Expansion PNG Joins NRL .......... Options For AFL ??

Interesting claim from the ABC considering v'landy's himself indicated today there is no repercussions for png if they don't pull the political line of not dealing with China.
He isn't going to piss on the fire today of all day's
How niave are you to think this will make any difference at all to China throwing money at a corrupt png government. Also if this is a deal for politics, why didn't albo just fund the team and not the entire league of the NRL, it's clubs and expansion of the whole sport in the Pacific along with it?
You are naive if you think this is the only thing the Oz government will do around sport to try and stop the Chinese getting a bigger influence in Pacific. Watch how the Oz government uses the Brisbane Olympics and sweeteners around that with athletes from the Pacific to build further influence with pacific nations.

Any player of quality will leave for a region they don’t have to be I a walled facility. No matter background.
Will they? PNGers know what Port Morseby is like. They will take precautions, but its not like they wont be able to blend in. Plus they will be gods to many people. Pacific Islanders will blend in as well.

Its the white expats that lock themselves away.

This is comfortably the worst decision that's been made in RL since the Super League War. The only reason it's got over the line at all is because PVL gets universally positive press because of his protected species status at News and Nine. The idea would have been ripped to shreds had any other ARLC chairman or NRL CEO supported it.

The logistics and social issues in PNG will be a thorn in the NRL's side and it's only a matter of time before the whole thing blows up in the NRL's face. The side will be totally reliant on the government for it's existence, and it'll fold the moment that source of funding is cut off.

That's without mentioning the moral and ethical implications that having a Australian government funded professional sports team in PNG brings up, which are serious, various, and being conveniently ignored in the mainstream discussion about the team.

It's a terrible idea and the AFL would be mad to follow suit even if they had the means, which they likely don't.

I'll set the over / under on when they fold at 3.5 seasons.

He isn't going to piss on the fire today of all day's

You are naive if you think this is the only thing the Oz government will do around sport to try and stop the Chinese getting a bigger influence in Pacific. Watch how the Oz government uses the Brisbane Olympics and sweeteners around that with athletes from the Pacific to build further influence with pacific nations.

Why isn't albo paying for rugby union expansion and development in the Pacific then? You know, the sport 90 percent of the Pacific prefers. Oh that's right, coz he's a leaguie and that's their competitor. Just like when he made the afl chip in for the Tassie stadium to drain the coffers of the NRL's biggest competitor.

Will they? PNGers know what Port Morseby is like. They will take precautions, but its not like they wont be able to blend in. Plus they will be gods to many people. Pacific Islanders will blend in as well.
Of course they will leave, we all want better lives for our families, they have an opportunity to move to a safer region they will jump at it.
Its the white expats that lock themselves away.
If they are on Port Moresby I don’t blame them.

Why isn't albo paying for rugby union expansion and development in the Pacific then? You know, the sport 90 percent of the Pacific prefers. Oh that's right, coz he's a leaguie and that's their competitor. Just like when he made the afl chip in for the Tassie stadium to drain the coffers of the NRL's biggest competitor.
There is more bang for bucks in PNG. Plus its closer to Oz if you want to stop China having a military port in the region.

You are Rugby League obsessed.

There is more bang for bucks in PNG. Plus its closer to Oz if you want to stop China having a military port in the region.

You are Rugby League obsessed.

I'm referring to the 250 million odd on spreading rugby league in all the other Pacific countries too. How does that benefit Australia and how is it worthwhile for the Aussie tax payer to foot this bill, when rugby league isn't the popular sport in those countries anyway? Seems like something that only benefits the NRL to me, but clearly I'm obsessed with the dodginess of this deal.

Of course they will leave, we all want better lives for our families, they have an opportunity to move to a safer region they will jump at it.

That is your white western view of life.

Why would a PNGer want to leave his family and friends if he is getting an opportunity to do what he loves? They all wont be from Port Morseby. They will want to stay close to see their family if they come from small communities.

I have a mate who travels to PNG every 4 to 6 weeks with work, and stays there for the 5 days work week at a time. He's been doing it for over 2 years now. He stays locked up at night. I asked him what about the locals. He says they go about their business as if life is normal. I asked do they get worried and beaten up? He said they have to be cautious, but they go about things normally.

"Written and authorised by the Australian Labor Party, Canberra".

I don't have an issue with the premise of the deal, I do have an issue with the person that come up with it being an NRL super fan and funding the entire sports expansion in the Pacific and lining the pockets of every club in the entire NRL competition in the meantime though.

It's a facade to give the competition the leg up it needs to match the afl as Australia's biggest sport. No different to the streaming rights loophole albo just so happened to come up with, after his regular lunch catch up with PVL.
You're completely lost in the sauce if you truly believe this is Albo giving the NRL the leg up it "needs".

Firstly, the idea has been kicking around for a decade at this point and it wasn't Albo's idea in the first place. In fact there's been bipartisan support for the idea since it's inception. Secondly, the Fijian Drua are funded under a similar arrangement, and their existence does nothing to help the NRL or RL. Is there some government conspiracy to use RU to keep Aussie Rules down in Fiji as well?

It's also an unsustainable poisoned chalice that will inevitably either fold or cost the NRL a fortune to keep on life support. So if this is truly an attempt to give the NRL a leg up this is an incredibly strange way of going about it.

You're completely lost in the sauce if you truly believe this is Albo giving the NRL the leg up it "needs".

Firstly, the idea has been kicking around for a decade at this point and it wasn't Albo's idea in the first place. In fact there's been bipartisan support for the idea since it's inception. Secondly, the Fijian Drua are funded under a similar arrangement, and their existence does nothing to help the NRL or RL. Is there some government conspiracy to use RU to keep Aussie Rules down in Fiji as well?

It's also an unsustainable poisoned chalice that will inevitably either fold or cost the NRL a fortune to keep on life support. So if this is truly an attempt to give the NRL a leg up this is an incredibly strange way of going about it.

Just be happy albo is a massive r.l fan and that the federal government is therefore giving 600 million to your favourite sport mate. It won't fail for at least 10 years anyway, 60 mill per year is more than the revenue of most afl clubs annually and nrl clubs typically cost nearly half as much to run. Even if it folded in 15 years time, it still will have built the sport massively in png and the pacific and created a pipeline of extra fans and athletes to the competition.

Its impossible to fail off that amount of free money and the extra team also adds to their tv rights money. Why do you think they're doing it? No league could pass up 750 mill with no outlay, plus having their whole expansion and grassroots development paid for, it would be negligence.

That is your white western view of life.
That’s racist.
Why would a PNGer want to leave his family and friends if he is getting an opportunity to do what he loves?
Better life in a more productive country. Why else would people be trying to get here. From PNG included.
They all wont be from Port Morseby. They will want to stay close to see their family if they come from small communities.
Yeah nah.
I have a mate who travels to PNG every 4 to 6 weeks with work, and stays there for the 5 days work week at a time. He's been doing it for over 2 years now. He stays locked up at night. I asked him what about the locals. He says they go about their business as if life is normal. I asked do they get worried and beaten up? He said they have to be cautious, but they go about things normally.
Because they have zero choice.

There is literally travel warnings about Aussies going there.

That’s racist.
I'm white, so how is it racist if its the truth?
Better life in a more productive country. Why else would people be trying to get here. From PNG included.
Why do people want to go home after being compulsory draft away from family in the AFL?

You can only see things thru your own experience. Do an Atticus Finch for a few minutes.

Your naive if you think this isn't the reason we are doing it.

China will continue trying to influenence PNG.

If the Australian government does nothing then China succeed.

I think Albo needs to replicate this deal and allocate $600 million to underwriting a team in the NT.

The Chinese already own a port in Darwin so we need to act quick !!

To be fair the Australian Government does support rugby union in the Pacific, and provides funding to the Super Rugby team from Fiji - https://www.pacificaussports.gov.au/news/further-funding-fiji-and-fijiana-drua

What's interesting is that the Australian Government also provides funding to the AFL for pathsways in Fiji, Nauru and PNG: https://www.pacificaussports.gov.au/partners/our-partners/australian-football-league

I've just gone down the rabbit hole discovering this tbh, but interesting... here are some of the footy stories that I could see:
Don't expect to see these in the Daily Telegraph, though! :(

To be fair the Australian Government does support rugby union in the Pacific, and provides funding to the Super Rugby team from Fiji - https://www.pacificaussports.gov.au/news/further-funding-fiji-and-fijiana-drua

What's interesting is that the Australian Government also provides funding to the AFL for pathsways in Fiji, Nauru and PNG: https://www.pacificaussports.gov.au/partners/our-partners/australian-football-league

I've just gone down the rabbit hole discovering this tbh, but interesting... here are some of the footy stories that I could see:
Don't expect to see these in the Daily Telegraph, though! :(

You reckon we'll get $250 mill of government funding to capitalise on this small afl footprint in the Pacific too? No chance.

I guarantee that PNG will be most players last option even despite the tax free status.

There will regularly be players that choose to play in the ESL on half the money over moving to PNG, especially if they have families. I mean would you prefer make a very healthy wage whilst getting to experience life in e.g. Manchester or the South of France, or move to Port Moresby to live in a gold plated prison?

If it’s to set up my career?

I know what I’m choosing.

What people need to remember is that these guys have such a small shelf life and three years at any club is pretty normal now in rugby league terms.

I think that there will be plenty that will be reasonably willing to spend 8-9 months living a fairly secluded life on absolutely above average money for 3 years that can set them up, knowing that come 33-34 they will still get the chance to go to England anyway like they all do for two seasons.

I'm white, so how is it racist if its the truth?
Isn’t the truth. You are generalising using skin colour. Wether you are that colour or not
Why do people want to go home after being compulsory draft away from family in the AFL?
There is a difference between going home in Australia and then doing the same in Port Moresby.
You can only see things thru your own experience. Do an Atticus Finch for a few minutes.
Or alternatively I can read and investigate.
The government and NRL wouldn’t be building walled safe communities if they didn’t need to in that region.

Just like indigenous players in Australia?

Once they leave the communities and experience the big city life they all leave their homelands and never go back.

NOT.

You are basically saying PNG players will all bail out and leave their extended families and migrate.

Some might. But not all.

It will basically be a national team with other players from the surrounding region.
If they have any quality and skill that other clubs want they will leave.
Then they will pay top dollar for 5 or 6 key players in areas of need.
And they won’t get them unless the nrl tops them up massively over the cap because those players of need will get the same coin in Oz and NZ

Expansion PNG Joins NRL .......... Options For AFL ??