Port Adelaide - Can They Hack It In The Big Time League?

With the current Port situation, will the AFL let another mediocre suburban footy team like them, join the comp when Tassie get in?

Potentially should have gone with a stronger club from SA?

Agreed, AFL should have let the Woodville join the league instead. They made the finals over twice in their 52 years of SANFL competition.

Now thats an AFL guernsey!

images

History didn’t just begin in 2021.

Prior to that, your club was beyond an embarrassment for 50 years who voted to merge itself out of existence in 1996.
Melbourne would struggle to exist without the AFL's intervention. They were unspeakably bad 10 years ago. On and off the field. So bad that they AFL took over and gave them a coach and competent CEO. It's great to be the King, but Melbourne had a very good leg up. All clubs have their struggles.

Time for Port to fold. Go play in the SANFL bush league as port magpies and keep adding to your meaningless SANFL premierships. I don’t want to hear the Tear Us Apart song again or their whinging about Vic bias.

North Melbourne should really only exist as an AFLW Franchise.
Well port Adelaide belted Brisbane and North Melbourne beat west coast eagles.

I would assume both port and kangaroos would be happy with their wins.

But nope they are at war with each other in the Jason Horne Francis thread lol

Why are Port Adelaide struggling financially despite financial guru David Koch having been president since 2012? I don't get it.

Collingwood were in a horrible position financially when Eddie McGuire arrived, yet within a decade the club became a financial powerhouse.

We were told the reason Port Adelaide were poor is because the SANFL were bleeding them dry, yet despite the SANFL no longer being in control of Port's licence the club is still millions of dollars in debt.

It says a lot when North Melbourne and St Kilda could afford to sack their coaches for poor performance last year, while Port couldn't sack Hinkley last year because they couldn't financially afford to do so.

Why are Port Adelaide struggling financially despite financial guru David Koch having been president since 2012? I don't get it.

Collingwood were in a horrible position financially when Eddie McGuire arrived, yet within a decade the club became a financial powerhouse.

We were told the reason Port Adelaide were poor is because the SANFL were bleeding them dry, yet despite the SANFL no longer being in control of Port's licence the club is still millions of dollars in debt.

It says a lot when North Melbourne and St Kilda could afford to sack their coaches for poor performance last year, while Port couldn't sack Hinkley last year because they couldn't financially afford to do so.
Port where 12.2 million in debt 3 yrs ago, they are now 3million. So should be out of debt either this or next yr whilst still doing a 30million upgrade to our training ground.

It would be easy for us to cut all spending to cut the debt quickly, which is what north did. But that has ramifications of not being competitive on the park.

We have managed to do both pay back debt and be competitive. Last yr wasn't so good, but 4 out 5 yrs in the 8 is better than zero and a whole lot of wooden spoons.

You bring up Collingwood, which I believe is irrelevant. We are not a big 4 club that can sneeze and another sponsor jumps on board. It's not as easy as that for clubs outside the big 4 clubs.

Could you tally up how many standalone/prime time/Friday night/ Saturday night/marquee fixtures Collingwood have played over the last 20 years, compare that with Port Adelaides tally, and then with a straight face still ask yourself why one club would be financially better off than the other?

Collingwood can't seem to hack it in the Big League of Super Netball....

Could you tally up how many standalone/prime time/Friday night/ Saturday night/marquee fixtures Collingwood have played over the last 20 years, compare that with Port Adelaides tally, and then with a straight face still ask yourself why one club would be financially better off than the other?
West Coast play heaps of twilight fixtures and they're a financial powerhouse.

Port Adelaide - Can They Hack It In The Big Time League?