Port vs. Adelaide @ AAMI Game Thread

Garry and Matty would be closer than you think. And as for Matty establishing himslef as a player, cut him some slack he's had a torrid run with injuries, He's a Michael Wilson in the making wait and see.

And it would be fair to say that a great deal of adelaides current list top players are Port boys, McLeod, Thompson, Stiffy, Maric.

As for you not believing Cockshell/Thomson/Lower/Logan/Bentley/Rodan are hard footballers, you musnt watch many Port games, while on that topic if you doubt them blokes, show me who you rate as 'toughmen' from westlakes?

And if you think that Salopek isnt a hard player, explain why every second game he's wrapped like a mummy in bandage's.

Maric? Just because he plays for Port Magpies and used to go out with the daughter of one of your champions doesn't mean he's a "Port boy". If you go by that then a majority of the guys you listed as "toughmen" (some who are struggling to get a game or establish themselves) can't be counted as they play for SANFL clubs which aren't Port.

Garry and Matty would be closer than you think. And as for Matty establishing himslef as a player, cut him some slack he's had a torrid run with injuries, He's a Michael Wilson in the making wait and see.

And it would be fair to say that a great deal of adelaides current list top players are Port boys, McLeod, Thompson, Stiffy, Maric.

As for you not believing Cockshell/Thomson/Lower/Logan/Bentley/Rodan are hard footballers, you musnt watch many Port games, while on that topic if you doubt them blokes, show me who you rate as 'toughmen' from westlakes?

And if you think that Salopek isnt a hard player, explain why every second game he's wrapped like a mummy in bandage's.

1. I think Thomas will establish himself, just hasn't yet

2. Most AFL players are tough (Lonie? Jericho?) Many of the guys you mention are not exceptionally tough. Surely we are talking about physically intimidating players rather than brave. all those Port players aren't physically intimidating (Cockshell could be)

3. Crows toughmen currently, not many by my definition. Thompson, maybe Rutten. Probably not enough.

4. I've see Port play live this year vs Geelong, Brisbane, Adelaide, Carlton, Sydney, Richmond. Been quite a good year actually

Maric? Just because he plays for Port Magpies and used to go out with the daughter of one of your champions doesn't mean he's a "Port boy". If you go by that then a majority of the guys you listed as "toughmen" (some who are struggling to get a game or establish themselves) can't be counted as they play for SANFL clubs which aren't Port.

The only reason i made that point is because jarmanmagic said ''As for your list, fair mix there. Few Norwood boys.''

1. I think Thomas will establish himself, just hasn't yet

2. Most AFL players are tough (Lonie? Jericho?) Many of the guys you mention are not exceptionally tough. Surely we are talking about physically intimidating players rather than brave. all those Port players aren't physically intimidating (Cockshell could be)

3. Crows toughmen currently, not many by my definition. Thompson, maybe Rutten. Probably not enough.

4. I've see Port play live this year vs Geelong, Brisbane, Adelaide, Carlton, Sydney, Richmond. Been quite a good year actually

1. I agree, but he has had an impact in other aspects of the game:)

2. Anyone who steps on the ground would belt the shit out of most normal people so yes they are all tough. And by tough i didnt just mean intimidating.

3. Well at least you are realistic I was expecting a list of 50 odd names, from your mob I'd say the following in my opinion are hard/brave. Van Berlo, Douglas, Porplyzia, Bock, Rutten, Johncock, Thompson. And intimidating I can only say Thompson.

4. No comment:(

At the risk of taking this thread hopelessly OT, I'd have to say on Port81's list, if you're talking guys that you feared would split you up the middle, I'd take off Abba, and probably stop at Pickett - well, keep Thomas, he's hard as granite. Logan is hard at the body and Lower will snot someone, the others aren't bonecrushers. Mind you, you can add in Giles, Eckermann, Hofner, Kinnear (maybe more nuisance value like Lower), Clifford if you want to go back to the late 70s early 80s, and add Carter, and adopted son Brian Leys in the 90s. And don't worry about Scotty Hodges, jarmanagic, he could hit as hard as anyone. Ask Anthony Harvey.

Granger stood alone for his ferocity, but seriously who wrote that Wiki article, John Halbert? An era of unprecedented violence? Listen to some of the stories Neil Kerley, Jack Dyer and Teddy Whitten told of footy in their eras. Premeditated king-hit on Caldwell? Was a fair old uppercut but in the run of play. Maybe opportunistic. Cornes knocked unconscious? Not likely. Mind you, Dave did a fair bit of damage over the years. As for Bays not willing to stand up to him in that PF for fear of missing the GF ... there's a simpler explanation. They didn't dare.

At the risk of taking this thread hopelessly OT, I'd have to say on Port81's list, if you're talking guys that you feared would split you up the middle, I'd take off Abba, and probably stop at Pickett - well, keep Thomas, he's hard as granite. Logan is hard at the body and Lower will snot someone, the others aren't bonecrushers. Mind you, you can add in Giles, Eckermann, Hofner, Kinnear (maybe more nuisance value like Lower), Clifford if you want to go back to the late 70s early 80s, and add Carter, and adopted son Brian Leys in the 90s. And don't worry about Scotty Hodges, jarmanagic, he could hit as hard as anyone. Ask Anthony Harvey.

Granger stood alone for his ferocity, but seriously who wrote that Wiki article, John Halbert? An era of unprecedented violence? Listen to some of the stories Neil Kerley, Jack Dyer and Teddy Whitten told of footy in their eras. Premeditated king-hit on Caldwell? Was a fair old uppercut but in the run of play. Maybe opportunistic. Cornes knocked unconscious? Not likely. Mind you, Dave did a fair bit of damage over the years. As for Bays not willing to stand up to him in that PF for fear of missing the GF ... there's a simpler explanation. They didn't dare.

Not many players would trade knuckles on field in this day and age unfortuantly due to very harsh penalties, I think most on my list would 20 years ago.
Grave danger takes the cake as the most intimidating in my opinion but jarmanmagic said born in the last 50 years so I didnt include Dave.

Out of the current players on my list, Thomas would be the most intimidating, as for Abba, Wilson, Logan, Salopek, Kornes, Rodan, Tredrea, Bentley & Thomson they made the list as Hard at the ball type players.

And we both know what players such as Hynes, Hodges, Northeast, Leslie, Poole and Pickett were capable of doing;)

I reckon Greg Phillips would have been right up there as one of the most intimidating players of the last 30 or so years. He would be awesome in our side now.

If the cow supporters think Matty Thomas is tough, thank heavens they didn't see the likes of Marx Kretschmer, Bob Clayton, Kevin Salmon, Neville Thiele, Bruce Light or especially Ray Hayes play.

As a matter of fact, I'd love to see these guys out there against the cows, there'd hardly be a fruit tingle left alive, let alone standing.

Footy is a different game now, guys like Balme, Muir, Crackers wouldnt even last a game with the tribunal and with how football is now, if it was still those old days I am sure that the crows side would have had a few enforcers in it as well.

The old days of the cheap shots behind the play and king hits have been taken out of the game which some people do miss, but most understand that with the advent of football becoming 100 percent professional now it has evolved more over the last 15 years than ever before. Now footy is a career to these players and they play for money and no longer pride in the jumper which is what the AFL loves because they are trying to promote family friendly football to help grow the product.

I do actually miss those rougher days of football, but on the other hand I understand what the AFL are trying to do as well and now when you see guys like Ablett and Judd cutting sides apart you can appreciate it because 30 years ago those players would be constant targets for king hits.

Further to your post there relapse, the AFL are killing the game. I read an article yesterday with Leigh Matthews saying that his players (and I'm sure his players aren't the only ones) don't like footy.

He basically has to force them to watch the opposition game in the lead up to the weeks game.

Sure the players are professional and they like to get away from it all when they can but footy is in a sorry state when its not enjoyed by those so close to it, little wonder players like Dew leave the game, thankfully he got his taste back for the game.

As for the Greg Phillips comment, he's a bit old now surely? ;)

blackdiamond... Matthews makes a good point, I am getting more and more turned off AFL footy, the AFL have completely ruined the sport and it's something that gets brought up often while having a beer at North games with guys who remember the good old days. I honestly can't see it every recovering, infact it will only get worse.

I used to watch as much AFL footy as I could but now I watch Crow matches and that is about all, now if someone asks me "did you watch the footy last night?" I say no as I would rather be doing other things. I've gone from watching at least half a dozen games, sometimes more, to watch North and the Crows. At least the SANFL is still enjoyable even though North are rubbish right now.

Any danger of Asgardian coming up with a tough Port player born in the last 50 years?

Danny Hughes. Dwayne Russell, Martin Leslie, David Hynes, Paul Northeast, Mark Tylor, Wayne Mahney, Darren Mead, Tim Ginever, Stephen Carter, Tom Carr, plus heaps more, all Port Adelaide boys.

Any chance of jarmanagic ever breaking even in an argument, let alone winning one?

The old days of the cheap shots behind the play and king hits have been taken out of the game which some people do miss

If you had actually seen the guys I listed play, you'd know that there were no cheap shots in them, all front up ready to wreck havoc.

Forget about hack reporting from Lawrie Jarvis, he had it in for Port and our flag winning ways.

Port will just get over the line imo.

Close game.

What do you mean by BWAHAHAHAH I'm sure Matt Thomas and Adelaide have been looking forward to this??

Matt thomas has managed to lay some crunching tackles (within the rules of course) to crows players in the last couple of years.

He's the one that put hentschel (sp?) out for 2 years with the knee, and gave bassett a very sore neck earlier this year.

Matt thomas has managed to lay some crunching tackles (within the rules of course) to crows players in the last couple of years.

He's the one that put hentschel (sp?) out for 2 years with the knee, and gave bassett a very sore neck earlier this year.
Oh I saw that.

The Crows supporters cried over the hit on Bassett didn't they.

Danny Hughes. Dwayne Russell, Martin Leslie, David Hynes, Paul Northeast, Mark Tylor, Wayne Mahney, Darren Mead, Tim Ginever, Stephen Carter, Tom Carr, plus heaps more, all Port Adelaide boys.

Any chance of jarmanagic ever breaking even in an argument, let alone winning one?

wasn't an argument as such, just a question. I'm amazed how often Wayne Mahney is mentioned by you. I fear you dream about him at night

Danny Hughes of course a Crows "great" as well

As for Ford Fairlane Hodges v Anthony Harvey I'll do you a deal. If you never mention the 96 Prelim Final again, I'll never bag Port again. That game is just one of the reasons Paul Northeast sleeps with 9 Grand Final medals each night

blackdiamond... Matthews makes a good point, I am getting more and more turned off AFL footy, ...

ditto RL

Oh I saw that.

The Crows supporters cried over the hit on Bassett didn't they.

Yes. Yes they did.

wasn't an argument as such, just a question. I'm amazed how often Wayne Mahney is mentioned by you. I fear you dream about him at night

Danny Hughes of course a Crows "great" as well

As for Ford Fairlane Hodges v Anthony Harvey I'll do you a deal. If you never mention the 96 Prelim Final again, I'll never bag Port again. That game is just one of the reasons Paul Northeast sleeps with 9 Grand Final medals each night

Quoted so there's no backing out ;)

Wayne Mahney..... There was a very very average footballer.

I reckon Mahns was a very good footballer with very bad knees. And maybe a less than dedicated approach to rehab. But I remember him as a 17yo starting out in league footy and he was electric.

He had great hands and a real footy brain to match - amongst the best in the business at the time - but physically and mentally in a lack of discipline sort of way, were his downfalls.

[YOUTUBE]YM2Sur24ceQ[/YOUTUBE]

sorry jars...had to :eek:

As for Spike Mahney...Ive got the Port 84 video at home and in his first season he was a real livewire. Kicked 30 goals or so for the year, looked similar to Robbie Gray. Was pretty quick, massive leap, great goalsense.

Then he put on about 25 kilos and became an enforcer type in the forward line. Still played in a couple of flags. Was one of my favourites growing up.

Heres a few.

Hynes, Hodges, Northeast, Leslie, Abernathy, Phillips, Poole, Wilson, Carr, James, Pickett, Logan, Lower, Thomas, Cockshell, Salopek, Kornes, Rodan, Tredrea, Bentley, Brogan, Thomson. Could be here all night, I think you get the picture.

As for Garry I'm sure Thomas would love to go Toe 2 Toe, Was a good tough player tho.

You could add Bomber Clifford to that list imo. He scared the crap out of my Uncle once (Norf supporter) at a magpie function quite a few years ago. Apparently he said something about Clifford (can't recall what it was as i would have to ask my dad) as Norf had got beaten by Port earlier that year & Clifford might have been involved in an off the ball incident. So my dad walks up to Clifford & whispers something in his ear. A few minutes later Clifford (he had a few that night) walks on over & then stood on the table & had choice words with my uncle... (he literally shit himself)... bomber walks past my dad & gives him a wink & is trying hard not to laugh. I don't know what was said or anything ... but apparently it was quite funny as my uncle thought that Clifford was dead serious about wanting to go toe to toe with him... he shut my uncle up quick smart anyway & to this day he has never lived that incident down. :eek: :D

Port vs. Adelaide @ AAMI Game Thread