Picola District football league

Re: Piccola District football league

hey guys i play out at tunga with macheda and all those blokes and i asked mecheda how much he was getting paid and all he said was he plays for his mates and for the team he doesn't care on how much he gets paid. at tunga here we are all stick together. once someone arrives at the club they don't wanna leave cause the friendship around here is awsome!! trained with wrennie last week and he is a huge man with fantastic skills also a great bloke to. the good news also no one has left to. looking forward for a big year for us.

dazzledavey36 said:
hey guys i play out at tunga with macheda and all those blokes and i asked mecheda how much he was getting paid and all he said was he plays for his mates and for the team he doesn't care on how much he gets paid. at tunga here we are all stick together. once someone arrives at the club they don't wanna leave cause the friendship around here is awsome!! trained with wrennie last week and he is a huge man with fantastic skills also a great bloke to. the good news also no one has left to. looking forward for a big year for us.

Macheda aint gunna say what he's on, nor will Wrenny and co. Every club has to play a few players - and what the club decides depends on the budget. A player is only worth what a club is prepared to pay, so if Wrenny is getting his $500-$600 a game then that is what the Tungamah committee deems he is worth.

How is the old boy Wren looking dazzler??? Next time you're on the track tell him Doona says hi and that the Broady boys are glad he stuck at his footy coz he struggled down this way at cricket and tennis!!!

MrsKenGriffeySnr said:
hmmm, arceri... Dodd is a Tunga Boy through and through, his dad is president and he has played there since he was in 4ths. Rob Wren was born there, played all his junior footy there and now wants to play a couple of years with younger brother Tom and brother-in-law Josh Buerckner before he hangs up the boots. Scott Parker played all his junior footy there, his brother plays there, his mum is a furious supporter and last time he left Wahgunyah for Tunga he took a pay cut! That only leaves Macheda, who has played there for pretty much the last 5 years and has a lot of good mates there. He might be on a bit but cash is not the only reason blokes play footy.....
I know a few blokes that play for there home towns that have been offered a money, jobs and accommodation to play in near by towns, but declined and still are playing for nothing because of there loyalty to the town and the club. Then there are those who have come back because of the money and not showed anything near there potential or heart for there Club. Most locals will do it for there club but there will always be those who will make sure they get the money and then give there loyalty.

Doona2 said:
Macheda aint gunna say what he's on, nor will Wrenny and co. Every club has to play a few players - and what the club decides depends on the budget. A player is only worth what a club is prepared to pay, so if Wrenny is getting his $500-$600 a game then that is what the Tungamah committee deems he is worth.

How is the old boy Wren looking dazzler??? Next time you're on the track tell him Doona says hi and that the Broady boys are glad he stuck at his footy coz he struggled down this way at cricket and tennis!!!

you can tell wrennies footy career is coming to a end soon but i dont really know his age> maybe 36-38?? il tell him you said gday doona :thumbsu:

dazzledavey36 said:
you can tell wrennies footy career is coming to a end soon but i dont really know his age> maybe 36-38?? il tell him you said gday doona :thumbsu:

Yeah Id appreciate that, am intending to come watch when ya's play SHepp East. Dont think he's that old, more around the 33 mark. From memory it was around 90-91 when he was drafted to Richmond from Assumption College. I'll stand corrected if Im wrong though.

Greig to take the helm at Dookie
By Bill McCarthy
December 26 2005
Shepparton News

Scott Greig has ideal credentials to take over as senior playing coach of Dookie United Football Club.
Not only did the strongly-built 193 cm Greig win the Dookie United best and fairest last season, he was also Central Goulburn Football League's best and fairest.

Add the fact that he moved to Dookie to live about a year ago and became a popular member of the club and the community.

Then throw in coaching experience with Merrigum and the Shepparton United reserves.

And the fact that he can play knock ruckman, centre halfforward or full forward.

Club president Virginia Boyd said Greig was very popular with the university students in the team.

"It's an important time in our history - going into a new league, with a new jumper, a new coach and a new president," she said.

Boyd said training was expected to start about midJanuary, but the students would not be back until February.

"We are looking at doing a lot of pre-season at the college, where there is a pool, gym and an oval," Boyd said.

Last season's joint coaches, Chris Burke and Brad Montgomery, did not reapply.

Waaia reels as Varcoe rejects coaching job

By Mark Brown
December 27 2005
Shepparton News

Defending Picola District Football League premier Waaia is back in the hunt for a senior coach.

The Bombers' bid for back-to-back flags has been dealt a major blow following the unexpected withdrawal of leading candidate Jon Varcoe from the coaches' race.

Varcoe, who led Waaia to successive premierships in the mid '90s, was considered a near-certainty to replace outgoing coach Mick Cleeland.

However, club president Doug Larkin yesterday confirmed that Varcoe had withdrawn his application.

"I can definitely say that Jon won't be coaching Waaia next year," Larkin said yesterday.

"It's a bit disappointing, but that's footy."

Waaia had been in negotiations with Varcoe for several weeks.

Larkin said while Waaia would have preferred to have had its coaching position filled heading into the Christmas/New Year break, the club certainly wasn't hitting the panic button as a result of this latest setback.

"Not at all," he said.

"I can guarantee you that we'll have a coach when we run out for the first game."

Waaia stunned the PDFL when it upset ragingfavourite Tungamah to win this year's grand final.

Barden to take reins at Blighty

By Tim Rowe
December 30 2005
Shepparton News

Blighty has appointed Matt Barden as coach for next season as it attempts to force its way back up the Picola District Football League ladder.
Barden, who played for Blighty in 2002, takes over from Rob Daniel in a nonplaying capacity.

Daniel will play on with the Redeyes next year.

The Redeyes won three games and suffered 15 losses and finished in 11th place on the ladder this year.

The talented former Bendigo Pioneers, Gunbower and Echuca player's onfield career has been cut short due to his constant battle with knee problems.

"I'm genuinely excited about the proposition. I always thought I'd like to coach," Barden said.

"Starting at senior level is going to be a challenge but being aware of their history, that's the main reason I took the job, they're such a strong community."

New Blighty president Graeme Barker, who recently replaced Gilbert Bain in the role, said the club had a strong playing base for Barden to work with.

"There's some good juniors coming through the ranks, we probably just need two or three players and we'll be back up there again," Barker said.

"And I can honestly say we are looking forward to playing (new league clubs) Shepparton East and Dookie United."

Barden, whose appointment was only made official last week, said he had put the feelers out in an effort to attract recruits.

"I've grown up around Echuca so hopefully I can bring a few across," Barden said.

"With the new league, we're looking at making the top six. I'm certainly aware of the Picola league standard.

"If we can achieve that, then I think we will have done well."

Doona2 said:
Barden to take reins at Blighty

By Tim Rowe
December 30 2005
Shepparton News

Blighty has appointed Matt Barden as coach for next season as it attempts to force its way back up the Picola District Football League ladder.
Barden, who played for Blighty in 2002, takes over from Rob Daniel in a nonplaying capacity.

Daniel will play on with the Redeyes next year.

The Redeyes won three games and suffered 15 losses and finished in 11th place on the ladder this year.

The talented former Bendigo Pioneers, Gunbower and Echuca player's onfield career has been cut short due to his constant battle with knee problems.

"I'm genuinely excited about the proposition. I always thought I'd like to coach," Barden said.

"Starting at senior level is going to be a challenge but being aware of their history, that's the main reason I took the job, they're such a strong community."

New Blighty president Graeme Barker, who recently replaced Gilbert Bain in the role, said the club had a strong playing base for Barden to work with.

"There's some good juniors coming through the ranks, we probably just need two or three players and we'll be back up there again," Barker said.

"And I can honestly say we are looking forward to playing (new league clubs) Shepparton East and Dookie United."

Barden, whose appointment was only made official last week, said he had put the feelers out in an effort to attract recruits.

"I've grown up around Echuca so hopefully I can bring a few across," Barden said.

"With the new league, we're looking at making the top six. I'm certainly aware of the Picola league standard.

"If we can achieve that, then I think we will have done well."

U love this site don't u doona posting articles and that! do you work at a paper now seen u mention something about working at the Kilmore paper when there some fireworks with Locky on here.

On The Money said:
U love this site don't u doona posting articles and that! do you work at a paper now seen u mention something about working at the Kilmore paper when there some fireworks with Locky on here.

I do read most papers on line daily mate and love me footy thats all. I spent 4 and a bit years doing sport for the local papers in Kilmore and I guess part of reading papers is the hope of finding a way back into it someday. I actually have found some things very informative over the past 6 months, and things I think may be appealing to others I try to pass on (articles etc)

Coach predicts strong showing

By Tim Rowe
January 2 2006
Shepparton News

Last year's Picola District Football League runner-up Tungamah has denied it is facing a player exodus this season.
Coach David Putamorsi has strongly rejected the claims, saying it will be even stronger than the side that lost to Waaia in the grand final.

The Bears managed to lure star forward Rob Wren, a Victorian Country representative, and onballer Scott Parker back to the club.

Wren coached Tungamah to its most recent premiership in 1999 and Parker has spent the past two years in charge of Wagunyah.

"We'll be strong again," Putamorsi said.

"We were pretty lucky with injuries last season. But everyone's hungry and keen to stick around because we've still got a goal we want to achieve (a premiership)."

Putamorsi said doubt remained whether talented young on-baller Tim Cooper would return to the Bears.

"He might be going to college in Melbourne but we're hopeful that he'll come back and play for us," he said.

In a further boost to the Bears, Putamorsi has been able to entice his brother-inlaw, ruckman-forward Scott Meehan, to the club.

Meehan most recently played for Lalbert in the Central Murray Football League.

Putamorsi said the Bears were still in talks with a number of possible recruits, including former player George Nicolopoulos and Mulwala's Trent Creek.

n Meanwhile, Katandra has been quiet in the recruiting stakes, according to coach Mark Lambourn.

Lambourn said the Kats had a few possible new additions to the side but as yet none had put pen to paper.

"I've spoken to a lot and I'll probably do a bit more next week," Lambourn said.

"But I'd suspect we'd lose more than we gain.

"It's one of those things, no-one's prepared to commit just yet."

The Kats went through the home-and-away season undefeated before losing twice in the finals series, being bounced out in the preliminary by Waaia.

League centre halfforward of the year Ray Bramley, who travelled from Maryborough for most of the season, has departed.

Doona2 said:
Greig to take the helm at Dookie
By Bill McCarthy
December 26 2005
Shepparton News

Scott Greig has ideal credentials to take over as senior playing coach of Dookie United Football Club.
Not only did the strongly-built 193 cm Greig win the Dookie United best and fairest last season, he was also Central Goulburn Football League's best and fairest.

Add the fact that he moved to Dookie to live about a year ago and became a popular member of the club and the community.

Then throw in coaching experience with Merrigum and the Shepparton United reserves.

And the fact that he can play knock ruckman, centre halfforward or full forward.

Club president Virginia Boyd said Greig was very popular with the university students in the team.

"It's an important time in our history - going into a new league, with a new jumper, a new coach and a new president," she said.

Boyd said training was expected to start about midJanuary, but the students would not be back until February.

"We are looking at doing a lot of pre-season at the college, where there is a pool, gym and an oval," Boyd said.

Last season's joint coaches, Chris Burke and Brad Montgomery, did not reapply.

Burke keen to set the record straight

January 2 2006
Shepparton News

To whom it may concern:

After reading the article regarding the Dookie United coaching appointment in Monday's (December 26) Shepparton News, there was a statement made that caught my attention.

I refer to the closing sentence that stated that past coaches Brad Montgomery and Chris Burke had not reapplied for the position.

I wish to correct that by stating that we did reapply for the position and did in fact have an interview meeting with the selection committee.

There were two applicants interviewed after the initial application time had closed.

From here it was a committee decision that no appointment would be made and that the position would be readvertised as we, or the other applicant obviously were not successful in our application.

It was after the readvertising of the position, which occurred without even informing us of our unsuccessful application, that we decided to withdraw the application for the position as it was made very clear that we would not be supported in a coaching position at the club.

It also had been stated in a previous article run some weeks ago by The News that we (Brad and myself) had reapplied.

Personally, I wish Scott Greig and the players at Dookie United a successful year, however, I feel it is very important that people receive the correct information.

Regards,

Chris Burke

On The Money said:

I know that Iv'e said this before but I'm now located 3200 km's away from my beloved Berrigan Saints and don't exactly get the Shep News up here and I can not wait for Doona to post another article so I can find out what's going on down there with the Picola, Murray and other comps.
Keep up the great work Doona.

This one is for you magicfrog!!!!

:thumbsu:

Golden fleeced Ram joins a new mob

By Mark Brown
January 3 2006
Shepparton News

Deniliquin has lost the services of explosive onballer Andrew May.
Rams coach Chris Mitsch yesterday all but confirmed the four-time premiership star had quit the club and would cross to Balranald for the coming season.

"Things aren't looking too bad (for next season), apart from Andy," Mitsch said.

"He's apparently heading over to Balranald, which is a bit of a blow for us. He's a very good player."

May, widely regarded as one of the premier onballers in Murray Football League, was a member of the Rams' all-conquering premiership quadrella from 2001-04.

His loss will leave a considerable hole in Deniliquin's on-ball stocks, however, it's not all bad news for the Rams.

Key defender Rob Resuggan has baulked at an invitation to follow May and will remain at Deniliquin next season.

"Rob has committed, which is great news," Mitsch said.

"He had a bit of a think about it (rival offer) but has decided to stick around.

"Rob's developed into a top-line defender.

"He did some great jobs for us last season and it's nice to know he's there to cover the opposition's key forward."

Mitsch said the club had also regained the services of premiership player Tim Holobowski, who has returned from the Gold Coast.

Troy Bartlett will also resume playing after missing most of last year with the dreaded osteitis pubis.

Mitsch said he was quietly confident the Rams could remain a genuine contender this year.

"We've probably got 10 or a dozen guys who walked straight into this side from juniors and played in two or three flags," he said.

"I'm not saying they got it easy, but hopefully last year was a reminder how hard premierships are to win and that sparks them to work even harder this year."

Deniliquin finished fourth last season, missing the grand final for the first time since 1999

Doona2 said:
Coach predicts strong showing

By Tim Rowe
January 2 2006
Shepparton News

Last year's Picola District Football League runner-up Tungamah has denied it is facing a player exodus this season.
Coach David Putamorsi has strongly rejected the claims, saying it will be even stronger than the side that lost to Waaia in the grand final.

The Bears managed to lure star forward Rob Wren, a Victorian Country representative, and onballer Scott Parker back to the club.

Wren coached Tungamah to its most recent premiership in 1999 and Parker has spent the past two years in charge of Wagunyah.

"We'll be strong again," Putamorsi said.

"We were pretty lucky with injuries last season. But everyone's hungry and keen to stick around because we've still got a goal we want to achieve (a premiership)."

Putamorsi said doubt remained whether talented young on-baller Tim Cooper would return to the Bears.

"He might be going to college in Melbourne but we're hopeful that he'll come back and play for us," he said.

In a further boost to the Bears, Putamorsi has been able to entice his brother-inlaw, ruckman-forward Scott Meehan, to the club.

Meehan most recently played for Lalbert in the Central Murray Football League.

Putamorsi said the Bears were still in talks with a number of possible recruits, including former player George Nicolopoulos and Mulwala's Trent Creek.

n Meanwhile, Katandra has been quiet in the recruiting stakes, according to coach Mark Lambourn.

Lambourn said the Kats had a few possible new additions to the side but as yet none had put pen to paper.

"I've spoken to a lot and I'll probably do a bit more next week," Lambourn said.

"But I'd suspect we'd lose more than we gain.

"It's one of those things, no-one's prepared to commit just yet."

The Kats went through the home-and-away season undefeated before losing twice in the finals series, being bounced out in the preliminary by Waaia.

League centre halfforward of the year Ray Bramley, who travelled from Maryborough for most of the season, has departed.

keep it up mate that is top job your doing!!:thumbsu: we are starting to look a mighty team now but trent creeck will be a huge boost if we can get him on bored!! doesn anyone know about this meehan bloke??

go bears!!!

Pies' recruiting drive reaps dividends

By Tim Rowe
January 5 2006
Shepparton News

An ambitious recruiting drive by perennial Picola District Football League cellar dweller Wunghnu appears to have paid dividends.

After failing to win a game and their coach Kim McElhinney walking out mid-year, the Magpies have gathered the basis of a whole new side for the coming season.

"We've recruited a few, about 15 blokes actually . . . and I'm working on a few more," new coach Adrian Timmis said yesterday.

"If we get them we'll be laughing. They just wanted to wait until after Christmas and new year before making their decision."

Mooroopna reserves best and fairest winner Luke Anderson and Shepparton East quintet Ross Cuthbert, Travis Brand, Allistair Wood, Danny Clark and Mark Wayman will line up with the Magpies this year.

Tocumwal pair Justin Ivens and Gary Kelly and former Shepparton Swans half-back Cliff Rowan have also agreed to terms.

And in a further boost for Timmis, former Ballan coach Stuart Craig and Shepparton East midfielder Steven Walker will share the assistant coaching role.

Timmis, a premiership player in the Magpies' thirds side in 1993, said the league would see a far more competitive and determined outfit this season.

"We're not looking to play finals, we're just wanting to stabilise the club and try and win six or seven games," the former Shepparton East premiership player said.

"We've got a fairly hard start with Waaia first up and Katamatite, but we've got Blighty at home in round four and they don't travel that well.

"The gate takings won't be that flash, but at least we'll be looking at pencilling that one in.

"We're just trying to be realistic."

Timmis said the Magpies' reigning best and fairest winner Adrian Brand would again line up with the club this year.

"In hindsight they only really had a handful of senior standard guys (last year)," he said.

"A lot of blokes were really only seconds footballers that had to play two games."

dazzledavey36 said:
doesn anyone know about this meehan bloke??

go bears!!!
Meehan will be very handy up forward for Tungamah, he can take a strong grab and could play out of the square or up at CHF if needed. I would imagine he'll play in the ruck for fair periods and he'll take plenty of marks around the ground when he does.

It'll give Tunga a lot of flexibility as Buckley will be able to go forward more for a rest and with the Wren brothers and Macheda floating around the Bears are going to give some opposition backlines a nightmare.

TuskenRaider said:
Meehan will be very handy up forward for Tungamah, he can take a strong grab and could play out of the square or up at CHF if needed. I would imagine he'll play in the ruck for fair periods and he'll take plenty of marks around the ground when he does.

It'll give Tunga a lot of flexibility as Buckley will be able to go forward more for a rest and with the Wren brothers and Macheda floating around the Bears are going to give some opposition backlines a nightmare.

sounds good to me! just what we needed another ruckman to ease the load from bucko. how tall is he??

dazzledavey36 said:
sounds good to me! just what we needed another ruckman to ease the load from bucko. how tall is he??
I don't think he'd be as tall as Buckley, but he's a a good workhorse who will just keep competing all day.

Is Scotty McKenzie still kicking around for Picola up there? What about Byrnes at Picola......havent been around for a couple of years and was wondering whether still going or pensioned off.........:)

galloping gasometer said:
Is Scotty McKenzie still kicking around for Picola up there? What about Byrnes at Picola......havent been around for a couple of years and was wondering whether still going or pensioned off.........:)

Not sure about McKenzie, but Byrnes was still having the occasional run int he twos with Picola last year and helping Brunt out on the bench in the seniors.

Two clubs still to sign senior coaches

By Richard Goodbody
January 11 2006
Shepparton News

Reigning premiers Nathalia and Waaia are the only clubs in the Goulburn Murray region without a senior coach for the forthcoming season.
The premiership clubs, which are the current Murray and Picola District football leagues' champions respectively, remain on the lookout for new headhonchos after Mick Cleeland and John Nihill retired at the end of last season.

While Nathalia remains optimistic that it will sign a coach in the coming days, the Bombers are yet to make an announcement on who will lead them this year with just 11 weeks remaining before the season proper begins.

Speculation continues to mount that Cleeland will return to the Bombers' post, despite having resigned from the role and having rejected the Purples' position, but the whispers are getting louder by the day.

In all, there are 53 clubs in the Goulburn Murray region, which incorporates the aforementioned competitions, as well as the Goulburn Valley and Kyabram District football leagues.

In a major shake-up, there will be 25 new coaches for the coming season, while the remaining 28 will enter their second year or more in charge respectively.

GVFL

Peter Tossol (Mansfield)

Travis Ryan (Tatura)

David Williams (Rochester)

Steve Daniel (Seymour)

Dylan Butler (Echuca)

Anthony Mellington (Shepparton)

Steve Hazelman (Shepparton United)

David Gleeson (Euroa)

Jason MacFarlane (Benalla)

Jarrod Sutherland (Shepparton Swans)

Mark Adamson (Kyabram)

Derek Hall (Mooroopna)

MFL

Chris Mitsch (Deniliquin)

Chris Kennedy (Mulwala)

Leon Higgins (Tocumwal)

Tony Tranter (Barooga)

Rob McCartney (Numurkah)

Travis Hampshire (Congupna)

Mark Heritage (Echuca United)

Greg Brain (Finley)

Trevor Mills (Cobram)

Adrian Hickmott (Rumbalara)

Daryl Harrison (Tongala)

Paul Clarke (Moama)

??? (Nathalia)

KDFL

Scott Hanson (Rushworth)

Corey Carver (Lancaster)

Mark Patten (Stanhope)

Peter Thorpe (Avenel)

Matt McDonald (Murchison)

Gerard Osborne (Tallygaroopna)

Brian Simpkin (Ardmona)

Ross Andrews (Nagambie)

Jodie Canavan (Girgarre)

Shane McLennan (Merrigum)

Darren Kirkpatrick (Violet Town)

Adrian Wilson (Yea)

Jason Whittaker (Undera)

PDFL

Mark Lambourn (Katandra)

Adrian Timmis (Wunghnu)

Adam Brunt (Picola United)

Darren Ogier (Katamatite)

Adam Waasdorp (Yarroweyah)

Scott Greig (Dookie United)

David Putamorsi (Tungamah)

Terry Blake (Mathoura)

Jeff Fehring (Deniliquin Rovers)

Chris O'Dwyer (Katunga)

Matt Barden (Blighty)

Gerard Doyle (Shepparton East)

Barry Roe (Berrigan)

John Brunskill (Strathmerton)

??? (Waaia)

doona is there any links to read the kilmore papers on the net if so can you pm them to me please thanks mate

gazza12 said:
doona is there any links to read the kilmore papers on the net if so can you pm them to me please thanks mate

Nah they're not up to speed with the latest in technology or web based media unfortunately.

Tigers boss hunts for recruits

By Tim Rowe
January 17 2006
Shepparton News

First-season Katamatite coach Darren Ogier has quickly become accustomed to the tough Goulburn Murray recruiting climate.
Echoing the sentiments of most football coaches in the region, Ogier said it was frustrating not to be able to get potential signings to commit to the club.

Ogier, a former Carlton, Sydney and Melbourne player, was appointed to the helm of the Tigers in October after playing in their losing 2004 grand final side.

"There's a few blokes in the pipeline," Ogier said yesterday.

"But the thing I've found up here is, it's either football or cricket season.

"No-one wants to commit yet, and that's their prerogative."

A non-playing coach, Ogier has approached 40 to 50 players since taking over, but was yet to get any to put pen to paper.

"There's still quite a few on the go," he said.

"If we get three or four, even one or two of those, we've done well."

Ogier said the Tigers were trying to nurture home grown talent and attract recruits from within the region.

Jason Biggs and Duane Farrant will be virtual recruits for the Tigers after missing the majority of last season through injury.

Ogier also expects star forward Xavier Kennedy to return to the club after spending a season with North Albury in the Ovens and Murray Football League.

"It's an ongoing battle," he said.

"You hear about clubs that have picked up eight blokes, not so much in our league, but that means there's a few that have slipped down the pecking order.

"Hopefully, we'll get a couple of them.

"We're still battling away."

The Tigers will kick-off their pre-season training after Australia Day.