Possible betting scandal

Well done Hunter. Lesson for me :( I've painted him with the old mans brush twice now.

Three Things I've Learned:

- Get the facts
- Follow them to the truth
- Never trust the desperados in the footy media all flogging themselves over breaking rumour to the unsuspecting public.....

In before the flogs come here saying we all threw him under a bus based on the sniff of a media story...

A good number of us (maybe not all, but still a good number) called for the details to emerge from this case before any individual was condemned. The details have now emerged and he's been cleared. Good result. I haven't yet read the full story but I'll assume for the moment that it was investigated properly.

This in no way limits the validity of us saying what we think if any player (hypothetically) bets on his club to lose. In fact it's a damned good time to discuss exactly that because it's so topical. Mainly if he's a participant in the match, but even if he is sitting it out. I know it didn't happen in this case - and I hope it never does - but I stand by the position that I don't want such a player at the club, whoever it may be. I know some of you feel differently, but that's my view.

It also doesn't stop us commenting on the AFL's stupidity and avarice in allowing gambling on footy matches generally, and in particular on practice matches (FFS!) It's a moral and PR disaster just waiting to happen.

In before the flogs come here saying we all threw him under a bus based on the sniff of a media story...

A good number of us (maybe not all, but still a good number) called for the details to emerge from this case before any individual was condemned. The details have now emerged and he's been cleared. Good result. I haven't yet read the full story but I'll assume for the moment that it was investigated properly.

This in no way limits the validity of us saying what we think if any player (hypothetically) bets on his club to lose. In fact it's a damned good time to discuss exactly that because it's so topical. Mainly if he's a participant in the match, but even if he is sitting it out. I know it didn't happen in this case - and I hope it never does - but I stand by the position that I don't want such a player at the club, whoever it may be. I know some of you feel differently, but that's my view.

It also doesn't stop us commenting on the AFL's stupidity and avarice in allowing gambling on footy matches generally, and in particular on practice matches (FFS!) It's a moral and PR disaster just waiting to happen.

not sure what there is to discuss - AFL players are banned from betting on AFL matches full stop.

Hunter did exactly the right thing and notified authorities as soon as he was aware - We should be proud that he did this and didn't try and hide it.

I also take it you are not a punter DW; Because as a punter I make sure my head rules my heart and not the other way round.

I do agree that the AFL should not allow betting on NAB pre season games; although the AFL call it a competition, we all know they are simply practice matches. Another poster mentioned it is like betting on horseracing Trials. The jockey/trainer don't have to try and win like they do in a proper race.

not sure what there is to discuss - AFL players are banned from betting on AFL matches full stop.
What's to discuss is the penalty. I would get rid of them. Some others would slap them over the wrist because they are otherwise good footy players.
Again I'm talking hypotheticals here, not Hunter who has been found innocent.
I also take it you are not a punter DW; Because as a punter I make sure my head rules my heart and not the other way round.
Haha. I used to be an avid punter with modest success. In fact I've even been known to run a book among friends!
Your point about choosing between your heart and your head (or hip pocket) is exactly why it should be strictly off limits to players. We want them to be 100% behind the club, their teammates and our onfield success.

"Hunter did not breach AFL rules & when aware his account had been used by another person, alerted club immediately, and cooperated fully."

Is Hunters' defence unauthorised usage of his betting account or an erroneous bet by an approved person or two separate errors by two independent people of which he was one?
If erroneous and if there has been no breach of AFL rules then (player approved) shared access to a betting account in a players name is not (specifically) or has not been against AFL rules (specifically) to this point.
Or was the argument that the bet was placed on a shared device (laptop etc) which Hunter had recently used to log into his account but erroneously had not logged out? And that the person who placed the bet had not checked that the account that they were then betting on was not their own (therefore also being in error making it a comedy of errors)?
If the bet was placed by an unauthorised person (there would be no precedent of this person having access to or use of the account previously), is the person who placed the bet liable to charges (not necessarily from the AFL)?
Will the AFL release the details of its investigation?
Should (current) AFL players be strictly prohibited from betting through any agency other than their own online betting accounts to best ensure transparency and the ability to audit.

Betting speed bump has passed which is good. But Lachie is a recidivist when it comes his training late starts, the last one (15 mins) was the last straw. Its not like he lives in Seaford either…

He is absolutely humiliated and I reckon he will turn it all around (a la Libba) this year.

Thanks mate, but a little clarification here would be appreciated as most of us are unaware of Hunters previous transgressions. some have speculated that this wasn't his first offense (re training) but have no other evidence.
If you could shed some light it would be appreciated, as most of us are in the dark regarding club matters and your sources are usually top notch.

I noticed talk back etc didn't give the real news regarding his much of a run. Nor did many of those EFC & Norf battlers licking their lips. I bet they were too busy eating a big bag of dicks.

However a lot of "supporters" on this very board were digging their boots right into him. Funny that.

Fairly smug post IYFD.. I have been a member for over 30 years. I'm not a "supporter"; I purchase 4 silver reserve memberships each and every year. Digging boots in was a early reaction and I have personally retracted my statements however I think the Hunter history of gambling linked to the actual facts as they came out remains a concern. Hunter Jnr can't control or be responsible for his old mans actions but this player, ending up in this situation, remains a concern for me. If nothing else in his life this is an area you would think Jnr would want to be focussed on keeping absolutely squeaky clean. I am an occasional online gambler and my mates borrow my phone occasionally but I've never had a mate use my account to bet on a game. The whole thing still smells slightly of the sea breezes off Port Lincoln. The integrity unit of the AFL is a very good one but I still think the situation was absolute stupidity at its best. Just hope Hunter Jnr has had enough of a slap in the face from this publicity and the training ban from the playing group for turning up late to get his arse into gear. Kid can play, but he seems to have the mental acuity of a slightly ******ed sheep.

I noticed talk back etc didn't give the real news regarding his much of a run. Nor did many of those EFC & Norf battlers licking their lips. I bet they were too busy eating a big bag of dicks.

I presume you meant to write "a big bag of hot chips" unless food at the footy has changed since I last went four years ago? :p

Maybe this is how they managed to reduce the food prices at the footy.:eek:

Possible betting scandal