QAFL 2017

By the sounds of it they should gather all the departing Southport players n put’m in an auction like they do in the IPL Cricket, the 3 main bidders will be Palmy , Broady n Labrador.
Baxter holding off for the highest I bidder I hear.

I have been told that one of these clubs is nowhere near as financial as they appear to be on the outside. Hopefully not falling into that trap of spending what you dont have to find success, especially when you dont find it...
From what I've seen every club has good junior players so shouldn't need to be spending money you don't have. Which club are you referring to?

It has to be Broadbeach. Both Labrador and Palm Beach have GF wins over the last few years so have success. Therefore money well spent!

Broadbeach is the only one that hasn't.

Well that is the trap - a premiership isnt money well spent if it means you cannot sustain a football club (not saying this will be the consequence in this case mind you). Some of you would remember Windsor-Zillmere/Nth Brisbane/Northern Eagles... Nth Brisbane won a premiership and folded the following year to be re badged as Northern Eagles.. Not sure I would say any $$ well spent no matter what the end result was. Sometimes the ends do not justify the means. Being a strong, competitive, sustainable club is surely what it is all about. Not sure anyone, when applying for grant money, says "because we ant to win a premiership"... Occasionally people forget that we are all Community footy clubs, not AFL clubs..

Oh ok. So when you say about success 'especially when you dont find it', you mean not folding as a club is the success.

So I'm guessing you are from Broadbeach and not looking forward to the prospect of Palm Beach getting more quality players. The rumour of Palm Beach being short of cash has been around for years.

If it's Labrador you referring to, they can simply let Bazza know they can't afford him next season and that will enable them to pick up a few decent players.

The majority of clubs outside the AFL push the envelope on what they can afford to try and put the best team possible on the park. No revelation there.

If a club has a bit of an exodus of players that’s a bit of a sign the cash has run out. Don’t get think any of the GC clubs are at that point yet.

The Zillmere demise was sad, but if I’m not mistaken, that had a fair bit to do with the failed marriage with Kedron Wavell club who took over their license and then decided it all wasn’t worth it

The majority of clubs outside the AFL push the envelope on what they can afford to try and put the best team possible on the park. No revelation there.

If a club has a bit of an exodus of players that’s a bit of a sign the cash has run out. Don’t get think any of the GC clubs are at that point yet.

The Zillmere demise was sad, but if I’m not mistaken, that had a fair bit to do with the failed marriage with Kedron Wavell club who took over their license and then decided it all wasn’t worth it

Zillmere handed over control of its pokies, facilities etc to Shaw Sports, who a year or two later went bankrupt due to corruption from within. A few local clubs were caught up in it I think.

Oh ok. So when you say about success 'especially when you dont find it', you mean not folding as a club is the success.

So I'm guessing you are from Broadbeach and not looking forward to the prospect of Palm Beach getting more quality players. The rumour of Palm Beach being short of cash has been around for years.

If it's Labrador you referring to, they can simply let Bazza know they can't afford him next season and that will enable them to pick up a few decent players.

Didn't say anything like that - in fact added the words "strong" and "competitive" in there too. Probably easier to state what isn't a successful club and that would be one that through its own doing yo yos all over the place due to boom or bust thinking and in fact goes out of existence eventually. Not sure what Bazza was getting paid, whether the footy club was paying him or a 3rd party, but not sure he will go around again next year at QAFL level for anyone.

I agree 2010 - most clubs fly close to the radar but the smart clubs work out that you only spend what you can afford. If PBC have a fantastic revenue stream then good on them for spending a bit more. Not hard to work out tbh - just go to a few AGM's, that usually tells you who is in a good position or speak to a few suppliers as to where they stand with invoices to certain clubs. Its not rocket science.

Didn't say anything like that - in fact added the words "strong" and "competitive" in there too. Probably easier to state what isn't a successful club and that would be one that through its own doing yo yos all over the place due to boom or bust thinking and in fact goes out of existence eventually. Not sure what Bazza was getting paid, whether the footy club was paying him or a 3rd party, but not sure he will go around again next year at QAFL level for anyone.

I agree 2010 - most clubs fly close to the radar but the smart clubs work out that you only spend what you can afford. If PBC have a fantastic revenue stream then good on them for spending a bit more. Not hard to work out tbh - just go to a few AGM's, that usually tells you who is in a good position or speak to a few suppliers as to where they stand with invoices to certain clubs. Its not rocket science.

SMY,,
Broady are a very well run club these days and not flushed with funds compared to what Labrador and PBC are in ref to player payments,
They dont pay big bucks to 5 or 6 gun players cause they cant afford to ...whereas Labrador and PBC appear to have this ability to do so .. good on them if their budget balances evenly ....
Labradors ability to pay Hall,,, reportedly 5k a game for some 7 games ,,, thats 35 k ... how correct this is I dont know ,,, but even if it was 3k a game ,, was it worth it ... well he averaged 5 goals a game, but did **** all in the finals when the game steps up a gear and at 40 years of age this certainly showed.

Stuyd a clubs player payments does not reflect whether they are flush with funds. That is my whole point. Some clubs pay far more than they can really afford. If Labrador paid hall that sort of money well they would want to be able to justify it to themselves. Imagine if they went out and found 6 blokes for $500/ game. Reckon the GF result might have been reversed.

SMY,
yes Im fully aware of that, note the words I used in my prior post, be it," if the budget balances ".

SMY,,
Broady are a very well run club these days and not flushed with funds compared to what Labrador and PBC are in ref to player payments,
They dont pay big bucks to 5 or 6 gun players cause they cant afford to ...whereas Labrador and PBC appear to have this ability to do so .. good on them if their budget balances evenly ....
Labradors ability to pay Hall,,, reportedly 5k a game for some 7 games ,,, thats 35 k ... how correct this is I dont know ,,, but even if it was 3k a game ,, was it worth it ... well he averaged 5 goals a game, but did **** all in the finals when the game steps up a gear and at 40 years of age this certainly showed.

I heard Eddies Sandsbury got a small fortune too for his limited games and how would you rate his overall return on investement ?

Likewise with panozza. He wouldn't be playing for a pie and a coke. He went to palmy at the start of the year wanting $700 a game on top of the club buying his health products plus playing on the the 3rd forward. Broady must have some money

what a load of rubbish. The rest of your story could almost be true, but then you throw a statement like that in, and credibility goes out the window.

Nobody denying panozza and sansbury on reasonable money by QAFL standards. Both assisted with development of a very young squad (12 teenagers in our finals teams) as well as being key players on the field, and both got paid way less than their NEAFL days.

I’m sure other clubs could say similar about their key players, the fact is if you don’t have a few senior heads ( that cost a bit in player payments), it’s hard to compete. Just got to get the balance right don’t commit to what is unaffordable and important that the players that are on a few $$$ perform well on and off the field.

Did Harwood sign at maggies for petrol money? I think not. Great get though. Will assist them to get better.

What about Burge, headland or Hicks Retzlaff Mills etc, same deal. It’s what is necessary in what is meant to be a state league comp

I can assure you Harwood didn't sign for big $. We simply don't pay big $ to anyone. What we do have is a good culture, and an ability to help people off the field as opposed to just flicking them cash for 15 weeks a year and then forgetting about them.

Surely a bloke looking for a club would prefer quality help in their professional life from experienced people, instead of a few extra $ for a few games of footy?

We're not rattling the tin by any stretch, but no chance we could sustain a big player wages bill.

I heard Eddies Sandsbury got a small fortune too for his limited games and how would you rate his overall return on investement ?

Ablett,
Sansbury was paid more then our regular senior players yes, but in no way was it a small fortune ,, in fact was much less then he was on when at Aspley and not a sneeze on what Barry Hall was paid !!
He kicked some 25 goals in these games ( average 3 plus a game ) , he set up numerous goals , he assisted so many of our young players on the field and off the field. His class and contribution far outweighed his player payments ,,, now thats a good investment .

Dezario,
Panozza was paid no where near $ 700 a game .....
His performance ,,, well, club best & fairest , QAFL team of the year , a general on the field and a great ambassor off the field ,,,, as of Sansbury ,, a great investment for the dollars paid ...

Nobody denying panozza and sansbury on reasonable money by QAFL standards. Both assisted with development of a very young squad (12 teenagers in our finals teams) as well as being key players on the field, and both got paid way less than their NEAFL days.

I’m sure other clubs could say similar about their key players, the fact is if you don’t have a few senior heads ( that cost a bit in player payments), it’s hard to compete. Just got to get the balance right don’t commit to what is unaffordable and important that the players that are on a few $$$ perform well on and off the field.

Did Harwood sign at maggies for petrol money? I think not. Great get though. Will assist them to get better.

What about Burge, headland or Hicks Retzlaff Mills etc, same deal. It’s what is necessary in what is meant to be a state league comp

2010 Premier,
you are spot on here

SMY
grant monies ,,, I agree with ur comment here ....My club Broadbeach , have received government grant monies which has helped transform the factilites at the ground to being the best in the comp.,,, but, these grant monies whilst they greatly assisted, it must be said, the majority of the cost where achieved by many hours of volunteer work by members, supporters , players and sponsors of the club.
Community club, yes,,, as its not only for the footy club, but for the cricket club in summer and many other sports programs being conducted at the ground.
A great acknowledgement of this was hosting the NAB pre season cup game in March 2017 , and the Geelong Cats training at the ground before there game against the Suns , where some 1500 plus spectators turned up to watch the training session .

Im on a roll tonite guys ,, lol

Must mention ,, both Morningside and The Grange footy clubs ,, they have followed suit ,, and their facilities when completed will be top standard as well ,,all the time being the community footy club... well done ...
Yes agree, both clubs top notch and well run.

Yes, and unlike the clubs on the GC - both those clubs will also have to spend $70k+ to maintain their facilities - while the GC clubs get a $70k free kick every year having GCC maintain their fields for them and pick up all the costs as well.

Eventually this enormous inequity will be addressed by AFLQ, but unsure how. The costs and volunteer labour to maintain playing surfaces is an enormous drain on Brisbane footy clubs at ALL levels, not just the QAFL.

GC clubs would be paying $50K a year to council I reckon to have this service Fan.. I know Maroochy have their ground maintained by council but it is not a free ride.

QAFL 2017