QFA Div 1

Maroochy have only just been winning over the past 6 weeks vs the better sides QFF. Think if you ask Noosa people they would also say they weren't exactly convincing vs Caloundra albeit probably never looked like losing. Springwood have a very good list which was decimated with 10 players going to a festival (6 injured). That would hurt both Noosa and Maroochy I can guarantee you that.

But I understand your point re incentive for sides in Div 2 wanting to come up - take out 2 long road trips as well let alone possibility of getting spanked and it might mean a club like Burleigh will decide to stay in Div 1 (as they have made loud sounds about heading down in 2020)

I did hear that, but dont think its making a massive difference, Springwood dont have a great record on the road and your right, with minimal financial payments, players obligations are diluted. I hope you guys can step up to the plate, bat way above your average for financial output, which is not be all and end all but a significant advantage.
Springwood pay one bloke - and its not Page. Mind you they provide fairly decent jobs to blokes. They are a club that do it really well with limited resources although sound like they are going to have fairly impressive ones in the near future!

Been to the last 2 home games of Noosa and never has it represented more the contrasting fortunes of the have and have nots. Noosa v Mdore being 1 v 2 was as good a game of local footy you could see. Tough, uncompromising and skillful game that saw both sides look like they were getting on top with each responding and game going to the wire. Fast frd 2 weeks to 1 v 3 being Springwood and it was a average game at best with Noosa dominant. Both Maroochydore and Noosa running on double/triple or even 5 times the budget that most others do putting them significantly more advanced with their ability to succeed than the rest. This is certainly no dig at either club as they both work extremely hard to capitalize on their geographical location and financially well off demographic ,rather than to highlight their dominance and with Maroochydore rightly progressing to the QAFL i would think it would be in Noosas best interest to follow suit. This years GF is a lock now between these 2 side for 3rd year in a row and im sure the rest of the comp wouldnt be to dissapointing to see them both progress.

Will be interesting to see how it lands and to see if Sandgate remain in QAFL or drop a level.

Massive day at Noosa today for last fixture round.Past players day,A gala auction,guest speaker Greg Ritchie,a tribute to club legend Brian Trist And a special needs exhibition at half time.A top day weather wise so all should go well and expecting a pretty strong showing from both Noosa teams.Almost at full strength with competition for senior spots at a premium being our last fixture round of the season before having two weeks off.I reckon five is set and from what I’ve witnessed expect the three sunny coast sides to be the last 3 teams standing.

If Sandgate did drop back would certainly help grange who have been off the pace for a few years now. Just think there are a few sc blokes at Sandgate (couple at grange too mind you) who you would feel it is unlikely would be still there if there was a couple of sc based qafl sides.
Just seems a better balance having 2 Coast teams, a northern, a western a southern and a central bris side plus the GC teams.

Massive day at Noosa yesterday with tigers far too strong in end for the hornets. Two weeks off now for the ladder leaders before hosting s big second semi final on the 17 th.Young Will Odwyer copped a week for striking so he’ll miss.Big month ahead can’t wsit!

Gee that’s a long time for will to miss. Potentially isn’t available until GF day now. Silly bugger.

Inter3ting games this weekend with caloundra hosting coorparoo and the Roos at home to Springwood. The Roos took a while to get it together vs pumas last time but eventually did whilst coorparoo knocked off caloundra last week in the dead rubber and this week at North st so a little different.
Noosa had the unfortunate situation of a last rd bye, finishing on top meaning extra week off. The feasibly will have played 1 game in 5 weeks if they win the 2nd semi in 2 weeks time. That’s a long time off.

Inter3ting games this weekend with caloundra hosting coorparoo and the Roos at home to Springwood. The Roos took a while to get it together vs pumas last time but eventually did whilst coorparoo knocked off caloundra last week in the dead rubber and this week at North st so a little different.
Noosa had the unfortunate situation of a last rd bye, finishing on top meaning extra week off. The feasibly will have played 1 game in 5 weeks if they win the 2nd semi in 2 weeks time. That’s a long time off.
Agree Smy, Noosa didnt benefit from two weeks off during finals the last two years, so they would be rightfully concerned about that.

Yes bud it is a concern and also an unknown.Footy like most sports is played between the ears and the boys are training really hard and trying to keep match simulation as much as possible although not the same of course as playing.Certainly blokes that are older or with niggles are enjoying some time off but will know more next week. Expect to play Maroochydore who will win comfortably today whilst I reckon Caloundra will be too physically hard for cooparoo

I see the yearly awards night is on Saturday the 21st of September.Who will win the league medal?Page from Springwood going for 3 on the trot and will go close again I reckon.Jai Fitzpatrick certainly noticeable but Laskey,Stack,buntain And Woods will steal votes off him.Young Odwyer and Pettigrove should poll also.Filo been pretty consistent for Roos with scholard to poll we’ll also.A lot of Roos guns missed too much footy to win it imo.Mcqueen from Burleigh easily their best player but not enough wins to poll top votes.Caloundra very even across the board hence why they are playing finals again whilst the lakes and Gibson at cooparoo will poll as usual.A Smokey may be quick from uni who is a star and played really well both times against Noosa.Lack of team victories will hinder him also.Id expect pumas hooper and Bain to gather votes when they have kicked bags whilst vassal from Aspley was pretty impressive for most of the season.
Mayne also pretty even across the board with no standout stars when we played them.
Just finished watching tigers train and plenty of running and game scents stuff before heading down to watch the qualifying final.

Well done smy on another finals win as coach.I don’t reckon it will be your last this year either although I know the pumas are much better at home.Shame the wind ruined what may have been a better game at fisherman’s rd last Saturday.Roos just worked heaps harder and gave more second and third efforts all over ground.Thought young Jackson bury was terrific along with warren and bond.No Simpson or Norman but I’m sure we’ll c them this weekend.

Be a good game of footy this weekend Bud - always has been over the past few. No O'Dwyer for Noosa would help but I'm sure they will cover him. Looks like the Roos are nearly at full strength if those 2 blokes play and now is when you want all your cattle back on deck.

I see the yearly awards night is on Saturday the 21st of September.Who will win the league medal?Page from Springwood going for 3 on the trot and will go close again I reckon.Jai Fitzpatrick certainly noticeable but Laskey,Stack,buntain And Woods will steal votes off him.Young Odwyer and Pettigrove should poll also.Filo been pretty consistent for Roos with scholard to poll we’ll also.A lot of Roos guns missed too much footy to win it imo.Mcqueen from Burleigh easily their best player but not enough wins to poll top votes.Caloundra very even across the board hence why they are playing finals again whilst the lakes and Gibson at cooparoo will poll as usual.A Smokey may be quick from uni who is a star and played really well both times against Noosa.Lack of team victories will hinder him also.Id expect pumas hooper and Bain to gather votes when they have kicked bags whilst vassal from Aspley was pretty impressive for most of the season.
Mayne also pretty even across the board with no standout stars when we played them.
Just finished watching tigers train and plenty of running and game scents stuff before heading down to watch the qualifying final.

Reckon Page is a good chance to go 3 in a row. Just a very consistent performer. Runs with the footy, does some nice things with it but collects 30 touches a game. Always stands out. Reckon Laing will go well as will Filo and Scholard - mail is Laing is run away B&F leader at Roos so far which says something. Would not be surprised if O'Dwyer does well from Noosa - exciting kid and kicks goals.

Be a good game of footy this weekend Bud - always has been over the past few. No O'Dwyer for Noosa would help but I'm sure they will cover him. Looks like the Roos are nearly at full strength if those 2 blokes play and now is when you want all your cattle back on deck.
Always good Roos v Noosa in a final. 2 pt margin both games this year. Weather perfect, both teams near full strength. Great time of year to be involved. I reckon Caloundra will be too good for Springwood who were dissappointing last week.

Yeah not sure they will be disappointing 2 weeks in a row..

Reckon Page is a good chance to go 3 in a row. Just a very consistent performer. Runs with the footy, does some nice things with it but collects 30 touches a game. Always stands out. Reckon Laing will go well as will Filo and Scholard - mail is Laing is run away B&F leader at Roos so far which says something. Would not be surprised if O'Dwyer does well from Noosa - exciting kid and kicks goals.
Laing easy most consistent player from every team this year, surely paying $1.20 for league b&f

Gee Maroochydore far too good for Noosa yesterday.Great day of local footy with huge crowd in attendance.Our boys looked flat and aside from a 15 minute period in the second quarter were totally outmuscled and played.Schollard was great up forward whilst the pace of bury and Cumberland makes the Roos a better team.Also set up really well behind the footy where small just cleans up then sets up.Ruckman Simpson really impressive also as usual.Maybe a different pathway may suit the tigers who knows? But the hardest things getting there and we are not there yet! Big game at Weyba rd again next Saturday

Cumberland is a massive in. Put any NEAFL level player into an already good side, especially one with his physical and skill attributes, turns an already very good side into a better one.
U guys get O’Dwyer back but wouldn’t think panic stations. Been in the best couple of sides all year.

Springwood just outlasted caloundra. Game didn’t reach any great heights but Pumas deserved their win.

[/QUOTE
Noosa will be better for the run and after playing next week they will bring a stronger performance on GF day no doubt. Our boys played well; always hard to win at Noosa.

So your in the Gf already Im sure the pressure will be on Noosa Who have chocked in the last couple of years
Im sure Springwood will be right up there with no expectations and nothing to Loose
Don't Agree with the League Decisions to play Prelim Finals In Div one and Two on Home tracks
In years gone by it was on a neutral Venue....

QFA Div 1