier to get players/coaches in from Vic tesms, but c'mon. You just don't notice it as a supporter of a Vic team.

Comeon lets ignore the trolling / wise men from the east here to teach us ignorants how its gonna go down. Lets talk about the stadium.

Look, some silly horse race.... on the biggest telly in the southern hemisphere.

Ha, we win!

20pwqop.jpg

Vic media forget when they are doing National shows and Victorian shows. They need to understand, which they don't, that they broadcast nationally.

WC whingers having another sook the national media doesn't blow smoke up their ass like the local media does. Take it to your biased media thread, that is comedy gold.

Perth Stadium (Optus Stadium)