QFA Div 4&5

I note also Yeronga won Div 5 last year, none of them want to go up and play Div 4 - so AFLQ essentially green lights them all to just switch to a Vultures jumper and continue on their merry way in Div 5 with basically the same squad. What a shambles.

Agree Fan not a good look but not really sure what the AFLQ could do here, it's not against the rules to transfer clubs, and from what I hear not sure Yeronga would have been able to field a thirds side anyway. I get your point though.

All very good points and no arguments with any of them. Just to balance the argument a bit though, if you don't have promotion/relegation is there a chance a club will "find their level" and dominate it for years? We need look no further than Maroochydore, they have found their level (found where they want to play) in Division 1 and have won the last 2 premierships, and who knows, with their significant resources, facilities and location could very well dominate for another 10 years. I'm sure footy fans, along with the AFLQ, don't want to see Div 2 or 3 clubs doing the same thing. It's been stated on here many times that maybe the Roos could be/should be playing in the QAFL, would that be a bad thing for either competition? It would certainly add some interest to both. I think the relegation/promotion system has some merit, but yes there needs to be some common sense applied to it somehow it seems.

Maroochydoore have only won the last 2, Mayne won 3 in a row prior to that.

Have to remember though, the Roos have won the last 2 in very close wins and weren't minor Premiers in either year. So hardly dominating the competition to a point where its created a non-competitive league.

They have been consistently good though, playing in the last 4 GF's for 2 wins and 2 losses.

Agree Fan not a good look but not really sure what the AFLQ could do here, it's not against the rules to transfer clubs, and from what I hear not sure Yeronga would have been able to field a thirds side anyway. I get your point though.
the point is that they allow some people to just manipulate their rules to get around it, yet Park Ridge appeared to have done the right thing every step of the way and get punted down 3 divisions, ruining one comp in the process and setting back a growing club in a key location for the growth of the game back 5 years. All in the same of a 'rule', when AFLQ over the years have consistently shown they are prepared to ignore their own rules at will depending on the day.

Maroochydoore have only won the last 2, Mayne won 3 in a row prior to that.

Have to remember though, the Roos have won the last 2 in very close wins and weren't minor Premiers in either year. So hardly dominating the competition to a point where its created a non-competitive league.

They have been consistently good though, playing in the last 4 GF's for 2 wins and 2 losses.

Yes that's true, I personally just wouldn't want to see any comp dominated by one team for a prolonged period of time, I just happen to like the idea that any team is a chance in any comp, and relegation/promotion, when done well and fairly and consistently and within the "rules" helps that happen.

yes, though it appears Reserves are the problem - not seniors.

If you win the flag in the 1's and you're bottom 3 in the 2's - promotion is a disaster

Moreton Bay finished second a few years ago and then won the wooden spoon the year after in the same div. QLD footy is far too volatile with player movement and and retention each year for promotion relegation to work. Like you say, ressies in particular is a massive standard drop, most guys just want to have a kick with their mates and enjoy footy. Playing div 1 ressies after being in div 2 for Park ridge when they weren’t that great last year was never going to see blokes wanting to stick around, pay $400 and get pumped every week.

The old setup wasn’t perfect but at least clubs could find their level that worked for their club, rather than being forced to move up when they aren’t ready, just because AFLQ says they have to. Clubs are what pays the bills for AFLQ, they should work for the clubs not do something that has essentially destroyed a club after 5 years of hard work.
yes, though it appears Reserves are the problem - not seniors.

If you win the flag in the 1's and you're bottom 3 in the 2's - promotion is a disaster
Exactly we are promoting two sides on the back of one.
When the whole club should be considered when making the decision to promote.
If one club dominates a comp for a few years then maybe they should talk to them about how they can transition to next level.
Having said that not too many clubs in that position.
In division one the coast sides are doing well.
But if going to qafl level is going to cost players and stress financially why would they do it.
As longy said clubs pay to play so to ignore them is aggorant.

Not to mention, they've now made a complete mockery of the Division 4 competition that looked to be thriving - essentially dumping the Div 2 Premiership side into the Division 4 competition.

Sure some of the Div 4 teams are 3rds sides, but there also senior teams in Division 4 or 5 trying to build their clubs and the competition they are in is now treated like a dumping ground for AFLQ to clubs that don't tow the line AFLQ wants.

Park Ridge will be far more dominant than any side Friday night has seen, and they had undefeated premiers 3 years in a row 2013-2014-2015. Park Ridge will not be to blame one bit either.

Couldn't agree more with all the comments on this forum. A lot of clubs effected due to AFLQ digging their heels in over promoting a club that itself recognised it was not ready to be promoted long before they won the flag.

I'm sure if they were in Div 2 and short of players, it's a lot easier to find top ups than for Div 1 just ask Yeronga from last year.

Funny thing is the entire system of promotion/relegation changing at end of this year.

Not fair on any clubs really considering what they pay in fees, should have some say in competition set ups.

Yes that's true, I personally just wouldn't want to see any comp dominated by one team for a prolonged period of time, I just happen to like the idea that any team is a chance in any comp, and relegation/promotion, when done well and fairly and consistently and within the "rules" helps that happen.

I agree with what points you make Bunyip but hardly think PR dominated Div 2. From memory they fell over the line in Prelim and GF was fairly close.

But surely AFLQ should look at all this prior to promoting a club. I agree on face value the Sunny Coast teams look like they are a bit ahead of Brisbane Clubs but as Fan pointed out Mayne won 3 in a row and Noosa have nothing to show for being ultra competitive over last 5 years.

Not sure if there is a secret formula but what has happened is a poor result for a lot of clubs which is wrong.

League were notified earlier enough to still fix the problem but to late now.

Be interesting to see what they come up with next year. Judging by Alpha Cup draw maybe back to zones is on the cards again?

All very good points and no arguments with any of them. Just to balance the argument a bit though, if you don't have promotion/relegation is there a chance a club will "find their level" and dominate it for years? We need look no further than Maroochydore, they have found their level (found where they want to play) in Division 1 and have won the last 2 premierships, and who knows, with their significant resources, facilities and location could very well dominate for another 10 years. I'm sure footy fans, along with the AFLQ, don't want to see Div 2 or 3 clubs doing the same thing. It's been stated on here many times that maybe the Roos could be/should be playing in the QAFL, would that be a bad thing for either competition? It would certainly add some interest to both. I think the relegation/promotion system has some merit, but yes there needs to be some common sense applied to it somehow it seems, and definitely, a club needs to have 50 players ready and able to go up, not just 22.

There are dominant eras and sides in all comps. It never lasts forever. Mayne were killing it a few years back, Morningside in the QAFL when they left the top level. Neither side is still winning it every year. The wheel always turns. A QAFL side on the sunny coast would be great for the QAFL, but the 3 sunny coast teams have great derby’s, where there is a long tradition amongst the clubs. Why should they have to give that up and join the QAFL which would see a heap more travel and less local interest in local games?

The other thing that gets lost in this is when a higher div side comes down like Kedron did, or Park Ridge, it completely ruins a year for what has become a very even and decent comp in div 4. Kedron were undefeated and didn’t look like really losing, a Park ridge side with the even 70% of last years squad will do similar. Great for the other clubs and their players who are paying $400 to esssnetial play for second. At least Park Ridge might be able to go back to back premierships, and that will hopefully allow them to build local interest and get themselves back to two teams the year after. If they have anyone still with the motivation to put into building the club all over again when they have done such a great job. It would be demoralising.

Couldn't agree more with all the comments on this forum. A lot of clubs effected due to AFLQ digging their heels in over promoting a club that itself recognised it was not ready to be promoted long before they won the flag.

I'm sure if they were in Div 2 and short of players, it's a lot easier to find top ups than for Div 1 just ask Yeronga from last year.

Funny thing is the entire system of promotion/relegation changing at end of this year.

Not fair on any clubs really considering what they pay in fees, should have some say in competition set ups.
Hard to think that would happen.
Who would have thought they would change everything every few years.
So what's the new system.

Exactly

Park Ridge finished top of ladder, Bond University after relegation looked the team to beat until injury struck and Beenleigh got better and better as the year went to the point they knocked off Park Ridge in the final to book direct entry, then were in the GF up their eyeballs after a tough start.

But for one game, it could be Beenleigh who had to go to Div 1 - and may have been better equipped given their established history. Much easier to ring around your ex player network to top up your 2's when you're a long established club, not a relative infant like the Pirates.

So if PR doesnt go up to Div 1 and is allowed to stay in Div 2 as you are all suggesting, what happens to yeronga? Are they made to stay in Div 1 and endure another 12mths of pain? In the end you are really working on the good will of club officials to be honest about where they sit with their list and in my experience most people down play it rather than talk it up. If a clubs success revolved around recruiting a coach and a handful of (paid) players that were under no obligation to hang around if and when they won the premiership, then is that poor planning of the committee or the governing body? I just think you are all looking at the sides who will play for 2nd in lower divisions when in reality you could argue this will be the case if you allow premiership sides to stay in the same division. Its not a perfect science, I agree there are many permutations that could arise and possibly PR could have been allowed to stay in Div 2 with a stipulation that no $$ spent on more players but I think everyone needs to be careful that the tail isnt wagging the dog. Clubs might pay fees and the AFLQ manage on behalf of the clubs but it is all clubs, not just 3 or 4. Bit of ownership around own situation helps too.
BTW all this chatter about the strength of coast footy - reckon Springwood and Coorparoo might argue they werent far behind Caloundra over the past couple of years, Burleigh have recruited well this summer, it was already the most even comp of them all. I know numbers arent flush at either end of the coast this season, Roos geographically and facility wise will always be strong but as it has been said previously the wheel turns with AFLQ footy pretty quickly. Who knows.

So if PR doesnt go up to Div 1 and is allowed to stay in Div 2 as you are all suggesting, what happens to yeronga? Are they made to stay in Div 1 and endure another 12mths of pain? In the end you are really working on the good will of club officials to be honest about where they sit with their list and in my experience most people down play it rather than talk it up. If a clubs success revolved around recruiting a coach and a handful of (paid) players that were under no obligation to hang around if and when they won the premiership, then is that poor planning of the committee or the governing body? I just think you are all looking at the sides who will play for 2nd in lower divisions when in reality you could argue this will be the case if you allow premiership sides to stay in the same division. Its not a perfect science, I agree there are many permutations that could arise and possibly PR could have been allowed to stay in Div 2 with a stipulation that no $$ spent on more players but I think everyone needs to be careful that the tail isnt wagging the dog. Clubs might pay fees and the AFLQ manage on behalf of the clubs but it is all clubs, not just 3 or 4. Bit of ownership around own situation helps too.
BTW all this chatter about the strength of coast footy - reckon Springwood and Coorparoo might argue they werent far behind Caloundra over the past couple of years, Burleigh have recruited well this summer, it was already the most even comp of them all. I know numbers arent flush at either end of the coast this season, Roos geographically and facility wise will always be strong but as it has been said previously the wheel turns with AFLQ footy pretty quickly. Who knows.
Your a bit behind in the news mate.
Park ridge not going up.
Going down to div 4.
Yeronga will stay in div 2 as long as they have the numbers.

What I have put forward is neafl qafl and div one be set.
Only way to go up or down is by consultation and meeting higher standards on and off the field.
Ok with promotion relegation in div 2 and 3.
The current system has proven to be flawed.
But according to some it will all change next year.
So hold my beer and we wait for the experts to come up with another ripper of a plan.

what you're missing is that Park Ridge never said they weren't ready for their Senior side to be in div 1 (supposedly) and that they lost their reserves side due to the change. Thats the issue, they might have 1 team ready to go up - but the larger club might not be ready?

Hard when a side wins the 1's flag and are bottom 3 in the 2's. Especially going into a comp like Div 1, where there are some very very strong 2's teams

We’ve had a practice match fall through scheduled for this weekend. If anyone is keen on a practice match against Pine Rivers up here on Friday night or Saturday give me a buzz. Keen to get some run into the legs of some of the new lads. 0478689332

Cheers,
Mitch

We didn't suggest anything mate.
Just commenting on what is actually happening.

Yeah u have outa. Like BG said speaking hypothetically and your scenario is that PR stayed in div 2. Well that’s just plainly unfair on yeronga imo.
I agree that the difference bn div 1 and div 2 is significant but I’m not sure it’s that significant that no one can be promoted until they win 2-3 premierships in a row...

What I have put forward is neafl qafl and div one be set.
Only way to go up or down is by consultation and meeting higher standards on and off the field.
Ok with promotion relegation in div 2 and 3.
The current system has proven to be flawed.
But according to some it will all change next year.
So hold my beer and we wait for the experts to come up with another ripper of a plan.

How would bond have fared if that was the plan after 2017 or Yeronga. Agree no perfect situation but I think aflq have done a much better job of this then probably some credit given. Many people to appease, not that easy

No reason Yeronga couldn't go down to Div 2 and PR stay there as well.

Should just do whats best for the clubs involved and the greater footy community.

completely agree, I've been a vocal critic of Park Ridge in that regard.

However, plenty of suggestion out there that none of the mercenaries they brought in are jumping ship, they just can't fill a 2s side.

QFA Div 4&5