MVP Priddis leading the Eagles BF

On those overwhelming stats (are you Rids slightly slower brother?:D) he should be AA, at least in the squad .. and yet people LOL when Priddis and AA are mentioned in the same breath. Why?

In case you hadn't realised, which seems likely, my argument re Priddis has been consistent for 2+ years and nothing that has happened in that time has shown me to be wrong. If Priddis couldnt get the ball as well as he can, he would struggle to have a WAFL career as his vision, disposal and pace are ALL well below average for a WAFL midfielder. His tackling is overstated because we play a midfield flood most of the time and end up with lots of slow, clogged, congested stuff around the middle. This allows Priddis lots of tackling of stationary or near stationary players at a contest surrounded by 12 blokes. Can you tell me the last time you saw Priddis tackle anyone in space? Can you tell me the last time (ever?) that he ran someone down from behind? That what makes a difference in games. Priddis gets run around like he is a witches hat by anyone with any momentum. If his player gets goalside in an open contest we are ****ed - and sides often set up to do exactly that - they gamble, quite rightly that Priddis getting it 20 times in close won't hurt that much but his opponent (with pace) who can get it 10 times (half) forward of the contest will kill us. How many times have you seen an opposition mid break from a contest into space with, apparently, noone behind him.. it happens numerous times each game. Priddis is more often than not the opponent. Freo worked this out years ago - the Stephen Hill + 2 other offsensive mids in the centre square approach is the classic Priddis killer. Just put 3 quick blokes in there and attack. You dont even need to win more than 35 to 40% of possession - when you do it will lead, inevitably to a pass inside 50 or a running goal while priddis, perm flapping in the breeze trundles 15m behind.

No defensive game. No offensive skills. Can get the ball. Limited vision & creativity (less than most WAFL mids), poor kicking skills, poor handball skills (unless you rate 3 to 4 m handballs to the most obvious- but often flat footed - team mate).

He just isnt very good, the fact that others can't see that and yet can't point to ANYTHING beyond stats is interesting. After all these years you'd like to imagine there were a few "remember when Pridda did that to such and such.." or "remember when Pridda turned that game.." or "remember when Pridda did that game saving tackle.." or anything ..... instead its just, hey Pridda gets more clearances than any man in the history of football.... but, can he play? does he hurt teams? his only role is offensive mid (he cant tag) and he cant play any other role. That means he has to be in the top 2 mids in the side. Can anyone see Priddis as a top 2 guy in a contender? The answer is no. So why waste time on him.

Nah, you're wrong aye. Priddis is like hell good at finding the ball and you guys are leading the clearances but for some reason you finished last.

It wasnt Priddis's fault thought coz he won a sandover.

Youre just a big meanie.

Nah, you're wrong aye. Priddis is like hell good at finding the ball and you guys are leading the clearances but for some reason you finished last.

It wasnt Priddis's fault thought coz he won a sandover.

Youre just a big meanie.
E87 just fyi, this is called sarcasm

Priddis is an absolute jet. He was very unlucky to win the B n F this year and I think could have made the difference in a couple of the games he missed out due to injury. Tireless worker and his extracting abilities are second to none. Also hes very reliable.

Definately in the top 10 players at our club.

Pridda for the brownlow! Elite clearance machine! :D

@E87
Now that you mentioned Stephen Hill - imagine if Priddis was on the other side, extracting the ball for Hill? I don't know if you saw Geelong vs Freo but Hill looked a bit useless dancing around outside the pack with nobody to feed the ball out to him against a strong Geelong midfield.

Dont you know sam. Hill would be stationary if Priddis handballs to him. All his targets are stationary, thats the only way he can hit them.

Steel, we have discussed before your lack of intellectual prowess and how I am relatively easy on you as I don't like to be mean to Gods special people, but....
how about you try and mount an argument that addresses all the points that I have made regarding Priddis' undoubted weaknesses?

I know you prefer little spot posts where you extract one part of one sentence to try and debunk (look it up) an entire argument but, lets be honest here, it doesn't work. You just come across as a clueless Priddis fanboi. At least Rids tries with his little packages of stats.

I shall wait with eager anticipation as you mount a football analysis of ALL the Priddis issues I have raised in this thread. Should be fun. Use the crayon font, should make you feel at home.

Cheers :)

Your just too easy to bait. Ive given up when it comes to Priddis to you because your just one big fat stack of ignorance. The problem is, that I am right, and Priddis going to be there for the next 3 years minimum. So thats unfortunate for you.

Actually Steel, it probably a bit unfortunate for us too, because we will have to listen to E87's un-justified ranting about Priddis for that long. Priddis will lead the AFL for a heaps of positive stats and most people will appreciate him for that, but since he has curly hair, E87 will try and convince the rest of us with his fantastc logic that he is 'Ploddis'. It's a very catchy nic name, how i still like him with a name like that is beyond me...oh, must be cos he can play footy.

But he still has curly hair.

Hmm, perhaps i should not like him cos he has that mop?

Nah, I like to focus on things that matter, like stats.

Oh, by the way E87, good to see you didnt let me down with the personal attacks. Way to win an argument...if you have no evidence whatsoever to back your point up, always fall back on name-calling. I think i gave that shyte up when i was in high school.

Actually Steel, it probably a bit unfortunate for us too, because we will have to listen to E87's un-justified ranting about Priddis for that long. Priddis will lead the AFL for a heaps of positive stats and most people will appreciate him for that, but since he has curly hair, E87 will try and convince the rest of us with his fantastc logic that he is 'Ploddis'. It's a very catchy nic name, how i still like him with a name like that is beyond me...oh, must be cos he can play footy.

But he still has curly hair.

Hmm, perhaps i should not like him cos he has that mop?

Nah, I like to focus on things that matter, like stats.

Oh, by the way E87, good to see you didnt let me down with the personal attacks. Way to win an argument...if you have no evidence whatsoever to back your point up, always fall back on name-calling. I think i gave that shyte up when i was in high school.

2008: 4-18 (15th)
2009: 8-14 (11th)
2010: 4-18 (16th)

These are cool stats.

During that period our "number 1 mid" - Matt Priddis.

During that period we have been advised, almost daily, that our weakest link is, umm, midfield. Despite an AA ruckman and premiership winning and highly rated defensive mids in A Selwood & T Stenglein.

Certainly we have missed regular games from our one true top line mid in D Kerr but even when he has played he has been forced into a different role because of - Matt Priddis.

Again, I ask you to dispute any of the following:

1. Creativity - Poor;

2. Vision - Poor;

3. Speed - Poor;

4. Kicking - Poor;

5. Handball - Average; (Use Kerr as an example of above average)

6. Impact on Games - Poor; (Holds the world record for a 40+ disposal game that EVERYONE rated as completely and utterly ineffective)

7. Makes others around him better - Poor; (See Judd, Cousins, J Selwood, S Black etc)

8. Worst number 1 mid in the AFL - almost certainly.

Over to dumb & dumber....

NB: By the way Trouto, as I have explained numerous times, there is a huge difference between name calling and merely describing things accurately. I am personally fascinated to learn that you made it to High School. Well done :thumbsu:. Doesn't alter the fact that, on revealed evidence, you are as about as sharp as a brick....

Cheers :)

Re stats, it's not clear to me exactly how well they reflect on Priddis. Taking this from Quinz's post:

He's 10th in the league for effective clearances, first in 1st possessions, first in ball gets.

Well, assuming they are per-game stats, obviously the first thing that leaps out is he's much better at getting his hands on the ball than he is at clearing it effectively.

You might think irrespective 10th in the league for effective clearances isn't bad, but that depends. If he gets first hands on the ball significantly more than our other mids, and the best he can do with that opportunity is 10th for effective clearances, well you're never gonna win a premiership that way.

So I'm guess what I'm saying is the proportion 1st ball gets to effective clearances is the key question. Less of the former but relatively more of the latter obviously would be better.

Statistics like clearances, goal assists etc. can be useful ... but overall they should only be used to measure quantity and back up what you've observed in games ... never to prove a point on their own.

It's not about how much disposals, clearances etc, you get, it's about how often you hurt the opposition with them.

Statistics that are supposedly used to measure quality of a players output like disposal efficiency, clangers and goal assist are flawed.

An efficient disposal doesn't differentiate between a backward handball that reached it's target but sold a teammate into trouble or a creative pass from congestion that released a player into a paddock of space.

A goal assist doesn't differentiate between a laser 65m pass executed under pressure that isolated a target close to goal or an easy linking handball to a player who then took 2 bounces, dodged a couple and slotted it home from 50m on the run.

A clanger doesn't differentiate between a turnover under zero pressure or a turnover after a teammate sold the player into trouble and he had no options available.

etc.

If you really want to prove E87 wrong then piece together clips of a few Priddis games with a good number of examples of him showing him hurting the opposition with his clearance work.

I'm not trying to prove anyone wrong really, and I dont think the sun shines out of MP's butt!

I guess i am looking at MP as "glass half full" focusing on what he can do well. I know he isnt an elite mid, but i also think he is very valuable to the club, and to blame him for our downfall is really unfair i feel. We played pretty good footy in 2007 in his first full year, mainly because of the players around him. Once Judd left and Cuzz lost the plot, 2008 was god-awful. If i focus on Priddis 2007-2010, i see him improving his game so he has become a top quality grinder.

You gotta remember, unfortunately he IS our #1 mid, which means the past couple years he has been copping the opposition #1 tagger. I bet you he doesnt want to be #1 mid and would welcome with open arms 2 or 3 flashy running players. No wonder we get pumped week in week out, when the opposition don't have anyone to tag (poor buggers).

Unfortunately for West Coast and Priddis, none of the youth have shown they are up to the standard. If we had someone like Barlow or Hill, where the opposition would have to tag, Priddis would play even better. But we cant just drop Priddis and shove players like Shuey or Swift in the middle to do his job. They are kids and would get butchered, frankly the thought of doing that would be highly unfair to kids still learing AFL footy.

Patience is needed, hopefully the kids will step up to the plate

If you really want to prove E87 wrong then piece together clips of a few Priddis games with a good number of examples of him showing him hurting the opposition with his clearance work.

You'd have to really really want to win an internet argument to go to the lengths of sourcing access to reams of game footage and an editing suite...

I'm not trying to prove anyone wrong really, and I dont think the sun shines out of MP's butt!

I guess i am looking at MP as "glass half full" focusing on what he can do well. I know he isnt an elite mid, but i also think he is very valuable to the club, and to blame him for our downfall is really unfair i feel. We played pretty good footy in 2007 in his first full year, mainly because of the players around him. Once Judd left and Cuzz lost the plot, 2008 was god-awful. If i focus on Priddis 2007-2010, i see him improving his game so he has become a top quality grinder.

You gotta remember, unfortunately he IS our #1 mid, which means the past couple years he has been copping the opposition #1 tagger. I bet you he doesnt want to be #1 mid and would welcome with open arms 2 or 3 flashy running players. No wonder we get pumped week in week out, when the opposition don't have anyone to tag (poor buggers).

Unfortunately for West Coast and Priddis, none of the youth have shown they are up to the standard. If we had someone like Barlow or Hill, where the opposition would have to tag, Priddis would play even better. But we cant just drop Priddis and shove players like Shuey or Swift in the middle to do his job. They are kids and would get butchered, frankly the thought of doing that would be highly unfair to kids still learing AFL footy.

Patience is needed, hopefully the kids will step up to the plate

The problem with this, while heart felt, is it ignores reality.

Playing well in 2007 had very little to do with Priddis. Kerr was Brownlow runner up and Judd would have won it in a canter if not for his injury. They were outstanding. Cousins then came back and was also very good. Priddis was a guy get some rotation minutes against teams that didnt even know/care (?) who he was.

Then in 2008 with Cousins and Judd gone we needed to rebuild the midfield. For reasons best explained by Woosh, he decided to feature Priddis as his main inside ball winner (probably because he can't do anything else) and he shifted Kerr to a more Judd like role - which requires more first receive and break to space. A couple of problems. Other players blocked for Judd and Judd got handballs from blokes like Kerr (who had vision and creativity). Priddis is a plodder - hence Ploddus - he can't create with handball and he is zero threat to run away from a contest. He is actually minimal threat to run away from a mail box but thats another issues. So Kerr was played out of position, got genuine lock down tags (as our only mid with hurt factor) and lost form, confidence and eventually got hurt.

Priddis can't tag so he has to play as an offensive mid but he cant break away from a stoppage so it becomes a game of Priddis gets ball, other team sweats on receivers and "space" and creates turnovers. As for priddis getting the number 1 tag - i thought this bollocks had died a death ages ago. The only team that play a full blown tagger hard on Priddis is Sydney because they have (had) Kirk and he always starts on a man and usually takes the slowest opposition mid. Easy v Us. Priddis plays 85% of the game, always at stoppages and he can't run or kick, Kirks perfect opponent.

Other sides play a loose run with role on Priddis, usually for structure purposes. They often, in key moments, just play 3 guys to attack .. because they can. The evidence of that is available every bloody time we play. I think some people just watch the set up for the bouncedown, see Ling standing next to Priddis and put 2 and 2 together and get 65...

Its interesting that blokes like Kerr & Judd made other mids look good, even Jamie McNamara looked handy at times but with Priddis alongside (as a leading ball getter no less) none of our other young mids "have shown they are up to standard".. certainly not Priddis' fault. Certainly not part of his role to be part of a midfield team that makes the role of others easier. Blocking, not his problem, locking down a guy (can't, so not his problem), linking play and hitting targets (not his problem)... so basically, we recruit guys or play guys out of position to try and cover the obvious flaws in our main guy .... hmmm, whats the other option?

I sat on this board for 2 years and heard tales of woe, mayhem and death about what would happen if Priddis was injured. Well, what happened? Our young guys looked better, we were at least as competitive as other games, some of our deep forwards took marks on the lead because we ran and carried through the middle .... A Selwood was missing too .... hmmm ...

Ploddus starts 2011 as a 26 year old inside mid, with no outside game, no kicking skills, no pace and modest handball skills, he can't create or "see" anything and he has no impact on games - to turn them, win them or whatever ... that sounds like a guy who should be on year to year contracts as a depth player or deep in the rotation ....

Lets hope sanity prevails.