QFA Div 1

SQ won very easily. Think there is going to be a wrap up early this week and posted on web site. Could have been a blow out but 2.10 in final qrt kept margin to 8 goals. NQ did not throw in towel. SQ just too many real good players despite NQ having 4 players with afl experience.

Noosa v Caloundra another great contest under lights on Saturday.I thought Noosa looked in control majority of game panthers just so hard to break.Good solid crowd and the ground actually held up ok after heaps of early week rain.Another big one this Saturday at Noosa as the Roos hit town!

Ground was surprisingly good! Game ebbed and flowed. Critical point in red time when panthers had worked themselves back within a few points and Noosa kicked 2 goals to stretch margin out to 3 goals again at the last break. Caloundra group were knackered and just didn't have the capacity to make that margin up again against a well drilled outfit in Noosa.

Really strange game at UQ yesterday. 4 guys concussed, one very badly with ambulance in attendance. Yet no spite in game. Just dead set unlucky tbh. UQ are going to trouble a few sides in this back end of season. Have some very good footballers thru their midfield and front half in particular. And they have an odd shaped ground which provides a good home ground advantage as well with a cricket pitch in the middle that souped up during the day yesterday which you don’t get very often up here anymore! The only down side was the 2nd week in a row cold showers in the visitors change rooms😋
This comp is reasonably even from the 1st placed side through to the 2nd bottom side right now. U need to come to play or suffer the consequences. Injuries and depth will play a major role in the success or otherwise.

Does anyone from UQ know how the young fella is travelling? Was a sickening head clash

He's alright, was released from hospital Saturday night after passing a concussion test but he's got 2 fractures in his cheekbone. Given it was a pretty big head clash it could have been a lot worse. The UQ bloke he collided with played out the rest of the game and was fortunately fine.

We had one other guy go off who also ended up in hospital until early Sunday morning with concussion so it was a pretty rough day all round. How is the Caloundra guy?

He's alright, was released from hospital Saturday night after passing a concussion test but he's got 2 fractures in his cheekbone. Given it was a pretty big head clash it could have been a lot worse. The UQ bloke he collided with played out the rest of the game and was fortunately fine.

We had one other guy go off who also ended up in hospital until early Sunday morning with concussion so it was a pretty rough day all round. How is the Caloundra guy?

Yep - he had a good night sleep on Saturday but not complaining of any further symptoms. It was a little bit comedy like when he was knocked out and lying over your bloke who was also knocked out! Was just a terrible 30min of ill luck tbh. Thanks for asking.
It was a terrible head clash your 2 blokes- heard the crack on the boundary line and my gut sank - thought it was going to be worse than just concussion and a break tbh. Thank god it wasn't.

Yep - he had a good night sleep on Saturday but not complaining of any further symptoms. It was a little bit comedy like when he was knocked out and lying over your bloke who was also knocked out! Was just a terrible 30min of ill luck tbh. Thanks for asking.
It was a terrible head clash your 2 blokes- heard the crack on the boundary line and my gut sank - thought it was going to be worse than just concussion and a break tbh. Thank god it wasn't.

Good to hear he's alright. It was a stressful 30 minutes for sure - I'd never seen anything like it and definitely could have been so much worse.

Orsm Roos this will be great for the Comp lets Hope Noosa do the Same
Im looking forward to the palmy Noosa games again they where always Good
Will have to wait and see on Noosa footy fan.Heaps to consider and really concentrating on 2019 to be honest.Noosa certainly don’t rate the comp they are in as crap.Never won it!And that’s the main concern for our senior group so next year can wait!

Been to the last 2 home games of Noosa and never has it represented more the contrasting fortunes of the have and have nots. Noosa v Mdore being 1 v 2 was as good a game of local footy you could see. Tough, uncompromising and skillful game that saw both sides look like they were getting on top with each responding and game going to the wire. Fast frd 2 weeks to 1 v 3 being Springwood and it was a average game at best with Noosa dominant. Both Maroochydore and Noosa running on double/triple or even 5 times the budget that most others do putting them significantly more advanced with their ability to succeed than the rest. This is certainly no dig at either club as they both work extremely hard to capitalize on their geographical location and financially well off demographic ,rather than to highlight their dominance and with Maroochydore rightly progressing to the QAFL i would think it would be in Noosas best interest to follow suit. This years GF is a lock now between these 2 side for 3rd year in a row and im sure the rest of the comp wouldnt be to dissapointing to see them both progress.

Springwood did have quite a few at Splendour from my understanding mate. All the same that probably tells you something too.
Watch out for the sleeping giants. 😅

Springwood did have quite a few at Splendour from my understanding mate. All the same that probably tells you something too.
Watch out for the sleeping giants. 😅
I did hear that, but dont think its making a massive difference, Springwood dont have a great record on the road and your right, with minimal financial payments, players obligations are diluted. I hope you guys can step up to the plate, bat way above your average for financial output, which is not be all and end all but a significant advantage.

And that’s 3RD placed Springwood
Imagine how boring games are
Playing teams outside the five
The Comp will come alive
If Noosa follow suit
And mid range teams can move up without having play QAFL quality sides
Moving up from div 2 would be almost
Impossible and those sides need time
To improve and recruit

Now we can have real GC V SUNNYCOAST games

The old pineapple cup games Noosa v palmy
Surfers v the Roos where all great games