AFLW Port Adelaide AFLW (Team to enter in 2022 season)

For the record, I fully support PAFC investing in the woman's team - and it has nothing to do with the fact that they may or may not be pretty or fugly, fat or skinny or whatever!!!

The reason that I want this to happen is because I see it as the first step in PAFC truly becoming a community club that includes everyone... I hope that eventually we incorporate Cricket, Netball, Basketball, Soccer, Baseball, Hockey - shit, I suggested to KT that the club hire out its pool for the members kids to do swimming lessons in!!!

I come from a small country town where the whole community revolved around its sporting teams, all the teams were red and white and when we competed it was for the pride of the town!!!

Sure, not everyone in the town watched every team - but when one team won the premiership... the entire town celebrated as if we played ourself!!!

The SANFL have done everything within their power to tear our club apart at the seams by removing the junior development teams and zones - we are working around these constraints by having academy and Aboriginal teams, eventually I think we will bring back the juniors as well once the dust settles a bit.

PAFC Community pride!!!

Thanks to The_Wookie who posted this on the Footy Industry board thread about a women's comp.

According to the 2014 AFL Annual Report

In 2014, 194,966 girls and women (15 per cent growth) participated in NAB AFL Auskick, AFL 9s, club and schools football programs.The segment breakdown of female participants shows females represent 19 per cent of the total number of footballers. The 2014 breakdown per program
type shows:
  • Clubs – 14,820.
  • Schools – 155,204.
  • AFL 9s – 14,654.
  • Auskick – 27,373.
The AFL, which says it is still on track to establish a national women's league by 2017, wants to have 500 female teams nationwide by 2019.

NSW
  • Dedicated female participation grew by over 46 per cent to a total of 3,559 and 41,241 girls played across mainstream NAB AFL Auskick and school programs.
WA
  • 2014 - Female participation increased from 18,000 to 28,000.
  • 80 Female Club Teams – 15 more teams than 2013 (38 Junior Teams, 24 Youth Teams & 18 Senior Teams)
  • 2,000 club players (2015)
Victoria
Queensland
South Australia

The Port Adelaide Women's Football Club has been around since the 2003 season. This is fron the 2012 President Report
http://www.foxsportspulse.com/club_...D=263653&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=21471687

Season 2012 has seen success in a number of areas with further development in others. We commenced the year at our new home ground located at Nazar Reserve Ethelton, seeing the beginning of our amalgamation with the PAFC. The year saw the playing ranks continue to improve with a healthy increase in players & playing personnel

I reckon I saw women play at Alberton Oval in 2012 the day the Club1870 members had an inner sanctum day at Alberton Oval in July.

No. 1 reason why the AFL want this, see my post on page 2 of this thread
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/port-adelaide-female-afl-team.1107881/page-2#post-40297948

And this is the no. 2 reason. As bombersfan400 post in the Auskick thread on the Footy Industry board. The Netball number has taken a big hit the last decade or so as girls start doing other sports at PE as per my linked post and more sports run junior programs for girls.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/auskick-numbers.1119092/#post-42243224
there is data from the ABS some where, it shows that soccer has large participation numbers for juniors across Australia but, it drops off dramatically when the kids reach 15 or 16 years of age

198203_096957b369592e5f0f1ffaa1ddaf6965.jpg

No. 1 reason why the AFL want this, see my post on page 2 of this thread
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/port-adelaide-female-afl-team.1107881/page-2#post-40297948

And this is the no. 2 reason. As bombersfan400 post in the Auskick thread on the Footy Industry board. The Netball number has taken a big hit the last decade or so as girls start doing other sports at PE as per my linked post and more sports run junior programs for girls.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/auskick-numbers.1119092/#post-42243224
there is data from the ABS some where, it shows that soccer has large participation numbers for juniors across Australia but, it drops off dramatically when the kids reach 15 or 16 years of age

198203_096957b369592e5f0f1ffaa1ddaf6965.jpg
I was reading that article in the by Caro where she suggests that WA will get a team before SA due to the lack of talent in SA. What's your opinion on that? Does WA have more female players or a bigger league?

Both. The WAFC set up programs over a decade ago. Go back and look at their old annual reports and compare them to the SANFL who had nothing about women's footy.

The results of the national championships I have seen over the years they are the only ones who push the Vics. SA is in Div 2 with NT, Tassie, and ACT

Both. The WAFC set up programs over a decade ago. Go back and look at their old annual reports and compare them to the SANFL who had nothing about women's footy.

The results of the national championships I have seen over the years they are the only ones who push the Vics. SA is in Div 2 with NT, Tassie, and ACT

Thanks. It looks like we have a lot of work to do before being considered for a spot in the national league then.

SANFL doesn't obviously see them as a future cash cow for their precious 'second best league in Australia'.

So anyway...reading around the traps it seems that on Melbourne radio they said SA won't be getting a team because we don't have enough female players across the state to warrant one, let alone two. The Crows wankfest 'advisory committee' was just like I thought it was - a blatant exploitation of a noble idea to shore up flagging support for their brand. With comments like '40 percent of our fan base is female so we know the support is there' from David Noble, as if it's a given that a woman will support women's footy simply because they are female.

Hopefully we set up a women's academy the same way we have done for our indigenous brothers so we can cultivate enough players through our elite sports programs to foster a team in the next intake.

Ok, this thread has been shortened by a number of pages - it's not at all difficult to post in a respectful manner. Please be mindful that this is a public forum and what you post is read by people from all walks of life. The forum is what you make it, so let's make it enjoyable for all.

Holy shit!

Its going to be hard for the AFL to exclude Port now, we have basically Israel Folaued it

Why can't the AFL just copy the model that Cricket did with establishing the Woman's Big Bash League and include all clubs.

Even if it drags down playing standards a bit until more talent comes through the ranks atleast everyone will be happy.

Erin was an absolute GUN junior footballer. Saw her dominate at U15's level for the Eagles against Norwood (I think - may have been 13's). She stood on my brother's head and took one of the best marks I've ever seen. Pretty sure she kicked 6 or 7 goals that night at Norwood Oval against about 3 different opponents.

Brilliant news, great way to outmanoeuvre those standing in our way on this.

Longer term, as a side effect, I hope Port's first "father-daughter" selection can influence her nephews in Melbourne a little more our way and away from the "Chickens".

You know what port should have done....
Enter the port Adelaide magpies as the women's team. Not sure if they are or your going with power. Either way should use the old magpies guernsey licence it for afl women's before Collingwood get in and do it. That way perhaps Collingwood couldn't tell port to GAGF regarding the whole magpie/power guernsey saga

You know what port should have done....
Enter the port Adelaide magpies as the women's team. Not sure if they are or your going with power. Either way should use the old magpies guernsey licence it for afl women's before Collingwood get in and do it. That way perhaps Collingwood couldn't tell port to GAGF regarding the whole magpie/power guernsey saga
THIS is a great idea!

AFLW Port Adelaide AFLW (Team to enter in 2022 season)