Picola District football league

Re: Piccola District football league

Juddernaut3 said:
definately not the case and couldnt be further from the truth, its a shame how those things get spread around.
the reason for the announcement from jeff came due to him feeling he lacked the players respect and also the respect from parents of players and committee members, he felt he had said all he could say and done all he could do to get the team to play at its best and that wasnt happening, and on top of the fact that he has some health issues, all lead to his departure.
so i guess we can put that issue to rest now?
Thanks for clearing that up mate. Rumours like that are terrible and i wanted to make sure it wasnt true.

With just over a month to go, who do we like for the flag?

Is Shepp E the real deal?

Are Waiaa just gaining the momentum at the right time?

Will Picola tighten up at the season end..again?

bamawmbandit said:
With just over a month to go, who do we like for the flag?

Is Shepp E the real deal?

Are Waiaa just gaining the momentum at the right time?

Will Picola tighten up at the season end..again?

You can never write off Waaia in the finals. They have one of the best records in the state. Jury is still out on Picola, they seem to be bottom side bullies.

If they play off against Waaia in the opening final I reckon they would be in trouble. Waaia has some hard nuts, including Garry Stevens.

Heard that when Waaia beat Picola a few weeks back, a few of Picola's lower-tier players that had been going well wouldn't go near Stevens - they were frightened.

Don't know enough about Shepp East but based on results of this year I'm surprised they didn't go into Murray League. You'd think it would also help them entice more GV players.

Gary Stevens has played most of the year at Waaia and is said to be looking fwd to the big games to come.

Mat Cason, another Finals specialist is set to have a real crack.

bamawmbandit said:
Gary Stevens has played most of the year at Waaia and is said to be looking fwd to the big games to come.

Mat Cason, another Finals specialist is set to have a real crack.

Bandit I see you found the right PDFL site. I remember Stevens from his Swans Days. The brutal aspect of district football should suit him.:thumbsu:

how have the Deni Rovers been going since the coach finishing up. I havent keept up with any footy news as of late. except of course the Michael Gardiner situation. Funny stuff !!!

The Rovers will need to lure a top-line coach,players and spend some coin to hope for any improvement. Reiwoldt 12 is the man to talk to about this club. Looking back at past results they appear to have played finals in 2003 and been competitive for a 3-5 yr period.:)

G'day guys.
Still been struggling a bit of late up at Rover land, but the bye has refreshed us and with a couple of blokes back this week are confident of a good showing against Katty and Blighty in the next fortnight. Numbers at training are still pretty good and it is surprising somewhat about the positive vibe around the club still.
With finals fast approaching, do guys wanna give their thoughts about how they see the finals panning out.
Personally, top 6 will be Shepp East, Tungamah, Katandra, Picola, Waaia and maybe Katunga to slip into 6th. Yarroweyah seem to be struggling with injuries at present. If the finals series is wet, I expect Picola to do a bit of damage, but a dry August will definitely suit Tungamah's big forwards. Waaia and Katandra are finals specialists and know how to get the job done, but it looks like Shepp East's class all over the ground and ability to play in any kind of weather, may mean they will take some beating. Shepp East v Tungamah grand final.
Cheers

ringo1 said:
Riewvoldt 12 where have you been buddy????Will u play again up there next year???If not where?:thumbsu:
Been away for a couple of weeks. Unsure about next year. If not at the rovers, probably Echuca, with a few mates.

Riewoldt12 said:
Been away for a couple of weeks. Unsure about next year. If not at the rovers, probably Echuca, with a few mates.
Are you talking Echuca Football Club, or possibly Echuca United?

Riewoldt12 said:

Any news on Deni coach for next year, I know that there has been a few names throw around here, but there always is untill they turn up to the first game.
Magic

I wont name names yet, but I've heard a fella from Yarrawonga, an ex O&M coach, Someone from Shepp that was going to come this year but wasn't chased hard enough and someone from Deni way. But like I said I don't believe much of it untill see it.
Goddard looks to be a possible return for next year.
Magic

willo1 said:
Are you talking Echuca Football Club, or possibly Echuca United?
Echuca, Willo1, been at United before.
Magicfrog, how is Goddard going down in Bendigo?
We play Katamatite tomorrow. Got a sneaking feeling an upset may be on the cards.

Riewoldt12 said:
Echuca, Willo1, been at United before.
Magicfrog, how is Goddard going down in Bendigo?
We play Katamatite tomorrow. Got a sneaking feeling an upset may be on the cards.

Goddard has had to work a couple of weekends so he hasn't played to many yet, hasn't settled into a possy yet.
might be a chance to get him back next year if we have a new president
Magic

what date is this years Picola Grand final on ? is it close to last years date ? last year it was the 10th would it be the 9th of september?

cheers

Andyt30 said:
what date is this years Picola Grand final on ? is it close to last years date ? last year it was the 10th would it be the 9th of september?

cheers

nope, it's on the 16th

Told you guys an upset might be on the cards. Look out Blighty this week!
Magicfrog, you guys seemed to push them all the way on Saturday. Good game by you guys or are they struggling at present.

Riewoldt12 said:
Told you guys an upset might be on the cards. Look out Blighty this week!
Magicfrog, you guys seemed to push them all the way on Saturday. Good game by you guys or are they struggling at present.

They lost their ruckman early, and we seemed to get on top in the guts, all we needed was a marking forward and we would of had the game sown up!
They also lost one player to suspension, 4 weeks.
If you guys win the centre you'll win the game.
Magic