Training Pre-Season 2015-16

Sounds from reports on this site and others that Short is flying. He has plenty of admirers, just hope Dimma continues developing him as a small forward

If that's his spot, though, really can't assess until he starts slotting a few. Can burn up the track & have little feel or success in that tricky position

Still, good not to hear any injury news for a while

If that's his spot, though, really can't assess until he starts slotting a few. Can burn up the track & have little feel or success in that tricky position

Still, good not to hear any injury news for a while
Just needs to play lots of footy, he was out of action from mid season with ankle or foot inj last year . He ll need to play well to jump the queue

414938.jpg
414939.jpg
414941.jpg
414940.jpg
Basketball? Didn't realise we let Terry Wallace back.

Lennon trained with the main group pretty much the whole session and also did the running. Rioli is seriously quick but his ball control and his kicking to leading targeted was exquisite. Very long and tough session. Townsend will be a very good player, skills were terrific, kicks the ball well and is strong. Andrew moore also has good endurance and foot skills. Rance ran well and his skills were great also,. All round a very good session. Dimma very vocal and choco pushed the players hard. Corey ellis is a jet and nathan broard also went well. They players rotated doing half ground and full ground match play also. Any questions let me know.
south_park_i_just_came.jpg

Hey all, I went down to training today but wasn't able to make it til close to 11 by which point they had almost finished up all the ball work/skills drill so I don't have too much to report but I will pass on what I noticed.
They were doing some handball/kicking drills when I arrived, non contact stuff just hitting leading targets etc.
They then started doing what I estimate to be 1km time trials (about 2 and a bit laps of the oval would be about 1km yes?) so they split into 3 groups and staggered them about 10 seconds apart. Jayden Short was in the second wave to start yet still managed to finish in front of everyone in the first wave. Cotch, Short, Broad, Macintosh and Lambert were consistently at the front. They did this 3 times with about 2-3 mins rest between. Lambert won the next 2 rounds. Also, apparently he and Marcon are best mates!
McBean has definitely bulked up a bit- still looks skinny compared to, say, Riewoldt, but I saw him and Vickery together a bit and when you compare them there isn't a huge difference. Especially in the legs. He did however look a bit slow in the time trials, don't think cardio is his forté.
Soldo was definitely the slowest out there.

Don't know why, but when the main group split to do the 1kms, the following players didn't participate:
Astbury- Did some 1-1 kicking with a coach I didn't recognise
Lloyd- Just jogged laps on his own (looks VERY fit and solid though)
Hampson- Sat on the grass near the sidelines with the coaches (???)
Chaplin- Same as Hampson
Castagna (I think) same
Elton- taking photos with spectators... :-/

When they were doing the time trials, Dustin and Morris were in the second wave, and I don't want to cause panic but Dustin was SSSOOOO slow and looked almost injured... Really labouring with his run, and he finished every lap in last place. Morris was with him too and I thought this was quite strange til I noticed when they ran past that Morris seemed to be running with him intentionally, encouraging him... Weird. He definitely looked injured and not just tired, but I don't suppose the coaches would make him do the 1kms if he was hurt... Maybe he picked up a corky before I arrived.
I noticed a few people asking about Rioli, rest assured he was definitely there but I didn't notice him much. Markov, on the other hand looks like a seasoned player body wise and not a rookie.

The following players were not there at all in the hour or so I was watching:
Deledio
Griffiths
Conca
Yarran...
Anyone know why? Particularly Yarran as I know he wasn't at one of the other recent training sessions...

That's about all I have to share, I'll post some photos I took.
Cheers leemo.:thumbsu:

I
View attachment 207192

Vlossy looks completely different.... He looks like a midfielder.
t must be the angle as he looks materially trimmer than previous years, including in the legs where he was always quite big from memory.

Also looks like he is wearing golf shoes. Must have been a multi sport session!

Yarran missed with illness which was confirmed by the club. The really good runners i noticed were lambert, riewoldt mcintosh, corey elis etc and even ben lennon did the runs also. Was a 21/2 hour solid session with some match play both half and full ground. The skills looked sharp. Noticed Townsend has very good endurance also. I can confirm the dusty did struggle but dominated the actual football drills and scrimmage.
Its the 1 thing that will hurt his ability to be a great player imo.

It's weird, hearing those comments in relation to Dusty would stress me out if it were about any other player. Dusty is a bit like his good mate Swanny, they just seem to get it done when the real stuff is on.
Imo Swanny is the opposite to dusty. He best skill is his running ability with just above average everything else. Dusty is above ave with footy skills but below running ability.

Swans running ability is shite. He has said himself that he is always near the back of the pack for runs.

What Swan is great at is recovery between bursts. The high rotations Collingwood introduced to the comp were a lot due to Swan and his ability to rest and then work hard for 3-4 min before resting again.

Dusty is similar and from memory he and Cotchin were 2 of the top 5 rotated players in 2012 & 2013. One of the reasons I believe we were slow to start in 2014 was because we failed to adjust to the cap well and Cotchin and Dusty were not fit enough to run long periods. As the season progressed their fitness levels increased.

It's been a big area the club has addressed since 2014, with Burges putting more emphasis on endurance in preseason.

Hi guys , first time poster long time viewer from the outer .
My observation' s from training this morning
Griff looks to have been working on his goal kicking routine -10 step run up looked a lot more fluent .
I saw Astbury turn his left ankle and he was of the track for an hour .
Impressed with Chol smooth mover
Markov has a real spring in his step and is very athletic
Depth of talent is the best I can remember the VFL side will be well worth watching this year .

God i hope so, and he better pull the trigger further out from the man on the mark.

415003.jpg
415008.jpg
415004.jpg
415005.jpg
415006.jpg
415007.jpg
I you guy's and girls like the photos of the boy's working hard and I don't mind posting them up for you as I find you more greatful than my board. Have a happy new year with care. Remember if any of you are struggling with life don't be afraid to reach out to a friend or call the beyond blue help line. Cheers.

Right back at you mate.

Swans running ability is shite. He has said himself that he is always near the back of the pack for runs.

What Swan is great at is recovery between bursts. The high rotations Collingwood introduced to the comp were a lot due to Swan and his ability to rest and then work hard for 3-4 min before resting again.

Dusty is similar and from memory he and Cotchin were 2 of the top 5 rotated players in 2012 & 2013. One of the reasons I believe we were slow to start in 2014 was because we failed to adjust to the cap well and Cotchin and Dusty were not fit enough to run long periods. As the season progressed their fitness levels increased.

It's been a big area the club has addressed since 2014, with Burges putting more emphasis on endurance in preseason.
Swanny has got an incredible amount of 30+ possession games in his career. You don't get that if you cant run, whether is sprint running or endurance. Dusty cant do that right now, and until he does he wont get better. We need him to get 30+ p's per game a lot more often. He would win a brownlow if he could.

Swan never chases an opponent. He is always gets the cheap ball. His running ability is completely over rated.

Swanny has got an incredible amount of 30+ possession games in his career. You don't get that if you cant run, whether is sprint running or endurance. Dusty cant do that right now, and until he does he wont get better. We need him to get 30+ p's per game a lot more often. He would win a brownlow if he could.

Swan by the same age as Dusty had 8 30+ games compared to Dusty who has 20. Swan took 3 years longer to reach 130 odd games and by that stage of his career he had 28 30+ games most of them coming in year 8 when he had 16 30+ game.

Like I said Swans elite ability is recovery not endurance. He can sprint hard for 3-4 minutes and rack up possies before having a spell on the bench and then doing it all again. He has said this himself and so have a few other pies players have said the same thing.

Swan by the same age as Dusty had 8 30+ games compared to Dusty who has 20. Swan took 3 years longer to reach 130 odd games and by that stage of his career he had 28 30+ games most of them coming in year 8 when he had 16 30+ game.

Like I said Swans elite ability is recovery not endurance. He can sprint hard for 3-4 minutes and rack up possies before having a spell on the bench and then doing it all again. He has said this himself and so have a few other pies players have said the same thing.
Upto this age ok, but i want dusty to do swannies record later in life. I hope he can.

Bobby Sands, post: 42654544, member: 147127"]He can't be a powerhouse and an endurance beast. Genetics just don't work that way. Cake & eat it etc.[/QUOTE]
That's true Bobby it's a very rare trait to have both, Chris Judd in his early years was explosive and had above average endurance.
Dusty is definitely a powerhouse, don't reckon his endurance will improve much, maybe a little if he works his are off. His explosiveness is very handy when he pushes forward.

An american study found Rugby was one of the most demanding fitness sports due to the constant wrestling on the ground and then sprinting to the next contest; openside which George, played is the hardest spot on the ground and he was the dominant forward in the game during his prime.

It's why Pocock is a beast. And he does train the house down.

Training Pre-Season 2015-16