• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Picola & District South East 2010 Thread

Pretty quiet on here atm. Surely cranking up training in the month of Feb there are a few guys burning up the track and a few still on the move. Any praccy matches locked in! I think Shepp East are playing the road and murchy grass hoppers in the month of March. Is the night series on the go this year and if so, are any clubs playing in it?

The Rennie Hoppers wish everyone a merry xmas and safe new year. Tough year on the field with one 1 senior win but the club very much enjoyed the opportunity to be part of a great league with quality clubs. Was also a tough year off the field with the loss of our Pres in a car prang in October but we go into 2010 having recruited well, Ramsdale, Thomson, Forge, a full forward, and others TBA, losing a couple to the bank of McPhail at Glenrowan but in the most positive pre season position we have been in for the last five years. Go Hoppers!!!!!

Leigh "Leeroy" Ramsdale? Any news on Marty Brooks?

Yes Leigh Ramsdale as coach, Ash Thomson as assistant, Butch Forge, Chase Strawhorn, all should be on the clearance page in the next day or so. Damon Ferguson has gone to Berrigan and we wish him good luck there, and as for a ruckman not sure. Think we are playing Moyhu and Coreen in practice matches.

I though you blokes weren't too far away from winning more games last year. So with these inclusions, I reckon the hoppers could be right in the mix to play finals at least. Good luck to them. BTW I reckon that it was great to see the ol' lollie shed still a part of the catering out there at Rennie. There were also a couple of blokes that reckon there is a mean jelly slice on offer at arvo tea. Grass roots footy at its best.

I though you blokes weren't too far away from winning more games last year. So with these inclusions, I reckon the hoppers could be right in the mix to play finals at least. Good luck to them. BTW I reckon that it was great to see the ol' lollie shed still a part of the catering out there at Rennie. There were also a couple of blokes that reckon there is a mean jelly slice on offer at arvo tea. Grass roots footy at its best.[/quo

The old lolly shed has been retired. New clubroom extensions just completed will see a new kitchen and servery. The jelly slices will still be available.

Some good inclusions with a few more to come. We felt we were 5 or 6 good players off competing with most of the clubs last year so we hope we've plugged that gap.

Heard recently too that Dale Baulch isn't returning for dooks either this year as he is on the move with his work. He only came back 1/2 thru last year from qld, but was in their flag the year before as an on baller. Another number they will need to cover, b/c I'm not sure if Payne Coston, Ludeman or Ozzie will pull them on this year either. I'm sure Feldtman will cover a couple of those with the guys he has bought out from Sheep, but between these 3, they will be missing a fair bit of scoring power. Feldtman will need to play a lot of the time this year, but I think he has some soft tissue problems which may have kept him from playing more senior footy in town. Shaping up for a pretty even comp again this year.

Pretty quiet on here atm. Surely cranking up training in the month of Feb there are a few guys burning up the track and a few still on the move. Any praccy matches locked in! I think Shepp East are playing the road and murchy grass hoppers in the month of March. Is the night series on the go this year and if so, are any clubs playing in it?

Yeh shepp east confirmed praccy matches are against congupna on the 13th of march at congupna and also murchison on the 27th march at shepp east so should be a couple of good hit outs for the eagles who have also just signed 3 ex tatura players in paul neville, reece pollard, and stephen burns to bolster there stocks to go that one step further in 2010, looking forwad to the year and to see who the big improvers are?? (rennie,katty,dookie??????????

Let's just hope the numbers and the names in The Spectator match! :D

anyone heard of anything out of the Katunga camp? I would suggest that they would need to pick up a couple to replace fox and Cassimaty from last year. I would say big Ash Howden has finally retired and Nicko is heading to the Numurkah Blues. I dare say Snackers O'dwyer would have maybe hit up a couple of their younger stars to maybe have a go in town too! Doesn'e bode well for the swannies if they can't replace these guys.

It looks like a long year for the Swans.
-------
Ladder Prediction (2 months from start of season)

Shepp East
Tungamah
Katandra

Dookie United
Katamatite
Waaia
Rennie
Katunga

I nearly concur:
Shep East (due to draw only)
Tunga
Katandra
Katty
Dooks
Rennie
Waaia
Katunga

Nothing really seperating the top 3 and could finish in any order. I'm not holding my breath for the Swannies, and really from 4-7 could have a blanket thrown over them. Once again its about keeping your best squad on the park and managing injuries. Should be another great year for competition in the SE. I thought last year was one of the closest years from top-bottom I've seen for a long time. The league would have to have been happy with the close nature of both the SE & NW comps. Lets hope it carries on into 2010!

it was asked week or so ago......but anyone got praccy matches booked
i think shepp east are the only ones on here that have stated so

It looks like a long year for the Swans.
-------
Ladder Prediction (2 months from start of season)

Shepp East
Tungamah
Katandra

Dookie United
Katamatite
Waaia
Rennie
Katunga

Shepp East
Katandra
Rennie
Dookie
Tungamah

Katamatite
Waaia
Katunga

Tungamah practice matches are against;
Billabong Crows, Twilight match. Home
Wagga - (Can't remember what they called) Home
Moyhu Away

Can't remember dates.

I would be very suprised if the bears fell that far. Their ones were by far the best going around last year, not to mention their two's. If your crystal ball is right, its game on to see who can inflict the mighty bears 1st defeat for some time!!

I agre Ramnuts. Tunga shouldn't drop as much as some are predicting. Too many good players in their 2nds and 3rds to come up. I'm intrigued by Bullet's prediction for the Kats in the top 2. I thought they had lost a couple of good players. On Tunga, there seems to be all sorts of rumours on who they have lost. Anyone prepared to give an accurate summary of losses and gains for their clubs?

Katandra:

Losses - Andrew Riordan (Uni in Geelong), Adam Hickey (Nathalia), Jarrod Minogue (Uni in Bendigo)

Gains - Grant McLarty (1998 Katandra Premiership player/100+ Games at Shepp United), Jake Thurston (U-17's), Cody Irvine (U-17's), Sam Doyle (U-17's), Joel Boyer (recruited for 2009 from Mooroopna, injured knee in night series). I'd imagine some current 3rds players will also get an opportunity over the year, like Lachlan Sidebottom who must be 190cm+ by now!

Andrew will be a huge loss, very hard to match up on. Adam is developing into a very good player and will be better for the run at the Purples, Jarrod showed bursts of speed in a couple of 1sts games in 09.

Very excited about the inclusions. Grant has finally returned. Not sure how Jake's Bushies path is going. Cody and Sam can hopefully make a smooth transition between 3rds and Senior footy. Joel hasn't played an official game for us yet after looking very promising during the 09 pre-season.

A few other ex-players are on the radar to make a few cameos. Could be a very interesting year. 3rds numbers are also fantastic with 20 odd players regularly on the track.

Thanks Flag. So based on those losses and gains do you think you guys will run out a better team this year than last year? Derek Hall another year older and slower (although still one hell of a player) and will you see much of David Teague?

Derek Hall & Wes Teague are the only players over 30, and both excel in their respective positions. I'd imagine that Dave will do much the same this year.

Our results will prove if we are any better or not.

Rennie

Losses - Damon Ferguson (Berrigan), Tyson Marrett (Blighty), Nathan Horsfall and Chris Cottee (Glenrowan), Craig Jarvis (?), plus ???

Gains - Leigh Ramsdale as Playing Coach (ex Yarra, Nathalia P'ship Player), Ash Thomson (ex Yarra, Narrandera Coach, Euroa), Shane Forge (ex Yarra, Rennie junior finishing career at home club), Jack O'Callaghan (ex W.A. and local junior), Matt Howard (ex Fawkner, Yarra, Tunga), Tyson Ednie (Yarra 3rds), Boden Strawhorn (Yarra 3rds), Chase Strawhorn (ex Jerilderie P'ship and League Goalkicker, Yarra), Luke Wilson (ex Spotswood and Yarra), Andrew Ryland (ex Wahgunyah, Katamatite, Corowa and Yarra), Craig Hicks (ex Yarra), Steve Ramsdale (ex Yarra), Tim Dykes (ex Katamatite and Yarra). Plus the return from injury of Tim Watson (ex Rennie Coach) and Duane Rhodes (Rennie 100+ gamer) are bonuses.

A few more have trained with the club but are yet to commit, plus a few other players on the radar. Cam Sandral (League 3rds B&F 09) still training with the Bushies so the club is unsure how much they will see of him. Some big losses but far outweighed by the gains. Some new blood at the Netball Club, and the new Social Rooms extensions have the club pretty optimistic for the year ahead to improve through the grades.

Practice Matches - 6 March Intra Club @ Rennie, 13 March vs Moyhu @ Rennie, 27 March vs CDHBU (Peter Murphy Cup) @ Rennie.

Rennie

Losses - Damon Ferguson (Berrigan), Tyson Marrett (Blighty), Nathan Horsfall and Chris Cottee (Glenrowan), Craig Jarvis (?), plus ???

Gains - Leigh Ramsdale as Playing Coach (ex Yarra, Nathalia P'ship Player), Ash Thomson (ex Yarra, Narrandera Coach, Euroa), Shane Forge (ex Yarra, Rennie junior finishing career at home club), Jack O'Callaghan (ex W.A. and local junior), Matt Howard (ex Fawkner, Yarra, Tunga), Tyson Ednie (Yarra 3rds), Boden Strawhorn (Yarra 3rds), Chase Strawhorn (ex Jerilderie P'ship and League Goalkicker, Yarra), Luke Wilson (ex Spotswood and Yarra), Andrew Ryland (ex Wahgunyah, Katamatite, Corowa and Yarra), Craig Hicks (ex Yarra), Steve Ramsdale (ex Yarra), Tim Dykes (ex Katamatite and Yarra). Plus the return from injury of Tim Watson (ex Rennie Coach) and Duane Rhodes (Rennie 100+ gamer) are bonuses.

A few more have trained with the club but are yet to commit, plus a few other players on the radar. Cam Sandral (League 3rds B&F 09) still training with the Bushies so the club is unsure how much they will see of him. Some big losses but far outweighed by the gains. Some new blood at the Netball Club, and the new Social Rooms extensions have the club pretty optimistic for the year ahead to improve through the grades.

Practice Matches - 6 March Intra Club @ Rennie, 13 March vs Moyhu @ Rennie, 27 March vs CDHBU (Peter Murphy Cup) @ Rennie.

So you'd expect those 15 players to consistently play seniors? Who are the 6 players from 09 that would add to make your best 21?

Probably a dozen should be walk up starts. 2 or 3 (and I won't name them) might have to force their way into our 21. A lot will depend on how everyone aims up in the praccy matches. A few of the gains the wrong side of 30 years of age (with some injuries) so we are not expecting some of these guys to play every game either. From last year's squad we'd expect to see as definite Seniors players Josh Lewis, Mickey Rhodes, Jarrad Wilson, Jack Florance, Daz Lewis, Leon Wolfe. Then there are about another 6 or 7 local boys who will be competing for the other spots with those remaining additions this year.

We think that we have a squad of about 30 blokes trying to squeeze into 21. It's been a long time since we've been in that position. By no means am I saying there's a flag with that squad but it's reasoanble to expect a vast improvement on last year's effort.

Probably a dozen should be walk up starts. 2 or 3 (and I won't name them) might have to force their way into our 21. A lot will depend on how everyone aims up in the praccy matches. A few of the gains the wrong side of 30 years of age (with some injuries) so we are not expecting some of these guys to play every game either. From last year's squad we'd expect to see as definite Seniors players Josh Lewis, Mickey Rhodes, Jarrad Wilson, Jack Florance, Daz Lewis, Leon Wolfe. Then there are about another 6 or 7 local boys who will be competing for the other spots with those remaining additions this year.

We think that we have a squad of about 30 blokes trying to squeeze into 21. It's been a long time since we've been in that position. By no means am I saying there's a flag with that squad but it's reasoanble to expect a vast improvement on last year's effort.

Well if the above mentioned can all take the park for the majority of the year, you would suggest that the hoppers will be marked improvers. Good luck to them.
With regards to recruits/departures, once again it seems that the Kats will be pushing for top 3 once again. Can they get to the pinnacle?? Being so close over the past 5-6 years, do their young guns (and they have one of the best groups of young players I've seen for a long time) know how to win the big ones!!!! Time will tell.
The Eagles looked to have complemented their list from last year, but they have lost a couple as well. eg Jaques, Trianides ???, and the like. Does anyone know if Brunier and Molisak are playing again. Brunier was a brute last year and Molisak being a past KDL medallist obviously will be missed.
Dooks welcome their new coach and a couple from in town. Who knows what Payney & Ludeman will do? They have lost Baulch and Edmonston wants to go too, so they may be around the same mark this year. The college has pretty much no bearing on their recruiting anymore.
Have heard Tyack, richardson, scott and a few are on the move from the bombers. this may leave them a little on edge.
Haven't heard much about Katty or Kutunga so can't comment.
The whole league will be hunting the Bears no doubt to see which club can crack their stranglehold on the comp. Good luck to all!!!!