• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QFA Div 2 North

Good point. Gate takings a massive income booster in those leagues too which is another thing they're all whinging/panicking about.
Some of those clubs and players can suck it up. Average players have demanded top dollar for years through those vic markets. Players are happy to bleed the club dry and put little back into it. This will test a few of them.

I think the challenge of returning to footy won't lie with the government - Scomo again reiterated today that he wants the country re-opened by July, and in conjunction with the AIS' guidelines there is a good basis there to get a return going for July. The challenge is going to be convincing clubs and individuals that playing half a season is going to be of benefit. Certainly a lot of the Victorian leagues are wanting to pack it in and wait for next year. It will be interesting to hear what clubs in QLD will be thinking - although I can categorically say the club i'm involved with have no qualms whatsoever with getting back on the pitch.
Must remember Victoria is a long way behind us in terms of the curve and restrictions.

Looks like non contact group training is one of the recommendations to be ticked off at National Cabinet tomorrow. Significant step in the right direction. If Palalphabet allows that to go ahead the next 4-6 weeks you can see things will keep evolving. Will also allow leagues to set a definitive time line

Agree it is positive step. How long do you think before training in groups of 10 allowed at club land? Reckon AFLQ need to start back and give green light and outline any protocols. Thinking that could be by start of June maybe at best start training.

Then they sort out competitions etc still think mid-end July absolutely earliest of any start you would think.

But training to games is another huge step with protocols and restrictions you would think.

At what point is cue in rack time?

Agree it is positive step. How long do you think before training in groups of 10 allowed at club land? Reckon AFLQ need to start back and give green light and outline any protocols. Thinking that could be by start of June maybe at best start training.

Then they sort out competitions etc still think mid-end July absolutely earliest of any start you would think.

But training to games is another huge step with protocols and restrictions you would think.

At what point is cue in rack time?

anything mid to late August would see anything that resembles normal scrapped. Can see a lightning type night Premiership for clubs that want to be involved if it got to that point.
The timeline that I was informed of a few weeks back and that I’m sticking too is definitely evolving in the right direction .

yep - good point re cue in rack time frame. I think it will definitely be a club exec decision this and not a football dept decision as the fall out of a financial cliff is something that admin will have to work through. I would say most clubs would not be keen if it got to late July knowing that the season may only be 8-10 weeks long and will be dependant on what sort of protocols are put in place as well around spectators and canteens/bars etc. I read on here that someone said junior sport more likely to start than senior sport and I tend to agree based on what is said around contagion advice. If schools are back in full swing with kids travelling on buses etc then cant see what the big deal is with kids tackling each other.

Yeah a relative of mine works in the sports and rec dpt at Logan and the first priority is getting the kids back on the field - both because its lower risk (no tacking, smaller numbers, they dont drink piss in the social club after the game) and to return that sense of normality for them.

I think Box is right in saying that if we get beyond the point of a normal season we'll still see some sort of optional tournament -keep in mind that we're living in this COVID normal for 12-18 months. Im sure AFLQ would love a trial run of what footy looks like with social distancing measures in order to be prepped as well as possible for 2021.

Yeah a relative of mine works in the sports and rec dpt at Logan and the first priority is getting the kids back on the field - both because its lower risk (no tacking, smaller numbers, they dont drink piss in the social club after the game) and to return that sense of normality for them.

I think Box is right in saying that if we get beyond the point of a normal season we'll still see some sort of optional tournament -keep in mind that we're living in this COVID normal for 12-18 months. Im sure AFLQ would love a trial run of what footy looks like with social distancing measures in order to be prepped as well as possible for 2021.
It is already past the point of a normal season.
Your not playing into December.
I'll guess and say if footy is to be played this year.
It will be a distance requirement as well.
So you might find some div 3 clubs playing div 1 clubs.
Not that it's a bad thing.
Some of these boys need a reality check.
So maybe north and south
Sunshine coast
Gold coast
With clubs in between playing in the closest comp.
Round robin with a knock out phase at the end.
Top two play in a gf.
Any directive from aflq on a restart should be that's the way it is.
If you don't want to be part of it.
Sit it out see you next year.
You won't have time to waste arguing on what each club wants.
My guess at best 8 to 10 weeks of footy.
People on here remember if these boys have jobs only a few bosses understand injury from footy.
Jobs are hard to come by ATM and risking it for a nothing comp might not appeal to them right now.

It is already past the point of a normal season.
Your not playing into December.
I'll guess and say if footy is to be played this year.
It will be a distance requirement as well.
So you might find some div 3 clubs playing div 1 clubs.
Not that it's a bad thing.
Some of these boys need a reality check.
So maybe north and south
Sunshine coast
Gold coast
With clubs in between playing in the closest comp.
Round robin with a knock out phase at the end.
Top two play in a gf.
Any directive from aflq on a restart should be that's the way it is.
If you don't want to be part of it.
Sit it out see you next year.
You won't have time to waste arguing on what each club wants.
My guess at best 8 to 10 weeks of footy.
People on here remember if these boys have jobs only a few bosses understand injury from footy.
Jobs are hard to come by ATM and risking it for a nothing comp might not appeal to them right now.
Not sure regarding juniors but aflq will issue each senior club a module to restart season within the next week.In regard to fixturing,season length,finals set up,salary caps and reduced fees aflq have it all in place.As mentioned earlier a minimum 8 week season with 3 weeks of finals finishing late September is definitely in order for div 1. The protocols surrounding distancing with regard to training and playing will be outlined by the government this weekend and forwarded on.( which Ofcourse will include crowd involvement etc)
Most clubs have informed the hierarchy across the entire south east qld that if bars and canteens can not operate in a profitable fashion, the cue will go in the rack and see u in 2021.

Not sure regarding juniors but aflq will issue each senior club a module to restart season within the next week.In regard to fixturing,season length,finals set up,salary caps and reduced fees aflq have it all in place.As mentioned earlier a minimum 8 week season with 3 weeks of finals finishing late September is definitely in order for div 1. The protocols surrounding distancing with regard to training and playing will be outlined by the government this weekend and forwarded on.( which Ofcourse will include crowd involvement etc)
Most clubs have informed the hierarchy across the entire south east qld that if bars and canteens can not operate in a profitable fashion, the cue will go in the rack and see u in 2021.
Seems like a logical reason to me.

yep precisely what we’ve been saying about it for past few weeks. Some people didn’t want to believe me but thanks for the confirmation Noosaboy. The only change for div 2 north will be a 10 round season with a top 4 due to 12 teams. Unless the NSW teams drop out and play against each other over 8 weeks of South and they send 2 replacements from North into the south comp to even it up and shorten the season. Which is a possibility.

Well lads I’m giving up My account just wanted to come in here and knock a few mistruths on the head. With footy not far away from recommencing time to start focusing my energies else where. It’s been fun and good banter. See you at the footy my shout for a beer (if we can) Go Redlegs

I said if not when.
I still don't think it's that's close to starting.
But I've said that all along as well.
One of us is going to be correct I suppose.

Been a pleasure mate. Love your passion. Best of luck for the season if it goes ahead. Heard good things about you

up to 20 people 'non contact indoor and outdoor community sport' until at least mid july...i reiterate my point about 9s

Guess we’ll find out on Monday when the AFL releases it’s guidelines. It does say exceptions can be made if were tracking well infections wise. Still too early to tell IMO

up to 20 people 'non contact indoor and outdoor community sport' until at least mid july...i reiterate my point about 9s

It says that’s purely a guideline and different states and territories can enact it differently. WA and SA are already talking about getting their leagues up and running.

Community Sport can resume on July 10. We can start training in small groups from end of next week. But as blackgun said it’s a guide. Over to AFLQ. Week later then my prediction but I’ll take it 71E4A58A-5628-4360-AD6A-8478BA00C64A.png

Community Sport can resume on July 10. We can start training in small groups from end of next week. But as blackgun said it’s a guide. Over to AFLQ. Week later then my prediction but I’ll take itView attachment 872145

That would be worse case scenario too. I’m sure exceptions could be made earlier if the infection rate remains low. We aren’t too far away from being at WA/SA’s level.

Yes some positive news but not enough for me to get excited.
The speeches were all about meeting targets during each stage responsibly and safe.
That's yet to be achieved.
Then they said community sport for up to 20 people
We have 44 in a game.
I hope we will meet all the targets but the confidence I have in the general public has demishised of late.
I want to hear aflqs outline on the way footy will start.
Then see if clubs are willing or able to meet such requirements.
Still a long way to go lads.[/QUOTE]

QFA Div 2 North