Professional Punters

Why wont bookies take $100 on this and $100 on that if they want that larger sum of money being turned over. Seems ridiculous.

??? Bookies aren't the tote, you seem to be getting the two confused. Bookies are rejecting bets from punters who are winning off them. The Tab will reject or limit bets the same way, on fixed odds, because fixed odds are not part of the tote pool.

It is the tote pool that pays rebates, and it is that which Z bets into heavily.

it is a rort because he is getting an unfair advantage. He is very smart, but the people he is rorting is the average punter because he is taking a greater percentage of the winnings while the average punter has to take a lower dividend. Its legal, we can't do anything about it, but if it was publicised widely it wouldn't last very long.

What are you talking about? You are salty because a smart punter is betting into the tote pools? He is getting no advantage over other punters, he is betting into pools with the same take out rates as everyone. The only advantage comes from the TAB itself

he is getting an 8 percent rebate that the TAB removes from the punters dividend he gets because he is getting special privelidges. this is not accurate maths but say the horse pays 2.00, he puts his money on. he gets 2.16 and then the pool is adusted so that everyone else gets 1.90 . The TAB is not giving money to him out of its own pocket, otherwise this would have been stopped ages ago, its coming out of the average punters pocket.
I couldn't give a rats arse what he gets i use betfair for win bets. but he is getting special privileges because of his high turnover.

what benefit would giving him extra percentage possibly be if they dont adjust the pools? The TAB has to win a certain percentage every race and they have shareholders to answer too. if he keeps winning they have to get the money from somewhere, and they do, its from the average punters dividend.

imagine going to your shareholders and saying we would have made this much this month but we had to pay $5million to this dude because he was turning over a lot, do you think it would be allowed?

Or they say if we pay this guy $5m the pools will get so big we will easily collect greater than $5m in extra takeout.

they wont get that from the good decent punter, its only the mugs that will take it, have you noticed the size of the tab pools lately? maybe 1 half of what they used to be 5 years ago.

And how big are corporates compared to what they were 5 years ago?

what benefit would giving him extra percentage possibly be if they dont adjust the pools? The TAB has to win a certain percentage every race and they have shareholders to answer too. if he keeps winning they have to get the money from somewhere, and they do, its from the average punters dividend.

No its not. They do it because they think it will bring in more money for them and because it will provide more liquidity which should also have a positive effect

I think he has a big effect on flattening out multiple dividends. I don't bother with tris, quads, running doubles any more. I believe that is where he concentrates his efforts. There is not a lot of info about him out there but from what I have read and understand he has his computers hooked up to the TABs (operates out of the same building in Sydney) and identifies multiple combinations that are overs and bets accordingly at the jump.

Anyone with a spare billion is allowed to do what he does

We all just wished we had it ourselves.

Interesting how he got from the 18yr old kid to the billion dollar gambler during that period not recieving rebates but he played other markets whichever he seemed to have an edge in with his maths mate

Without Z

Race pool = 1 mill
Tab 12% rake = 120K
Tab profit = 120K

With Z

Race pool = 1.5mill
Tab 12% rake = 180K
less Tab 8% rebate = 40K
Tab profit = 140K

No net impact on punters but TAB is better off because of increased turnover

Doesnt take into account Z's bet, we know hes a quality gambler so hes more likely to win than the every day joe by a fair bit. So that 140k profit may actually not be there at all.

Needs to take into account that variable

I think he has a big effect on flattening out multiple dividends. I don't bother with tris, quads, running doubles any more. I believe that is where he concentrates his efforts. There is not a lot of info about him out there but from what I have read and understand he has his computers hooked up to the TABs (operates out of the same building in Sydney) and identifies multiple combinations that are overs and bets accordingly at the jump.

Yeah, he has definitely done that. Trifectas have absolutely been flattened by him, and quaddies are going the same way. I bet much less on the tote than I used to for this reason, and much more with fixed price win betting.

Doesnt take into account Z's bet, we know hes a quality gambler so hes more likely to win than the every day joe by a fair bit. So that 140k profit may actually not be there at all.

In reality he is paying less to win the same. He can bank on his rebate to take out of his stake so that inflates his true odds.

yeh i know

no problems with it either

if i had that money to lose id be doing the same

edit: Id probably invest it elsewhere before had but id do a financial assessment first ha

I don't think you understand the tote pools. Profit is there for the TAB regardless of the result. They take their cut from the total pool and then pay the rest of the pool out between all the winners.

So yes Z being a better gambler than everyday Joe effectively means money is being transferred from everyday Joe to Z. TAB giving him a rebate means that he bets in more markets that he may otherwise not find profitable without the rebate, so he is bleeding everyday Joe more.

The situation is:

Z wins
TAB wins
Everyday Joe takes it in the arse

I think one of the things people forget is that the professional punters have pre arranged commitments with the corporates. In this would be clauses about bets having to be taken.

Yeah, he has definitely done that. Trifectas have absolutely been flattened by him, and quaddies are going the same way. I bet much less on the tote than I used to for this reason, and much more with fixed price win betting.

I only used to do multiples on bigger racedays anyway but fair dinkum one of the totes paid 10k for the tri in the Melbourne Cup. 100-1 winner in a 24 horse field and two favoured runners in Trip to Paris and Fame Game miss a place (so you can't really even argue roved selections effected the price). I remember Dad getting the tri in the 08 cup and it paid 30k+. Viewed was an outside winner but no Prince of Penzance. That was a Cummings/Cumani/Lloyd Williams tri too so people would have put them in on pedigree if not form. You see a lot of multiples pay criminal prices now.

Professional Punters