• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QAFL 2016

Would be good if this was streamed so I could watch from Melb!
Retzlaff, Pantic, Murphy, Russ, Staker all pulled out with injury/niggles I believe last week. Baxter surely pulled out, Carbone stiff but don't know a few names so can't really comment as I've only seen 1 game this year
It probably will be on dartfish tv on Saturday

Went to the Grass Roots luncheon on the GC today at Jupiters, haven't been for a couple of years, a great day if you haven't been before. Strange that the State game is on the same day, but then I am accused of being critical of the games administration must be that I see see things about footy in a different way to others.

I watched the first quarter and it was slippery but not much rain and QLD looked pretty good, albeit a defensive slog in that quarter. Start of the second the heavens opened and I haven't watched the remainder. QLD had 4-2 on the board at quarter time 2-14 for the remainder.

Great to see QAFL play keepings off in the wet... WA play - get it forward at all costs...

Hmm with talent coaches - Blair, Lake, Owens etc

WHATS DOING!!!

A couple of interesting results today a draw and a couple of floggings. Biggest score the cats have kicked for at least 10 years I reckon.

If someone said before the season that Labrador would be 4-5 at the halfway point of the season I would have suggested they need help. Obviously $$$ and names on a team sheet don't guarantee anything. Not too late to turn it around but they would want to get cracking.

Broady were on fire today ,, yes I acknowledge UQ were missing some of there better players due to injury but so were Broady ,, If Broady played like that every week , they would be right up there .. Labrador, well, with the list they have what is going on at the den ... ??

Probably be a bit of a stretch to suggest that broady are flat track bullies, but I think you'd agree stuy, they need to claim a big scalp before they will be recognised as a serious contender this season. Then again, they'll get their chance in the back half of the year so I guess we will wait and see.

If someone said before the season that Labrador would be 4-5 at the halfway point of the season I would have suggested they need help. Obviously $$$ and names on a team sheet don't guarantee anything. Not too late to turn it around but they would want to get cracking.

PBC v lab was a great finals like match, palmy could have had the game buried in the third if not for some inaccuracy.

The third quarter melee got lab back into the match but palmy showed they have come a long way this year and kicked away late.

Don't know who number 35 is for lab but he was throwing punches and carrying on like a child. Also saw that he didn't shake hands or stay on field for the after match presentation. Must have a lot of character

Probably be a bit of a stretch to suggest that broady are flat track bullies, but I think you'd agree stuy, they need to claim a big scalp before they will be recognised as a serious contender this season. Then again, they'll get their chance in the back half of the year so I guess we will wait and see.

Twinkle toes,,, im saying they had a day that everything went right ,,, if that could occur most weeks they would be a challenger !!! But in real terms, that wont happen ,, We may make 5th spot , but not top 4 .

UQ surely taking the piss?

Unless your exam specifically clashes directly with the match, surely you play a QAFL game?

Why are they even in this division? Gone backwards since 2014.

UQ surely taking the piss?

Unless your exam specifically clashes directly with the match, surely you play a QAFL game?

Why are they even in this division? Gone backwards since 2014.

Yep, Saturday exams are now a thing. Not an excuse for the performance but a reason why there were quite a few missing.

Saturday exams have been a thing since I went to UQ, and that was a long long time ago.

Hardly something new.

(they do move them for the Rugby boys though, Red Heavies must pull a little more weight than the Red Lions :) )

Depends if your coaching old students or new students

Or sensitive souls vs realists...

Look dont get me wrong Ablett, nfi how he goes about it except i do know he isnt afraid to call a spade a shovel but in reality the best coaches have a bit of both in them. Now its not like the Cats have been world beaters in recent years and not sure what approach was taken then but maybe a bit of fire and brimstone is required (bad cop) with the assistants coming in to smooth the edges (good cop). All I know is that a mate of mine who follows the Cats has told me that the break time speeches are worth the admission coin alone... :)

Or sensitive souls vs realists...

Look dont get me wrong Ablett, nfi how he goes about it except i do know he isnt afraid to call a spade a shovel but in reality the best coaches have a bit of both in them. Now its not like the Cats have been world beaters in recent years and not sure what approach was taken then but maybe a bit of fire and brimstone is required (bad cop) with the assistants coming in to smooth the edges (good cop). All I know is that a mate of mine who follows the Cats has told me that the break time speeches are worth the admission coin alone... :)
Every club has a mixture of old, new, sensitive types and realists and the difficult part of coaching is finding the right balance so the message is absorbed by all. Reckon you have to be really careful to not use the fire and brimstone card too often and/or at the wrong time, otherwise, it becomes really old, really quick and the message can become lost.

Just gotta pick your targets.

Some players respond to a good old fashioned bake, others you could lose forever if you single them out in front of the group.

The challenge is identifying which each player is and acting accordingly.

QAFL 2016