• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QAFA (B) Central-2014

Didn't Askar and McCoy play last time you played the woodsmen ?
They did, but ashkar and ferguson went down early with injuries. Oh and Edwards, Goldsack and the Clark brothers didn't play that game. And there's the glaring fact that the man that ripped us a new one last time isn't playing. We're just looking forward to a cracking contest

No doubt it will be a cracking contest. As I have said all season wynnum are the best drilled side in the comp. I've watched a lot of both sides this year. But talking about players who didn in wynnum v woodsmen game. After looking at the lists I would say woodsmen had out David Hamil ( state league player ) mcnaughton ( under 18 state player ) Tim green ( best chb in the comp.) m frame. ( 6 foot 6. Back men who I think is the fastest guy in the team.) and they didn have that Fraser guy who is a gun wingman. Not to mention Dobson prob the best midfielder in the comp went off after the first quarter. As an outsider I hope it's a tight contest. But woodsmen hit very hard and have so much class all over the Feild. It will take wynnum 's best effort of the season to knock them off.

After jomboomba's effort last night I think all the teams better take notice of them. Pretty much have the same guys who made 3 or 4 grand finals in a row playing for them again. Add Murray and Harley.

No doubt it will be a cracking contest. As I have said all season wynnum are the best drilled side in the comp. I've watched a lot of both sides this year. But talking about players who didn in wynnum v woodsmen game. After looking at the lists I would say woodsmen had out David Hamil ( state league player ) mcnaughton ( under 18 state player ) Tim green ( best chb in the comp.) m frame. ( 6 foot 6. Back men who I think is the fastest guy in the team.) and they didn have that Fraser guy who is a gun wingman. Not to mention Dobson prob the best midfielder in the comp went off after the first quarter. As an outsider I hope it's a tight contest. But woodsmen hit very hard and have so much class all over the Feild. It will take wynnum 's best effort of the season to knock them off.

After jomboomba's effort last night I think all the teams better take notice of them. Pretty much have the same guys who made 3 or 4 grand finals in a row playing for them again. Add Murray and Harley.

A 98 point win in finals.. it's just wrong.

Why is it wrong? I think Yeronga's finish indicated where they were all year, and Jimboomba with all their experience were always going to be tough. Very well drilled and with the same squad over these past 6 or so years they are a tough unit.

I think the best 4 sides all year are all still in contention which makes sense. And I think any of them on their day (sorry.... night) can win.

Should be a big week on this forum.... I look forward to the upcoming banter.

Wow, that is a big surprise. That will give Jimboomba a lot of confidence. Two massive games next week.

Can someone advise how I get to TBA ground for Sandgate V Jimboomba? Or how I even find the Unknown ground to watch the Woodsmen v Wynnum encounter? ;)

Surely one of them is at Yeronga. Or both? You'd hate to be Jimboomba having to travel all the way to Sandgate on a Friday night.

Can someone advise how I get to TBA ground for Sandgate V Jimboomba? Or how I even find the Unknown ground to watch the Woodsmen v Wynnum encounter? ;)

Surely one of them is at Yeronga. Or both? You'd hate to be Jimboomba having to travel all the way to Sandgate on a Friday night.
My understanding, and I'm not 100% positive is that is a double header at yeronga. As in both at 7.30 on both ovals.

Big warning shot fired by Jimboomba on Friday night. Didn't see the game, and I'm sure Yeronga were already mentally on holiday after the pasting they got the week before - but a belting like that on your home deck shows the other side can seriously play.

I watched the first half of the Wynnum/Sandgate game, Wynnum seemed to be dominant and were certainly getting a good run from a couple of umpires recruited from the local retirement village who simply could not keep up with the game at all. Went home because I was sick of the rain, and the Wynnum balcony was too crowded for this old fella

Surprised to hear Sandgate managed to make a game of it in the 3rd quarter after what I saw in the first half. Turning up with 20 blokes + 1 geriatric cripple and no coach was an interesting tactic for a qualifying final.

Sandgate - the quintessential 3rds side!

Northsider,

Woodsmen had McNaughton playing last time you played Wynnum according to the teamsheet. (named in the best)

Assume Jimmy Rozynski won't be playing as he didn't qualify, but will McDonall be playing? Hammill, Walter?

Swamp,

Despite Thommo42 suggesting it was him, who exactly do you think ripped Wynnum a new one last time? I don't recall any particular standouts?

Northsider,

Woodsmen had McNaughton playing last time you played Wynnum according to the teamsheet. (named in the best)

Assume Jimmy Rozynski won't be playing as he didn't qualify, but will McDonall be playing? Hammill, Walter?

Swamp,

Despite Thommo42 suggesting it was him, who exactly do you think ripped Wynnum a new one last time? I don't recall any particular standouts?

Tough to beat if they are playing. Haven't seen Walter in some time though. Thought his knee was troubling him?

Dunno where you heard that Swampy!?

I'll definitely be playing this week :p
Can we make a deal that I match up on you and we start every quarter at about the 50m line (bar) ;-)
Northsider,

Swamp,

Jroz for sure. His presence around every contest was intense

I didn't see the game, but Jimmy Rozynski is certainly a useful player at this level. However, the tea leaves tell me he only played because they were short and Dobson was injured. Given Rozynski doesn't play footy anywhere else, I reckon they would have qualified him if they felt he was going to make huge difference to their fortunes.

Time will tell, but after the Woodsmen v Yeronga game I did hear a whisper that the Woodsmen would have a huge out for the entire finals series. Can Thommo42, Northsider or King05 confirm they will be missing an important onballer who hits the scoreboard regularly?

could even things up a bit, but time will tell.

If Green and Hammill bookend the Woodsmen side, can't see how anyone gets near them regardless of what goes down with midfielders injured or away.

I didn't see the game, but Jimmy Rozynski is certainly a useful player at this level. However, the tea leaves tell me he only played because they were short and Dobson was injured. Given Rozynski doesn't play footy anywhere else, I reckon they would have qualified him if they felt he was going to make huge difference to their fortunes.
Dobson played, I ran with him for half the game. If he was injured, I'd hate to see him fully fit.

Big warning shot fired by Jimboomba on Friday night. Didn't see the game, and I'm sure Yeronga were already mentally on holiday after the pasting they got the week before - but a belting like that on your home deck shows the other side can seriously play.

I watched the first half of the Wynnum/Sandgate game, Wynnum seemed to be dominant and were certainly getting a good run from a couple of umpires recruited from the local retirement village who simply could not keep up with the game at all. Went home because I was sick of the rain, and the Wynnum balcony was too crowded for this old fella

Surprised to hear Sandgate managed to make a game of it in the 3rd quarter after what I saw in the first half. Turning up with 20 blokes + 1 geriatric cripple and no coach was an interesting tactic for a qualifying final.

Sandgate - the quintessential 3rds side!
We have a coach he actually played the game ? Agree with the Umps we had those guys all year full credit to Wynnum it wouldn't have changed the result we got run over last 1/4 anyway...lets just hope those umps aren't doing anymore finals for the comps sake as they were abysmal...

Agree, makes a mockery of a good competition that has really played some good standard footy this year to have guys like that doing important finals.

In fact, I'm sure that if there were an AFLQ official there, they would be embarassed and likely let head office know!

As for having a coach, totally understand a playing coach. My point was merely that you had 20 guys + that old dude who could barely move and a runner. Didn't appear to have anyone delivering a drink etc, and only a 3rds side can show up to a qualifying final short of numbers!

yer not having numbers come finals usually isnt an issue, credit to sandgate on the 3rd quater fight back. wynnum look very fit and ran the game out. sandgate looked like they had a few players carrying some knocks on the field, they might not have much left for this weekend

Time will tell, but after the Woodsmen v Yeronga game I did hear a whisper that the Woodsmen would have a huge out for the entire finals series. Can Thommo42, Northsider or King05 confirm they will be missing an important onballer who hits the scoreboard regularly?

could even things up a bit, but time will tell.

If Green and Hammill bookend the Woodsmen side, can't see how anyone gets near them regardless of what goes down with midfielders injured or away.

What was said earlier about a silly time to book a holiday.....? :)

Given it's been known since round 1, its nothing unexpected or not planned for....... I'd say they can cover the loss.

I don't know about bookends but I think they'll both be pushing for selection....

Just got an email from the powers that be, both at yeronga, Sandgate v jimboomba on oval 2 at 7.15. Woodsman v wynnum on oval 1 at 8pm

I'm abit surprised no one is talking about how collingwood park got the prelim final

Seeing as though it got ignored the first time I brought it up, how do they get around only having the one set of rooms ??
They have 4 but. Yerongas home room, the lions one in the tower and two rooms facing oval 2.

So its official then King05?

Matt 'Crab' Monaghan #1 is out for the entire finals series?

31 goals for the year and named in the best in 8 of 14 matches, despite breaking his foot vs Wynnum?

To me, that brings the Woodsmen right back to the field.

Collingwood park had finals on last year and the year before. They applied for it and guessing not many other clubs want all the money that comes with 3rds footy. Hope everyone spreads the word about this Fridays games. The top four teams in div 4 and prob div 3 ( Aflq can comment on that ) will be playing at the same ground. Hopefully some big crowds. Doesn't happen to often in this league.

There are two McNaughtons. They are both excellent players. Matt would have missed the Wynnum game as he was in Europe.

JRoz and McDonnell were only ever fill ins when we were short. Granted they are pretty good 'fill ins' but regardless of whether they qualified, we were never going to play either of them in finals. EdMac did qualify, but he won't be playing.

Hammill will be available for selection. Walter did his ACL against Springfield in about Round 6, he is out all next year as well.

Can we make a deal that I match up on you and we start every quarter at about the 50m line (bar) ;-)

I'm a very tough matchup in the bar mate, better off taking me on out on the field!

Jroz for sure. His presence around every contest was intense

He played ok, kicked a 60m bomb early. But only had about 10 touches at most. Made plenty of tackles. I thought he was very good, other blokes in the team felt he didn't win much ball. No doubt a gun player though.

Dobson played, I ran with him for half the game. If he was injured, I'd hate to see him fully fit.

Dobbo had a torn calf. He played forward pocket most of the night. Wasn't going to play at all until there was some late withdrawals.

So its official then King05?

Matt 'Crab' Monaghan #1 is out for the entire finals series?

31 goals for the year and named in the best in 8 of 14 matches, despite breaking his foot vs Wynnum?

We've known all year Crab wouldn't be available come finals time. He left for Europe on Thursday and gets back Sept 7!

Didn't break his foot vs Wynnum though, he broke his foot riding a bike down some stairs on the piss. Wynnum was his first game back.

Lot of chat on this forum, which is great! Shows there is interest in the comp.

There are a few misconceptions flying around, but that is normal. What I can say for certain is that despite the absence of Crab, the team we field this Friday will be the best 22 we have put on the park all year by a large margin, and no doubt Wynnum will be the same. Won't be playing any of the guys new to footy, and all 4 bench players will be used regularly as they will be quality players, not typical benchwarmers.

Should be a cracking contest!

QAFA (B) Central-2014