Player Nicknames

This one is probably stupid, but my friends and I call Fixter, 'Bob'.

How it came about is we shortened Fixter to Fix, from there one night,(after a few amber fluids)we started singing 'Bob, the Builder can we "fix" it', so along came the nickname 'Bob'.

Silly I know!:eek:

we used to sing Daniel Bradshaw - can he fix it, Daniel Bradshaw yes he can - after each goal!!!
hehehe :D thats a good one

Lol, thats good one! Im also glad to know Im not the only one who sings childrens songs at the footy! lol
oh yeah :)

we use to sing 'If you love Lynchy and you know it clap your hands' when he would come down our end when the lions played here - we even had some crows supporters clapping as well :p

if you want mass crowd participation, using tunes everyone knows works every time

I think we should start a campaign to start calling Troy Selwwod "Bunnings" on the teamsheet so that he can seperate him from his twin....people keep getting them mixed up in the media and we dont want him goin down with Adam with the football idiots leading the mob!

Adam had the Bunnings tag first - it is Troy that needs a new nick.

Thought it was pretty much simultaneous, thus highlighting the predictability of footballers.

Heard tale recently of one of our coaching staff who spent the good part of a day mulling over nicknames for new draftees.

Ha! I thought 'Merry' was from Lord of the Rings!

Belgian interview with Jed
BF: So have we got any good new nicknames for the new guys, or are they just sort of along the old AFL lines of….

JA: Yeah, sort of. Um, there’s “Filthy” – Phil Smith. Polkinghorne, sort of hasn’t really got one. “Polks”, the old fave…

BF: Yeah, I think we suggested Polka and it’s sort of… yeah…

JA: We started calling him polka dots at one stage. Other than that…

BF: Oh well, if you’ve got any good ones let us know, we’ll give it legs.

JA: Bradd Dalziell – “Razzle”. Razzle Dazzle. Um, Tommy Collier… I don’t he’s had one yet. He’s from Tassie, so you could make up anything about that. And Lachie Henderson is just “Hendo”, so, no, nothing really taken up besides Razzle and Filthy.

BF: I heard a bit of a rumour that some unnamed members of the coaching staff take an inordinate amount of time to come up with new nicknames for the…

JA: Yeah, that was last year. That was Leppa… (laughs) I’ll say who it was. It was Leppa. Leppa’s a good character to have around the club, always has been and always will be. He came up with Chunk for Sammy Sheldon, coz he looks like Chunk from The Goonies.

BF: Yeah, the old Truffle Shuffle…

JA: Um, there was a couple more, can’t remember.

BF: I think we were pretty impressed with “Merry” Chris Schmidt.

JA: Oh yeah, that was one. So, yeah, Leppa’s the one for the nicknames, he also came up with Bunno.

Player Nicknames