Rumour Phil Walsh to Crows

I heard a rumour that a current Cats defender is a strong chance of joining us as an assistant coach in the next few years after he retires. One to watch out for in the near future.

Can he also drag along that part time midfielder/forward that also loves Ken? Pity this assistant coach merry-go round wasnt happening next year. Plenty of coaches in waiting due for retirement then

BALFOURS BRUNCH IN THE BOARDROOM
Sunday 5 October

Mark Ricciuto: Hey Stupid, what are you doing here? We're about to have our final discussions on our new head coach.
Stephen Rowe: I'm here representing the 19th Man. The 19th Man wants to know whyyyyy Nathan Bassett isn't being interviewed again. He's the choice, Roo. The Advertiser said he's the popular choice. Now whyyyy he isn't here?
Mark Ricciuto: Look Stupid, what happens after a bad interview. You don't do another. Well, in your case, all of your interviews are crap and you just keep on doing them again. Sit down, shut up and lets do some work.
David Noble: I must say, Roo, that we should be mighty proud of what we've achieved. To put together a short list of three quality assistant coaches like this is a credit to us, er, the club.
Stephen Rowe: But will we get our man? I thought we had him, rock solid. I had that many SMSs that we had him.
Alan Stewart: I am not a violent man, but shut up Stupid, or I will ram this rock bun down your throat.
Stephen Rowe: Sorry, Alan, it's just that you promised to throw the kitchen sink at our man. The 19th Man is thinking you haven't done it.
Andrew Payze: Can we start?
Mark Ricciuto: Ok, we are going to interview three candidates. You all know who they are.
Stephen Rowe: I don't. The 19th Man doesn't and should know. This is a club that looked after people in the Great Depression. It has values. We have our standards in terms of discipline, relentless, excellence, and side by side. In 2014, we find ourselves at a very interesting time not only for this football club, but for this whole world. The landscape is changing, and I know that if the Adelaide Football Club is to go to the next level as a football club, we must stand on the right side of history. The 19th Man needs to know.
Mark Ricciuto: Hmm, haven't I heard that somewhere before? OK, let's run through these blokes. Peter Hurley said this whole sacking/hiring thing is costing him a fortune. But whatever we do today, we've got to bear in mind that Rob Chapman has the final say.
Andrew Fagan: Doesn't he always?
Stephen Rowe: Hey Payzey, can you chuck me a kitchener bun? Ah, cripes, I didn't mean throw it. Bloody cream.
Mark Ricciuto: OK, first up is Stewie Dew. Popular bloke, good record as an assistant and as a player. Local boy.
Alan Stewart: Did I ever tell you about the time we were playing North Adelaide out at the Ponderosa? Dewy was . . .
Mark Ricciuto: As I was saying, he's a local boy, loves the camera and the camera loves him.
Andrew Payze: Would have been great on The Bachelor. Geez they mucked up with that Blake chap, didn't they?
Stephen Rowe: I said that, I said that from Day One. My spies back in WA told me there was something weird about him.
Mark Ricciuto: You blokes have got the attention span of Sando. Now shut up and listen. Dew could be our man. Hasn't said yes, but I suppose he's here because he wants it.
Stephen Rowe: Could have been the free trip to see his old mates!
Mark Ricciuto: Biggest negative? He's too Port. That's probably an advantage but if we lose the first Showdown, our supporters will be showing knitting needles and accusing him of being a plant from Alberton.
Stephen Rowe: Rooooo, tell me that's not the case. Can you, right here and now, assure the 19th Man that he isn't a plant?
Mark Ricciuto: Brendon Bolton. Young, but successful Hawthorn assistant. Coached his own premiership team at a young age. Smiles a lot. Not sure how this will go down when we get a beating against the Demons.
Stephen Rowe: I said from Day One that we never should have traded Bernie Vincent and James Sellers. I reckon a lot of our culture went out the door when we offloaded them. The 19th Man was very upset. Plus, Roooo, I dunno. Another Victorian, kick a Vic and all that.
Andrew Payze: He's a Tasmanian.
Stephen Rowe: Oh crikey, so was Robert Shaw. Look how that turned out. The 19th Man hated him. Ran him out of town.
Alan Stewart: Will Bolton take the job?
Mark Ricciuto: He might come the Goodwin excuse, namely not ready just yet.
Andrew Fagan: Thirty of the thirty-five prospective candidates I have spoken too have told me the same thing. Mind you, when I met Rob Chapman, I nearly said the same thing myself. Then he told me about the dough he was paying.
Andrew Payze: A day later and you would have been offered less. Sando cost us heaps. I wonder how much that Bachelor debacle will cost Channel Ten. Anyway . . .
Mark Ricciuto: Yeah, thanks Payzey. No, we don't know if Bolton will take it if offered.
Stephen Rowe: Roooo, whyyyy wouldn't you want to come to our club? This team for all South Australians? That's what I don't understand about Bass. He's one of us, he would have smartened us up. We should have thrown the kitchen sink at him. The 19th Man would have taken up a collection.
Mark Ricciuto: Look, Stupid, if you must know, Paddy and Tex said it was either them or Bassett and given they're both free agents shortly, we figured Bassett can wait.
Alan Stewart: Walsh?
Mark Ricciuto: Yeah, well Walshy is an interesting one. Never been a head coach. He's s**thouse with the media by his own admission. But he is Port. Not sure Chairman Chapman will come at that.
Alan Stewart: Does Walsh want it?
Andrew Payze: Well, it's pretty good money and he won't have the earning potential of the other candidates.
Stephen Rowe: Yeah, how could you knock back sixty or seventy thousand a year and a guaranteed five years.
Mark Ricciuto: To answer the question, no, we are not sure he will do it. But we will find out. Once again, how will he hold up under the spotlight when GWS pants us at Adelaide Oval?
Andrew Payze: Well Roo, congrats on the process. If Channel Ten had been as careful in selecting their Bachelor, thing might have gone a bit better.
Andrew Fagan: Yes, we have three assistants on our short list and none of them is yet committed to doing the job. It's the best process I have seen since I've been at the club.
Stephen Rowe: I'm still convinced we have got our man. When is Clarko arriving? The 19th Man wants to know. They're already working on a new chant . . . "Crows go farko with Clarko, the man with sparko, as hot as a taco". Payzey, are you gonna finish that half-eaten pie. I'm pretty hungry myself.

I still find it laughable that the club all it's supporters despise is the club they are poaching from and trying to emulate. I guess it's an acknowledgment of how well we have done. Sadly they are a richer club and can spend their way to success where as we just have to keep reinventing and moving forward looking at new ways to do things, that's why when we came so close to the grand final we have to make sure of those opportunities next time. I'd say interstate they will be looking at the crows and having a little laugh.

If you're not going to put the work in, you're never going to have a hope in hell of winning a flag. No amount of money can change that.

Phil Walsh gets it he might snap up krak before we can late in the draft, they need some more dash and flair

Hopefully Adelaide's first 3 games in 2015 will be Fremantle in Perth, Port in Adelaide and Hawthorn at the MCG. A 0-3 start for the new coach wouldn't sit too well with the Crows faithful.....
have heard we will be playing west coast at home in round one the crows will be playing gold coast away. the crows will have the first home showdown in round 3 or 4 I hear we have 2 trips to perth but neither sa side will have to play in perth last round thus time

SamLandsberger
No forgone conclusion - Brendon Bolton meeting with Adelaide today - but some senior Crows now expecting Phil Walsh to be their next coach.
5/10/2014 12:49 pm

416567-brenton-sanderson-with-dorothy-harris.jpg

You're ****ed Sando

Those senior crows know what's happening bro.

have heard we will be playing west coast at home in round one the crows will be playing gold coast away. the crows will have the first home showdown in round 3 or 4 I hear we have 2 trips to perth but neither sa side will have to play in perth last round thus time
Can't see that happening. We had the first home game last year. And the A(V)FL always ensures the Vic sides don't travel. The only way I can see that not happening is since it's Adelaide's turn to go west, their mate Gil will send someone else. If he does that hopefully it's Essendon as a part of their punishment for being obstinate pricks.

I'm really annoyed by this..not just because he's going to the crows but the fact he could give them vital information.

The idea of vital information is overrated. It's not a secret as to how we play. Teams haven't yet shown they can stop it regularly.

Nothing beats our top game. I stand by that. If you want to take us on running we are happy to do that, and we will out run you. And if you want to slow the game down, that's fine, we'll flood the backline and then bust our gut running into space once we get the ball.

I'd only be concerned (and it'd only be at a mild level) if our coaches were going to teams like Sydney or Hawthorn. Adelaide are so far from that group it's ridiculous. The Crow are at a stage where they know they have to rebuild, but are almost of the opinion that if they go into a rebuild mode, that it will result in losing Dangerfield. Tbh, I think they lose Dangerfield either way. It's this instability and uncertainty that surrounds them, making me of the opinion that they won't be anywhere near relevancy in the later september weeks for at least another 2 seasons.

Hoping Bolton puts a final presentation together that is so good they can't turn him down.

We all know that whatever decision the crows make, it will be the wrong one.

I'm really annoyed by this..not just because he's going to the crows but the fact he could give them vital information.

h533758FE

We all know that whatever decision the crows make, it will be the wrong one.
Whatever they do, there's one thing they'll struggle to change overnight - Port has the best match day experience in the AFL bar none.

Whatever they do, their ambassadors will tell us it's what they intended to do from the outset. So professional.

Been there done that often enough. The thread will run out of control. It's a simmering pot of tension as it is. ;)

That's cool.

The swoopers would have read it and got a "kick" out of it...

Whatever they do, their ambassadors will tell us it's what they intended to do from the outset. So professional.
If I had a dollar for every time the Crows have changed their minds, I could retire to the Bahamas :)