Qafl 2019

I’m hearing sharks will have some interesting selections this week
[/QUOTE]
What a joke - bringing kids in to play against top side - I see one is coming straight out of your reserves side?
No integrity at all.
If the Siders got fined 3k for Points violation first time offence in QAFL - what fine will Sharks get for salary cap second time around in NEAFL?

What a joke - bringing kids in to play against top side - I see one is coming straight out of your reserves side?
No integrity at all.
If the Siders got fined 3k for Points violation first time offence in QAFL - what fine will Sharks get for salary cap second time around in NEAFL?
[/QUOTE]

Will be interesting.

Guys I post rarely as I am involved at Broadbeach but all these comments amuse me endlessly so well done for your keen interest on the QAFL. I can tell you that ‘perko’ would definitely not be on this forum as I know he can barely use his own phone Ha Ha.

Can’t wait for the finals series!

No integrity at all.
[/QUOTE]
SP, so correct here ,,, My club Broadbeach have 5 so called listed rookies in their side this weekend which certainly has a big effect on both our senior and reserve grade sides selections.

Have to agree with that. Perko would never by on an online forum with an alias!

Also agree with sharks. That is a joke. Top if the table clash and they play a half strength side.

Have to agree with that. Perko would never by on an online forum with an alias!

Also agree with sharks. That is a joke. Top if the table clash and they play a half strength side.

Yes Perko is not like that ,,, hes a great servant to his beloved Cats and a message for you Fan The Man ,, be careful with these comments about him as he is one person you would not want to have a issue with on a face to face situation,,, so you better stay behind your doors on the keyboard mate .

It’s regrettable how far off the pace Sandgate are. And with ressies and colts no good either.

They don’t have any $$$ so how do they become competitive? Surely their board, volunteers and players are sick of losing, time to drop down a level in my opinion

Maybe the decision should be taken out of Sandgate's hands for their own future. I agree that going back for a year or two and being competitive could be the difference in keeping these kids long term.

Very hard to make decisions like that at club level as you are to emotional and most people don't like making those hard decisions.

Maybe the decision should be taken out of Sandgate's hands for their own future. I agree that going back for a year or two and being competitive could be the difference in keeping these kids long term.

Very hard to make decisions like that at club level as you are to emotional and most people don't like making those hard decisions.

From what I've been hearing, to avoid insolvency Sandgate might well be forced to fall on their own sword and drop back to the QFA voluntarily.

If that happens though, I'm not sure how or why their best players aged 19 or under will hang around.

Pretty much all of the young boys who have been getting senior games for Sandgate in 2019 like Haines, Marango, Habererer, Abberley, Harrop, McKenzie, Caught and Hartup have arrived at Sandgate from elsewhere this year (or last year in the case of Marango) on a promise to play QAFL seniors , with that promise being fulfilled, so it's hard to see any of them staying to play QFA Div 1 next year.

Sandgate get a few wraps on here for the development of their juniors, but of their good young players I think only Ben Hogan has come up through their own system.

I'm certainly not death-riding Sandgate as I'd be happy to see them survive and prosper for the betterment of footy on the Brisbane northside, but it's not looking good at the moment.

They are a very strong club through juniors and into youth footy.

Not sure where they all go after u14s, can only assume Aspley and Grange pinch them with the free rego promo.

If its for financial reasons then so be it, but for footy reasons I reckon they should stay where they are. They are more competitive more regularly this year, and its a slow build. Going back just sets them back further and hurts the overall QAFL competition.

Their reserves are the worry, not their seniors. At least they have fixed the issue of having a strongers 3rds team than reserves, that was a joke for a QAFL club

They are a very strong club through juniors and into youth footy.

Not sure where they all go after u14s, can only assume Aspley and Grange pinch them with the free rego promo.

If its for financial reasons then so be it, but for footy reasons I reckon they should stay where they are. They are more competitive more regularly this year, and its a slow build. Going back just sets them back further and hurts the overall QAFL competition.

Their reserves are the worry, not their seniors. At least they have fixed the issue of having a strongers 3rds team than reserves, that was a joke for a QAFL club

Can you give me any details of Grange offering "free rego" to junior or youth players?

I can guarantee you that doesn't happen, just as it's an urban myth/laughable that Grange have gone around poaching juniors at 14 or under to either win AFLBJ premierships or qualify boys as "local juniors" for senior footy.

Of the current U16 and Colts sides at Grange I can only think of one boy who has ever played for Sandgate, and that's an 18yo Colt who left Sandgate at 14.

Hawks juniors/youth teams have been ordinary for several years at least, barring one U14 premiership 4 years ago, so whatever's been going wrong there has not been caused by Grange or Aspley.

beg to differ judge. my brother was in Coorparoo 14's team last year, had a combined 4 state players and 12+ rep players. lost to grange by 80 in the granny. granges team was ridiculous with I believe 7 state players picked this year (they had 8 players from the 14's make the 15's met north team). Aspley and sandgate have both fallen off a cliff for that age, with sandgate going from a div 1 side to bottom div 2 side and Aspley going from finals div 1 side to bottom of div 1. literally 3/4 of the 14's Brisbane north team were grange players! I think there is evidence that there was poaching happening, with something to do with the assistant coach and the lotto from what I've heard. also heard so many kids came across for the free rego they had to begin to turn kids away. just food for thought.

Agree SM - don't care what anyone says, emotion is at the forefront of nearly every decision in a sporting environment hence why the AFL works best with an independent commission.

Qafl 2019