Training Pre-Season 2015-16

Anyone got a report on how Hampson is going? He needs a big year this year...
Richmond needs Hampson to have a huge year. Maric is not competitive against top Ruckman and has been a major reason why we have failed in our finals. Opposition rucks have destroyed us. Feeding the opposition midfield at will. I have loved Ivan's endeavour but he is just not a good enough tap ruck. The time to replace him is NOW!

agree hamptin number 1 dis year

I would not say that Ivan was a major factor, our mids let us down badly as well but you are right in the sense come finals he is a liabilty. Ivan is a warhorse but his body is not young anymore. Due to us always playing him, he cant rest up so come finals he loses his main strength which is to bash into the athletic tall jumpers all game. So once he loses that ability he does become a liability.

We need hampson to at minimum allow us to give Ivans body a good rest during the long season. At best it would be great if Hamspon knee holds up and he actually gets to play a good solid 12 games. He showed enough for me last year in the games he played that he can add value IF he can stay on the park.

Our program is heavily endurance/running focus. More then it has ever been.
Just thought i would point out this.

This would be because of the reduced interchange which will require players to spend more time on the ground, good endurance based teams will reap the rewards in the second half of the season i reckon, teams that base their gameplan on fast break footy will hit the wall sooner than normal IMO ( port, bullies, norf )
Really hope we have got the jump on the opposition here in regards to endurance based pre season.

Just thought i would point out this.

This would be because of the reduced interchange which will require players to spend more time on the ground, good endurance based teams will reap the rewards in the second half of the season i reckon, teams that base their gameplan on fast break footy will hit the wall sooner than normal IMO ( port, bullies, norf )
Really hope we have got the jump on the opposition here in regards to endurance based pre season.

I'd say most clubs would realise this.

Yarren has an illness and is taking an exdeded break from footy for 3to 6 months what ever time he needs

Don't like getting sucked in to the game of responding to this sort of stuff, but this post is drawing a very long bow from a singular day of missed training, unfounded, and irresponsible at best. I know few get the privilege of knowledge from being around the club, but he was back training on Monday and out there right now doing his program. I think that covers that.

Thanks Stig

Of course he is it was always a joke now to get ready to train this arvo

Yarran can take his time.

He was pinging hammies, pulling up lame and not finishing games in recent times - I am no expert (far from it), but I imagine they are working to a program that will prepare him not just for a solid 2016, but a resurgent career. We don't want the 2014-15 Yarran.

He'll be of great value to us, but most of it will be in the back half of seasons and I'd be entirely unconcerned if he's not approaching his best until after the bye. Sure, it'd be great if he was dazzling every session etc etc, but our record with injuries in the last 2-3 years is outstanding (whack on wood) so if that means he's managed in January to fly in September, so be it.

Rapt he's a Tiger. XXX factor

Training Pre-Season 2015-16