Port Adelaide's plan to use jumpers similar to Collingwood

And was murdered while our head coach. It was kind of a big deal.
Okay. Why does being murdered make him a club legend? Him being murdered is a really ****ing sad thing that happened. That's all it is.

You know what's a thousand times more disrespectful to Phil Walsh than not naming the Showdown medal the Phil Walsh medal? Using his death for cheap point scoring on the internet, like you've been doing all night. Jog on.

Okay. Why does being murdered make him a club legend? Him being murdered is a really ******* sad thing that happened. That's all it is.

You know what's a thousand times more disrespectful to Phil Walsh than not naming the Showdown medal the Phil Walsh medal? Using his death for cheap point scoring on the Internet, like you've been doing all night. Jog on.
That’s all. Ho hum. Jog on. #heritagematters

Yep.

And the 'Bars are part of the SANFL maggies, just like their song.

Didn't someone already post the maggies celebrating in the bars singing their actual song after an actual SANFL win today.

Will they start singing in the chevrons now?
Nah - The ‘bars’ (wharf pylons actually) are Port Adelaide.

magpies is a nickname it’s from the sanfl and that’s where it stays for us. A football club is bigger than a nickname or a mascot.

I’m not fussed about our song. I’d prefer our old song from the sanfl but whatevs

So Port’s best hope to avoid sanction here is that the AFL wasn’t professional enough to specify that their refusal to Port wearing the prison bars extended to any pre or post match activity which could be reasonably expected to be broadcast?

Unfortunately I actually do think that is a somewhat likely possibility here. I think that is more likely than Port clearing this stunt with the AFL prior to doing so, only because I think Port would be arrogant enough to let people know they had been approved a costume change for their song before even winning the game.

However the possibility does exist that the AFL were professional enough to explicitly prohibit something like this and that Port’s wearing of a prohibited jumper for the song would constitute inappropriate use of the AFL logo by one of their member clubs. If that is the case, I think the more likely penalty would be fine/loss of draft picks before forfeiting points. Plenty of players have been fined in the past for minor infraction of wearing inappropriate socks, so the idea the AFL wouldn’t take action if an entire team was wearing what it deems an inappropriate jumper seems highly unlikely.

Assuming Port wore it without the AFL approval (with the AFL assuming their refusal extended to covering pre/post match activities but not contractually ensuring that) but avoid sanction for it because the AFL didn’t outright prohibit it, there would seem to be very little chance they would ever receive approval to wear it in a game again (with the AFL explicitly outlawing it for ore/post match activities), nor should they expect any sort of favourable treatment from the AFL for a very long time. Port fans need to realise they aren’t self sufficient without the AFL (much like my club to a degree), and biting the hand that feeds them will do them no good.

I think non-Port fans don't really get it. The bars really mean a lot to us. That won't change. More resistance from the AFL will only supporters more resistive. It's our heritage and people are actively trying to deny our heritage. It's not a case of lying down and playing meek.

To be a truly national competition the AFL must recognise the heritage of all clubs. Otherwise it's just a bastardised VFL.

Nice idea we should mix it up.
Yep get the SANFL maggies to belt this ripper out....one club and all that.

We are the Power from Port
It's more than a sport
It's true Port Adelaide tradition
We'll never stop, stop, stop
Til we're top, top, top
There's history here in the making
Port Power to win
We'll never give in
Til the flag is ours for the taking
PORT POWER!!!

Well done Port , hope you burn in hell as a general rule but respect for flipping the VFL tossers the bird

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com
I love this response.

We have never been liked .but always respected.

It is good to be back.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

At the moment, I can point to several other examples of this working just fine elsewhere in major professional sports leagues, both bigger and smaller than the AFL. Bulls/Raptors. Maple Leafs/Lightning. Sydney FC/Melbourne City. the entire Premier League and every soccer league really. Patriots/Texans. Western Force/Otago Highlanders. Heaps of different baseball teams.

I've been asking you over about half this thread, as have others, to successfully refute this point if you're going to keep arguing that it would hurt Collingwood for Port to wear the bars twice a year. You haven't even attempted to do so and the post you're making now feels a lot like more deflection and stalling. If you finally construct and post an argument, i'll engage with it reasonably.

The Oakland Raiders sued the NFL & NFL Properties in 1996 after the introduction of the Carolina Panthers stating that their colour scheme significantly clashed with the Raiders exisiting colour scheme, so to suggest that this issue hasn’t come up in overseas competitions before is flat out wrong.

The Raiders ended up dropping their case in 2003, in part because their case was doomed to fail due to it being in a state court when the applicable venue for those types of matters would’ve been the federal system, with the substantive issue of the differences between the two jerseys never being resolved (altho reports from that time do seem to suggest the Raiders weren’t likely to win on that either). Coincidently enough that was right around the time that the Panthers introduced their primarily blue alternate jersey which was sufficiently different to the Raiders, and a year before the NFL Properties license was redone by all 32 teams.

One thing I find odd.... If Port is all about its heritage etc.. Why did it ditch the sanfl for the afl?

And why have they only made a fuss about it in last ten years.... They didn't make it an issue for a long time.
Ummm - first part of your question is easy- have you watched the sanfl? It is a dying competition, alway was. Currently about 800 people at each game, a few snags and and a kick and catch at half time. The AFL was and is the biggest competition in the land.

re our history and why it’s been big push the last 10 years - it’s a long and painful story. Not sure you’re probably really that interested. Actually, Dwayne Russell explained it pretty well at the start of tonight’s game - it’s the catalyst for NTUA.

Port Adelaide's plan to use jumpers similar to Collingwood