Pick 65- Rhys O'Keefe

if O'keeffe plays he will do roles for a while like being a tagger. When he hits around 23-26 in his prime thats when Scotland will hang the boots. i reckon he will be a great 200+ game player for us:thumbsu:

You can't go wrong with O'Keefe, pick 65 is extraordinary, an absolute bargain. Had him in my top 25 players, very good kick, good run and can play as an attacking half back, midfielder or half forward and kick goals. Works hard all over the ground and finds a lot of the footy. One of my fav SA boys that I've watched this year, so hopefully he can excel at AFL level....but for pick 65....geez massive massive bargain.

I had him in my top 25 also, any reasons you could think of that saw him get to 65 mate?

From what I saw on Saturday, if O'keeffe can improve his fitness and form, he could be a modern mid who floats through the middle and uses it well by foot. Built like Heath Hocking. Has footy smarts, clean hands and a long one step kick that hits the target. Legspeed may be exposed as a defender, but he may get away with it if he plays through the midfield.

Good luck to O'keeffe who is finally playing again. :thumbsu:

Don't discount the hunger of the man to play. He'd have watched Robbo and Yaz become fixtures in our 22 and lives with one of our leaders in JR.

Remember watching one of the Rusty's Round Up episodes where Rhys was on and seeing how dejected he was about his ongoing injuries made me really feel for the kid.

We had him at HBF for a while but looks to be the floating HF/mid type now. Kicked a few goals in the ants and looks good when he has the ball. As you said TG, with fitness will come more ball acquiring skills and hopefully a rookie elevation down the track!

From what I saw on Saturday, if O'keeffe can improve his fitness and form, he could be a modern mid who floats through the middle and uses it well by foot. Built like Heath Hocking. Has footy smarts, clean hands and a long one step kick that hits the target. Legspeed may be exposed as a defender, but he may get away with it if he plays through the midfield.

Good luck to O'keeffe who is finally playing again. :thumbsu:

Great to hear. I remember when we drafted him, I was so excited about his ability. Lets hope he can stay healthy and develop some more and get a call-up one day. :thumbsu:

It was just one game, but Rhys looks a more solid footballer than Davies who is a better athlete, but fumbled and didn't use it well by foot. If O'keeffe improves and gets a game, but can't break in permanently, another club could still target him in trade week. Rookies can be traded. See Mumford. One good judge thinks he's plays a bit like Russell.

Maybe ROK can release Gibbs to be traded to keep the haters "happy". ;) :rolleyes: :p

It was just one game, but Rhys looks a more solid footballer than Davies who is a better athlete, but fumbled and didn't use it well by foot. If O'keeffe improves and gets a game, but can't break in permanently, another club could still target him in trade week. Rookies can be traded. See Mumford. One good judge thinks he's plays a bit like Russell.

Maybe ROK can release Gibbs to be traded to keep the haters "happy". ;) :rolleyes: :p

Yeah, hate to say it but Davies is a bit behind a few other players in my eyes, including guys like O'Keefe and McInness who I think can really play

You have to reward the form players with a contract ala Ellard over Browne who was once senior listed. Joseph might find it harder to survive than Davies who is a second year player, but has a bigger frame, a huge motor and more of that dreaded upside.

O'keeffe should look at Curnow for inspiration.

Curnow was cut by the Crows and suffered a serious injury last year, but took his chances after being placed on our rookie list.

You have to reward the form players with a contract ala Ellard over Browne who was once senior listed. Joseph might find it harder to survive than Davies who is a second year player, but has a bigger frame, a huge motor and more of that dreaded upside.

O'keeffe should look at Curnow for inspiration.

Curnow was cut by the Crows and suffered a serious injury last year, but took his chances after being placed on our rookie list.

Was thinking Whitnall after your earlier assessment of his leg speed. :p

Really excited to hear he's coming along.

No doubt when O'Keefe kicks he makes it look easy, compared to some guys who don't look smooth at all.

Players who can kick goals from outside 50 are extremely valuable, as we saw Ellard & Russell do in last qtr.

He just needs to play an entire season.

Pick 65- Rhys O'Keefe