Expansion PNG Joins NRL .......... Options For AFL ??

Because of who he is and how he operates.
Look how quick Fat Andy left the AFL after the Essendon scandal surfaced, and before any blame could be put on him and how how's refused any worthwhile interviews since about the scandal. I digress, but you see where I'm coming from from.

Vlandy's gig is up in 2026 anyway i believe. Unlike the afl that stupidly let Goyder hang around forever doing nothing, it was V'landy's that made the rule that nrl commissioners are only allowed 6 years in the gig, starting from when the rule was made.

Now I don't doubt he might not be able to give up the status and the clubs will beg him to stay and he'll do the old 'ok, ok, for the people I'll stay a few more years', but I gather it's also behind him trying to do as much as possible in such a short amount of time, for his legacy/ego.

I'm sure his number one on his list though is beating the afl for tv rights money as that was the biggest hit to his ego ever, when Gill got the new deal. Lucky for him, his best mate Albo just so happened to randomly open up a streaming rights loophole for just those few years when only the NRL are renegotiating their new tv rights deal, so that will add a few hundred mill more per year than they should really be getting, if it were a fair contest. Albo is truly the gift that keeps on giving (for the NRL I mean, not Australia).

Because of who he is and how he operates.
Look how quick Fat Andy left the AFL after the Essendon scandal surfaced, and before any blame could be put on him and how how's refused any worthwhile interviews since about the scandal. I digress, but you see where I'm coming from from.

If you are saying that VLandys will slink off and avoid being tarred with his own failures, I would have to agree that is credible......particularly given how he has managed to buy off News limited with cheap NRL rights which removes what is generally a critical actor landing blame in this country

Look how quick you stopped with your ****ing boring, troll, broken record, taxpayer bullshit rhetoric.

The AFL doesn't need international options. They are doing their own things with the (very) small international component to the sport, but they really don't need to be adding any teams.

The AFL will focus on developing the domestic market, as there is still a lot of opportunity for growth. Tasmania, hopefully Canberra, and continued growth in NSW and QLD. The NRL can spread themselves thin on thier Vegas trips and PNG and a second NZ team, while trying to hold their fort through defensive expansion in Brisbane.

The AFL's focus is long term and clear.

The AFL doesn't need international options. They are doing their own things with the (very) small international component to the sport, but they really don't need to be adding any teams.

The AFL will focus on developing the domestic market, as there is still a lot of opportunity for growth. Tasmania, hopefully Canberra, and continued growth in NSW and QLD. The NRL can spread themselves thin on thier Vegas trips and PNG and a second NZ team, while trying to hold their fort through defensive expansion in Brisbane.

The huge advantage the NRL has atm is that PNG is being paid for by the government, NZ and Perth are in different time zones.
Those 3 new teams would bring 2 extra games per week while still being able to not overlap games.

The AFL is happy to be a domestic competition, and good luck to them for that.

You reckon we'll get $250 mill of government funding to capitalise on this small afl footprint in the Pacific too? No chance.
Yeah I don’t quite get the rationale behind the $250m investment in rugby league development in the region under the guise of ‘soft diplomacy.’

PNG is currently enjoying its most successful period in cricket, with their debut in the CWC in 2021 and a second go in 2024. Given this trajectory, wouldn’t an investment in cricket be warranted as a tool for soft diplomacy? It’d make sense to back PNG’s growing global presence in the sport and diversify Australia’s diplomatic strategy. Or is the focus on rugby league just because it happens to be Albanese’s favourite sport?

Yeah I don’t quite get the rationale behind the $250m investment in rugby league development in the region under the guise of ‘soft diplomacy.’

PNG is currently enjoying its most successful period in cricket, with their debut in the CWC in 2021 and a second go in 2024. Given this trajectory, wouldn’t an investment in cricket be warranted as a tool for soft diplomacy? It’d make sense to back PNG’s growing global presence in the sport and diversify Australia’s diplomatic strategy.
Well yeah you make a good point. 250 mill of the 600 mill is to develop rugby league in the 'Pacific'. I don't get the purpose of it, as rugby league isn't the number 1 sport in all those countries outside of png anyway, so it's simply expanding the code for zero 'soft diplomacy' benefits to Australia that bit. The other 60 million to all other NRL clubs based in Australia and n.z, I don't know how that helps Australian diplomacy either?

Or is the focus on rugby league just because it happens to be Albanese’s favourite sport?

That's 100 percent the case, it's a blatant conflict of interest, even the most rusted on Albanese fans in here should be able to admit that, but they don't.

In all your years of trolling on here have you ever said one positive thing about the afl? I can't believe someone that hates the game so much, spends so much time on here, it's truly sad.
I have said many, but they are ignored by insular posters
I have said positive about having teams in Canberra and Tassie and WA.3 which you choose to ignore
Have you always had a fear of other team sports?

PNG is currently enjoying its most successful period in cricket, with their debut in the CWC in 2021 and a second go in 2024. Given this trajectory, wouldn’t an investment in cricket be warranted as a tool for soft diplomacy? It’d make sense to back PNG’s growing global presence in the sport and diversify Australia’s diplomatic strategy. Or is the focus on rugby league just because it happens to be Albanese’s favourite sport?
Rugby League is the most popular sport in PNG. I'm surprised to didn't know that

If they do bring a Perth team in- what would the flight time be to PNG? 2 years?

Melbourne would have to be 7+ hours?

Good luck with that.

The AFL is happy to be a domestic competition, and good luck to them for that.
yep, they have been really successful expanding into new domestic markets in my lifetime. They will no doubt look to expand outwards once they have fully grown into the number 1 position everywhere, but for now they definitely do have their priorities aligned.

Lol.

Do you think the stadium in Tasmania will help keep China's influence out of PNG?

How will a PNG NRL team keep China out of PNG or anywhere in the Pacific ?
Now, $600 million aid on infrastructure might have some impact for a short while.
meanwhile, this smacks of the "yellow peril" and "domino theories" disasters.

.China will continue trying to influence PNG.

Let's assume for a moment that you are right.

If the Australian government does nothing then China will succeed.

So Australia attempting to influence the PNG is a good thing and China attempting to influence the PNG is a bad thing ?
You are naive to the extreme to think that Australia can influence the PNG.
You are naive to the extreme to think that China cannot influence the PNG.
You are ludicrous to the extreme to think that Australia can influence the PNG by using NRL

Australia is a minnow.
instead of Australia aligning itself with a Trump U.S.A. Australia might think of better long-term partnerships
especially since China is our major trading partner.

We know that. In saying that, the national cricket team would not make a Cricket World Cup by accident. There is clearly an interest in a range of sports and the Wikipedia page you linked does state this.
Because Australia is buying the love of the PNG populace who would then through a democracy/public support/desire want PNG to continue a security pact with Australia and not China.

The population loves Rugby League more than cricket. Fewer people attend national cricket game matches in PNG than Queensland cup games.

In any case, the cricket team is on the slide, and qualifying for that T20 WC was a bit of dumb luck and an aberration.

It qualified for the 2024 T20 WC by virtue of being the best EAP team - woop de do, they beat Japan and Samoa to get there.

In 50 over cricket they went 0-5 in the Qualifier playoff, including losing to Jersey, meaning that they're about the 30th best cricket team in the world right now

Because Australia is buying the love of the PNG populace who would then through a democracy/public support/desire want PNG to continue a security pact with Australia and not China.

The Albanese Australian government is attempting buying the love of some of the PNG populace who would then by some wishful thinking want PNG to continue a security pact with Australia and not China.
Thus Australian taxpayers are paying the PNG to allow Australian taxpayers to spend more money in support the PNG.

The population loves Rugby League more than cricket.

i love how people make these sweeping statements.
It is debatable how much of the public would be considered sporting fans, sporting fans fanatical enough
to allow sport to overshadow logical and economic thinking. How much of the population of PNG are concerned with simply existing, finding employment and health services and even know of Chinese connections ?

Would a more effective and long-term strategy be a loan with strings attached.
A loan that would allow crucial infrastructure to be built, used and appreciated in the long term.

This strategy by the Albanese ego-trippers ignores the fact that the PNG is constituted by by very diverse regional groups who are not under the umbrella of port Moresby.

The Albanese Australian government is attempting buying the love of some of the PNG populace who would then by some wishful thinking want PNG to continue a security pact with Australia and not China.
Thus Australian taxpayers are paying the PNG to allow Australian taxpayers to spend more money in support the PNG.

i love how people make these sweeping statements.
It is debatable how much of the public would be considered sporting fans, sporting fans fanatical enough
to allow sport to overshadow logical and economic thinking. How much of the population of PNG are concerned with simply existing, finding employment and health services and even know of Chinese connections ?

Would a more effective and long-term strategy be a loan with strings attached.
A loan that would allow crucial infrastructure to be built, used and appreciated in the long term.

This strategy by the Albanese ego-trippers ignores the fact that the PNG is constituted by by very diverse regional groups who are not under the umbrella of port Moresby.

Don't bother, threenewpadlocks is in campaign mode with an election coming up. He literally thinks Albanese has no nrl conflict of interest and all $650 million tax payer dollars (including the $300 mill for all the other nrl clubs and to spread the code internationally) is justified.

Expansion PNG Joins NRL .......... Options For AFL ??