• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QFA Div 2 North

Interesting that Strathpine couldnt get Riley Steet, throwing money at bearly proven deveolpment players from other clubs, but missed on what shouldve been a dead cert, Considering the coaching panel. Good on Riley for staying in the higher level.
You’re obviously an old boy we haven’t been called Strathpine since 2009. We have lots of money too! So look out we’re buying everyone 😉

AFLQ strategic plan: Increase fees, decrease service.

Participation numbers are increasing overall masking the substantial cracks in what is being delivered.

2025 fixtures have been released already for most Melbourne metro leagues yet our state league fixture isn’t close. Expect it to come in March/April again.
In fairness to AFLQ they are criminally understaffed. 1 person managing all comps below State league in SE QLD. They tightened and shortened a few timelines for teams wanting to add teams, change leagues, or enter competitions so they can be on top on fixturing and the like. Not sure what the answer is if they have a staffing budget to adhere too.

You wouldn’t want too much of that multi-billion dollar media rights trickling down too far.

So if there were budget cuts during covid I can understand the staff cuts.
But covid is over and fees have been restored and in some cases increased.
More teams now and heaps of women's teams now contributing to the pot.
I'm no maths professor but more money should surely mean a couple more staff to help.
Is it a case of jobs that are irrelevant and overpaid top end positions or are they financially irresponsible.

On CPH2483 using BigFooty.com mobile app

So if there were budget cuts during covid I can understand the staff cuts.
But covid is over and fees have been restored and in some cases increased.
More teams now and heaps of women's teams now contributing to the pot.
I'm no maths professor but more money should surely mean a couple more staff to help.
Is it a case of jobs that are irrelevant and overpaid top end positions or are they financially irresponsible.

AFLQ get approx $1,650 per team entered from clubs in the adult space. The rest goes towards insurance, umpires, match footballs, awards night etc. Not sure what higher levels pay. I don't imagine that covers the costs they have and a lot comes from the AFL.

The insurance agreement is biggest con going. Doesn’t cover anything only some rehab and physio costs. Doesn’t cover anything towards surgery or wages. I would love to know what this cost is overall and how often it is assessed in regards value for money.

We pay roughly $22K to play in competition wonder what the reduction would be with no insurance and let clubs do their own.

I remember looking at a coverage for 2hrs on Tues/Thurs night for training and 3 hours on a Saturday whilst playing and from memory we had coverage for $10K which was every player all hospital, surgery and $500 week towards wages for a certain period.

League could keep liability insurance but I reckon clubs and players would have better coverage going alone.

Not sure what makes up the $22K but the costs would be per season

• umpires $400 game per team = $ 6K
  • Footies 8 home games = $ 1.2K
  • Awards Night = $1.5K
  • Contribution Finals $1K

So if Mullsy your figure is right our competition alone is contributing over $140 K to AFLQ for Insurance and Admin Costs if they only making $20K approx from all our teams ?

I reckon if you generated $300K from just Div 2 Teams you could pay someone to run a ripping competition for $100K and still pay all other costs umpires, footies, insurance’s etc and still make money and have a more efficient competition like BAFL days.

Not sure what makes up the $22K but the costs would be per season

• umpires $400 game per team = $ 6K
  • Footies 8 home games = $ 1.2K
  • Awards Night = $1.5K
  • Contribution Finals $1K

So if Mullsy your figure is right our competition alone is contributing over $140 K to AFLQ for Insurance and Admin Costs if they only making $20K approx from all our teams ?

I reckon if you generated $300K from just Div 2 Teams you could pay someone to run a ripping competition for $100K and still pay all other costs umpires, footies, insurance’s etc and still make money and have a more efficient competition like BAFL days.
Let's not forget aflq sponsors and gate takings for finals.
AFL contributions of god knows how much.
Like I said mate I'm not Steven hawkin but the numbers don't add up to me.

QFA Div 2 North