Players weights to no longer be disclosed

Players don't get mocked because of the official weights published by the afl, they get mocked by how they look. Stringer and J McGovern looked out of shape and they have been made fun of. Whether you think that is ok or not, stopping the publication of these stats won't stop it.
Stringer gets mocked because he is a slimy human as well.

Cam Zurhaar was fat for years, this might be the first pre season he hasn't been, and no one mocked him for it.

Sort of goes hand in hand. You can’t be a dumb campaigner in general that suddenly morphs into Ron Barassi once you take the field
Shane Warne was a dumb campaigner in general and an absolute genius at playing or commentating on cricket and especially on spin bowling.

Dumb campaigners with a high footy IQ.

There are players like that.

Made an account bet with a tigers board poster during the Dusty contract saga that he was going to north and the loser would nuke accounts

Kept his word
He’s still active of Twitter or at least was last year
Not a bad bloke and good for a laugh
He was still posting at the North Board four or five years after the Dusty Saga.

Weird decision. Not a fan and suspect it will be reversed in time, maybe even before 2024 kicks off.

That being said, you should be able to get pretty close to the mark with almost all players just on sight.

Also, it's clear clubs have been pretty half assed about updating heights and weights for a while now.

I expect the NRL to use this as an angle to attack the AFL.

But I also don't think this is going to be the loss some people think it is.
Two players with the same height and weight but different muscle to fat ratio can look completely different

You don't need to know Sam Walsh had 20 kicks, 15 handballs and 12 tackles to get a feel as the whether he had a good game either but more information should always be the goal when looking to build a fan base
Do you really think so?

Wingspan, hand size, centre of gravity and a players power output are much more relevant but we don't get fed them before a game.

Honestly those stats would make the game more interesting for fans because they have some meaning and can be used to anticipate or predict certain match ups, who might have an advantage in what contest etc etc.

Do you really think so?

Wingspan, hand size, centre of gravity and a players power output are much more relevant but we don't get fed them before a game.

Honestly those stats would make the game more interesting for fans because they have some meaning and can be used to anticipate or predict certain match ups, who might have an advantage in what contest etc etc.

What is a players power output?

But if you think those stats are relevant for fans and would make the game more interesting then I'm not sure why you are pushing back on people who think a players weight might also have relevance

Which again makes no sense to me as the AFL is responsible for keeping the clubs financially healthy, so why not simply wear the cost of the stats so the AFL clubs don't need an extra expense.

It is like giving your child $100 for pocket money every week but charging them $100 in rent every week.
The also sell it to gambling agencies which the agencies use to gain a bigger advantage over the average mug punter, resulting in even more money for the AFL through the further increase in revenue for sportsbooks, and the commission that they pay to the AFL.

Bullshit. He was a rude, weak prick who couldn't stand being questioned or challenged. And he'd just abuse people who didn't agree with him cos he couldn't handle it. He was the biggest snowflake on the board. Well maybe second biggest but anyway who cares now.
You're describing most posters there

On Pixel 6 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Who really cares about players weights? Should we have their IQ and the size of their wang up as well?

I look at it from another angle, personally haven't ever felt the need to check weights. But I do know that only the ruckman crack 100kgs. I think Ollie Wines was considered a monster unit as he cracked it as a mid. Or near cracked it. What I wonder is who has the time and inclination to think about this meaningless crap? And who is it that signs off on the effort and goes about implementing the change. A good example is the change to the public holiday act in SA where 'ANZAC Day' was removed, ok, big deal, who cares? But that doesn't happen without a bunch of highly paid people putting it on an agenda and discussing it. Why waste that time over nothing, don't they have more important things to attend to rather than talking about something that most people would describe as meaningless?

Your example was a 200cm 80kg ruck - one look at the player would tell you they are not robust enough for AFL.

Also you do know that AFL player weights are not accurate right?

But the point is that within a squad it's likely the general footy fan won't 'see' the player. You'll have some young ruck listed at 200cm+ who is about 10kg off competing at AFL level, and yet absolutely nobody who isn't watching the VFL is going to know that.

As somebody who studies the draft profiles pretty intently, this throws a massive spanner in the works as well.

Nic Madden - 204cm and 112kg
Mac Andrew - 201cm and 74kg

How absolutely useless is any personal scouting going to become without access to that second number?

But the point is that within a squad it's likely the general footy fan won't 'see' the player. You'll have some young ruck listed at 200cm+ who is about 10kg off competing at AFL level, and yet absolutely nobody who isn't watching the VFL is going to know that.

As somebody who studies the draft profiles pretty intently, this throws a massive spanner in the works as well.

Nic Madden - 204cm and 112kg
Mac Andrew - 201cm and 74kg

How absolutely useless is any personal scouting going to become without access to that second number?

OK I'll bite since this is a serious post and not a sook about woke females taking PC too far.

I don't think you are talking about the general footy fan but a subset of the audience that like to get deep into analysing players. For those people yes they lose an important data point - noting that there are a lot of other important data points that you don't have access to.

For draft profiles, yeah it's not ideal because at a minimum draftee weights give you an indication of how physically developed a draftee is and therefore when you might expect to see them compete at AFL level.

On the second player listed in your example, he played AFL a lot earlier than his weight would suggest.

I always thought Matty Lappin was at least 95 kg
Careful mate. I wouldn't go putting a number to it. Theres exactly 2 posters on this thread that will be triggered by that. Everyone else is fine with it though.

OK I'll bite since this is a serious post and not a sook about woke females taking PC too far.

I don't think you are talking about the general footy fan but a subset of the audience that like to get deep into analysing players. For those people yes they lose an important data point - noting that there are a lot of other important data points that you don't have access to.

For draft profiles, yeah it's not ideal because at a minimum draftee weights give you an indication of how physically developed a draftee is and therefore when you might expect to see them compete at AFL level.

On the second player listed in your example, he played AFL a lot earlier than his weight would suggest.
There is no argument to taking the player weights away. It's not the most important piece of data but it's more data taken away from observers for what I can see it's no reason.

Taking away junior clubs, state they're from, exact birth date (only keep birth year) etc. makes more sense - that's just 'oh that's nice to know' info, nothing of any actual analytical worth.

On Pixel 6 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Players weights to no longer be disclosed