• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Picola District FL - General Thread 2009

Does anyone know the result of the Katty v Yarroweyah game last nite?

Who played well?

Katty won by 7 or 8 goals. Yarra had all the play in the first half but couldn't put the score on the board, Katy made the most of their oppitunities in the thier forward 50 hit more targets by foot. Skill level around Yarra forward line was well below par, Younger boy's (Jeoff and Greame) played well along with Alridge off a back flank, Katy would've had 3-4 of their top liner players out of the side like Wild, Wright, Ross etc etc. Katy young blokes looked good too:thumbsu: For Yarra Both Pescod boys played well and young gun Nick Mende moved well along with Westrope:thumbsu: But as we all know it is a Praccy match, a good way to blow the cobwebs out, I reckon both sides are in for a good year in "09"

Here are some picola league results that were on the murray league website from the night series (these were the only ones available not sure why all other matches in the div 2 comp aren't on there)

Katamatite 10.12.72 Dfd Yarroweyah 2.10.22
Katamatite Goals D Flanigan 4, D Bye 2, Z Felmingham, N Clury, J Biggs, M Toohey
Best D Flanigan, J Wright, N Clurey, G Younger, J Younger, C Hodge
Yarroweyah Goals L Oliver, A Pescod
Best N Mende, N Sim, C Pescod, D Clark, C bogden

Katandra 11.15.81 df Picola 6.3.39

Best
Katandra J Boyer, J Woods, J thurston, J Martin, S bridges, D Dawes
Picola G Scott, A Magner, H Plattfuss, D Birch, Z Cornell, L Newman

Goals
Katandra Dodge 3, S Doyle 2, J Wilkie 2, A Riordan, D ORielly, D Dawes, J Thurston
Picola A Magner 2, Z Cornell, P Oldham, T Gow, H Plattfuss

Here are some picola league results that were on the murray league website from the night series (these were the only ones available not sure why all other matches in the div 2 comp aren't on there)

Katamatite 10.12.72 Dfd Yarroweyah 2.10.22
Katamatite Goals D Flanigan 4, D Bye 2, Z Felmingham, N Clury, J Biggs, M Toohey
Best D Flanigan, J Wright, N Clurey, G Younger, J Younger, C Hodge
Yarroweyah Goals L Oliver, A Pescod
Best N Mende, N Sim, C Pescod, D Clark, C bogden

Katandra 11.15.81 df Picola 6.3.39

Best
Katandra J Boyer, J Woods, J thurston, J Martin, S bridges, D Dawes
Picola G Scott, A Magner, H Plattfuss, D Birch, Z Cornell, L Newman

Goals
Katandra Dodge 3, S Doyle 2, J Wilkie 2, A Riordan, D ORielly, D Dawes, J Thurston
Picola A Magner 2, Z Cornell, P Oldham, T Gow, H Plattfuss

is that matt toohey who played for yarraweyah last year playing for katty?
dylan flanagan must've went alright, his only 17 or 18 and built, quick, good hands , i reckon he'll go pretty goood. did ash gardner play?
and i dont think wildy will be playing cause his got a bad back i think , or hamstring, one of them, i could be wrong though. yarraweyah look to have a young side in this year.

I hear a rumour that Shepp east havent pulled the cash out that they promised players this season and there could be a mass walk out I spoke to a unhappy snr player yesturday and said there is alot of angry players on the verg of a walk out!!! Can any1 one else from shep east confirm this as i've have it from a great sourse?

Oh booffaa your at it again hey?? If you have any idea about football mate you would realise that players dont get paid until they play a game my friend and last time i checked it is march 18th and round 1 is yet to kick off boof??? So to say that a mass number of shep east players are on the verge of a walkout over payments that couldnt be made is almost as funny as ardmona nearly folding buddy!! wake up to yourself you idiot and stop hating everything and everyone just because ardy are strugglin?? Why dont you actually help out your club and go to training??:thumbsu:

I no plenty about footy GIVEITAWASH mate!! maybe you should if you are part of the shepp east club have a word about all these "rumours" to some of your SNR players who are the one going around saying these things champ!!! i'm just putting it on the forum for everyone to here. And mate what I was saying about the payments is some of the player wont be getting what they were promised to either stay at the club and the new sign up.
I wish Foz and Gibbo the best at shep east and like i said before my oldman and uncles played a shepp east.
And as for Ardy champ my work F***s up my training and getting down to the club!!! Im always incontact with Cozzie and Rino to find out about my club so dont say im hating. If there are any netballs or footy players that arnt getting a game send them our way hahahahaha

Hopefully a few move on, go along way in me sureing up a 1st 18 spot!!! only joking... judging from the 40 blokes on the track tuesday night a mass excodus isnt on the cards.
And during that training a certain high profile 40ish year old full forward was spied watching intently from his car in the far pocket...sourcing training drills? hoping to catch a few discards on the way out maybe? or sizing up the prospect of Maso, Besty x2, Frapps, Molly and the like sending a few punts his way?

Hopefully a few move on, go along way in me sureing up a 1st 18 spot!!! only joking... judging from the 40 blokes on the track tuesday night a mass excodus isnt on the cards.
And during that training a certain high profile 40ish year old full forward was spied watching intently from his car in the far pocket...sourcing training drills? hoping to catch a few discards on the way out maybe? or sizing up the prospect of Maso, Besty x2, Frapps, Molly and the like sending a few punts his way?

hahaha I was waiting for you pipe up fencesitter i was fishing for you and you hav took the bait lol (The mass walk out was never on the cards I was on the look out for the forum pimp to jump on board!!!AND i WIN.... but if you can spare a few netballers at ardy it would be great mate:p) All the best for the season mate!! And sorry lads for the yarn spin I just wanted the Fencesitter BACK IN THE GAME!!! cheers and i think you shepp east boyz will win the flag I WILL PUT 100 ON THEM IF THERE IS ANY CARE TAKERS???????????????????

Berrigan had a 4 point win over Katandra at Barooga. Don't know what team Katandra had, they had about 10 on the bench, Berrigan had 3, missing Riddle and Towler out of last years team, the melb boys, Hickey, Hill and Fox out of the recruits and Possible recruit in Eddo.
Scrappy game, Berrigans Third Quarter set them up, they got it into the forward line a bit but couldn't convert as much as they should of.
scores were 7.8 to 7.4.
Only one incident with a player sent off from both teams in the last for pushing and shoving, Number 60 from Katandra and Spence from Berrigan.

BAR00GA NIGHT SERIES WED 18-03-09

Katandra7.4.46 lost to Berrigan 7.8.50
Katandra
Best J Boyer, C Calder, P fry, W Teague, A Hickey, S Cledhill
Goals P Fry, J Martin, C Calder, S Venables, D Mall, M Warner, W Teague

Berrigan
Best A Way, M Eales, T Cooper, P Glanvill, C Brown
Goals C Brown 2, S Pyle 2, C Thornton, T Cooper, A Pyle

Katunga 9.7.61 df Picola 5.8.38
Katunga
Best B Crowther, J Rankin, J Evans, J Smith, M Harbor, B Carkeek
Goals J Cassimatty 2, N Howden 2, D Henderson 2, J Hodgkin, H Fox, J Evans

Picola
Best D Daniel, T Scadden, J Thompson, A Magner, D Holyman
Goals D Daniel 2, T Scadden, S Duggan, S Evans,

Berrigan had a 4 point win over Katandra at Barooga. Don't know what team Katandra had, they had about 10 on the bench, Berrigan had 3, missing Riddle and Towler out of last years team, the melb boys, Hickey, Hill and Fox out of the recruits and Possible recruit in Eddo.
Scrappy game, Berrigans Third Quarter set them up, they got it into the forward line a bit but couldn't convert as much as they should of.
scores were 7.8 to 7.4.
Only one incident with a player sent off from both teams in the last for pushing and shoving, Number 60 from Katandra and Spence from Berrigan.

Was a good hit out. Yes the game win was set up in the 3rd Quarter. The Saints turned a 3 goal deficit into a 15 point lead.

A few of Katandra's play makers went 'missing' for the enitire 3rd quarter :D

BAR00GA NIGHT SERIES WED 18-03-09

Katunga 9.7.61 df Picola 5.8.38
Katunga
Best B Crowther, J Rankin, J Evans, J Smith, M Harbor, B Carkeek
Goals J Cassimatty 2, N Howden 2, D Henderson 2, J Hodgkin, H Fox, J Evans

Picola
Best D Daniel, T Scadden, J Thompson, A Magner, D Holyman
Goals D Daniel 2, T Scadden, S Duggan, S Evans,

It's good to see junior players stepping up in the senior side of the game. 5 of Katunga's best 6 in this game are under the age of 21. Good signs for the future i reckon.

Does anyone know the results of the Katy vs Strathy night series game ??
Who played well ?? Who Kicked goals ?? Who stood out ??
Any recruits get a kick or turn it on ???
Cheers :thumbsu:

From the Murray league website

Results from Friday 20th
Katamatite 13.5 83 df Strathmerton 11.7.73
Katamatite
Best T Ross, D Gledhill, T Buckingham, J Wright, J Younger
Goals T Ross 3, J Younger 3, Jed Wright, Jake Wright, J Wilde, B Webster,
J Bigg, L Kelly
Strathmerton
Goals D Shadbolt 5, M Jeansch 3, D Limbrick, M Shannon, M Smith
Best A Graham, M Shannon, A Cole, G Kelly, A Smith, M Jaensch

Grandfinalists for Friday 27th March
Division 2
Jerilderie vs Katamatite
Division 1
Barooga vs Cobram

Does anyone know the results of the Katy vs Strathy night series game ??
Who played well ?? Who Kicked goals ?? Who stood out ??
Any recruits get a kick or turn it on ???
Cheers :thumbsu:
Hi Guys, i am moving to a farm near strathmerton soon and was talking to a guy in the pub at wodonga and he told me they were called the strathmerton mountain goats . surely this cant be true, if so is their any other teams close that i could play for, dont think i could yell out lets go mountain goats, could i ?

Sounds like they were takin the piss out of ya

Oh yeh they are actually the Strathmerton Bulldogs

North-West Comp
Ladder: Jerilderie, Rovers, Strathmerton, Picola, Mathoura
Surprise packet: Berrigan
Disappointment: Wunghnu
Pearce Medal: Wooden (Blighty)
Leading goalkicker: Purcell (Jerilderie)
Rising star: Ian Oliver (Yarroweyah)
Best new recruit: Chris Allingham (Mathoura)
Headline you'd like to see: Rennie declined entry to NW Comp
Headline you'd most likely see: PDFL prepare for permanent league split

It's good to see junior players stepping up in the senior side of the game. 5 of Katunga's best 6 in this game are under the age of 21. Good signs for the future i reckon.

Young D 'Chunk' Henderson in the Red & White?
Not wanting to head North?

hahaha I was waiting for you pipe up fencesitter i was fishing for you and you hav took the bait lol (The mass walk out was never on the cards I was on the look out for the forum pimp to jump on board!!!AND i WIN.... but if you can spare a few netballers at ardy it would be great mate:p) All the best for the season mate!! And sorry lads for the yarn spin I just wanted the Fencesitter BACK IN THE GAME!!! cheers and i think you shepp east boyz will win the flag I WILL PUT 100 ON THEM IF THERE IS ANY CARE TAKERS???????????????????

I'd love to take a 100 of you, and suggest that Tungamah will win the flag ahead of Shep East.

scores were 7.8 to 7.4.

looks promising out sainters way this yr, having Ad's rucking would make a big difference, good to see young spacca gettin amongst it.:thumbsu:

Hi all just looking at the cleances and seen Mathoura have pick up a few more players than they have in the past. Didn't know to much about any of them wounding if they were all duds or the real deal.
here are there names
Allingham, Coppock, Smith, Brady, Baird, Weldon, Bessell, Baxter, Magill, Hartshorn.
If anybody knows about could the post what they think off them.
The Rovers look like the have had a quiet preseason compared to the last two when the went on a spending spee has the money dried up over there?

Hi all just looking at the cleances and seen Mathoura have pick up a few more players than they have in the past. Didn't know to much about any of them wounding if they were all duds or the real deal.
here are there names
Allingham, Coppock, Smith, Brady, Baird, Weldon, Bessell, Baxter, Magill, Hartshorn.
If anybody knows about could the post what they think off them.
The Rovers look like the have had a quiet preseason compared to the last two when the went on a spending spee has the money dried up over there?

Dont really think we went on a spending spree. Over the last 2 years the only money going out was to Maysie, a new coach and a new assistant coach. If that is a spending spree then god help some of these other clubs around the district. There hasnt been any recruiting because of two reasons. 1 we are looking for our juniors to take the next step. And 2 like so many other places at the moment there isn't much work in town which makes it very difficult to attract quality people to town. It is hard for us to recruit out of town as there is too much compeition with other clubs fighting to people's signitures. Hopefully a couple of our kids can step up. If the night series is anything to go by, it looks promising for a couple of them.