Picola & District South East 2011 Thread

How did everyone's Practice matches go on the weekend.... Shepp East had a 10 goal win over Murchison, but it was a good solid hit out.... Shepp V Undera this weekend...

Heard a rumour Katandra FC U17's Pre Season comp is cancelled ... Have you heard anything ... (Iwantanotherflag)

Yeah pretty warm on Sat Arvo out at Ady. Saw the poor boundary ump nearly blow a poopa valve trying to keep up. He may be better suited to kickin out rather than running the paint.:D
All in all, the eagles looked good in patches and a little rusty in others. Got away relatively injury free in a reasonable hit out. Look forward to the KDL lions this week to give a better indication as I rate Undera a little ahead of Murch at this stage.

The katandra un17s night series was called off about 3 weeks ago. Dookie 1s played goorumbat last week had a good win but i dont think the standard from the bats was to flash.

Dookie 3rds played Katandra last week and had a 72 point win.

Dookie has last pretty much all of the last years top age un17s to the GVFL.
Massive blow to dookies depth for this year.

The katandra un17s night series was called off about 3 weeks ago. Dookie 1s played goorumbat last week had a good win but i dont think the standard from the bats was to flash.

Due to cancelations, Violet Town fc is looking for someone to play a game at Benalla under light this sat or next sat, if interested please send me a PM and l will contact you asap..

How did everyone's Practice matches go on the weekend.... Shepp East had a 10 goal win over Murchison, but it was a good solid hit out.... Shepp V Undera this weekend...

Heard a rumour Katandra FC U17's Pre Season comp is cancelled ... Have you heard anything ... (Iwantanotherflag)

Tried to get it up and running, but didn't get enough teams on board to make it work. We will be trying the concept again next year. Hopefully we can lock in a few more teams.

How was the last round of praccy matches on the w,end before we head into round 1 in 2 weeks?? Tunga? gambi? what about dookie the boys have been very quiet out there!! any praccy match form?? always good to get through the scratch matches injury free and fit into the real stuff!! shepp east had a good hit out with undera on the w,end and won comfortably!! ;)

Went to the east game on Saturday and they looked just as good as last year. Delivery into forward line was first class and the forwards didn’t let the team down kicking very well.

Young lachy Morrison played well think he will be a handy inclusion good replacement for Trev Graham on a wing. Reminds me a lot of Terance Jones from Tungamah.

Dookie play tally this Saturday at Dookie, as I said the other day all top age un17s have left the club to play GVFL also big Scotty Greig has stepped down from his assistant/development coaching role.

age un17s have left the club to play GVFL also big Scotty Greig has stepped down from his assistant/development coaching role. [/quote]

Big loss for Dooks here as he is a quality guy to have on board and knows plenty about footy. I'm sure he deserves a rest from Sat duties tho, he has served the club well over the past 6-7 years. He might enjoy kicking back & sucking on a few froffies on a Sat arvo now.
Has dooks recruited any new players? Losing the top age u17's hurts a bit, but you always need to top up with some senior experience every year. Could it be a bit lean out in the hills this year????

Yeah i think the big fella will be having a few cold ones and enjoying a year off.

From what i know is that there is a new ruckman and maybe 3 or 4 other new players not sure on names but all will be in the starting 18.

Will know more after saturdays game

Not having a go at you snake but it's hard to feel sorry for Dookie if they are losing their top aged kids. 2 flags is a good effort but one must wonder why you are losing these kids? Did they come out just for the flag? Every other club has to contend with O&M and GV Clubs trying to poach their kids for the 3rds/U18's comps. Most of the clubs seem to cope ok perhaps because their kids have some loyalty to their club. If Dookie can't keep theirs then perhaps that is saying something about those kids or the club. A good 17 or 18 year old should be good enough to play senior footy in our comp. Nothing wrong with anyone wanting to play the best footy they can - but I'd suggest senior footy is better than U18's in the bigger leagues. And why has Scott Greig all of a sudden quit? No trouble in paradise is there?

Yeah not looking for clubs to show pitty on us just saying whats going on.
loyalty in football is gone these days half of the boys we have lost have played on average 120 games for the club some starting at the club at the age of 9 or 10.
The lure of playing with there mates is the main reason they left because they all go to school wit the GVFL boys.

Not sure bout any trouble there with greggy but i spoke to him saturday and his already had club chase him for the rest of this year and next hehe.

Back to the footy dookie played tally saturday and looked pretty good. Would say they are a 3 or 4 goal better side than last year.
Big test for them this week vs tunga but.

Should be a cracker of a game between katandra and rennie this week in the opening round? lot of hype around the hoppers and rightly so with some good pick up,s but also interesting to see where katandra are at!! mclarty,briggs, should be handy pick ups and also heard alister barton has got on board? hard to replace hall i would think? who up for that role flag??? I think rennie will be smarting from last years finals series when the kats knocked them out and will win
my other tips
tunga by 41 over dooks
waaia by 74 over swans ( will cowan be cleared)
eagles comfortably over tiges

You cant replace a power forward like hall think they have picked up a few 20-23 year old players so would expect them to have plenty of run. Wouldnt surprise me if the wings and on ballers run forward and kick 4 or 5 goals a game. New coach with a young group playing for each other think they could upset a few teams if taken lightly.

But Rennie will get the points by 25
Dookie will go down by 17 points
Shepp east to win by between 80-120 points palmer to kick 10+
Waaia by 42 points

Should be a cracker of a game between katandra and rennie this week in the opening round? lot of hype around the hoppers and rightly so with some good pick up,s but also interesting to see where katandra are at!! mclarty,briggs, should be handy pick ups and also heard alister barton has got on board? hard to replace hall i would think? who up for that role flag??? I think rennie will be smarting from last years finals series when the kats knocked them out and will win
my other tips
tunga by 41 over dooks
waaia by 74 over swans ( will cowan be cleared)
eagles comfortably over tiges

What about Rennie huge Signing... Brother of Hayden Best (Shepp East Coach)...DANIEL BEST.... He could play in his day... how will he go will the knees and shoulders hold up.... will wait and see... apparently Hayden has got him lined up already... HAHA

is daniel best any relation to jarrod best karjam? would have to say rennie be flag favorites at this stage with waaia the big improver. i can pitcure daniel best riding his bike up and down those wings ;-)

I'm suprised he didn't pop his gammy shoulders when he put his hand up to play!!:D:D

Good luck to all for rnd 1 tomorrow. Hopefully we see some hard & fast footy in all grades. Will be an interested on looker come footy score board satdy night. With not all leagues starting this week hopefully PDFL SE may get more than a nano second so we can see the other results:thumbsu:

Good luck to the young Hodgey look alike and his men at the eagles in their premiership defence!

Yeah Jarrad, Hayden and Daniel are all brothers... Jarrad has the brains, Hayden is dumb and Daniel is silly.... HA HA

I'm suprised he didn't pop his gammy shoulders when he put his hand up to play!!:D:D

Good luck to all for rnd 1 tomorrow. Hopefully we see some hard & fast footy in all grades. Will be an interested on looker come footy score board satdy night. With not all leagues starting this week hopefully PDFL SE may get more than a nano second so we can see the other results:thumbsu:

Good luck to the young Hodgey look alike and his men at the eagles in their premiership defence!

Who is young Hodgey...

But Rennie will get the points by 25
Dookie will go down by 17 points
Shepp east to win by between 80-120 points palmer to kick 10+
Waaia by 42 points

Not bad their brownsnake. Very close to the mark.

We had our opportunities against Rennie but could not do what was needed.

Trotted along to the Katty Eagles game on Sat.
Poor tiges got a taste for what they were in for with the Eagles winning the first tap to T.Palmy who took 3 steps and banged it long to his bro and he was lining up from 35m with about 3 seconds gone on the clock. Unfortunaltely for Katty, it set the tone for the rest of the day.
All credit to the tiges for fighting the whole game out, but I can only imagine they will be in for a fair haul for the rest of the year.
A real highlight was the coming together of the 2 Bye bro's in the 3rd qtr. I was sitting right at the fence and fair dinkum, they nearly split the atom they hit that hard. Great courage on both parties and a super fair contest. Unfrotunately the 105yr old fella in white deemed it necessary to pay a kick, but thats footy.
For mine I reckon Ozborn, D.Gillespie, Frappell, Little Mollie were real good with a real spread of players in the mid range. As for Katty, the regulars were OK in Astro Aldridge, amd wombat Edis did a pretty good job tidying up in defence and launching his trademark 50 yard bombs.
They will really struggle with minimum ruck impact seeing there seems to be quite a competitive following brigade in the league with Collo coming from Numurkah to Waaia, Gillespie & Ozzie at the Eagles, Dungeon at Dooks, Betto & the young guy from Tunga.
Anyway, anyone give an insight to the other games!
I'd dare say the Eagles might get a bit stiffer opposition next week. Good luck to Katty coz they have plenty of genuine people trying their guts out, but it will be a long winter by the Boosey I reckon!:thumbsu:
BTW I reckon Frosty nearly tripped over the white paint he was that close to goal on Sat and still missed!!:D:D He did manage to kick the hard one!

A bit quiet on here, so I'll dribble on some more.....
Going out to watch the GF reply at Central Park this week. Should be a ringa ding contest. Should be some different personel out there as the Eagles are missing about 7-8 from the GF and I think from my mail, Tunga will be without about 5 or 6 - Gambi, you might be able to confirm this. Dunno how Tunga got on with injuries last week, but they accounted for Dooks easily who I'm sure would hope they are in the top bracket this year. the Eagles didn't have much to do and got through relatively unscathed so I hope the weathers fine and we see a really high skilled game of footy. Should be high scoring with both teams sporting pretty potent fwd lines with Payne & Saunders amongst the goals last week. Doody and his men also are formidable goal kicking midfielders. For the Eagles big Bobby Oz was in pretty good nick last week as was Palmy early with 5 on the board by 1/2 time. Frappell, Best and Molisak should be great match ups for Dodd, Doyle and Jones. As they say, the team that settles first and uses the footy well may get a game winning break early.
Look forward to the unfurling of the 1st, 2nds & 4ths flags as well. Always gets the day off for a good start for the home side. I dunno weather Ill get there in time to see the 4ths flag unfurled, but I'm sure it will be a grand occasion.:thumbsu:

I see Cowan & his fellow Numurkah recruits made an immediate impact against the swans out there last week.Lets see how they go against some stiffer opposition!:rolleyes:

Amazing how Rennie didn't have too many injuries/unavailables last week and they were able to get over a plucky Katandra! Whats the money that the first defeat (if they even have one this year going by the hype) that they will have been obliterated by injuries to key players. Just seemed that last year prior to or after every game where they were matched against strong opposition, their coach played the old "undermanned" card in the local rag.:cool: He should just blame the younger brigade just like Brent Harvey did on National radio last Sat Arvo - What a tool!!!! (Harvey that is)
Watch out for ol stager D.Best whilst on the hoppers - 4 in the midday show may earn a recall to senior footy soon!!! Good Stuff.

hey nutta yeh it should be a great day for the eagles on saturday with the unfurling of the premierships and the tip of great weather it should be a cracker day!! As for the match in the main game it is going to be on early i would suggest and if the eagles arent on there toes then the young tunga kids will let fly! really looking forward tp payne v gillespie match up again as payne has had a 6 month break to make redemtion?? should be a ripper!! think Saunders,gardner,jones,dodd will hold the key for tunga and if we can stop those type of players then we could set up a handy break early?? Yeah the hoppers are the buzz team and good on them for having a crack at it and with waaia and tunga and the eagles there abouts it sets up some mouth watering clashes during the year, i know we have tunga,waaia,rennie with in the first 5 weeks so that will show where everyone is at?? As for D.best at the hoppers manage to speak to him during the week and he.s hoping for a round 11 return to get over general soreness:p:p