QAFA (A) 2015 season

Haha thanks mate... So I take it my lack of fitness won't stand out to much!

Any Clubs I should avoid or you recommend...mainly looking to meet a few people as I've just moved up here. So a decent social club would suit

Where are you living mate? Most areas will see you with a few good local options

Just moved to clayfield... Pine Rivers seem to be the closest too me...bit of a battle finding much out about their seniors however

Most clubs have a face book page. Maybe jump on there for some info. Not many clubs that need avoiding. I would go there and check it out for yourself

Np new pirates reserves coach......great addition to the pirates.

Yes the Pirates are very excited to have a quality person on board such as NP. He comes from the club that has set the benchmark the last few years so hoping some of that culture finds its way to Pirate land.

Looking forward to a big 2016 for the Pirates with Bond no doubt the team to beat again. Any news from up Ipswich way as to the Hooper situation as I thought he had signed for 2-3 years as coach, but seen them advertising on AFLQ Website?

Most clubs have a face book page. Maybe jump on there for some info. Not many clubs that need avoiding. I would go there and check it out for yourself

Morro not thinking about a return down Robina way with the big fella being appointed new seniors coach?

Best summed up by saying there is no quality in the ressies in this division. Possibly the worst level of footy in australia
How so? No umpires provided by the league? Guys coming out of retirement to make up numbers? Or you're currently playing top standard but loitering around this forum, so judging from above, as a local champion?
Bahaha- that is gold TT.
Slaying a local division's reserve grade comp is gold??? Hilarious...being so wise, and having such a strong opinion across many forums, should taking the piss out comps be the way we should grow the game?
Check out Beenleigh, good bunch of blokes with a massive social club with TAB, bars, pokies and bistro.
But the Ressies comp is the worst in the country...according to TT...check out Beenleigh's last 2 season's results...seniors or ressies..
Footy is footy, you train, you play & you love it...or you take pot shots on a forum..

Oh settle down mAte, don't take yourself so seriously. Hence the point of TT post. I'm sure there are top fellas that play in reserve grade in this comp but also understand they are not very good! If a bloke taking the piss out Iv the standard of reserve grade footy in this comp causes clubs to suddenly find themselves with an A grade side only I will apologise unreservedly. On the counter reckon TTs post might actually encourage a few guys to come out of hibernation!!

Haha thanks mate... So I take it my lack of fitness won't stand out to much!

Any Clubs I should avoid or you recommend...mainly looking to meet a few people as I've just moved up here. So a decent social club would suit

Living at Clayfield and wanting to play Ressies or social footy, your best bets would be:

Kedron (QAFA B 1 team club currently) - but they take it more seriously than you would probably be looking for!
Zillmere - QAFA B Seniors team. Bunch of older blokes mixed with young guys new to the game. They seems like a top bunch
Mayne 2 or 3's - their senior side is very good, and their 2's have won back 2 back flags. You could play 3's and when you get fitter, start pushing for 2's
You could also go over the river to Coorparoo - same as Mayne, but in the south league. Great group of blokes.

Friend of mine directed me to this forum.....wow excellent banter..... Why so many take it to heart though?? I guess all the hype surrounding the Swans players wasn't even worth it with only 2 wins. Pearcy better step up his pre season training

Rumor has it, the only training Pearcy is doing is punching way above his weight.....lmao

How so? No umpires provided by the league? Guys coming out of retirement to make up numbers? Or you're currently playing top standard but loitering around this forum, so judging from above, as a local champion?

Slaying a local division's reserve grade comp is gold??? Hilarious...being so wise, and having such a strong opinion across many forums, should taking the piss out comps be the way we should grow the game?

But the Ressies comp is the worst in the country...according to TT...check out Beenleigh's last 2 season's results...seniors or ressies..
Footy is footy, you train, you play & you love it...or you take pot shots on a forum..
Geez footy, would you prefer me to lie to the guy instead?

you blokes wont need to worry about Bond - believe they have been approved to go up a div.

What's everyone's thoughts on just QAFL Clubs getting $20K funding for additional coaching support, facilities etc?

Seems our clubs don't count as grass roots or growing the game in QLD.

Absolute joke. Probably the worst decision the league has made in last 7 years since we have been around.

What's everyone's thoughts on just QAFL Clubs getting $20K funding for additional coaching support, facilities etc?

Absolute joke. Probably the worst decision the league has made in last 7 years since we have been around.
It's a pretty rare thing for the league to be giving handouts at all!
Being that QAFL is the top level in SE Qld, it's pretty obvious that the league wants to improve the standards at this level, hence the handout. I don't see this as a bad thing, anything that will help improve standards in this state, at this level, should be applauded. Let's hope it gets used wisely. Then we might see more interstate players be attracted to qafl ( with better facilities ) which in turn, will have a flow on affect to the lower levels. Don't bite the hand that feeds you.

I think it was twice that amount 5 years ago before it was cut out. I guess the best coaches are at the highest level

It's a pretty rare thing for the league to be giving handouts at all!
Being that QAFL is the top level in SE Qld, it's pretty obvious that the league wants to improve the standards at this level, hence the handout. I don't see this as a bad thing, anything that will help improve standards in this state, at this level, should be applauded. Let's hope it gets used wisely. Then we might see more interstate players be attracted to qafl ( with better facilities ) which in turn, will have a flow on affect to the lower levels. Don't bite the hand that feeds you.

Not sure how AFLQ is the hand that feeds us TT?

Our club started 7 years ago on a school oval and due the fact of being on Education QLD owned facility to get any form of funding has been a slog.

Therefore we have fund raised to pay for items like lighting, change rooms, goal posts, covered areas, coaches boxes etc which would be close to $400K without one red cent from AFLQ or AFL. So they are hardly the hand that feeds my club.

If anyone has a chance to obtain revenue via sporting clubs, pokies etc it is in fact the QAFL Clubs.

If you think QLD footy will ever attract top line players from down south based on $20k you are living in dreamland. The money available in suburban footy in Melbourne is insane and probably only Southport or Aspley could compete in a bidding war.

Clubs are no different to footy sides, so until you get your lower clubs up competing with better clubs the leagues will never improve.

In saying that if clubs are not improving or have unsettled committees then maybe the QAFL should look at reducing number of clubs to improve playing rosters and help identify what clubs need money spent on them.

QAFA (A) 2015 season