Training Pre-Season 2023 (First game 18/3 v North)

And is the old game plan not working because your current players strengths aren't suited to the old gameplay or is it a case of the old game plan has been worked out and needs to change with the times.
Old gameplan got worked out.

2 issues with the new one I see after the pre-season:

1. With the lack of player availability last season + the turnover we had, there was no realistic chance to practice said gameplan for the majority of the season. That being said, there were glimpses of attempts to move the ball faster and more directly towards the end of last season and our tackle count lifted in a lot of games.

2. The old gameplan was definitely geared towards the players' strengths and I struggle to see how certain players (Gaff) will adapt to much faster & direct ball movement, as their strengths were to run and create space to pick apart zones with patient ball movement. That appears to be no longer working, so I imagine we'll be in for growing pains whilst the younger players develop and the more senior heads adapt to playing a new style after 7 years of the old one.

Can I just put it out there, yes we beat port but a bit like our two wins last year, we were the worse team for most of the match and if port had of kicked straight, particularly early there is every likelihood that we would have had a similar scoreline to what happened against Adelaide.

As a club I hope we win one of the first two matches because I really don't like our chances in the next 4. As far as the North game goes if Cunnington and Simpkin are both at peak condition I think we'll get flogged through the middle again and actually think it's harder than the match up against GWS.

Can I just put it out there, yes we beat port but a bit like our two wins last year, we were the worse team for most of the match and if port had of kicked straight, particularly early there is every likelihood that we would have had a similar scoreline to what happened against Adelaide.

As a club I hope we win one of the first two matches because I really don't like our chances in the next 4. As far as the North game goes if Cunnington and Simpkin are both at peak condition I think we'll get flogged through the middle again and actually think it's harder than the match up against GWS.
Cunnington is super slow - park Culley on him and that should blunt him enough for us to break even.

Our KPP are streets ahead of North and that's where I think we'll win it. Their KPD suck - so Darling and Allen should be able to score well. Larkey is their only notable KPF and he's inconsistent at best.

Cunnington is super slow - park Culley on him and that should blunt him enough for us to break even.

Our KPP are streets ahead of North and that's where I think we'll win it. Their KPD suck - so Darling and Allen should be able to score well. Larkey is their only notable KPF and he's inconsistent at best.
Prepare for this to be bumped by Norf fans post-match

We lost to them last time because Larkey kicked 6 and we had Jamo defending on him.

Are we even certain that Culley is a lock to be playing round 1?
Could be way wrong, but I suspect he was omitted from Crows #1 game to allow room for returning senior mids to get minutes up, along with 'most likely' newbies to get minutes against a proper team. They would've needed a solid player in the Crows #2 game, while working on his endurance. Also he got some solid AFL time last season as back up and had a strong preseason. Yet Clarke got to play in the #1's, but arguably he wouldn't have had the same impact in the#2's?
So I reckon there's every chance Culley is playing round one...

Are we even certain that Culley is a lock to be playing round 1?

There has to be some reason he’s been backed off slightly in the last couple of weeks but still kept ticking over (played the additional bit against the Crows on Fri) etc.

He was all the talk up until a few weeks ago and heaps of coaches and players singled him out in the preseason out as a huge improver (shaved half a minute off his 2k, training standards, came back stronger and fitter). I kind of feel he has been nursed through something minor like a niggle and not going all out so he can still hope to be fully fit for North in Rd1. I hope that’s the case and he gets up, I feel like the tempered expectations of him may be misplaced and he will rip it up when the real stuff starts. He looked very promising in the contest last year without a preseason under his belt and up until this last little bit seems to have been ticking over very nicely for 2023

Uh...Cunnington is an absolute bull. I like Culley but that is asking a hell of a lot from a kid to take it up, physically, against one of the strongest inside mids in the comp all day.
He'll have to rotate but it will be good learning for him. He's a big kid and also not that quick, so getting to see how a snail like Cunnington plays will be a valuable experience.

After last year, I don't know how anyone can be confident of us beating anyone...
We almost beat Kangas last year with 3 kids called up from Auskick to double up that afternoon because we only had 19 fit list players, half of who were not B22. We had a first game string bean with little backline experience get toweled up by Larkey to the tune of 6 goals (lets see how he goes with Gov and Tb back there) and Ryan had one of those games where he could have kicked 10 but only kicked 1.

So, yes, Im quietly confident we can go one better against the Kangas this time round.

Unless he defines what "realistic" means then his article has no point. Does "realistic" mean don't expect top 4, don't expect top 8, don't expect to get out of the bottom 4? He hasn't taken a position that can be proven either right or wrong over time. Nor are his "valid points" that you claim he made of any value. Blind Freddie can see we have a dearth of young talent coming through about to blossom into seasoned and battle tested middle aged talent and most of our best players are approaching or over 30. Duffield is not breaking any news all WCE supporters don't already know. It doesn't take a deep dive into the demographics of our list to see that.

In fact that tweet reminds me of the boards most pathetic and cowardly poster (i.e. you). You trawl around this board nit picking other posters and trying to make straw man arguments out of their posts so you can be sarcastic and try and come off as smart. Especially posters criticising Simpson. You won't support or defend Simpson but instead you go around attacking and annoying any poster who criticises him in retaliation. You very, very, very rarely post clear actual opinions of your own about anything. It is all about nit picking, word games and creating straw men out of other peoples posts. You never post clear opinions of your own. You will certainly never post anything that can be proven right or wrong over time. Even when you get into flame wars with other posters on here and they repeatedly challenge you to state a clear opinion on whatever the issue you have tried to create a straw man out of you i notice that you never, ever will.

Which begs the question - why are you even here? You must have a very small and easily amused mind and a very, very boring life (and probably no job either) to spend all day everyday (and you are on here all day every day) on a footy posting board on which you never have the courage to post a clear position on anything and instead get your jollies wanting to play antagonistic word games with other posters.
Classic Dargie

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Uh...Cunnington is an absolute bull. I like Culley but that is asking a hell of a lot from a kid to take it up, physically, against one of the strongest inside mids in the comp all day.

Sure - and he has the experience over Culley obviously.

But Cunnington is 185cm/86kg and Culley is 194cm/94kg.

He may get outsmarted - but he shouldn't get physically outmatched by Cunnington.

Firstly Apologies for being here. Now that's out the way I am genuinely interested in the new gameplay but don't know what it is. I've heard tidbits about moving the ball fast but could someone here give me a concise explanation of the difference between the old and new gameplay.

And is the old game plan not working because your current players strengths aren't suited to the old gameplay or is it a case of the old game plan has been worked out and needs to change with the times.

And as a sign of goodwill here is a sincere compliment: I believe Brady Hough was a terrific pickup. Showed a braveness to move the ball quickly and executed well. Great composure and didn't get get pushed off the ball, even with his slight frame. With more muscle he will be able to shrug tackles or get a handball off and provide consistent drive out of the back half.
Hi Mate

Yeah , we have telegraphed to everyone that we are gonna move the ball quick . Maybe Adelaide had a plan to quell that and punish us with the resulting turnovers . You know just as much as we do

Firstly Apologies for being here. Now that's out the way I am genuinely interested in the new gameplay but don't know what it is. I've heard tidbits about moving the ball fast but could someone here give me a concise explanation of the difference between the old and new gameplay.

And as a sign of goodwill here is a sincere compliment: I believe Brady Hough was a terrific pickup. Showed a braveness to move the ball quickly and executed well. Great composure and didn't get get pushed off the ball, even with his slight frame. With more muscle he will be able to shrug tackles or get a handball off and provide consistent drive out of the back half.
I’m pretty sure that this is the new game plan
2F33D7DE-4DC5-4BD1-997F-896AAFDB7E5A.gif

Pretty confident Culley will play. He did all 6 periods against Port and would have done 4 full qtrs against crows 1st team but I guess the MC wanted to get some game time into Shuey and Ginbey so Culley ended up getting a full hit out in the 2nd game. From all reports he is becoming a fit endurance beast.
Also gotta feel for young Jack Williams, probably not going to see him this year.

I think Kelly and Green will have a field day at the CBAs when we play GWS.