QAFL 2017

Wonder why granny at yeronga

Thought Southport was a success. Decent crowd.
Great viewing all around the ground.
Plenty of parking.
And the playing deck was good. and is good size unlike yeronga

So don't know what their thinking is

I understand that the Gorillas also have Isaac Corvo and Sam Gribble coming over from Sandgate.

Unless the Hawks have signed a dozen new guys, they really can't afford to lose anyone. Very long year ahead if any of their decent players leave

Pretty grubby to poach players from the local rival at the same level who are struggling. Hope they get penalised by the new points system

Always the chance many are choosing to jump ship, which says more about the players then grange? A club isn't going to knock back a request to join them from a decent player are they?

That’s pretty much what happened with the Sandgate guys, not sure they were fans of the incoming coach.

Really good ins for Grange, I expect them to improve significantly.

Rocks and Glass houses and all that but really how can Sandgate compete? They were clearly the bottom side in 2017, and if they have lost a few of their better players, no cash (as far as I know) to seriously recruit. How long can you prop up the bottom of the ladder before the everyone down the club gets jack of it and looks to drop down a division?

I’d really like a Sandgate supporter to explain why I’m wrong but personally I can see them leaving the QAFL in the next couple of years perhaps replaced by a sunny coast team or the Moreton Bay team but time will tell.

The comp gets clearly stronger each year so clubs must too.

I reckon the 4 GC clubs will get better next year, and maggies and Grange the same, so pressure on the other clubs to do the same or risk losing significant ground, staying the same won’t cut it.

The problem from appointing from within is that the new coach, unless he has a bit of coin behind him and a few decent recruitment guys helping, is rarely able to attract new players. Sandgate really needed an outsider who was new to the club in my opinion, someone who was going to be able to bring 5-6 new players just by getting the gig.

If gribble and corvo do leave (along with the rumors of overington and a few others are true) what hope do they have? They showed some good signs this year that if they kept their side together but added those 5-6 senior players from outside, they would of been on the way up at least.

Really good ins for Grange, I expect them to improve significantly.

Rocks and Glass houses and all that but really how can Sandgate compete? They were clearly the bottom side in 2017, and if they have lost a few of their better players, no cash (as far as I know) to seriously recruit. How long can you prop up the bottom of the ladder before the everyone down the club gets jack of it and looks to drop down a division?

I’d really like a Sandgate supporter to explain why I’m wrong but personally I can see them leaving the QAFL in the next couple of years perhaps replaced by a sunny coast team or the Moreton Bay team but time will tell.

The comp gets clearly stronger each year so clubs must too.

I reckon the 4 GC clubs will get better next year, and maggies and Grange the same, so pressure on the other clubs to do the same or risk losing significant ground, staying the same won’t cut it.
It could easily be argued the ground and the change rooms are sub QAFL level anyway. I was extremely 'surprised' the 1st time I went to the ground. I assumed I had found the junior rooms and walked over to the main clubhouse looking for the seniors changerooms. Then I walked onto the ground and not better for the surface. How (except $$$) could you recruit in decent players with those facilities is beyond me. But I'm new to senior qafl so maybe I'm missing something.

Pretty much how I assessed it also, clearly the worst facilities in the comp in my opinion, although in fairness the QAFL clubs in general have pretty decent facilities compared to some I’ve seen, and comparing some other codes.

It’s a shame there’s no Sandgate people on this board, be good to get their take

The problem from appointing from within is that the new coach, unless he has a bit of coin behind him and a few decent recruitment guys helping, is rarely able to attract new players. Sandgate really needed an outsider who was new to the club in my opinion, someone who was going to be able to bring 5-6 new players just by getting the gig.

Mate that sort of rubbish might be the go in the lower Divisions, but this is the QAFL. You appoint a coach to coach the team. The recruitment process should be handled by the wider footy department and ticked off by the board and the coach together. No point in recruiting blokes the coach doesn't want, and no point in the coach throwing coin around the board can't pay.

Appointing a coach because he may attract a few players who follow him from club to club like a lost puppy is a fast track to nowhere.

Recruit coach to coach team, recruit players to execute coaches gameplan.

Mate that sort of rubbish might be the go in the lower Divisions, but this is the QAFL. You appoint a coach to coach the team. The recruitment process should be handled by the wider footy department and ticked off by the board and the coach together. No point in recruiting blokes the coach doesn't want, and no point in the coach throwing coin around the board can't pay.

Appointing a coach because he may attract a few players who follow him from club to club like a lost puppy is a fast track to nowhere.

Recruit coach to coach team, recruit players to execute coaches gameplan.

Agree Thommo about QAFL being a higher level than a coach bringing a couple of mates with him is not really the answer, but the coach needs to be someone that can assist the club in recruiting players. The idea that the coach just coaches will not cut it if your club is the wooden spooner.

At Broadbeach Cotter is our Footy Manager / recruiting guy but BA is very active with talking to players etc. and knows plenty of people in the industry through playing and coaching other clubs. They work together.

Getting someone from outside the club in Sandgate case may bring new contacts that may indeed assist player recruitment, what Sandgate really need.

And if there is issues with how the club is seen from the outside then a new face can create a perceived change in this identity. Hope he goes well but it does sound like the hawks are up against it.
Btw no one ever won a premiership on facilities. Otherwise Southport would have been unbeatable in the decades they played qafl footy. Lot more to footy clubs than nice couch grass and neat club rooms...

Getting someone from outside the club in Sandgate case may bring new contacts that may indeed assist player recruitment, what Sandgate really need.

they've had some pretty talented players come through their system. I reckon retention is probably more important than recruitment at this stage.

All the blokes allegedly heading to Grange are Sandgate guys, you have to address why your own people are leaving before you worry about trying to attract outsiders.

They flogged the premiers in Round 16!

QAFL 2017